We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Business Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South to your Saves list
Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   George Gershwinlaan 101, 1082 Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #22 of 345 Hotels in Amsterdam
Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Good Business Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

Stayed here for work for about two weeks in June. Location is a bit outside the city but close to metro station probably about 25 minutes to downtown Amsterdam by either bike or metro . A large number of businesses are located close by.

The good:
-Modern hotel good restaurant and bar
- Access to decent gym across the street
- Close to Queen Beatrix Park if you enjoy running and outdoor activities I ran there almost every morning during my stay

The bad:
-As I was here for work the location was fine for my purposes however it's in a office park type area and there really aren't a lot of amenities close by.

Overall would highly recommend it for business purposes and possibly for vacation purposes too if you're looking for something a little bit outside the city

Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPSouth, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South, responded to this review, July 29, 2014
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for sharing your findings about your stay with us on Tripadvisor.

As you mention the Crowne Plaza Amsterdam- South is located in a new urban centre devoted to international commerce and knowledge development: Amsterdam Zuidas. The location is unique and nearby Amsterdam Schiphol International Airport, the RAI Convention Center and the city centre are only a few minutes away by public transport.

As the area is being developed to become an international top location for living, working and recreation there is a nice selection of facilities such as restaurants and shops available nearby the hotel. This offer is only going to be extended in the future making the area livelier.

Once again thank you for your review and we hope to welcome you back soon.

Kind regards,

Nicole Turnhout - Ammerlaan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

556 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    369
    163
    18
    3
    3
See reviews for
45
167
24
211
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014 via mobile

Roomy, best beds ever. Warm and they offer choice of pillows all for comfort. Great decor. Used theme of music, photos to reflect Gershwin avenue all through the motel.
All facilities provided, even bikes! Breakfast substantial and lots of choices.

Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPSouth, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South, responded to this review, July 2, 2014
Dear valued guest,

First of all I would like to thank you very much about your most kind review.

It is a pleasure for us to learn that you enjoyed staying in one of our comfortably equipped rooms. The hotel has a musical theme that is represented throughout the building. The New York origin of George Gershwin has led to the names of our meeting rooms and the famous Manhattan 101 cocktail inspired us to name our restaurant one o one and Manhattan Lounge- Bar.

Hopefully we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to Crowne Plaza Amsterdam- South in the near future.

With kind regards,

Nicole Turnhout - Ammerlaan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke-on-Trent, England, UK
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

I used this hotel as a base for a 3 day business trip & I cannot fault it at all. The room (junior suite) was excellent. Very spacious with lots of wardrobes, which is unusual in most hotels. The bathroom was also extremely well fitted out with an extra large bath & walk in shower.
The free coffee machine & mini bar (charged) were a welcome added extra.
Overall, the room was very clean & tidy. Housekeeping were brilliant each day.
The hotel also recognised my Priority Club status & provided a room upgrade.
Breakfast was served in a very clean & spacious area, with multiple choices of cold or hot food.
I would certainly recommend this hotel to anyone thinking of stopping in Amsterdam & will not hesitate to use it again if needed.
Staff were also friendly, right from front of house to the maids.

Room Tip: The suites are superb.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPSouth, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South, responded to this review, July 2, 2014
Dear valued guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay. It was a pleasure to learn that our rooms and staff made a very good impression on you.

Our quiet location is unique as Amsterdam Schiphol International Airport, the RAI Convention Center and the city centre are only a few minutes away by public transport. Our carefully designed and equipped rooms combine the aspects that are needed to relax and re-energise. Sound proof doors, luxurious bedding and aromatherapy are just a few of the features of our Crowne Plaza Sleep Advantage programme, which has been designed to make you drift off easier and allow you to have sweet dreams. After a good night’s sleep a nutritious breakfast is the perfect way to re-energise and prepare for a productive day.

Your compliments about the staff have been shared with the entire team. I would like to thank you very much again for you very kind review.

With kind regards,

Nicole Turnhout - Ammerlaan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

The hotel is excellent in every sense. It is located in the south of the city, but very close to public transportation which brings you into the centre of town within 15 minutes. The rooms are great, and provide every amenity to wish for, including an ice bucket, and ice machines on every floor, a rarity in Europe (I have yet to find another hotel which offers this here!)!, even though there also is a minibar in the room. There are a restaurant and bar on the premises, as well as a health club; breakfast is excellent. The staff is very helpful, nothing is too much, giving you a warm feeling of welcome!
( I am a professional tour leader, and travel there with groups: manyof my groups have now stayed there; they uniformly are very enthusuastic about the hotel, and would recommend it to anyone coming to Amsterdam!)

Room Tip: All rooms are good, there is only a slight difference between a standard and superior room
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPSouth, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South, responded to this review, June 23, 2014
Dear valued guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review about our hotel.

