We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Service beyond bounds” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South to your Saves list
Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   George Gershwinlaan 101, 1082 Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #17 of 355 Hotels in Amsterdam
Cornwall
Level Contributor
283 reviews
105 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
“Service beyond bounds”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

Stayed here for 3 nights using a combination of Avios points and IHG loyalty points so a fairly cheap stay for us. This hotel is literally 5 minutes from Zuid station and that is only 12 minutes from the airport so door to door is really quick. This is worth a lot. Hotel is sited in a commercial district but areas such as the Amstell river are close by and well worth a look. Tram stop is a few minutes away and about 20 minutes to centre. The hotel itself is really smart and very clean with very attentive staff. Our room was large and very comfortable, probably the best IHG hotels I have stayed in. As a Gold member i have stayed in quite a few. Nice terrace for a glass of wine overlooking a man-made lake which ids really pleasant at night. We hired bikes from town and they are secure right outside the hotel, chained of course! You can hire them from hotel for convenience but they were quite a bit more expensive. I did have one very minor thing, we were a couple of glasses and a towel short on the second day, no big deal but following the request to the duty manager we had a nice hand written note and a large bar of chocolate left in our room, really nice personal touch. They get a 5* from for this very action. Would definitely stay here again. Breakfast is high quality and plenty of it. Didn't have any evening meals but they looked good. Well done Denise Noij...top manager. Thank you.

Room Tip: Noise is not an issue so anywhere is good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPSouth, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South, responded to this review, July 29, 2014
Dear valued guest,

Thank you very much on behalf of me and the entire team for taking the time to write about your experience with Crowne Plaza Amsterdam- South.

I am extremely proud that the continuously great efforts of the team in combination with the facilities of the hotel, have led to your much appreciated review.

It was a pleasure to learn that the location of the hotel worked well for the purpose of your trip and that the design and layout of the room enabled you to enjoy a comfortable and relaxing stay.

I hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to Crowne Plaza Amsterdam- South in the very near future and thank you once again for your review.

With kind regards,

Nicole Turnhout - Ammerlaan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

653 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    438
    189
    20
    3
    3
See reviews for
58
207
28
234
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

I stayed 1 night for business and was very impressed. Room was immaculate and staff very attentive. Very convenient for Zuid station and the breakfast had a wide choice. Looking forward to staying again on my next trip.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPSouth, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South, responded to this review, July 29, 2014
Dear valued guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to rate your stay by writing a review on Tripadvisor.

We are extremely pleased that are looking forward to your next stay at the Crowne Plaza Amsterdam- South and that you had a comfortable stay in one of our modern rooms.

Thank you again for your review and we are looking forward to welcoming you in the near future.

With kind regards,

Nicole Turnhout - Ammerlaan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

Staying for one night, it was very handy for my meeting the next day in Amsterdam Zuid, and it is also very easy to get to by train from Schiphol airport. The hotel staff were very nice and friendly, and I also had a very nice meal in the hotel bar, which was quite popular for a Sunday evening. However, the room I stayed in wasn't that clean. There were food stains on the room service menu, and the carpet appeared not to have been vacuumed since the last guest(s). Overall a good hotel spoilt by the lack of room cleanliness.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPSouth, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
Dear valued guest,

First of all I would like to thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback concerning your recent stay. Only by receiving feedback like yours we are able to improve our services.

It is with great regret that I took notice of the fact that you encountered issues concerning cleanliness during your recent stay with us, as you will see from the majority of our posts cleanliness is one of our main priorities.

Please accept our sincerest apologies. I would welcome the opportunity to discuss your post further and would be grateful if you would contact me at your convenience through laura.vandenbos@ihg.com.

With kind regards,

Laura van den Bos
Housekeeping manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundalk, Ireland
Level Contributor
91 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

This hotel is located close to public transport and a motorway. On site parking is very expensive, but from 7pm to 9am street parking close to the hotel is free.

The hotel itself no located in a business/residential area and is clean and modern, although there is not a lot around to do, but there are a few restaurants.

Rooms are clean, modern and smart, staff where extremely helpful and full of advise on, especially on the parking. Beds like all Crowne Plazas are not to everyone's taste, personally I don't like the pillows and can rarely get comfortable but I find this common issue for me in a lot of hotels.

I stayed here for two nights and it was a good choice as I was working and needed peaceful working environment. Football was on during my stay but it didn't interrupt me.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPSouth, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South, responded to this review, July 29, 2014
Dear valued guest,

Thank you very much for staying at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam- South and for taking the time to share your feedback with us on Tripadvisor. It’s great to read that our staff service has contributed to making your stay memorable.

It was a pleasure to learn that the location of the hotel worked well for the purpose of your elaborate trip and you enjoyed the walk to the Rai Convention Centre, which is indeed only a short walk from the hotel. On top of that it is great that you were so positive about our spacious rooms, which are equipped with soundproof doors that keep away any distraction from outside so nothing stands in the way of a great night’s sleep.
We look forward to welcome you again soon.

