We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This Hotel Shouts good Management” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South to your Saves list
Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   George Gershwinlaan 101, 1082 Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #21 of 350 Hotels in Amsterdam
York, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“This Hotel Shouts good Management”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2014

Stayed for three nights to celebrate my birthday; We go to a different European city every year. I booked the Crowne Plaza on line specifically wanting a location out of Amsterdam Centre but conveniently positioned. The metro station its just a small walk away and it takes just over ten minutes ride to get to the City centre stations. The hotel was a great experience from the very moment we stepped in to leave our bags as it was too early to check in, to when we departed. The concierge staff were courteous and attentive with that genuine welcoming attitude. The Room was of high standard and the bathroom (most important) was in pristine conditions. On our return from Town we found a birthday card and a chocolate from the Duty Manager in our room and thought that was a very nice unsolicited gesture. We had breakfast everyday of our stay and again the staff were attentive and polite with the choice of food very good. An open hatch with a really nice talkative chef if you require any fried eggs etc. We used the cocktail/restaurant bar both for drinks and snacks and all was to a high standard. Cannot really find anything negative about this hotel and we will certainly return when next in Amsterdam.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPSouth, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South, responded to this review, April 27, 2014
Dear valued guest,

Thank you very much for expressing your satisfaction with regards to your stay by leaving a review on Tripadvisor.

It was a pleasure to read that you received a warm and personal welcome and a special treatment as you were celebrating a special occasion.

It was a pleasure to learn that the location of the hotel worked well for the purpose of your trip and that the design and layout of the room enabled you to enjoy a comfortable and relaxing stay.

On behalf of the entire team I would like to express our gratitude regarding your compliment on their behalf. It is our passion to deliver great and seamless service and compliments of guests are our motivation to continue to improve continuously.

We hope to welcome you back to our hotel in the future.


With kind regards,

Nicole Turnhout - Ammerlaan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

588 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    390
    173
    19
    3
    3
See reviews for
47
185
26
219
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rheinfelden, Germany
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2014

It is very easy to get to the hotel by train from the airport, about 5 min walk from train station Amsterdam Zuid. The rooms are very quiet and well equipped. WiFi speed is excellent. The bathroom is very modern and stylish. The restaurant was closed on Saturday however the Manhattan Bar offered a good selection of food, wines and cocktails. The service at the bar and at the reception was excellent. Will definitely choose this hotel again.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPSouth, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South, responded to this review, April 14, 2014
Dear valued guest,

Thank you very much for staying at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam- South and for taking the time to share your feedback with us on Tripadvisor.

It was a pleasure to learn that the location of the hotel worked well for the purpose of your elaborate trip.

On top of that it is great that you were so positive about our spacious rooms, which are equipped with soundproof doors that keep away any distraction from outside so nothing stands in the way of a great night’s sleep.

Thank you for complementing our Manhattan Bar staff. Positive guest feedback is a great motivation for all of us to continue to strive to deliver excellent service. It is great to know that you experienced the sincere passion of our staff members to assist our guests into making their journey into a success.

We look forward to welcome you again soon.

With kind regards,

Nicole Turnhout - Ammerlaan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2014

If your office is in the area this should be your first choice of hotel. Just a few minutes from Schiphol by train, and therefore great connectivity to the rest of the NLs. Modern ample facilities. Good coffee machine in the room. Nice bathroom. I didn't use the business centre, so no comment there. As of April 2014 there is construction next door so might not be the best choice for sleeping in late. Perhaps ask for a room on the other side of the hotel if this is a problem. I would recommend it regardless.

Room Tip: Side not facing construction
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPSouth, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South, responded to this review, April 14, 2014
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for being one of our highly valued guests and for rewarding us with your kind words.

The Crowne Plaza Amsterdam-South is indeed situated in close proximity of the Rai Congress Centre and in a new urban centre devoted to international commerce and knowledge development. The area is becoming the centre for working and living and therefore the restaurant, shopping and facilities offer will be extended in the coming years to make the area livelier.

It is a true pleasure for us to know that you had a wonderful experience in our hotel and you are satisfied about our rooms and bathrooms.

Once again we thank you for your review and we look forward to welcome you back as our guest when your travel plans bring you back to Amsterdam.

Kind regards,

Nicole Turnhout - Ammerlaan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2014

Was transferred here from our original hotel due to them not having enough rooms. Everything was sorted for us, really lovely staff and gorgeous rooms!

