We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Service beyond bounds” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South

Save Saved
You added Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   George Gershwinlaan 101, 1082 Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #22 of 343 hotels in Amsterdam
Cornwall
Top Contributor
189 reviews 189 reviews
89 hotel reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
111 helpful votes 111 helpful votes
“Service beyond bounds”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Stayed here for 3 nights using a combination of Avios points and IHG loyalty points so a fairly cheap stay for us. This hotel is literally 5 minutes from Zuid station and that is only 12 minutes from the airport so door to door is really quick. This is worth a lot. Hotel is sited in a commercial district but areas such as the Amstell river are close by and well worth a look. Tram stop is a few minutes away and about 20 minutes to centre. The hotel itself is really smart and very clean with very attentive staff. Our room was large and very comfortable, probably the best IHG hotels I have stayed in. As a Gold member i have stayed in quite a few. Nice terrace for a glass of wine overlooking a man-made lake which ids really pleasant at night. We hired bikes from town and they are secure right outside the hotel, chained of course! You can hire them from hotel for convenience but they were quite a bit more expensive. I did have one very minor thing, we were a couple of glasses and a towel short on the second day, no big deal but following the request to the duty manager we had a nice hand written note and a large bar of chocolate left in our room, really nice personal touch. They get a 5* from for this very action. Would definitely stay here again. Breakfast is high quality and plenty of it. Didn't have any evening meals but they looked good. Well done Denise Noij...top manager. Thank you.

Room Tip: Noise is not an issue so anywhere is good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

408 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    264
    126
    13
    3
    2
See reviews for
33
119
18
160
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I stayed 1 night for business and was very impressed. Room was immaculate and staff very attentive. Very convenient for Zuid station and the breakfast had a wide choice. Looking forward to staying again on my next trip.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Staying for one night, it was very handy for my meeting the next day in Amsterdam Zuid, and it is also very easy to get to by train from Schiphol airport. The hotel staff were very nice and friendly, and I also had a very nice meal in the hotel bar, which was quite popular for a Sunday evening. However, the room I stayed in wasn't that clean. There were food stains on the room service menu, and the carpet appeared not to have been vacuumed since the last guest(s). Overall a good hotel spoilt by the lack of room cleanliness.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPSouth, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear valued guest,

First of all I would like to thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback concerning your recent stay. Only by receiving feedback like yours we are able to improve our services.

It is with great regret that I took notice of the fact that you encountered issues concerning cleanliness during your recent stay with us, as you will see from the majority of our posts cleanliness is one of our main priorities.

Please accept our sincerest apologies. I would welcome the opportunity to discuss your post further and would be grateful if you would contact me at your convenience through laura.vandenbos@ihg.com.

With kind regards,

Laura van den Bos
Housekeeping manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundalk, Ireland
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This hotel is located close to public transport and a motorway. On site parking is very expensive, but from 7pm to 9am street parking close to the hotel is free.

The hotel itself no located in a business/residential area and is clean and modern, although there is not a lot around to do, but there are a few restaurants.

Rooms are clean, modern and smart, staff where extremely helpful and full of advise on, especially on the parking. Beds like all Crowne Plazas are not to everyone's taste, personally I don't like the pillows and can rarely get comfortable but I find this common issue for me in a lot of hotels.

I stayed here for two nights and it was a good choice as I was working and needed peaceful working environment. Football was on during my stay but it didn't interrupt me.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Crowne plaza, first impression from afar-a quality hotel. My first visit to this chain of hotels was at ams, it greatly exceeded my expectations. Very classy, Everything was planned down to the smallest details. E.g. they really planned a gd sleep for you, super luxury bed with what they called a sleep advantage in small packaging. That worked for me! You can even find lots more than what you need in a hotel rm! Super spread of breakfast in the cafe by great service. Great recommendations over the counter on sightseeing and yummy food in nearby restaurants! This great experience resulted in me booking a week in another crowne plaza in beijing, looking fwd to the stay this month! And I even just signed up for IHG membership which includes crowne plaza and my all time fav holiday inn chain! Thanks for the great service, appreciated it!!

Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
63 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

It's got a stylish and modern decor, the rooms are spacious by Dutch standards, the service is friendly and efficient, the restaurant serves tasty food ( albeit off a limited menu), and it has a couple of small things- that I really liked- namely their "sleep" solution and the massage chair in the gym ( which btw is also quite spacious by Dutch standards).
Not to mention very good cable and a very good wifi-that was complimentary.
It's a very decent business hotel, that has a lot going for it.
Yup- finally a hotel in Netherlands- that I found really comfortable to stay in. Will like to return.

Room Tip: All rooms are the same size but I reckon choosing the higher floors wil provide a better view- thoug...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I was in Amsterdam for work and stayed in Crowne Plaza for 4 nights. Service staff at the front desk, restaurant, etc were all very warm, welcoming and helpful. Checking in and out was a breeze. Room and facilities were fantastic. In particular, I love the 'this works: sleep' pack on the bed.

As this hotel is in the business/offices area, there are not much options in the area during the weekends, nothing to explore. Thankfully, the hotel is near to the Zuid metro station, or one could take Tram no 5 to the city. Getting around is not a problem.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Luxury, City Ce...
Show More
Dam Square
Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre
Restaurant, Lux...
Show More
Hotel Golden Tulip Amsterdam West
Romantic, Quiet...
Show More
WestCord Fashion Hotel Amsterdam
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Free internet...
Show More
citizenM Amsterdam
citizenM Amsterdam
#33 of 343 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 2,584 reviews
City Center, Mi...
Show More
Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam - South
Restaurant, Cit...
Show More
Hotel Okura Amsterdam
Hotel Okura Amsterdam
#20 of 343 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 1,037 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South

Address: George Gershwinlaan 101, 1082 Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#8 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#14 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#19 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, IHG, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Tingo, Venere, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.