We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Everything was excellent!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South

Save Saved
You added Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   George Gershwinlaan 101, 1082 Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #22 of 343 hotels in Amsterdam
australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Everything was excellent!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2014

Everything about this hotel was excellent. The rooms, the professional and friendly staff, the food, the conference facilities. 5 minute walk to the train station, nice area (business district). I would definately recommend staying here.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPSouth, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South, responded to this review, April 10, 2014
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for evaluating your stay at the Crowne Plaza Amsterdam- South through your review on Tripadvisor.

It was a pleasure to have you as our guest for for your stay. It is great that our location and various services and facilities that are important for you, were to your satisfaction.

We are very grateful that you would recommend our hotel. That is what is most valuable.

Thank you again for reviewing our hotel and we look forward to welcome you back soon.

With kind regards,

Nicole Turnhout - Ammerlaan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

408 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    264
    126
    13
    3
    2
See reviews for
33
119
18
160
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2014

Fall in love with this hotel . First the staff very friendly yet respectful of you being guests despite the fact that we are working for the same company so no difference.
Reception staff very professional well trained.
We had a dinner in the bar and Michael made our night special. He is so cute, professional and attentive. Our table was never left alone always keeping us informed about the progress of our food and giving us advise on what and were to go visit. Freak the next evening was very nice to.
room was very clean and very well equipped we loved the coffee machine and the chocolate.
easy access to the business centre so we could print our boarding passes for our departure.
breakfast was very nice smoked fish , well presented.
very good work keep it going....
Thank you very much every body that made our stay special.
Will be back...........

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPSouth, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South, responded to this review, April 10, 2014
Dear valued guest,

Thank you very much for staying at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam- South and for taking the time to share your experience.

We are very pleased to that you enjoyed our spacious rooms and breakfast buffet which includes various warm and cold items to suit the needs of all of our guests. After a good night’s sleep a nutritious breakfast is the perfect way to re-energise and prepare for a productive day.

Thank you for complimenting Michael and Freek in particular for their assistance in making your experience memorable. Positive guest feedback is a great motivation for all of us to continue to strive to deliver excellent service. On top of that it is great to know that you experienced the sincere passion of our staff members to assist our guests into making their journey to a success.

Once again thank you for your review and we absolutely hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back again. We will do our utmost to make your stay memorable.

Kind regards,

Nicole Turnhout - Ammerlaan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2014

I stayed in this hotel at the end of March 2014. The accessibility of it from both airport and city is very good - 1 stop by train from Schiphol takes around 7 minutes. City centre is easily reached by tram 5, which stops about couple of minutes walk from the hotel. The room is overall very good as almost everywhere with this hotels brand. Housekeeping ladies are a bit nasty sometimes when going into the room without any notice, so beware:) I didn't take the breakfast as street food in Amsterdam is really amazing and plenty of cafes are several tram stops away. Wifi is not free unless you produce and IHG Rewards card and you can be given a late checkout with it as well so make sure to ask. If you're in a hurry to get to the hotel from the city, avoid using taxi as it will take you twice a time that the tram takes you. There is a Russian speaker with reception desk now, and the staff is all very helpful and nice.

Room Tip: No need to bother, you'll be given a good room anyway:)
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPSouth, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South, responded to this review, April 10, 2014
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for evaluating your recent stay with us in Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South.

The Crowne Plaza Amsterdam-South is indeed situated in a new urban centre devoted to international commerce and knowledge development. The area is becoming the centre for working and living and therefore also the restaurant-, shopping- and facilities offer will be extended in the coming years to make the area livelier. Taking tram number 5 is the ideal way to get familiar with Amsterdam as it passes by many highlights of the city like the Museumsquare, Leidsesquare and Damsquare with end stop at Amsterdam Central Station.

We have reinstructed our housekeeping staff on our door procedures. Thank you for bringing this to our attention.

We hope to welcome you again in the future when business brings you back to Amsterdam.

