We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location, Fun Rooms” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel The Exchange

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel The Exchange to your Saves list
Hotel The Exchange
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Damrak 50, 1012 LL Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Dam Square)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #95 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Great Location, Fun Rooms”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2012

We booked our stay at The Exchange for 2 nights as part of their 50% off opening promotion. We were in a '2 Star Comfort' room which was covered entirely in a mauve fabric, ruffled down the walls. The lighting for the room came from 4 beaded chandeliers, which gave a warm feeling to the room.The bed was huge and comfortable and took up most of the room. The bathroom had an open shower, and always had clean towels and shampoo.
The common areas were interesting as well, with a sewing machine set up for use, and winding staircases that linked to each floor, making every level feel like a maze.
The staff were friendly and helpful, providing a map of Amsterdam when we arrived. The cafe and store located next door were also interesting, stocked with a variety of design items.
The location is fantastic, right on the Damrak. It was easy to find from Amsterdam-Centraal train station, and made getting around the city very simple. It was also handy to have the hotel located so centrally, as we could come back for a break from the cold throughout the day.
Overall really enjoyed our 3 nights at The Exchange. A great place, great location and would stay here again, but probably not worth more than we paid with the 50% discount.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

586 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    211
    226
    84
    32
    33
See reviews for
18
307
46
48
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2012

We booked this hotel back in November and were slightly put off after reading the reviews from when it opened in December. However, after our 4 night stay we couldn't have been more happy with the hotel and their staff. .

The hotel's central location on Damrak made it very easy to find and also handy if you wanted to nip back for an hour or 2 after sightseeing all day. The hotel's communal areas were clean, quirky and warm (in January Amsterdam is freezing!). Although there's no breakfast available with the hotel there is the juice bar below, however if its not your thing or if you prefer to use your cash (they only accept cards in the Exchange Hotel/Shop/Cafe) then there are lots of places nearby to grab a pastry and a coffee.

We stayed in a 3 star room designed with the theme "Living in a cardboard box". Although the design made the room feel quite dark, we found it very cosy and quirky. The room itself was a fair size with a large, very comfortable bed. As the room was lined with fabric it took us a few moments to find the wardrobe which was concealed behind the door but included a stool, a safe and a few coat hangers.

The bathroom was a wet room which always had hot water and clean towels. Both the bedroom and bathroom were spotless and were cleaned daily. Hair dryers are available, you just have to ask reception and they'll bring you one up straight away.

The staff were extremely helpful, I lost the room key on the second night which they replaced straight away at 3.30am. A girl from reception actually let me and boyfriend look at some of the other rooms as we were really curious to see the designs.
Tea and coffee facilities would be a nice extra to have in the rooms but not essential as there are hundreds of lovely cafe's around.

All in all, we had a fantastic stay and would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2012 via mobile

We really enjoyed this hotel as it is brand new. Therefore, the bed is great, and lovely areas in the hotel. However, there is no cafe/restaurant (the one downstairs is an expensive juice bar). Note also the whole place (cafe and hotel) only excepts debit card, or credit card with pin only so be aware (NO cash)! There are also very steep stairs, or a very small lift only so access for some people could be an issue. Lastly, no coffee/tea facilities- but the reception staff were happy to give us hot water. Overall, good place and location, but I wouldnt pay full price (we had a 50%opening discount).

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kilkenny, Ireland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2012

This hotel was brilliant. We literally stepped right off the train and into the hotel which was right in the middle of the main street. The hotel receptionist was extremely friendly and, when we were checking in, we were informed that we had been upgraded from a one star to a two star room. Upon making our way through to our room, we couldnt help but notice how stylish and sleek everything was. Most of the walls were made from glass, and the elevators had a really funky design. Our bedroom was really stylish, and exceptionally clean too. We had a flat screen tv, a superblt comfortable bed, and a safe. The bathroom was a really nice wet room.
The cleaners came an changed beds etc. every day and although there is not a lot of storage space, we were provided with hangers etc for our coats.
The cafe downstairs didnt accept cash, however the breakfast there was lovely as crossants and other pastries and smoothies were provided.
There's nothing really bad that I could say about staying here. Perhaps the room could have been a bit more cosy with a rug (the floor was covered in linoleum), but nothing big apart from that.

Room Tip: We were charged a travellers tax of 7.50 upon arrival so be prepared.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2012

I was really worried about staying in this hotel because of all the bad reviews I nearly cancelled our stay in The Exchange but really glad I didnt. The hotel is lovely it is right in the centre of Amsterdam and a 2 minutes walk from central station. Our room was ready and we were allowed to go in at 10 o'clock rather than the 3 o'clock check in time. The beds are really comfy and the rooms are really modern and spotlessly clean. I don't know what everyone was moaning about we couldn't pick one fault with the place.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2012

My boyfriend and I stayed there last weekend. We were already very pleased with the interior design, its originality and how everything felt easy and comfortable thanks to an efficient and highly amiable staff. Mostly we are grateful for the extra help they provided on securing our parking discount. The receptionist came all the way to the parking with us, in order to resolve the problems we'd encountered. Most places would have just made a call. That is priceless.

Room Tip: What's cool is each room is different and unique, making for an exceptional experience
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petersfield, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2012

I booked to stay at the exchange for a short break between Christmas and New Year. I'd got a fantastic price as I'd booked before the hotel had opened (opened 3rd Dec) and I was so pleased I did. The hotel is a stones throw from Central station and very easy to find. The young lady on reception was wonderfully warm and professional. We were even allowed to have our room at 10am rather than wait for the official 3pm check in.
I'd booked the smallest cheapest room they had and it was blooming lovely! It was small but the bed was huge and suprembly comfortable. The decor was very cool, the fittings were all very good quality and the ensuite shower room was beautiful a wet room.
And it was immaculate.
The little cafe attached to the hotel is also to be recommened, but they don't take cash weirdly. They do great coffee, fresh wheat grass, freshly squeezed orange juice, fresh pastries, all really beautiful and terrific service to boot. So, if you want a romantic get away in a proper authentic Amsterdam building with style (if not space) then you'll love it.
Its not a faceless chain, its quirky and high quality. I loved it.......

Room Tip: NB the star rating applies to room size not quality, my 1* room was beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel The Exchange? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel The Exchange

Address: Damrak 50, 1012 LL Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Dam Square
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #95 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel The Exchange 3*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel The Exchange is a hotel with a special love of fashion. The result: a hotel where architecture meets fashion. Hotel The Exchange has 62 rooms, ranging from 1 to 5 stars. Each room has been designed and dressed by graduates and alumni of the Amsterdam Fashion Institute (AMFI). The rooms are as diverse and inspiring as the neighbourhood the hotel lies in. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, EasyToBook, Despegar.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de and Tingo so you can book your Hotel The Exchange reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel The Exchange, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.