We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quick lunch in an average restaurant” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Mexican

The Mexican
36 Damstraat, Amsterdam 1012 JM, The Netherlands
020-4218298
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1,167 of 2,231 restaurants in Amsterdam
Cuisines: Mexican
Dining options: Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Quick lunch in an average restaurant”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2014

For 25 Euros it was a decent lunch but the squid was overcooked and I'm still not convinced it was even squid in the first place but as we were starving and had to eat I didn't bother complaining. By partner had a chicken burrito which was enjoyed very much and he ate every bite of it. The only server was juggling serving food from standing outside touting her restaurant for trade (I think its the only reason why we went in as we felt bad for her) Don't think we would rush back here if we returned to the city but in all honesty, it was not a bad experience and I've had much worse.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

60% Recommend
    23
    38
    24
    4
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Dodgy !!!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2014

We ate here for our first meal in Amsterdam we had the lunch menu which were both advertised & explained to be €8.90 pp! however on receiving the bill they'd charged us near €15 each (excluding drinks)- Not a great amount I know however NOT the point. THE SETTING: basically a cramped Mexican greasy spoon. THE FOOD: nothing special cheap and thrown on the plate. THE STAFF: obnoxious & unhelpful. Would not recommend, keep walking there were plenty of other places along the street that would be more worthy of your cash.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“nice enough food near Dam Square not best!!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

On our trip to Amsterdam during Christmas period my fiancee and I stopped into the Mexican for dinner on the first night.
The restaurant is nice and clean if a little small for its location.
for starters my fiancee had soup (not very Mexican i know!!) and i had jalepeno poppers both of which we nice and tasty and hot.
for our main courses we had chicken enchiladas and beef burrito, again the food was nice and we didnt wait long for it either.
I wouldnt say its the best Mexican restaurant i've been to but i couldnt really complain about much either.
the service was good and the food was hot and tasty.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Avoid! Even if this is your last option”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

We visited this place after good reviews (despite its proximity to the city centre).
On ordering drinks (3 cocktails and a coke) we were told they don't 'have' tap water.
When the mojitos came, they tasted as if the syrup mixes had contaminated the soda water.

After explaining to the manager that the mojito's were of poor quality (old brown mint included), she informed us that she couldn't take it back as I'd sipped it and she could not sell it on!

Although alarm bells went off then, we stayed with our order, to much disappointment.

All in all the below food for 4 cost €110:

Nachos (poor), 4 tacos (poor, with dry chicken) fajitas for two (poor, chicken over cooked and a lot of brown meat), Mojitos (poor), Margarita (too sweet), Coke (ok), Heineken (fine).

When the best thing on the menu is the sour cream, they are doing something wrong!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
“Worst restaurant ever”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

If it looks like s**t, if it smells like s**t, you probably shouldn't have tasted it.

Worst food and drinks we've ever had. When we complained about the mojitos (as they were sickly and disgusting) we were told we can't send it back "as we can't sell it to anyone else". I can't stress enough how terrible and what a waste of money this restaurant is. Avoid at all costs.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Mexican also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to The Mexican? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Mexican, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.