We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best Crowne Plaza Hotels” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South

Save Saved
You added Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   George Gershwinlaan 101, 1082 Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #20 of 345 hotels in Amsterdam
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“One of the best Crowne Plaza Hotels”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2014

Second time I have stayed at this hotel, both times the staff have gone out of their way to make sure that stay was a pleasant one. Food, especially breakfast, was very good. Rooms of a good size, modern and clean. Hotel is little out from the city centre, however it does have good public transport links. I was working at the RAI, which is a 20 min walk away, or much quicker if you take one of the hire bikes.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPSouth, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South, responded to this review, June 23, 2014
Dear valued guest,

Thank you very much for staying at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam- South and for taking the time to share your experience.

We are very pleased to that you enjoyed our spacious rooms and breakfast buffet which includes various warm and cold items to suit the needs of all of our guests. After a good night’s sleep a nutritious breakfast is the perfect way to re-energise and prepare for a productive day.

In addition it is great to read that our convenient location with business facilities in close proximity of the hotel were a positive addition to your stay. The hotel area is being developed to become an international top location for living, working and recreation with a nice selection of facilities like restaurants and shops to make the area livelier.

Once again thank you for your review and we absolutely hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back again.

Kind regards,

Nicole Turnhout - Ammerlaan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

434 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    287
    129
    13
    3
    2
See reviews for
36
129
19
164
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Leiden, The Netherlands
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

Very friendly and helpful staff. Almost new hotel, very clean and great service
Well located in amsterdam zuid district, close to trAinstation and airport
Train leavea every 6 minutes to next stop being airport
Excellent meeting facilities with great manager (well done jonas)

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPSouth, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South, responded to this review, July 2, 2014
Dear valued guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to inform us about your findings following your recent stay with us. It is a pleasure for us to learn that you enjoyed staying in one of our comfortably equipped rooms and that the location of the hotel connected well to the purpose of your stay.

On behalf of the entire team I would like to express our gratitude regarding your compliment on their behalf. It is our passion to deliver the best possible service and compliments of guests are our motivation to continue to improve continuously. A special thank you for your kind words about Jonas.

Your review is definitely an inspiration and very rewarding. Hopefully we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to Crowne Plaza Amsterdam- South in the near future.

With kind regards,

Nicole Turnhout - Ammerlaan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2014

A really efficient hotel catering mainly for business people visiting the Zuid business district, but having a very friendly and caring staff. This is my 4th visit ,8days this time.Clean well appointed rooms.
A note for tourists, this is a little way uot from the centre, but it is very well connected with the station only 2 mins walk. If your going into the city, walk through the station, pasat the World Trade Centre and up the steps. Take the number 5 tram, you will see al lot more!

Room Tip: go for a club room
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPSouth, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South, responded to this review, May 27, 2014
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feelings regarding your recent stay with us.

First of all I would like to thank you for complementing our staff about their service level. It is their passion to assist all of our valued guests in making their stay successful and memorable. Your words will serve as a great motivation for them to continue to pursue this aim.

We are also very grateful for your compliments regarding the cleanliness of our rooms. Our staff in housekeeping works very hard to keep the rooms in the best shape possible.

We hope to welcome you again in the near future.

Kind regards,

Nicole Turnhout - Ammerlaan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, New York
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2014

Check in - Smooth, room was ready.
Check out - Smooth and all was in order.
Room - Very comfortable, must leave key card in the "light switch" to turn on lights and A/C, Green initiative.
Bed - Very comfortable
Bath - Roomy - Found shower a little difficult to figure out. Good hot water, Water Pressure could have been stronger for my preference.
Lounge - very nice, customer service was outstanding Michael the bartender did a great job and took good care of us.
Breakfast buffet - This was an excellent set-up and the wait service was excellent again.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPSouth, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South, responded to this review, May 27, 2014
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for informing us about your recent stay by posting a review on TripAdvisor.

It is great to learn that you enjoyed a pleasant stay in one of our guest rooms. As getting a good night’s sleep is very important when you travel, Crowne Plaza has developed the Sleep Advantage program together with leading sleep expert Dr Chris Idzikowski. This holistic approach to sleep enjoys features like comfortable bedding, quiet zone floors, guaranteed wake-up calls and an exclusive aromatherapy kit.

It is fantastic that you enjoyed the room but more important that you experienced the sincere passion of our staff members to assist our guests into making their journey to a success. Thank you for complimenting Michael in particular for his assistance; positive guest feedback is a great motivation for all of us to continue to deliver excellent service.

Again thank you very much for your feedback and we hope to welcome you back soon.