The Crowne Plaza Amsterdam-South is indeed situated in a new urban centre devoted to international commerce and knowledge development. The area is becoming the centre for working and living and therefore also the restaurant-, shopping- and facilities offer will be extended in the coming years to make the area livelier.

Our quiet location is unique as Amsterdam Schiphol International Airport, the RAI Convention Center and the city centre are only a few minutes away by public transport.

Our carefully designed and equipped rooms combine the aspects that are needed to relax and re-energise. Sound proof doors, luxurious bedding and aromatherapy are just a few of the features of our Crowne Plaza Sleep Advantage programme, which has been designed to make you drift off easier and allow you to have sweet dreams.

Your compliments about the staff have been shared with the entire team.

I would like to thank you very much again for you very kind review.

Nicole Turnhout - Ammerlaan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

This is definitely a cut above what you can usually expect from Crowne Plaza. Everything about my stay here was good: the room was very spacious, an excellent bathroom with bath and walk in shower, an extremely comfortable bed, and everything was scrupulously clean. The room had a very good coffee machine too.

The club lounge is worth having access to - a decent breakfast is available for free and it is open all day for drinks and snacks.

All of the staff I encountered were extremely friendly and helpful.

The location was excellent both for access to Schiphol and the RAI conference centre - the conference centre is easily walkable from the hotel.

Very good.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPSouth, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South, responded to this review, June 23, 2014
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for reviewing the Crowne Plaza Amsterdam – South!

It is a true pleasure for us to know that you had a wonderful experience in our hotel and that the staff members in the various outlets left a great impression as well. Compliments like these are of great motivation for them.

Our carefully designed and equipped rooms combine the aspects that are needed to relax and re-energise. Sound proof doors, luxurious bedding and aromatherapy are just a few of the features of our Crowne Plaza Sleep Advantage programme, which has been designed to make you drift off easier and allow you to have sweet dreams.

We hope to welcome you as our guest soon again when business or leisure bring you back to Amsterdam.

Kind regards,

Nicole Turnhout – Ammerlaan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2014

Very convenient from the Schiphol Airport - literally walked out of the airport and onto a train, a 10 minute and 1 stop followed by a quick 2 minute walk and we were at the hotel, which was really good after over 24 hours of flying and sitting in airports.

The Hotel is very comfortable, and has all the amenities you could want. Mary Anne at the front desk was great with her advice as to how to get around Amsterdam, and we opted for the tram into the City (the train is quicker but you see more on the tram).

We highly recommend this Hotel if you want somewhere to stay that is out of the busy city, but close enough that you can easily get in or out of the City and easily get to the Airport. The area the Hotel is in is a business district which is really quiet on the weekend, which was nice. There are some little restaurants nearby, but the real fun is a short train or tram ride away in the City.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPSouth, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South, responded to this review, June 23, 2014
Dear valued guest,

Thank you very much for staying at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam- South and for taking the time to share your experience.

Thank you for complimenting Mary Ann in particular for her assistance in making your experience memorable. Positive guest feedback is a great motivation for all of us to continue to strive to deliver excellent service. On top of that it is great to know that you experienced the sincere passion of our staff members to assist our guests into making their journey to a success.

Once again thank you for your review and we absolutely hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back again. We will do our utmost to make your stay memorable.

With kind regards,

Nicole Turnhout - Ammerlaan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2014

This was our first time in Amsterdam and we booked through PriceLine. We couln't believe our good luck. The hotel is new and sparkling clean. We had a large spacious room with an expresso coffee maker and an electric teapot. There was bottled water and welcoming Dutch chocolate. The bed was the most comfortable I've ever had in a hotel. The staff was wonderful, especially Tony and Suzanne who took pity on 2 lost Americans and made sure that we found our way. Thank you Crowne Plaza for making our stay so pleasant

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPSouth, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South, responded to this review, June 23, 2014
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for writing a great and complimentary review of which the title is a true advertisement for our hotel.

Our carefully designed and equipped rooms combine the aspects that are needed to relax and re-energise. Sound proof doors, luxurious bedding and aromatherapy are just a few of the features of our Crowne Plaza Sleep Advantage programme, which has been designed to make you drift off easier and allow you to have sweet dreams.

We are very proud of your comments about Jory and Suzanne. They have been shared with them and both of them were very happy with your nice compliments.

We hope to welcome you as our guest soon again when your travels brings you back to Amsterdam.

Kind regards,

Nicole Turnhout – Ammerlaan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South

Address: George Gershwinlaan 101, 1082 Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#7 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#13 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#16 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South 4*
Number of rooms: 207
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, IHG, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Despegar.com, Otel, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.