We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, nice rooms” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel The Exchange

Save Saved
You added Hotel The Exchange to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel The Exchange
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Damrak 50, 1012 LL Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Dam Square)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #97 of 345 Hotels in Amsterdam
Warrington, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Good location, nice rooms”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

Hotel Exchange is really close to Central Station. The rooms are fairly basic, but have quirky interior designs and comfy beds. It's a great base for exploring Amsterdam.

You can breakfast in the adjacent Stock cafe.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

515 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    186
    197
    73
    26
    33
See reviews for
14
267
39
41
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Wellington, Wellington, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

Everything about the hotel was so interesting down to room design. It was very clean and well maintained on a daily basis. The lobbys on each floor were designed by students from a Design School were amazing and ever changing. We stayed there for 6 days and needed to be at the Centraal railway station quite early on most days, it was literally a 5 minute walk - if that. The staff were vary very friendly and helpful and attached to the hotel there is the Cafe Exchange which you just have to try, serving up delicious food. When finding this hotel, you need to keep an eye out or you will miss it, cos it is just a doorway and behind that is just full of surprises!!!!

Room Tip: Third floor ask for an XL room
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colwyn Bay, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

This quirky little hotel is in a great location close to Central Station (3 minutes walk) and to Dam square and red light district. The room (fourth floor) we had was tiny and basic but everything was clean and the bed was comfy. You don't actually spend much time in the room as there are plenty of bars, cafes etc nearby.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

Booked this hotel with 3 other friends, we all stayed in different rooms, and boy were they different! This place is super cool and in the perfect location!!! I would give it an "excellent" rating if it wasn't for one tiny detail, the shower in the bathroom. Its literally next to the toilet without a stall or curtain. Other than that, this place was P E R F E C T!!!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

This hotel is really awesome. The room I had was interesting, a real work of art! The Hotel was very, very clean and the decor in the common areas was strange and beautiful. The bed was huge and Heavenly! I was only on stop one night in Amsterdam before flying out in the morning and this place perfectly served my needs so that I could easily experience the city in the shred of time I had available. I came in from the central station and only had to walk about 3 or 4 minutes with my heavy luggage. I wanted to be close to the station so I could easily get to the train in the morning to make my early flight without too much of a struggle. The selling points on this hotel for me were location, a lift (elevator), price, free wifi and the sparkling reviews I saw here on trip advisor. I was more than delighted with the kind staff and comfortable home, for the night.

The only drawback I found was that the wifi was not working in my room. I just came out to the common area to do some work on my computer and that connection was good.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grimsby, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

Situated on the Damrak a five minute walk from the train station and a couple of minutes from the red light district Hotel the Exchange is a perfect location for exploring Amsterdam.
When we arrived in the city 4 hours before our check in time we headed straight for the hotel to hopefully leave our luggage. The staff stored our bags for us until our proper check in time.
When we did check in later that day we were given an upgrade as there was work being done near our original room. The rooms was clean and tidy and the décor throughout the hotel was impressive.
The three different staff we dealt with were very helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel The Exchange? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel The Exchange

Address: Damrak 50, 1012 LL Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Dam Square
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #97 of 345 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel The Exchange 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel The Exchange is a hotel with a special love of fashion. The result: a hotel where architecture meets fashion. Hotel The Exchange has 62 rooms, ranging from 1 to 5 stars. Each room has been designed and dressed by graduates and alumni of the Amsterdam Fashion Institute (AMFI). The rooms are as diverse and inspiring as the neighbourhood the hotel lies in. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, HotelsNL and Venere so you can book your Hotel The Exchange reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel The Exchange, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.