We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely bar, great breakfast to recommend” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South to your Saves list
Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   George Gershwinlaan 101, 1082 Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #22 of 345 Hotels in Amsterdam
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Lovely bar, great breakfast to recommend”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2014

We had few cocktails, service was great and drinks very good. We stayed in the hotel, breakfast was big, service ok (buffet). To recommend. Room are good and cleaning as well. We would come back definitly in this hotel if Amsterdam city was more welcoming with tourists.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPSouth, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South, responded to this review, September 2, 2014
Dear valued guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience with our hotel and our Manhattan Bar in particular!

It is a great pleasure to learn that you had a memorable experience in our hotel and we are especially proud that the staff members in the restaurant and bar contributed to that through their friendly attitude and professional service.

We are very grateful as well for the compliments about the rooms.

Thank you again for your kind and complimentary review and we look forward to welcome you back again to enable another memorable experience.

Kind regards,

Nicole Turnhout – Ammerlaan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

555 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    368
    163
    18
    3
    3
See reviews for
45
167
24
210
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2014

This hotel is a very short train ride to and from the airport (about 5mins) and located about a 2min walk from Amsterdam Zuid station. Although close to the airport, it's only about a 15-20min tram ride from the City Centre.

I only spent 2 nights here but I enjoyed my stay. The staff were accommodating and the bed and pillows were very comfortable.

Breakfast is a bit pricey for €23 a day (I think) but after a it of confusion from booking my stay through Booking.com which said that breakfast was included which I later learnt that it wasn't and my complaint about the price of breakfast, management informed me of a special offer that was going during that time where they was charging €16 instead of €23 - which I still think is expensive but I appreciate the gesture.

The only glitch during my stay was that the electric briefly went out in my room just as I committed to buy a film on pay per view . Luckily the light on my mobile phone guided me to the phone. I called them and somebody promptly came to my room (although the electric came back on by then). I informed them that I hope I wasn't charged for the film that I bought and my bill was amended accordingly.

All in all, it was a nice stay and I think I will stay here again.

Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPSouth, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South, responded to this review, September 9, 2014
Dear valued guest,

It was a pleasure to receive your review through Tripadvisor and to read that you enjoyed a good stay at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam- South.

While staying away from home it can be challenging to enjoy a good night’s sleep. It was great to learn that this was not the case for you. We know how important sleep is. Sleep is the fuel that powers your day. At Crowne Plaza, we've thought of elements to help you relax and ensure you enjoy a great night’s sleep such as luxurious bedding, aromatherapy, Quiet Zones and guaranteed wake-up calls.

We hope to welcome you back as our guest again in the future and thank you once again for taking the time to write a review.

With kind regards,

Nicole Turnhout – Ammerlaan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clifton Park, New York
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2014

We recently stayed at this hotel during a tour. THe hotel was extremely clean and the rooms where very modern.

We found the local restaurants and shops fun!

It is right next to the train station so we could shoot in and out of Amsterdam with ease.

I would recommend staying here.....for the price, a great value.

Room Tip: All rooms are good here
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPSouth, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South, responded to this review, September 2, 2014
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for writing a great and complimentary review of which the title is a true advertisement for our hotel.

Our carefully designed and equipped rooms combine the aspects that are needed to relax and re-energise. Sound proof doors, luxurious bedding and aromatherapy are just a few of the features of our Crowne Plaza Sleep Advantage programme, which has been designed to make you drift off easier and allow you to have sweet dreams.

Great as well that you discovered the city centre by using public transport. You can catch this tram at Station Amsterdam Zuid, 5 minutes walking from the hotel, from where it leads you through the historic city centre, over the canals while passing by many famous sights and has Amsterdam Central Station as a final stop.

We hope to welcome you as our guest soon again when business or leisure brings you back to Amsterdam.

Kind regards,

Nicole Turnhout – Ammerlaan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
British Columbia, Canada
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2014

We had a 2 night pre-cruise stay at this hotel. This hotel is fairly new approximately 5 miles from the airport & 3 miles from the cruise terminal. Our room was very nice, quiet & comfortable. Our room reservation included a decent complimentary hot/cold breakfast buffet. There is free in room wi-fi for all "IHG" reward members, for which the latter is free to join.
Downtown Amsterdam is approximately a pleasant 20 minute tram ride away, where you can experience the sights & sounds of the city, from a boat ride on the canals to visiting the museums. The tram/train station is around a 5 - 10 minute walk from the hotel. We felt safe in this neighborhood even when walking back late from the station, to the hotel after a day exploring the city.
We found the hotel staff here to be friendly & helpful.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPSouth, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South, responded to this review, September 2, 2014
Dear valued guest,

Thank you taking the time to review the Crowne Plaza Amsterdam- South.

