We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cool business hotel, close to Amsterdam yet away from crouds (and bikes!)” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South to your Saves list
Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   George Gershwinlaan 101, 1082 Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #17 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Cool business hotel, close to Amsterdam yet away from crouds (and bikes!)”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

My younger self may have recommended a happening hostel in downtown Amsterdam, but the current one really likes the idea of a nice comfy hotel, with lots of space, awesome service, quiet rooms even if its a bit out of town so I would need to take the tram to town to partake in the debauchery (maybe). This is a great hotel in the middle of the financial district, very close to Schiphol.

Very good service at every juncture, front desk, breakfast, etc. The bar was nice, and I appreciate they were kind to me even when I was cheering for Mexico during the world cup and was wearing my Mexican jersey. Gym is small but very clean and well equipped, and they even had a motorized massage chair. Little details all around, the mint, cucumber or lemon infused water at the lobby, the smiling faces, it just worked out really well for us.

In addition, by taking the tram we had a chance to look at some of the nice neighborhoods outside of central Amsterdam, where the real folks live. it was overall a very nice experience.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPSouth, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South, responded to this review, July 18, 2014
Dear Guest,

Excellent news! I could not be prouder to read your outstanding review. It is with great pride that I share this with the rest of the team. Thank you very much for choosing to stay at the Crowne Plaza Amsterdam - South and for taking the time to write your feedback.

I am thrilled to know how much you appreciated the hotel's bar, the room and most especially the staff. It is comments like these that enable us to motivate our team to achieve greater heights.

We would love to have you here again and I am confident you will have an amazing stay again.

With kind regards,

Nicole Turnhout - ammerlaan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

470 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    313
    138
    14
    3
    2
See reviews for
37
145
21
176
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illiinois
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014

Great hotel very close to the main Schiphol airport. No need to take a cab. Easy 5-10 minute train ride direct from Airport train station in direction of Amsterdam Zuid. Only 3 euro per person. From the train station the hotel is easy to find directly behind the Symphony Tower, maybe a 3 minute walk. Front desk was friendly and very helpful. This is a recently renovated hotel, and the lobby, bar and room with amazing beds were all excellent. My husband and I purchased a 48 hour unlimited tram/metro ticket at the front desk. Definitely the way to go. Catching the tram is easy and takes you right into central Amsterdam in about 25 minutes. Nice thing about the multiple day tram ticket, once downtown, you can hop off and hop on different trams if you don't feel like walking from sight to another. You will discover that central Amsterdam is VERY crowded with tourists. At the end of the day or after dinner in the city center, we appreciated returning to the quiet surroundings of this wonderful hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPSouth, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South, responded to this review, July 29, 2014
Dear valued guest,

Thank you very much for your positive review on Tripadvisor. It is a pleasure to read that you rewarded our hotel and staff with such high ratings.

We are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed a pleasant stay in one of our spacious guest rooms. As getting a good night’s sleep is very important when travelling, Crowne Plaza has developed the Sleep Advantage program together with leading sleep expert Dr Chris Idzikowski. This holistic approach to sleep includes features like comfortable bedding, quiet zone floors, guaranteed wake-up calls and an exclusive aromatherapy kit.

We are happy that you had a great stay with us and look forward to welcome you back in the near future.

Kind regards,

Nicole Turnhout - Ammerlaan

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

Stayed here for work for about two weeks in June. Location is a bit outside the city but close to metro station probably about 25 minutes to downtown Amsterdam by either bike or metro . A large number of businesses are located close by.

The good:
-Modern hotel good restaurant and bar
- Access to decent gym across the street
- Close to Queen Beatrix Park if you enjoy running and outdoor activities I ran there almost every morning during my stay

The bad:
-As I was here for work the location was fine for my purposes however it's in a office park type area and there really aren't a lot of amenities close by.

Overall would highly recommend it for business purposes and possibly for vacation purposes too if you're looking for something a little bit outside the city

Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPSouth, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South, responded to this review, July 29, 2014
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for sharing your findings about your stay with us on Tripadvisor.

As you mention the Crowne Plaza Amsterdam- South is located in a new urban centre devoted to international commerce and knowledge development: Amsterdam Zuidas. The location is unique and nearby Amsterdam Schiphol International Airport, the RAI Convention Center and the city centre are only a few minutes away by public transport.

As the area is being developed to become an international top location for living, working and recreation there is a nice selection of facilities such as restaurants and shops available nearby the hotel. This offer is only going to be extended in the future making the area livelier.

Once again thank you for your review and we hope to welcome you back soon.

Kind regards,

Nicole Turnhout - Ammerlaan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014 via mobile

Roomy, best beds ever. Warm and they offer choice of pillows all for comfort. Great decor. Used theme of music, photos to reflect Gershwin avenue all through the motel.
All facilities provided, even bikes! Breakfast substantial and lots of choices.

Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPSouth, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South, responded to this review, July 2, 2014
Dear valued guest,

First of all I would like to thank you very much about your most kind review.

