We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Home in the City” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fleur d'Amsterdam

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Amsterdam
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Fleur d'Amsterdam
Save
You added Fleur d'Amsterdam to your Saves list
Pythagorasstraat 133 hs, 1098GA Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #100 of 323 Amsterdam B&B and Inns
Springfield, Massachusetts
1 review
“A Home in the City”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012

Fleur's home, about 20 minutes from the center of town, is an original creation -- rustic and modern, city and country, spacious and cosy, and most of all welcoming. Vintage prints on the bedroom walls and a high, comfortable bedstead with lots of pillows lull you into an illusion of being in a traditional Dutch home. Then you open the bathroom door and you're in an outrageously modern black slate bathroom designed by Fleur. The open plan kitchen with its exposed beams, iron stove, and harvest table is a perfect setting for the farm-style breakfast accompanied by lively conversation with Fleur and whatever members of her family happen to be around.Three of us spent a night at Fleur's on our way to a bike & barge cruise, and we wished we could have stayed longer.

Room Tip: The main guest room and bath is on the first floor, but sometimes there are one or two upstairs bedr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    3
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
6
11
1
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Fort Collins, CO
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2012

Staying with Fleur and her family is more about an experience than lodging. While the guest room is comfortable, clean and well appointed, it is Fleur's warm and engaging personality of making you feel like part of the family that made our visit to Amsterdam rich beyond the typical tourist experience. Fleur d' Amsterdam is located in a quiet neighborhood with good access via bike or tram to the city center. The back yard is private, with nice gardens and ideal for enjoying an afternoon drink or a candlelight nightcap at the cozy table. Fleur provided us bikes, a wonderful breakfast each morning, great insights and even better conversation that allowed us an appreciation of Amsterdam and the Dutch culture that was truly rewarding and beyond our expectations. The other reviews have it spot on - I chose Fleur d' Amsterdam based on these reviews and can tell you that they continue to capture the true enjoyment of staying with the van Heek's. You will have new friends in Amsterdam after staying here.

Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2012

We stayed at Fleurs place in the spring of 2010. Fleur and her family were lovely hosts and we had wonderful time as their guests. Their house is situated in a cozy neighbourhood, still near the city centre. Amsterdam is a lovely city that we will definitely come back some day and I can recommend staying at Fleur d'Amsterdam to anyone who enjoys hearty atmosphere, fabulous cappuccinos, cats, hens and overall beauty. Fleur definitely has an eye for esthetics, the house is fabulously funky and the garden is an oasis! When we arrived to their house, it soon felt like coming home :)

Pariskunta Suomesta matkusti Amsterdamiin Fleurin tykö. Tykättiin, mitäpä sitä muuta :)

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2012

You will feel like one of the family after visiting to Fleur d’ Amsterdam.

This little bed and breakfast offers a comfortable, home-like ambiance and unmatched hospitality of five friendly and extremely accommodating family members. Fleur, Coen and their three kids will introduce you to cultural experiences not presented by tourist offices or hotel concierges. Over the course of five business trips I have experienced: an unforgettable “Fleur-guided” tour in the countryside on a Dutch bike (via map rather than actual bike), and art/antique auction, several non-touristy neighborhood markets, unique local foods, and a host of other memorable activities. After having returned with such great stories my wife questions if I was really away on business!

If it's absolute quiet and a sterile atmosphere you seek stay at a hotel, but if you are on vacation or business and want a feeling of home, true introduction to local culture, knowledgeable tour guide and lifelong friends, give Fleur d’ Amsterdam a try.

Room Tip: Only one room and you will like it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio Vista, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2011

My wife and I stayed at Fleur d' Amsterdam this April. We spent a week at this typical Dutch families home. Fleur was our hostess and treated us like family. The home was clean, warm and welcoming. We rented the master bedroom with connected bath, the bath was newly remodeled and was perfect, clean, modern and for americans perfect (we americans love a good sized bathroom and comfortable shower.) Living with a Dutch family, sharing breakfast with them, was a wonderful treat. The experienced added so much to our visit to the Netherlands. I felt so connected to the city and the people because of Fleur and her family. By the way the breakfasts were outstanding, eggs from the backyard henhouse. Fresh baked goods, local cheeses, jams and breakfast meats, all in amazing quantities. Amsterdam is the city that everyone talks about. So much history, so much to see and do. Fleur was always ready with great ideas about what to do next. She even directed us to Antwerp for the day on the train. Do yourself a favor and visit Amsterdam, stay with a Dutch family in their home and really see Dutch life away from the tourist traps. Fleur d'Amsterdam would be a really good choice.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle of Man
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2011

I spend a lot of time in Amsterdam through work and staying at Fleur's makes it feel like a real home from home. I choose to stay here over a sterile, faceless hotel everytime now as you get a real sense of returning home after a long day at the office.