With kind regards,

Nicole Turnhout - Ammerlaan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
66 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

Crowne plaza, first impression from afar-a quality hotel. My first visit to this chain of hotels was at ams, it greatly exceeded my expectations. Very classy, Everything was planned down to the smallest details. E.g. they really planned a gd sleep for you, super luxury bed with what they called a sleep advantage in small packaging. That worked for me! You can even find lots more than what you need in a hotel rm! Super spread of breakfast in the cafe by great service. Great recommendations over the counter on sightseeing and yummy food in nearby restaurants! This great experience resulted in me booking a week in another crowne plaza in beijing, looking fwd to the stay this month! And I even just signed up for IHG membership which includes crowne plaza and my all time fav holiday inn chain! Thanks for the great service, appreciated it!!

Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPSouth, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South, responded to this review, July 29, 2014
Dear valued guest,

Thank you so much for writing a Tripadvisor review and for sharing your findings following your recent stay with us.

It is great to learn that you enjoyed the various facilities and the design of the hotel.

Did you notice the musical theme that is represented throughout the building? The New York origin of George Gershwin has led to the names of our meeting rooms and the famous Manhattan 101 cocktail inspired us to name our restaurant one o one and Manhattan Lounge- Bar.

After a good night’s sleep a nutritious breakfast is the perfect way to re-energise and prepare for a productive day. It is great that you were happy about the quality of our breakfast and that it contributed to your stay.

On behalf of the entire team I would like to express our gratitude regarding your compliment on their behalf. It is our passion to deliver the best possible service and compliments of guests are our motivation to continue to improve continuously. Your review is definitely an inspiration and very rewarding.

Hopefully we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to Crowne Plaza Amsterdam- South in the near future.

Kind regards,

Nicole Turnhout - Ammerlaan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
103 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

It's got a stylish and modern decor, the rooms are spacious by Dutch standards, the service is friendly and efficient, the restaurant serves tasty food ( albeit off a limited menu), and it has a couple of small things- that I really liked- namely their "sleep" solution and the massage chair in the gym ( which btw is also quite spacious by Dutch standards).
Not to mention very good cable and a very good wifi-that was complimentary.
It's a very decent business hotel, that has a lot going for it.
Yup- finally a hotel in Netherlands- that I found really comfortable to stay in. Will like to return.

Room Tip: All rooms are the same size but I reckon choosing the higher floors wil provide a better view- thoug...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPSouth, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South, responded to this review, July 29, 2014
Dear valued guest,

Thank you very much for reviewing your stay at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam- South on Tripadvisor. I am very proud to read that in our hotel you finally found a hotel in the Netherlands you really liked.

It is fantastic that you enjoyed the room but more important that you experienced the sincere passion of our staff members to assist our guests into making their journey to a success. Thank you for complementing our staff; positive guest feedback is a great motivation for all of us to continue to deliver excellent service.

Thank you again for your rewarding words and we hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back soon.

With kind regards,

Nicole Turnhout - Ammerlaan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
66 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

I was in Amsterdam for work and stayed in Crowne Plaza for 4 nights. Service staff at the front desk, restaurant, etc were all very warm, welcoming and helpful. Checking in and out was a breeze. Room and facilities were fantastic. In particular, I love the 'this works: sleep' pack on the bed.

As this hotel is in the business/offices area, there are not much options in the area during the weekends, nothing to explore. Thankfully, the hotel is near to the Zuid metro station, or one could take Tram no 5 to the city. Getting around is not a problem.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPSouth, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South, responded to this review, July 29, 2014
Dear valued guest,

Thank you very much staying at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South and for taking the time to share your experience with the travel community.
It is great to learn that our staff members made you feel welcome from the start and that the different facilities in the room were able to make your stay with us comfortable. It is our aim to combine the best possible facilities with great service to make each guests stay a success.

At Crowne Plaza we know how important sleep is. Sleep is the fuel that powers your day. The Crowne Plaza Sleep Advantage program includes luxurious bedding, quiet zones and aroma therapy. In addition our soundproof doors keep away any distraction from outside so nothing stands in the way of a great night’s sleep and s speedy recovery from a jet-lag.

The Crowne Plaza Amsterdam-South is situated in Amsterdam-Zuidas.This area is the new urban centre devoted to international commerce and knowledge development. The location is unique because Amsterdam Schiphol International Airport, the RAI Convention Center and the city centre are only a few minutes away by public transport. The area is still under development to become a centre for working and living and therefore also the restaurant, shopping and facilities offer will be extended in the coming years to make the area livelier.

We definitely hope to welcome you back in our hotel soon and to assist you in making your stay pleasant and memorable again.

Kind regards,

Nicole Turnhout – Ammerlaan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
citizenM Amsterdam
#38 of 355 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 3,345 reviews
Centrum
Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centrum
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Toren
The Toren
#1 of 355 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 stars 1,784 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South

Address: George Gershwinlaan 101, 1082 Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#7 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#12 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#14 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South 4*
Number of rooms: 207
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Venere and Otel so you can book your Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.