It is a pleasure for us to learn that you enjoyed staying in one of our comfortably equipped rooms. The hotel has a musical theme that is represented throughout the building. The New York origin of George Gershwin has led to the names of our meeting rooms and the famous Manhattan 101 cocktail inspired us to name our restaurant one o one and Manhattan Lounge- Bar.

Hopefully we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to Crowne Plaza Amsterdam- South in the near future.

With kind regards,

Nicole Turnhout - Ammerlaan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke-on-Trent, England, UK
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

I used this hotel as a base for a 3 day business trip & I cannot fault it at all. The room (junior suite) was excellent. Very spacious with lots of wardrobes, which is unusual in most hotels. The bathroom was also extremely well fitted out with an extra large bath & walk in shower.
The free coffee machine & mini bar (charged) were a welcome added extra.
Overall, the room was very clean & tidy. Housekeeping were brilliant each day.
The hotel also recognised my Priority Club status & provided a room upgrade.
Breakfast was served in a very clean & spacious area, with multiple choices of cold or hot food.
I would certainly recommend this hotel to anyone thinking of stopping in Amsterdam & will not hesitate to use it again if needed.
Staff were also friendly, right from front of house to the maids.

Room Tip: The suites are superb.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPSouth, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South, responded to this review, July 2, 2014
Dear valued guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay. It was a pleasure to learn that our rooms and staff made a very good impression on you.

Our quiet location is unique as Amsterdam Schiphol International Airport, the RAI Convention Center and the city centre are only a few minutes away by public transport. Our carefully designed and equipped rooms combine the aspects that are needed to relax and re-energise. Sound proof doors, luxurious bedding and aromatherapy are just a few of the features of our Crowne Plaza Sleep Advantage programme, which has been designed to make you drift off easier and allow you to have sweet dreams. After a good night’s sleep a nutritious breakfast is the perfect way to re-energise and prepare for a productive day.

Your compliments about the staff have been shared with the entire team. I would like to thank you very much again for you very kind review.

With kind regards,

Nicole Turnhout - Ammerlaan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

The hotel is excellent in every sense. It is located in the south of the city, but very close to public transportation which brings you into the centre of town within 15 minutes. The rooms are great, and provide every amenity to wish for, including an ice bucket, and ice machines on every floor, a rarity in Europe (I have yet to find another hotel which offers this here!)!, even though there also is a minibar in the room. There are a restaurant and bar on the premises, as well as a health club; breakfast is excellent. The staff is very helpful, nothing is too much, giving you a warm feeling of welcome!
( I am a professional tour leader, and travel there with groups: manyof my groups have now stayed there; they uniformly are very enthusuastic about the hotel, and would recommend it to anyone coming to Amsterdam!)

Room Tip: All rooms are good, there is only a slight difference between a standard and superior room
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPSouth, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South, responded to this review, June 23, 2014
Dear valued guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review about our hotel.

The Crowne Plaza Amsterdam-South is indeed situated in a new urban centre devoted to international commerce and knowledge development. The area is becoming the centre for working and living and therefore also the restaurant-, shopping- and facilities offer will be extended in the coming years to make the area livelier.

Our quiet location is unique as Amsterdam Schiphol International Airport, the RAI Convention Center and the city centre are only a few minutes away by public transport.

Our carefully designed and equipped rooms combine the aspects that are needed to relax and re-energise. Sound proof doors, luxurious bedding and aromatherapy are just a few of the features of our Crowne Plaza Sleep Advantage programme, which has been designed to make you drift off easier and allow you to have sweet dreams.

Your compliments about the staff have been shared with the entire team.

I would like to thank you very much again for you very kind review.

Nicole Turnhout - Ammerlaan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

This is definitely a cut above what you can usually expect from Crowne Plaza. Everything about my stay here was good: the room was very spacious, an excellent bathroom with bath and walk in shower, an extremely comfortable bed, and everything was scrupulously clean. The room had a very good coffee machine too.

The club lounge is worth having access to - a decent breakfast is available for free and it is open all day for drinks and snacks.

All of the staff I encountered were extremely friendly and helpful.

The location was excellent both for access to Schiphol and the RAI conference centre - the conference centre is easily walkable from the hotel.

Very good.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPSouth, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South, responded to this review, June 23, 2014
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for reviewing the Crowne Plaza Amsterdam – South!

It is a true pleasure for us to know that you had a wonderful experience in our hotel and that the staff members in the various outlets left a great impression as well. Compliments like these are of great motivation for them.

Our carefully designed and equipped rooms combine the aspects that are needed to relax and re-energise. Sound proof doors, luxurious bedding and aromatherapy are just a few of the features of our Crowne Plaza Sleep Advantage programme, which has been designed to make you drift off easier and allow you to have sweet dreams.

We hope to welcome you as our guest soon again when business or leisure bring you back to Amsterdam.

Kind regards,

Nicole Turnhout – Ammerlaan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South

Address: George Gershwinlaan 101, 1082 Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#7 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#12 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#13 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South 4*
Number of rooms: 207
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, Expedia, Venere, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.