We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don’t blink or you will miss the insignificant doorway” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel The Exchange

Save Saved
You added Hotel The Exchange to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Hotel The Exchange
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Damrak 50, 1012 LL Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Dam Square)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #92 of 345 hotels in Amsterdam
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Don’t blink or you will miss the insignificant doorway”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

We arrived at Amsterdam Centraal, by train, from an early morning flight from Singapore.
The, approximately, 6 minute walk to the hotel was straight towards Dam Square from the station.
Don’t blink or you will miss the insignificant doorway, which we did and had to back track.
Book in time was 3pm but we were told maybe 2pm. We asked to store our bags and went to explore.
We did return at 2pm but the room was not ready and we were told that we could wait on the first floor. A couple of large divans and plenty of cushions made the next hour at least comfortable.
The room we booked had a 1 star rating on the first floor facing Damrak Street. [After having read many, varying reviews on the 1 star rooms, we were ready to ask for an upgrade if necessary]
The main part of the room, number 119, was small, contained two single beds, a small desk, chair, safe, a bedside table and the wall was decorated with handbags, both real and paper. Two other doors were 1 to the shower and hand basin and 2 to the toilet.
There was no cupboard or drawers but a rack to hand a few garments on.
Storing our suitcases was difficult because of limited floor space so, one was stored under the desk and the other in the toilet, which was quite roomy. So for the two nights we were there we lived out of our cases.
Overall the room was clean and fresh, comfortable beds and serviced daily. We don’t remember being bothered by any excessive noise from the street.
We are senior travellers, both over 70, and like our comfort but we were happy with the room for the price we paid.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

491 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    181
    184
    69
    25
    32
See reviews for
13
253
38
37
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

We recently stayed at the Hotel Exchange. As expected, the hotel is conveniently located and has basic and clean rooms. But this review is about the 'Stock', the hotel's cafe adjoining it and the service here sucks! We went there for breakfast on the first day and had a terrible experience - first, the waitress took our orders after that of the others who came in later and after we reminded her; second, we didn't get our food (simple boiled egg and crepe) for a really long time, while everyone around us did; third, when we reminded her (again), she looked thoroughly confused and coolly told us that they crepes were over!!! It was clear that she messed up big time and gave our order to e table next to us! And more importantly, she didn't seem to care or apologise when we left!!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrington, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

Hotel Exchange is really close to Central Station. The rooms are fairly basic, but have quirky interior designs and comfy beds. It's a great base for exploring Amsterdam.

You can breakfast in the adjacent Stock cafe.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, Wellington, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

Everything about the hotel was so interesting down to room design. It was very clean and well maintained on a daily basis. The lobbys on each floor were designed by students from a Design School were amazing and ever changing. We stayed there for 6 days and needed to be at the Centraal railway station quite early on most days, it was literally a 5 minute walk - if that. The staff were vary very friendly and helpful and attached to the hotel there is the Cafe Exchange which you just have to try, serving up delicious food. When finding this hotel, you need to keep an eye out or you will miss it, cos it is just a doorway and behind that is just full of surprises!!!!

Room Tip: Third floor ask for an XL room
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colwyn Bay, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

This quirky little hotel is in a great location close to Central Station (3 minutes walk) and to Dam square and red light district. The room (fourth floor) we had was tiny and basic but everything was clean and the bed was comfy. You don't actually spend much time in the room as there are plenty of bars, cafes etc nearby.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

Booked this hotel with 3 other friends, we all stayed in different rooms, and boy were they different! This place is super cool and in the perfect location!!! I would give it an "excellent" rating if it wasn't for one tiny detail, the shower in the bathroom. Its literally next to the toilet without a stall or curtain. Other than that, this place was P E R F E C T!!!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel The Exchange? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel The Exchange

Address: Damrak 50, 1012 LL Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Dam Square
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #92 of 345 hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel The Exchange 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel The Exchange is a hotel with a special love of fashion. The result: a hotel where architecture meets fashion. Hotel The Exchange has 62 rooms, ranging from 1 to 5 stars. Each room has been designed and dressed by graduates and alumni of the Amsterdam Fashion Institute (AMFI). The rooms are as diverse and inspiring as the neighbourhood the hotel lies in. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Priceline, Travelocity, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, HotelsNL, EasyToBook, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Hotel The Exchange reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel The Exchange, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.