We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value, ideal for city break.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South to your Saves list
Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   George Gershwinlaan 101, 1082 Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #22 of 345 Hotels in Amsterdam
Bonnybridge, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Good value, ideal for city break.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2014

Stayed for 3 nights here. Hotel is new and modern. Rooms nicely decorated, very spacious for city hotel and very clean. There are cafés and a small supermarket located at/near Zuid station which we used as we did not eat in hotel. There are no real places to have dinner nearby so use tram to get elsewhere.

Hotel is short walk from Amsterdam Zuid station where you can get train direct from Schipol airport. It's the first stop from the airport from platform 1 or 2. Train tickets can be bought on arrival at airport and around 5 euros one way. The tram stop is on the opposite side of the station, about 5 minutes walk away. Hotel is 20 minutes or so from centre of city if using the tram. Use tram 5 which stops at all major points of interest and terminates at Central Station. Best to buy unlimited public transport tickets for trams. Can be bought from driver or at Central station. We bought 3 day pass at about 20 euros each.

Little information is provided by hotel staff about getting around the city and they do not provide any maps of city. Other city hotels we have visited have provided this information. There are however excursion leaflets provided should you wish to do any activities.

Overall, hotel perfect for short city break. Located in business area so out of the city but easy access by use of trams or metro.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPSouth, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South, responded to this review, May 27, 2014
Dear valued guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to inform us about your findings following your recent stay with us.

It is a pleasure for us to learn that you enjoyed staying in one of our comfortably equipped rooms and that the location of the hotel connected well to the purpose of your stay.

Did you notice the musical theme that is represented throughout the building? The New York origin of George Gershwin has led to the names of our meeting rooms and the famous Manhattan 101 cocktail inspired us to name our restaurant one o one and Manhattan Lounge- Bar.

I regret to read that the staff did not provide you with enough information on the city or with a map. We do offer them and our staff is trained on tourist information about Amsterdam, we hope to show this to you when your travels brings you back to Amsterdam.

With kind regards,

Nicole Turnhout - Ammerlaan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

529 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    350
    156
    18
    3
    2
See reviews for
41
160
24
199
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dolgellau, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2014

This hotel is conveniently situated, a stone's throw from Amsterdam South train station and the metro. It is impeccably clean and comfortable although I found my room a touch too warm. The foyer is open and airy and the staff are friendly and efficient. Breakfast included a good range of food and the service was good. I am happy to recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPSouth, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South, responded to this review, May 27, 2014
Dear valued guest,

First of all I would like to thank you for taking the time to write a review about our hotel.

It is a pleasure for us to learn that you enjoyed the location of the hotel as well as the friendliness of the staff. Great that you discovered the city centre by using tram number 5. You can catch this tram at Station Amsterdam Zuid, 5 minutes walking from the hotel, from where it leads you through the historic city centre, over the canals while passing by many famous sights and has Amsterdam Central Station as a final stop. At train station Zuid you can also take the train to the airport which only takes about 7 minutes.

We hope to welcome you again in the near future.

With kind regards,

Nicole Turnhout - Ammerlaan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caernarfon
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

Stayed with a group of friends May 2014. Staff consistently went out of their way to be helpful and friendly. Rooms are comfortable, a decent size, and well appointed. Particular mention for the excellent, nearly silent air conditioning. Excellent breakfast - chef also offers items made to order. Bar ideal for relaxing drinks and staff cheerful and efficient. Location excellent for our purposes. 5 minute walk to Zuid station. Tram number 5 to centre can take a little longer than expected, so if making repeated journeys, my suggestion is to take the Metro and get off at Waterlooplein - 15m approx. to an attractive part of town. Consider putting 20 or 30 euros on an OVchipcard at airport on arrival. You can also use for trips by train to attractive out of town destinations such as Haarlem.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPSouth, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South, responded to this review, May 26, 2014
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for informing us about your recent stay by posting a review on TripAdvisor.

It is great to learn that you enjoyed a pleasant stay in one of our guest rooms. As getting a good night’s sleep is very important when you travel, Crowne Plaza has developed the Sleep Advantage program together with leading sleep expert Dr Chris Idzikowski. This holistic approach to sleep enjoys features like comfortable bedding, quiet zone floors, guaranteed wake-up calls and an exclusive aromatherapy kit.

It is fantastic that you enjoyed the room but more important that you experienced the sincere passion of our staff members to assist our guests into making their journey to a success. Thank you for complimenting Michael in particular for his assistance; positive guest feedback is a great motivation for all of us to continue to deliver excellent service.

Again thank you very much for your feedback and we hope to welcome you back soon.

With kind regards,

Nicole Turnhout - Ammerlaan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2014

It was my first trip to Amsterdam for business, and I stayed at the Crowne Plaza in the South area. It has a nice bar where I felt comfortable sitting and dining on my own - the bar staff were really lovely. The rooms and service were great. I would recommend for a business trip, but if you're here for leisure, then you'd want to stay closer to the centre.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPSouth, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South, responded to this review, May 14, 2014
Dear valued guest,

Thank you very much for reviewing the Crowne Plaza Amsterdam- South following your recent stay with us.