It is a pleasure to know that our location connected well to the purpose of your visit and that you enjoyed staying in one of our comfortably designed and equipped rooms. Your compliments on behalf of the bar will be passed on to the team. Kind words as such are a great motivation for them to continuously strive to deliver excellent hospitality.

Thank you again and we hope to see you back soon!

Kind regards,

Nicole Turnhout - Ammerlaan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2014

Just spent 3 nights at Crowne Plaza AMS South - having not been to Amsterdam since Uni days. I was looking forward to going back.

Arrived in evening after work so the convenience of the hotel just 10 mins from Airport was brilliant. The hotel itself was very easy to find (Left from Zuid Metro and 5 mins walk) Attractive hotel with good size rooms and large dining area. The breakfast and gym were very good .

The staff there was exceptional!! The German, French and Spanish hoteliers need to take notes on how to run a hotel from the management and staff there.(At least the hotels that I have been to recently ;-)

The location though 2miles from centre should not deter guests, as Tram 5 takes you to centre in 15 mins and I would strongly recommend taking a leisurely stroll along the tram route as it is very good, designer shops, bars and museums en route. The night bus 358 will take you back to the hotel after 12 or it’s a 22+ euro fare.

Wifi Tip - Sign up online or at hotel to IHG Rewards Club and get free Wifi

Next time I travel I will consider Crowne Plaza hotels if there are all as good as this one. (A shame I have booked quite a few already for the year)

Oh, and brownie points for having a UK plug socket in the room and extra goodies in bathroom

Room Tip: I am sure that all rooms are good and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPSouth, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South, responded to this review, September 2, 2014
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for reviewing the Crowne Plaza Amsterdam – South!

It is a true pleasure for us to know that you had a wonderful experience in our hotel and that the staff members in the various outlets left a great impression as well. Compliments like these are of great motivation for them.

In addition we are pleased that the location was a plus for you during your stay. And that you noticed our UK plugs we have in all our rooms.

Thank you again for recommending us and we look forward to welcome you back with us again!

Kind regards,

Nicole Turnhout – Ammerlaan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2014

Stayed here for three nights on a short break. Hotel is situated in business area a short train ride from the airport and an equally short tram ride from the canal ring at the heart of Amsterdam.
Can not really fault hotel, it is very clean and modern, the rooms are a good size, with a big comfortable bed. Good range of toiletries, which were restocked daily.
Breakfast was included and provided a good range of hot food, with freshly prepared eggs on request. Great range of cereals, meat, pastries etc.
Staff were very good and should be complimented on their attentiveness and willingness to be of assistance

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPSouth, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South, responded to this review, September 2, 2014
Dear valued guest,

It was a pleasure to receive your review through Tripadvisor and to read that you enjoyed a good stay at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam- South.

While staying away from home it can be challenging to enjoy a good night’s sleep. It was great to learn that this was not the case for you. We know how important sleep is. Sleep is the fuel that powers your day. At Crowne Plaza, we've thought of elements to help you relax and ensure you enjoy a great night’s sleep such as luxurious bedding, aromatherapy, Quiet Zones and guaranteed wake-up calls.

We hope to welcome you back as our guest again in the future and thank you once again for taking the time to write a review.

With kind regards,

Nicole Turnhout - Ammerlaan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2014

This is obviously a big corporate hotel group but the staff at this hotel were so good it made it feel like a dream visit. Room was well equipped and food in the evening and breakfast was excellent Only downside was the car parking which was not existent really! If you are arriving from Schipol it is a great location because it is only a 20 min tram ride into the city but without the price of city hotel rooms and much quieter. Cannot praise the reception and the staff enough. Thank you and I would recommend to anyone for the the city , the VU University and the large business quarter it seems to be in.

Room Tip: Higher floors probably better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPSouth, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South, responded to this review, September 1, 2014
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feelings regarding your recent stay with us.

First of all I would like to thank you for complementing our staff about their service level. It is their passion to assist all of our valued guests in making their stay successful and memorable. Your words will serve as a great motivation for them to continue to pursue this aim.

There are several different options for parking in this area. Next time you stay in our hotel we will be more than happy to show you where to go for the parking.

We hope to welcome you again in the future.

With kind regards,

Nicole Turnhout - Ammerlaan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South

Address: George Gershwinlaan 101, 1082 Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#7 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#13 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#16 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South 4*
Number of rooms: 207
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, IHG, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Despegar.com, Otel, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.