We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Light dinner” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Mexican

The Mexican
36 Damstraat, 1012 JM Amsterdam, The Netherlands
020-4218298
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1,161 of 2,625 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Cuisines: Mexican
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Light dinner”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014

Fantastic food at a great price. Cheap drinks. Good service & a pleasant atmosphere. Would eat here again for sure!

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

203 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    49
    81
    44
    9
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Porto
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Tasty Mexican food!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2014 via mobile

Good Mexican food at a very reasonable price.
The nachos were delicious, really recommended!
The place is small and the service worked ok.
The waitress was efficient but could be more kind.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Not bad for the price!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2014

Stooped in here for a bite to eat and food was ok. Definitely not the best Mexican I've had but not the worse either. We ordered cream cheese and jalapeño poppers which were nice but some were cold in the middle. Then we shared the tacos meal between us. Quite a big portion came so sharing a main meal was fine. We had chicken and beef tacos both of which were average. They had a lovely chilli sauce called chillasso on the table which was a nice condiment. 1 starter, 1 main and 2 soft drinks cost just under €30. Not bad really... :)

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Quick lunch in an average restaurant”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2014

For 25 Euros it was a decent lunch but the squid was overcooked and I'm still not convinced it was even squid in the first place but as we were starving and had to eat I didn't bother complaining. By partner had a chicken burrito which was enjoyed very much and he ate every bite of it. The only server was juggling serving food from standing outside touting her restaurant for trade (I think its the only reason why we went in as we felt bad for her) Don't think we would rush back here if we returned to the city but in all honesty, it was not a bad experience and I've had much worse.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Dodgy !!!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2014

We ate here for our first meal in Amsterdam we had the lunch menu which were both advertised & explained to be €8.90 pp! however on receiving the bill they'd charged us near €15 each (excluding drinks)- Not a great amount I know however NOT the point. THE SETTING: basically a cramped Mexican greasy spoon. THE FOOD: nothing special cheap and thrown on the plate. THE STAFF: obnoxious & unhelpful. Would not recommend, keep walking there were plenty of other places along the street that would be more worthy of your cash.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Mexican also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to The Mexican? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Mexican, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.