We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A really handy and nice place to stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South

Save Saved
You added Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   George Gershwinlaan 101, 1082 Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #18 of 345 Hotels in Amsterdam
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“A really handy and nice place to stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2014

Very convenient from the Schiphol Airport - literally walked out of the airport and onto a train, a 10 minute and 1 stop followed by a quick 2 minute walk and we were at the hotel, which was really good after over 24 hours of flying and sitting in airports.

The Hotel is very comfortable, and has all the amenities you could want. Mary Anne at the front desk was great with her advice as to how to get around Amsterdam, and we opted for the tram into the City (the train is quicker but you see more on the tram).

We highly recommend this Hotel if you want somewhere to stay that is out of the busy city, but close enough that you can easily get in or out of the City and easily get to the Airport. The area the Hotel is in is a business district which is really quiet on the weekend, which was nice. There are some little restaurants nearby, but the real fun is a short train or tram ride away in the City.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPSouth, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South, responded to this review, June 23, 2014
Dear valued guest,

Thank you very much for staying at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam- South and for taking the time to share your experience.

Thank you for complimenting Mary Ann in particular for her assistance in making your experience memorable. Positive guest feedback is a great motivation for all of us to continue to strive to deliver excellent service. On top of that it is great to know that you experienced the sincere passion of our staff members to assist our guests into making their journey to a success.

Once again thank you for your review and we absolutely hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back again. We will do our utmost to make your stay memorable.

With kind regards,

Nicole Turnhout - Ammerlaan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

458 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    304
    136
    13
    3
    2
See reviews for
36
141
21
168
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2014

This was our first time in Amsterdam and we booked through PriceLine. We couln't believe our good luck. The hotel is new and sparkling clean. We had a large spacious room with an expresso coffee maker and an electric teapot. There was bottled water and welcoming Dutch chocolate. The bed was the most comfortable I've ever had in a hotel. The staff was wonderful, especially Tony and Suzanne who took pity on 2 lost Americans and made sure that we found our way. Thank you Crowne Plaza for making our stay so pleasant

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPSouth, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South, responded to this review, June 23, 2014
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for writing a great and complimentary review of which the title is a true advertisement for our hotel.

Our carefully designed and equipped rooms combine the aspects that are needed to relax and re-energise. Sound proof doors, luxurious bedding and aromatherapy are just a few of the features of our Crowne Plaza Sleep Advantage programme, which has been designed to make you drift off easier and allow you to have sweet dreams.

We are very proud of your comments about Jory and Suzanne. They have been shared with them and both of them were very happy with your nice compliments.

We hope to welcome you as our guest soon again when your travels brings you back to Amsterdam.

Kind regards,

Nicole Turnhout – Ammerlaan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Union, NJ
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

As part of an 8 country European trip, this was the designated hotel in Amsterdam. At first I was not happy because it was a chain. I wanted as much authenticity as possible. Coming from London and the very close hotel room there, I so welcomed the size of the room at Crowne Plaza. I have stayed in many in the U.S and this was just like them. The large room was greatly appreciated. The room was spotless and decorated nicely. The hotel staff was very accommodating and friendly. The breakfast was amazing!! I had a great omelet with fish, fresh fruit and croissant. I asked for a cup of peppermint tea and was given a teapot with fresh peppermint leaves brewing in the hot water. Awesome! The manager, Thijs, I believe was his name was wonderful. He greeted me and asked if I had a great stay and was there anything I needed. He is very excited about his hotel. I rented a bike at the front desk and had a great time riding around. The hotel is not in the center of things but public transportation is a block away. Highly recommend and will stay again when I return.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPSouth, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South, responded to this review, June 23, 2014
Dear valued guest,

First of all I would like to thank you for taking the time to write a comment about the Crowne Plaza Amsterdam – South.

You made a fabulous decision in opting to stay in Amsterdam and we could not be happier that you chose to stay at the Crowne Plaza Amsterdam – South hotel. We are pleased to know that we have contributed to your memorable stay in Amsterdam.

Furthermore, your high praises to the team left everyone very motivated in achieving even more the high standards that we are renowned for.

Please do come and stay with us again in the near future and I am sure your stay will be just as great as the last one.

Kind regards,

Nicole Turnhout – Ammerlaan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

I would like to thank you for the pleasant stay during our 3 day trip to Amsterdam. We stayed in a Standard Double room. The room was super clean, with enough toiletries. The bed was cozy and the view from our room was awesome. The hotel staff was friendly and helpful. They will charge 50 Euros per day as a security deposit or they will reserve this amount in credit card. They will return the cash if we don't use room minibar. The buffet breakfast was good, we liked the special omelet. Friendly staff in breakfast and are happy to serve us.

