We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Creative stays in the city centre of Amsterdam” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel The Exchange

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel The Exchange to your Saves list
Hotel The Exchange
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Damrak 50, 1012 LL Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Dam Square)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Early Bird Special
Ranked #88 of 346 Hotels in Amsterdam
amsterdam
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Creative stays in the city centre of Amsterdam”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

We stayed in a 5 star room in Hotel The Exchange, if you ever plan visiting Amsterdam and wish to have a peek into the Amsterdam creative industries book a room at this hotel in the middle of the city centre. We stayed at the so called Rembrandt room, a room created by innovative fashion designers and devoted to an item of clothing that goes back to the way man of stature dressed in the golden age. The room's main characteristics are it's white clean colour and a huge pleated collar with sown-in parallelogram creatures. All of this leads to a three dimensional origami-like folding creation. Don't forget to have a look at the amazing views outside and buy all your souveniers at Options! an amazing contemporary warehouse next to the hotel.

Room Tip: a 5 star room, the so called Rembrandt room, amazing views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

708 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    265
    270
    99
    37
    37
See reviews for
24
370
58
58
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (118)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, England, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

My partner & I shared 3 amazing nights together at The Exchange. It was my first time in Amsterdam & the hotel matched up to all our wonderful experiences of the city! Each time we entered the hotel, we spotted something else that was quirky & unique!
Our room was gorgeous & we were lucky enough to be shown some of the other rooms in the place, each boasting amazing decor & sheer beauty.
The staff in the hotel were very friendly & happy to help. Also, the location of The Exchange was perfect, just 2 minutes walk from Central Station, Dam Square & made it very easy to get to all our chosen places to visit!
11/10 for this absolutely MAGICAL place!
We can't wait to return for my birthday in November!!
Victoria & Tom.

Room Tip: Our room 304 was gorgeous!!! Very unusual, just perfect! We will be choosing one of the rooms on th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canton, Ohio
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

Visited the Exchange over New Years. Great location, helpful staff, and clean/unique rooms. The location alone makes this a fantastic choice. The staff were fantastic whne I was booking and continued their excellent service throughout our stay. Many restaurants and cafes nearby.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
66 hotel reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

I was looking forward to staying here: it's supposed to be a chic, boutique hotel.
I booked a 'superior' room. I hate to think what the one-star rooms are like.
This one had certainly been 'designed' (the trendy flesh-coloured wall hangings were a sign of this), but it wasn't designed by anyone who knows about hotels.
The 'superior' room was tiny (just enough room to walk around the double bed).
There is no carpet. There is no hairdryer even. Certainly no tea-making facilities.
The tiny bathroom is just a wet room - meaning that the shower is not in a separate cubicle - it just showers onto the bathroom floor, making the whole place very wet, and rendering it impossible to use the room afterwards (e.g. to use the loo).
The windows have no curtains; instead there's a cheap roller blind, which fails to block out the light from the fire escape that's right outside the window, the light that shines 24/7... so the room is never dark.
More: at the back of the hotel you get the sound of the refrigeration / air conditioning units from nearby buildings. Ear plugs are necessary.
But even the simplest things were not well-thought out. Like the pillows: my double bed had 4 - but they were all big, fluffy ones, providing no neck support; why not have a choice of firm or fluffy?
All this, at exorbitant prices (€130 per night midweek). I can't speak about the other rooms; maybe the really expensive rooms are better. But I don't recommend you try to find out; there's plenty better in Amsterdam..

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newquay, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

Was pleasantly surprised by The Exchange. It's located right in the heart of the action 5 mins walk from Dam Square and Central Station. Compared to some of the other dives in the same area it's a rose amongst thorns. The decor is fun and funky and the adjoining cafe serves good coffee and snacks. The place was spotless throughout. We had a two star room and although it was pretty basic on the furniture front (no drawers, wardrobe etc) I didn't mind this at all and most importantly the bed was clean and super comfortable. The bathroom was lovely too. Our room was at the back of the hotel so we didn't hear any noise at all which was impressive considering how central it is. I'd recommend it to anyone.

Room Tip: I originally booked a one star room but contacted the hotel to see about an upgrade. It was only €4...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

We chose this place because we read about how it was a hotel dressed up like a supermodel but also because it's central location and proximity to the train station. It's right on the Damrak which is a little bit cheesy, but this place is definitely not. As a tourist, you'll enjoy being so central. The red light district is on the next street over and the quieter and more understated places are just around the corner. Everyone room is unique and is dressed up like either a fashion model or some aspect of the human wardrobe. Both the rooms we stayed in were charming and cosy in addition to being unusual and interesting to look at.

The food at Stock ( their cafe on the ground floor ) is simple, delicious with lots of healthy salads and interesting sandwiches. They don't take cash though which was a drag when my credit card became unusable for the balance of the trip. (TD would not allow me to reset my pin over the phone and there are no branches in town.) Definitely worth checking out. My favourite room was the little attic room at the very top, clever imagining of space meant the entryway was also the large open concept shower. With the aid of a giant squeegee, the water was sluiced away for exit and entry. Terrific! Also, we were there during Queen's Day so it was a blast watching the streets fill with a sea of orange for 2 days! Albeit a little noisy at night.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

Amsterdam size rooms ... BUT!
gorgeous styling, brilliant staff, every room's a blast of unique chic design, everything works, its really reasonable prices, and its only four minutes walk from Central Station. Next door is a design shop with links to the hotel designers, and directly under is a fantastic cafe patisserie. Come on! What's not to like?

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel The Exchange? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel The Exchange

Address: Damrak 50, 1012 LL Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Dam Square
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #88 of 346 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel The Exchange 3*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel The Exchange is a hotel with a special love of fashion. The result: a hotel where architecture meets fashion. Hotel The Exchange has 62 rooms, ranging from 1 to 5 stars. Each room has been designed and dressed by graduates and alumni of the Amsterdam Fashion Institute (AMFI). The rooms are as diverse and inspiring as the neighbourhood the hotel lies in. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, EasyToBook, Despegar.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Hotel The Exchange reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel The Exchange, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.