The neighbourhood (Watergraafsmeer) is really nice with lots of cafes and restaurants (Cafe 1900, Elsa's, Quatfass). In summer it's great to sit out in the street outside the house with a beer and watch the world go by. It makes a nice change to the city centre without being too far out.

Fleur, Coen and the kids are great hosts and they know the city very well indeed - better than any hotel concierge! Breakfasts are great with real coffee or leaf teas, freshly laid eggs (hens in the garden!), choice of cheeses (of course), cold meats, bacon, tomatoes and bread from the oven.

The B&B room is large and very homely with a large and modern wetroom style bathroom.

Bikes are available to hire (free) or you can catch a tram just a short walk away (Tram 9, Hogeweg).

Don't miss the Jazz nights at Elsa's (right outside tram stop on Hogeweg) - also good for food beforehand but you'll need the menu translated by the staff!

A great discovery.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Constanta, Romania
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2011

If you ever get a chance, make a trip to Amsterdam ...and if you can, stay with Fluer and Coen van Heek. It is truly an amazing city, and the van Heek's are amazing people! I had a beautiful time getting to know the city, and Fluer's hospitality was wonderful. l felt as though I had a true friend in the city, and when my time, sadly came to and end, I knew that I was saying good-bye to new International companions.

My room was nice and clean, breakfast was delicious, but it was so much more than the accommodation. I loved the village of Hogweg, and just came away with the feeling that I was leaving a place that I am sure I will return to as soon as I can.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Fleur d'Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fleur d'Amsterdam

Address: Pythagorasstraat 133 hs, 1098GA Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #100 of 323 B&Bs / Inns in Amsterdam
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This gorgeous family house is waiting to welcome you. Fleur and Coen are living in Amsterdam. We have a big house and love to share it with anyone wanting to explore enjoy en experience beautiful AMSTERDAM. In fact we have two rooms, one room with two beds and a private bathroom, and if you want to come with friends or children we have one more room with a queen size bed and a shared bathroom, please send inquiry for the second room price. And we have a third room, a little room with a bunk bed, wel suited for children. The private downstairs bathroom was just redecorated, with large shower, toilet etc.Digital tv in the room with 20 channels. (Inc. bbc and cnn). Wireless internet is of course available in both rooms. If you haven't enjoyed Amsterdam in 2014 you sure will in 2015! 2014 was a very special year for Amsterdam. In celebration of several milestones such as the opening of the renovated Rijksmuseum and the Van Gogh Museum and 400 years of the Canal Ring, the year will be chock-full of exciting events. Guests are welcome to use our garden behind the house. We will NOT take reservations in the far future! Please sent an email to inquire! The house is located in a quiet part of Amsterdam, with an easy tramway/streetcar connection to the inner city of Amsterdam (10 minutes). Daily market, musea, shops, nice restaurants all close by. Join us, and have a wonderful fully cooked breakfast with eggs from our own chickens. (You won´t have to eat again for hours!!) We now have to brand new Dutch Bikes waiting for you, to bring you anywhere in Amsterdam the Dutch way...... Try it The testimonials on this site give you a good idea, how it is, to stay with 'Fleur d' Amsterdam'. NOTE! The RAI CONGRES CENTER is very easy accessible from our place, direct bus stops right in front of our house! Also the University of Amsterdam ' the science parc' is in walking distance. We provide you with FREE museum cards, which will get you into all the major Amsterdam Museums for free! Check this out; two persons enjoying 2 museums a day will save you 60 euro! ( Hey your'e sleeping for half the price now!) Please inform availability of the cards when you require! Keywords: Gorgeous Room, Private Bath,free museums, bicycles,happy people! Read our reviews, they tell you more! ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fleur d'Amsterdam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.