Sprung the city tax fee on us at the end - only surprise, a little further away from the city centre too.

Stayed April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPSouth, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South, responded to this review, April 14, 2014
Dear valued guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write about your experience. It is great to hear that you had such a great stay with us.

It is a pleasure to learn that you were so positive about our spacious rooms which are provided with a LCD television with a wide range of television channels and soundproof doors that keep away any distraction from outside so nothing stands in the way of a great night’s sleep. The comfortable bathrooms have been designed with care.

Thank you very much again for your great review and we hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards,

Nicole Turnhout - Ammerlaan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2014

Everything about this hotel was excellent. The rooms, the professional and friendly staff, the food, the conference facilities. 5 minute walk to the train station, nice area (business district). I would definately recommend staying here.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPSouth, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South, responded to this review, April 10, 2014
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for evaluating your stay at the Crowne Plaza Amsterdam- South through your review on Tripadvisor.

It was a pleasure to have you as our guest for for your stay. It is great that our location and various services and facilities that are important for you, were to your satisfaction.

We are very grateful that you would recommend our hotel. That is what is most valuable.

Thank you again for reviewing our hotel and we look forward to welcome you back soon.

With kind regards,

Nicole Turnhout - Ammerlaan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2014

Fall in love with this hotel . First the staff very friendly yet respectful of you being guests despite the fact that we are working for the same company so no difference.
Reception staff very professional well trained.
We had a dinner in the bar and Michael made our night special. He is so cute, professional and attentive. Our table was never left alone always keeping us informed about the progress of our food and giving us advise on what and were to go visit. Freak the next evening was very nice to.
room was very clean and very well equipped we loved the coffee machine and the chocolate.
easy access to the business centre so we could print our boarding passes for our departure.
breakfast was very nice smoked fish , well presented.
very good work keep it going....
Thank you very much every body that made our stay special.
Will be back...........

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPSouth, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South, responded to this review, April 10, 2014
Dear valued guest,

Thank you very much for staying at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam- South and for taking the time to share your experience.

We are very pleased to that you enjoyed our spacious rooms and breakfast buffet which includes various warm and cold items to suit the needs of all of our guests. After a good night’s sleep a nutritious breakfast is the perfect way to re-energise and prepare for a productive day.

Thank you for complimenting Michael and Freek in particular for their assistance in making your experience memorable. Positive guest feedback is a great motivation for all of us to continue to strive to deliver excellent service. On top of that it is great to know that you experienced the sincere passion of our staff members to assist our guests into making their journey to a success.

Once again thank you for your review and we absolutely hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back again. We will do our utmost to make your stay memorable.

Kind regards,

Nicole Turnhout - Ammerlaan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2014

I stayed in this hotel at the end of March 2014. The accessibility of it from both airport and city is very good - 1 stop by train from Schiphol takes around 7 minutes. City centre is easily reached by tram 5, which stops about couple of minutes walk from the hotel. The room is overall very good as almost everywhere with this hotels brand. Housekeeping ladies are a bit nasty sometimes when going into the room without any notice, so beware:) I didn't take the breakfast as street food in Amsterdam is really amazing and plenty of cafes are several tram stops away. Wifi is not free unless you produce and IHG Rewards card and you can be given a late checkout with it as well so make sure to ask. If you're in a hurry to get to the hotel from the city, avoid using taxi as it will take you twice a time that the tram takes you. There is a Russian speaker with reception desk now, and the staff is all very helpful and nice.

Room Tip: No need to bother, you'll be given a good room anyway:)
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPSouth, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South, responded to this review, April 10, 2014
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for evaluating your recent stay with us in Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South.

The Crowne Plaza Amsterdam-South is indeed situated in a new urban centre devoted to international commerce and knowledge development. The area is becoming the centre for working and living and therefore also the restaurant-, shopping- and facilities offer will be extended in the coming years to make the area livelier. Taking tram number 5 is the ideal way to get familiar with Amsterdam as it passes by many highlights of the city like the Museumsquare, Leidsesquare and Damsquare with end stop at Amsterdam Central Station.

We have reinstructed our housekeeping staff on our door procedures. Thank you for bringing this to our attention.

We hope to welcome you again in the future when business brings you back to Amsterdam.

With kind regards,

Nicole Turnhout - Ammerlaan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South

Address: George Gershwinlaan 101, 1082 Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#7 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#10 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#15 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South 4*
Number of rooms: 207
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Odigeo and Otel so you can book your Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.