It is an absolute pleasure to know that you enjoyed the great customer service provided by our staff members. It is a great reward for the team and especially the bar team in particular to know that they make a difference by delivering excellent service. Compliments like these motivate us to continue to strive to perform on a high level.

At Crowne Plaza we know how important sleep is. After a rejuvenating night’s sleep you will achieve more during the day. At Crowne Plaza, we've therefore thought of elements to help you relax and ensure you will enjoy a great night’s sleep. Luxurious bedding, aromatherapy kit and quiet zones will help you to relax and drift off easier.

We look forward to welcome you back as our guest and thank you again for your kind words.

Kind regards,
Nicole Turnhout - Ammerlaan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2014

This is the second time I stay at the Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South during an ISSA exhibition. And the staff proved to be very helpful, very efficient, and the hotel rooms were very clean. On top of that the food at the ONE restaurant was also great. I was a very pleasant stay, this time as in the first time too.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPSouth, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South, responded to this review, May 14, 2014
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feelings regarding your recent stay with us.

First of all I would like to thank you for complementing our staff about their service level. It is their passion to assist all of our valued guests in making their stay successful and memorable.
I am very thankful to read that you enjoyed our One o one restaurant, thank you for your kind compliments.

We hope to welcome you again in the near future.

With kind regards,

Nicole Turnhout - Ammerlaan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
135 reviews 135 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2014

And I've stayed in quite a few, on my travels! This is a very modern Crowne Plaza located in the business district of Amsterdam in the South.

However, while it might look far from the city centre on the map, it offered great value. Because you pay less than staying in a canal hotel, and you also get the benefits of a modern hotel. The rooms were soundproof, the rainforest shower was amazing, the bed was luxurious, and the air conditioning worked really well.

And it really isn't that far from the city centre - the train station to the airport or Amsterdam Centraal is just 2 minutes walk away. The tram that goes past the Van Gogh and Rijksmuseum and to Dam Square is only 5 minutes walk away. Plus they have bikes to rent, if you want to cycle (only 15-20 minutes bike ride to the canal rings).

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPSouth, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South, responded to this review, May 14, 2014
Dear valued guest,

First of all I would like to thank you for taking the time to write a comment about Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South.

It is a pleasure to learn that you were so positive about our spacious rooms which are provided with a LCD television with a wide range of television channels, in-room safe and soundproof doors that keep away any distraction from outside so nothing stands in the way of a great night’s sleep. We aim to combine the best facilities with great service in order to allow our guests to re-energise and be more productive. A good night’s sleep and energising food and beverage selection plays an important role in that philosophy.

We hope to welcome you again in the near future.

With kind regards,
Nicole Turnhout - Ammerlaan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2014

We stayed at the Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South for 3 nights this May holiday weekend with our toddler. The rooms were lovely - comfortable bed, sumptuous pillows, and large clean modern bathrooms. However, the crowning achievement is the staff. We had little mishaps (cot wasn't in our room as requested, coffee maker was broken) and the staff went above and beyond what I would expect to make amends, including hand written apologies. The manager on duty (Suzanne) even gave our toddler a stuffed animal which then never left her side - it was a sweet and complete unnecessary touch.

The hotel is outside of the city center but Tram 5 takes you directly into the city in about 10-15 minutes. For a family like ours, being close to the nightlife isn't an issue but I could see this as a downside for others. Then again in the savings we paid you could easily take a cab at night.

After a long day of sightseeing and some late afternoon naps we even had dinner in the hotel which was excellent. Prices were reasonable for a hotel, service was lovely and of a high quality.

All in all, I'd highly recommend this hotel and the especially because of the staff.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPSouth, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South, responded to this review, May 8, 2014
Dear valued guest,

Thank you very much for reviewing your stay at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam- South on Tripadvisor.

It is fantastic that you were so positive about our spacious rooms with comfortable bathrooms, but more important that you experienced the sincere passion of our staff members to assist our guests into making their journey to a success. Thank you for complimenting Suzanne in particular for her assistance; positive guest feedback is a great motivation for all of us to continue to deliver excellent service.

It is great to learn that our location worked well for you and that you were able to benefit from the excellent public transportation connections that are available at Station Amsterdam Zuid. The hotel area is being developed to become an international top location for living, working and recreation with a nice selection of facilities like restaurants and shops to make the area livelier.

In addition, it is great to know that the quality of the food in the restaurant and the service provided there have made a positive addition to your stay. It is our aim to combine the best possible facilities with great service on a day to day basis. We are very grateful that you acknowledge our efforts.

Once again thank you very much for your kind and complimentary words. We hope to welcome you back as our guest in the near future.

With kind regards,

Nicole Turnhout – Ammerlaan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South

Address: George Gershwinlaan 101, 1082 Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#7 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#13 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#15 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South 4*
Number of rooms: 207
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.