We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Expansive indoor playground” 4 of 5 stars
Review of TunFun Speelpark

TunFun Speelpark
Mr. Visserplein 7, Amsterdam, The Netherlands
020 6894300
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #160 of 340 Activities in Amsterdam
Type: Playgrounds, Nature & Parks, Fun & Games
Attraction details
Paris, France
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Expansive indoor playground”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

TunFun was a great place to use up some energy before catching the train home. We went on a Sunday morning at 11 and were among the first ones there, particularly in the older kid area. Nearer to 1:30 when we left, it was getting busy and louder.

The play area is about a kilometer long (from end to end) and 10 meters high in the central area (which explains how it can get so noisy). The climbing and bouncing equipment is broken into different age group areas - 0-4, 5-7, 6+ - to help make sure that big kids and little kids aren't jostling for the same equipment. Also, there is a bouncy house, a full-sized lego building block area, trampolines, a mini enclosed soccer field, a short down-hill track for cart racing, a reading area, an art area, and circus wagons for birthday parties (the last three areas looked like they were for organized activities). The major equipment looked to be in great condition (no wear and tear in the safety netting, for example). Some of the other spaces looked a little more worn (bowling alley, sports balls).

The entrance was well marked with a big sign and flags. The entrance price for the kids was 8E50 each. There is a snack bar with reasonably priced snacks and drinks. They sell ear plugs, too.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    10
    5
    0
    3
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hilversum, The Netherlands
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great when its empty - awful when full”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

As a UK visitor, our holidays are often out of line with Dutch ones - hence, been here a few times when its empty and then its great. When its full, it does get noisy. Agree with the previous reviewer - when nearly empty, you'll often find an expat to talk to.

What hasn't been covered, I think, is the sheer size of the place - its massive, built in a disused underpass under a busy road. The kids can wander off, well away from but safe.

So, think of the kids, check ahead and enjoy...

Visited November 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Modiin, Israel
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A good place to spend time with children - not special to Amsterdam”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012 via mobile

A large "Jimburee" for children, suitable for 2-10 years old. Not a tourist attraction, but parents may need to balance the "heavier" museums experience for their children with some pure fun activity - and here it is.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Silver Spring, Maryland
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
“TunFun, it is a kid's paradise”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2012

If you are not a parent or a nanny, you will probably not want to be at TunFun - this is a space for kids and not meant to entertain adults - point #1. If you are a germaphobe, this place is not for you - point #2. If you have a kid(s) who needs to blow off some steam for hours on end, this is the greatest(!) On the weekends, we've been told, it's packed. We went on a Tuesday - the place was basically empty and we needed a break from sightseeing for our daughter (age 3) and from the wet/cold weather. We stayed for almost 6 hours - she was fully entertained and didn't stop for a moment. Ball pits, inflatable slides, trampolines, climbing structures, bowling, lifesize legos, you name it - they have it! They have age appropriate, safe play areas from 1 year up to 13 years old. We met folks from all over the world with their kids, and there's no better international language than "fun". We paid just over 8 euros for an entry fee, adults are free of charge. They have a full snack bar with lunch items, sweets, chips and drinks. So it's underground, a bit cold and dim and damp if it rains. But the kids have a BLAST, which is why it's there in the first place. And if you jump in with your kid, you will have fun too.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Willemstad, Curacao
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“horrific experience”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2012

never been too such a horific place before. this is what hell must look like. it smells, thousands of screaming crying snotty kids, long lines to get a very needed drink, its absolute torture.

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed TunFun Speelpark also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to TunFun Speelpark? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage TunFun Speelpark, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.