With kind regards,

Nicole Tunhout - Ammerlaan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bonnybridge, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2014

Stayed for 3 nights here. Hotel is new and modern. Rooms nicely decorated, very spacious for city hotel and very clean. There are cafés and a small supermarket located at/near Zuid station which we used as we did not eat in hotel. There are no real places to have dinner nearby so use tram to get elsewhere.

Hotel is short walk from Amsterdam Zuid station where you can get train direct from Schipol airport. It's the first stop from the airport from platform 1 or 2. Train tickets can be bought on arrival at airport and around 5 euros one way. The tram stop is on the opposite side of the station, about 5 minutes walk away. Hotel is 20 minutes or so from centre of city if using the tram. Use tram 5 which stops at all major points of interest and terminates at Central Station. Best to buy unlimited public transport tickets for trams. Can be bought from driver or at Central station. We bought 3 day pass at about 20 euros each.

Little information is provided by hotel staff about getting around the city and they do not provide any maps of city. Other city hotels we have visited have provided this information. There are however excursion leaflets provided should you wish to do any activities.

Overall, hotel perfect for short city break. Located in business area so out of the city but easy access by use of trams or metro.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPSouth, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South, responded to this review, May 27, 2014
Dear valued guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to inform us about your findings following your recent stay with us.

It is a pleasure for us to learn that you enjoyed staying in one of our comfortably equipped rooms and that the location of the hotel connected well to the purpose of your stay.

Did you notice the musical theme that is represented throughout the building? The New York origin of George Gershwin has led to the names of our meeting rooms and the famous Manhattan 101 cocktail inspired us to name our restaurant one o one and Manhattan Lounge- Bar.

I regret to read that the staff did not provide you with enough information on the city or with a map. We do offer them and our staff is trained on tourist information about Amsterdam, we hope to show this to you when your travels brings you back to Amsterdam.

With kind regards,

Nicole Turnhout - Ammerlaan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dolgellau, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2014

This hotel is conveniently situated, a stone's throw from Amsterdam South train station and the metro. It is impeccably clean and comfortable although I found my room a touch too warm. The foyer is open and airy and the staff are friendly and efficient. Breakfast included a good range of food and the service was good. I am happy to recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPSouth, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South, responded to this review, May 27, 2014
Dear valued guest,

First of all I would like to thank you for taking the time to write a review about our hotel.

It is a pleasure for us to learn that you enjoyed the location of the hotel as well as the friendliness of the staff. Great that you discovered the city centre by using tram number 5. You can catch this tram at Station Amsterdam Zuid, 5 minutes walking from the hotel, from where it leads you through the historic city centre, over the canals while passing by many famous sights and has Amsterdam Central Station as a final stop. At train station Zuid you can also take the train to the airport which only takes about 7 minutes.

We hope to welcome you again in the near future.

With kind regards,

Nicole Turnhout - Ammerlaan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caernarfon
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

Stayed with a group of friends May 2014. Staff consistently went out of their way to be helpful and friendly. Rooms are comfortable, a decent size, and well appointed. Particular mention for the excellent, nearly silent air conditioning. Excellent breakfast - chef also offers items made to order. Bar ideal for relaxing drinks and staff cheerful and efficient. Location excellent for our purposes. 5 minute walk to Zuid station. Tram number 5 to centre can take a little longer than expected, so if making repeated journeys, my suggestion is to take the Metro and get off at Waterlooplein - 15m approx. to an attractive part of town. Consider putting 20 or 30 euros on an OVchipcard at airport on arrival. You can also use for trips by train to attractive out of town destinations such as Haarlem.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPSouth, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South, responded to this review, May 26, 2014
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for informing us about your recent stay by posting a review on TripAdvisor.

It is great to learn that you enjoyed a pleasant stay in one of our guest rooms. As getting a good night’s sleep is very important when you travel, Crowne Plaza has developed the Sleep Advantage program together with leading sleep expert Dr Chris Idzikowski. This holistic approach to sleep enjoys features like comfortable bedding, quiet zone floors, guaranteed wake-up calls and an exclusive aromatherapy kit.

It is fantastic that you enjoyed the room but more important that you experienced the sincere passion of our staff members to assist our guests into making their journey to a success. Thank you for complimenting Michael in particular for his assistance; positive guest feedback is a great motivation for all of us to continue to deliver excellent service.

Again thank you very much for your feedback and we hope to welcome you back soon.

With kind regards,

Nicole Turnhout - Ammerlaan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South

Address: George Gershwinlaan 101, 1082 Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#7 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#13 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#14 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, IHG, Agoda, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Tingo, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel and Priceline so you can book your Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.