We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Funky hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel The Exchange

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel The Exchange to your Saves list
Hotel The Exchange
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Damrak 50, 1012 LL Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Centrum)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Summer Sale
Ranked #115 of 355 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Funky hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2012

We booked to stay in one of the 1 star rooms which I found a little expensive at €90 per night. We arrived early and were allowed to check in and the receptionist gave us an upgrade to 2 star. The room was lovely, very small but fine for a couple of nights. The bathroom was very nice and very clean. Free wifi in the hotel and great location.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

782 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    283
    300
    110
    46
    43
See reviews for
31
405
64
66
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (128)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2012

Stayed 21st - 24th March as a Young couple.

This hotel is in a fantastic location, situated a 2 minute walk from the station, it was very easy to find as it is on the main road 'Damrak'. It is also close to the red light district and is within walking distance of pretty much the rest of Amsterdam city.

I was nervous about staying here after seeing mixed reviews but as soon as we got to the reception, all my fears were put to ease.
We were greeted by very friendly staff who we layer discovered were willing to help out with even the silliest of requests. The hotel has small lifts, but these are dressed to impress with stitched fabric walls and they lead out onto either beautiful waiting areas or the room corridors. There are also little wooden staircases if you don't want to keep waiting around for the lift.

Inside our room was fantastic, we had the one decorated "manray's eyes" which involved circular frames on the walls with an eye print in each. The bed was the most comfortable thing I have ever slept in and the room was simple but spotless. There is an electronic safe in the room so we could keep our passports and money secured. The bathroom is a simple wet room and the cleaning staff are very willing to give you new soap or toilet roll even if you've only used it once!

My only criticism, and it is a small one, is the cafe downstairs only accept debit card so if you want to eat there, don't bother trying to pay with cash as they won't let you.

Overall it was a fantastically comfortable stay and I will be booking this hotel again in the near future!

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2012

I loved our bedding, very fluffy and comfortable. The decor was eccentric but not unpleasant, and impeccably clean. The attached restaurant and store were chic, hip and airy. We didn't have problems with noise until the final night, when someone kept slamming a door nearby. Our room didn't face the busy street; that might explain the peacefulness. It was very clean, and they graciously let us store food in their refrigerator, although because of a misunderstanding, some employee(s) ate some of our fruit the first night, but the attendant kindly replaced the fruit. The towels were nice and I loved the towel heater, but they should provide washcloths, too. Our door didn't close all the way without a good push, and once we came back and found the door left ajar by the cleaning staff; luckily, nothing had been stolen. I thought this hotel was very good value.

Room Tip: We were on the 6th floor and facing the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
169 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2012

This is the first time I have been let down by tripadvisor reviews. We were thoroughly disappointed in our stay at The Exchange and felt more like we were staying in a hostel versus the supposed 4 star room we paid for.

The check in process went smoothly and the girl attending the desk was quite friendly and efficient. We arrived around 1pm and she found a room that would sleep the 3 of us and was available for check in a bit early. She asked if a king size bed would be suitable for us (2 adults and our 8 year old daughter) and we said yes, no problem (we didn't realize that the problem would be staying on the 2nd floor overlooking perhaps the busiest street in all of Amsterdam- we wished that she would've thought of that). We walked up the dingy and rickety stair case to our room.

After reading about this hotel for weeks and studying all of the different room designs we had high hopes for a cool room. Our room was basically just the 'fabric room' with curtains on all 4 walls (pictures attached). The king size bed was nice and comfortable. The small rack with 6 hangers for our clothes was fine. I knew there wouldn't be a blow dryer or an iron which again was fine with us. The bathroom was quite basic, something you'd likely find in a hostel or college dorm room. No kleenex (tissue) or wash cloths and one miniscule light above the sink, but the worst thing was the horrible sewer smell coming up through one of the drains.

As you'll see in the photos attached, our second room floor was directly above the Doner fast food restaurant. We didn't think any of this would be a problem or we would've asked for a different room. Upon arrival in the afternoon the noise level, food smell and sewer smell weren't apparent. It wasn't until we got into bed early (5am wake up call for train to airport), that the sounds of loud tourists and the metro rail (on the street just below us) filled our ears and the smells of greasy fast food and sewer permeated our room, and at that point it was too late to do anything.

Overall the room prices don't quite jive with the target age for this hotel. If you're a college student coming to Amsterdam to party and you have a luxury hotel budget then this hotel is likely for you. Luckily this didn't dampen our trip as we loved Amsterdam and Bruges and had fabulous hotel experiences outside of this.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the back side of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heidelberg, Germany
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2012

My boyfrined and I loved Hotel The Exchange, we plan to stay next trip. The location is Excellent and we loved the King Size Bed! The room was really clean and the Bathroom was Great! Some will say not much room as we were in the 1 Star room, but we really didn't need to walk about the room. If you are going to stay longer than 2 nights, you may want a bit more space so go for a 2 or 3 star room at Hotel The Exchange. Cheers!

Room Tip: Rooms get larger 1 star being smallest. Rooms at the back are very quiet, we never heard a sound.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ko Samui, Thailand
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2012

This is a great little hotel with lovely staff, all situated in the perfect location - only 5 minutes walk from the train station and right on Damrak.

There are lovely design features all over the hotel, giving it a trendy, artsy feel. I stayed in a budget room that may be a little simple for some, but it still has all you need, everything is super clean, it all feels new and the beds are really comfortable.

There are no eating facilities in the hotel itself but there is a cafe next door that is run by the same people... and also a groovy little shop next to that with all kinds of products made by Dutch designers and also a Sushi restaurant downstairs. This is why the Exchange should be seen as a whole concept that is trying to do something a little different from other hotels in Amsterdam.

And better still, you don't have to be super-rich to stay there but the super-rich should still enjoy the unique environment.

Room Tip: You can choose different star ratings depending on your budget and requirements.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2012

clean, well designed rooms! Service very smily ! Rooms looks like very nice! We enjoyed our stay ! rooms at 1st florr a little noisy from the street, but not too late. Beds very comfortable

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Centrum
WestCord City Centre Hotel Amsterdam
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel Luxer
Hotel Luxer
#61 of 355 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 639 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel CC
Hotel CC
#145 of 355 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 841 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centrum
Inntel Hotels Amsterdam Centre
Centrum
Avenue Hotel
Avenue Hotel
#187 of 355 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 stars 1,028 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
RHO Hotel
RHO Hotel
#142 of 355 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 1,569 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel The Exchange? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel The Exchange

Address: Damrak 50, 1012 LL Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum , Dam Square
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #115 of 355 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel The Exchange 3*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel The Exchange is a hotel with a special love of fashion. The result: a hotel where architecture meets fashion. Hotel The Exchange has 62 rooms, ranging from 1 to 5 stars. Each room has been designed and dressed by graduates and alumni of the Amsterdam Fashion Institute (AMFI). The rooms are as diverse and inspiring as the neighbourhood the hotel lies in. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, EasyToBook, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Odigeo, Venere and Otel so you can book your Hotel The Exchange reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel The Exchange, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.