Hotel is few blocks away from Station Zuid, approx 6 minutes walk. Metro 51 from Amsterdam Centraal (towards Westwijk direction) takes around 20 min to reach Zuid station. It is the 9th stop from Amsterdam Centraal. The adjacent streets are safe to travel even in night, but be cautious while walking late night from station to hotel as the streets are empty after midnight and poor lighting near buildings.

The hotel has 'Bikes for rental', we haven't gone for that, but heard that the rates are cheaper than Mc Bike or Yellow bikes.

There is a tram station next to Hotel, use the back entrance of hotel and walk to 'De Boelelaan/VU', about 9 minutes and 700 meters. Tram 16 towards Centraal Station, 20 min (13 stops), Service run by GVB.

There are no good restaurants or groceries nearby, do plan in advance before reaching hotel.

We will surely stay here if we visit Amsterdam again.

Room Tip: Rooms facing canal side are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPSouth, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South, responded to this review, June 23, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your kind comments following your recent stay with us. I am glad that you appreciate the courtesy and efficiency of our staff and that you enjoyed the very convenient location of the hotel.

It was encouraging to see that you appreciated the services provided by our team. Thank you very much for not only observing the service excellence, but taking the time to put it in writing.
I am pleased to know that you loved the comforts of your room and the amenities.

We hope it will not be too long before you have the opportunity to stay again here at the Crowne Plaza Amsterdam – South.

With kind regards,

Nicole Turnhout – Ammerlaan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
62 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
141 helpful votes 141 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2014

Very good hotel after cycling 320 miles from London. Room excellent; service was excellent. Breakfast particulary good and was included in my room rate.
Excellent location for trip to airport next morning. Walking to gate 30 mins after leaving hotel!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPSouth, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South, responded to this review, June 23, 2014
Dear valued guest,

Many thanks for taking the time to write your feedback.

We are always pleased to hear when our guests feel extremely satisfied during their stay with us. We would love to have you return for another stay when you come to Amsterdam next time and I am sure your experience will be just as great as this time.

With kind regards,

Nicole Turnhout – Ammerlaan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

Where do I begin, I don't really ever write reviews like this but felt I had to share my experience. First of all I want to say a big thank you to Nicole Turnhout for her amazing customer service, even without me meeting her. The hotel is beautiful but it's only warming when the staff provide excellent customer service, of which they did. My sister who travelled out of London for the first time had a lovely time and a lot of it was because of her stay here. This hotel is modern and clean and out of the way of the city centre but still has close links. Previously stayed at Crowne Plaza Schipol however there is no comparison, this CP South out does it by miles. You don't get many hotels or organisations that has staff singing praises about their management, but here you do and I agree with them; very positive atmosphere. I would like to thank all of the staff here; breakfast staff, bar staff, room service staff, house keeping staff, front desk staff and not forgetting the lovely manager. This hotel is definitely under great management and I recommend it to everyone.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPSouth, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South, responded to this review, June 23, 2014
Dear valued guest,

Thank you very much for writing your most kind review.

We could not be happier to read your well written comments which beautifully summed up all that is best about Crowne Plaza Amsterdam - South. It is very rewarding to know that we have exceeded your expectations on your recent stay.

Your great feedback will be shared to the rest of the team. We would love to have you again when you come to Amsterdam next time and I am sure your experience will be just as great as this time.

With kind regards,

Nicole Turnhout – Ammerlaan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2014

Second time I have stayed at this hotel, both times the staff have gone out of their way to make sure that stay was a pleasant one. Food, especially breakfast, was very good. Rooms of a good size, modern and clean. Hotel is little out from the city centre, however it does have good public transport links. I was working at the RAI, which is a 20 min walk away, or much quicker if you take one of the hire bikes.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPSouth, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South, responded to this review, June 23, 2014
Dear valued guest,

Thank you very much for staying at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam- South and for taking the time to share your experience.

We are very pleased to that you enjoyed our spacious rooms and breakfast buffet which includes various warm and cold items to suit the needs of all of our guests. After a good night’s sleep a nutritious breakfast is the perfect way to re-energise and prepare for a productive day.

In addition it is great to read that our convenient location with business facilities in close proximity of the hotel were a positive addition to your stay. The hotel area is being developed to become an international top location for living, working and recreation with a nice selection of facilities like restaurants and shops to make the area livelier.

Once again thank you for your review and we absolutely hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back again.

Kind regards,

Nicole Turnhout - Ammerlaan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South

Address: George Gershwinlaan 101, 1082 Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#7 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#12 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#13 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Tingo, Priceline, Expedia, getaroom.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Otel so you can book your Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.