With kind regards,

Nicole Turnhout - Ammerlaan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sugar Land, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2014

Have been traveling 200 plus days for the last 20+ years and I have been in some spectacular hotel properties. That said, I recently spent 2 weeks at this property and it was a slice of heaven. While the accommodations were top notch it was the staff that blew me away!

From the front desk to the restaurant and bar and especially Jonas, our meeting room manager, this is the finest collection of professionals I have ever encountered. Regardless of what was asked their response was always yes and the action was immediate.

They also have mastered the art of being attentive but not over bearing, friendly without sacrificing professionalism and proactive without over reaching!

Not sure if/when my travels and work will take me back to Amsterdam but I wouldn't consider any other hotel for my stay!

Great job guys ...

Room Tip: Ask for a room with one of their walk in showers ...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPSouth, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South, responded to this review, April 10, 2014
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for expressing your satisfaction regarding your stay at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam- South through your most kind review.

It was extremely rewarding to read your words about the attentive welcome that you experienced. As it is our aim and passion to help our guests to make their journey a success by combining great service with the best facilities it is fantastic to receive your confirmation that we are succeeding in that.

Guest compliments are a great motivation for the entire team and therefore your review has been shared with everyone. And especially Jonas.

Once again thank you for your review and we hope to be your hotel of choice again during your next visit to Amsterdam.

Kind regards,
Nicole Turnhout - Ammerlaan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tilburg, The Netherlands
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2014

At the heart of the Amsterdam business district (Zuidas) I've stayed with my family in Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South. Don't think it's just a business hotel. At arrival my son of 3 years old received a bear and personel was very friendly. And with a 5 minute taxi drive you'll get to the Amsterdam museum district. Or take the public transportation, it's around the corner (just like the international airport).

The rooms are excellent; nice and big bathroom, good refreshments, modern but warm interior design. Also breakfast was a delight, enough choice and good service.

I would recommand this hotel to business travellors as well as to (family) tourists.

Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPSouth, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South, responded to this review, April 10, 2014
Dear valued guest,

Thank you so much for writing a Tripadvisor review and for sharing your findings following your recent stay with us.

It is great to learn that you enjoyed the various facilities and the design of the hotel.
Did you notice the musical theme that is represented throughout the building? The New York origin of George Gershwin has led to the names of our meeting rooms and the famous Manhattan 101 cocktail inspired us to name our restaurant one o one and Manhattan Lounge- Bar.

On behalf of the entire team I would like to express our gratitude regarding your compliment on their behalf. It is our passion to deliver the best possible service and compliments of guests are our motivation to continue to improve continuously. Your review is definitely an inspiration and very rewarding.

Hopefully we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to Crowne Plaza Amsterdam- South in the near future.

With kind regards,

Nicole Turnhout - Ammerlaan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo, Japan
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2014

Very nice staff with good services!!
Always smiling and happy to help you.
Gorgeous hotel interior clean and modern, Beds and pillows so comfy!
and a very excellent breakfast:-D
Thank you Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South :-)

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPSouth, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South, responded to this review, March 31, 2014
Dear valued guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay.

It was a pleasure to learn that our rooms and staff made a very good impression on you. Our quiet location is unique as Amsterdam Schiphol International Airport, the RAI Convention Center and the city centre are only a few minutes away by public transport. Our carefully designed and equipped rooms combine the aspects that are needed to relax and re-energise. Sound proof doors, luxurious bedding and aromatherapy are just a few of the features of our Crowne Plaza Sleep Advantage programme, which has been designed to make you drift off easier and allow you to have sweet dreams.

Your compliments about the staff have been shared with the entire team. I would like to thank you very much again for you very kind review.

With kind regards,

Nicole Turnhout - Ammerlaan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2014

We stayed at the Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South for 3 night birthday and sightseeing trip. The location was perfect for us, 5 minutes from the airport on the train costing 3€. The hotel itself was lovely – we were upgraded on arrival and the room was big and spotlessly clean with complimentary water, good quality toiletries and a fresh coffee machine.

From checking in to checking out all the staff were extremely friendly and helpful. Pim on reception showed us all the best places to visit and even offered to book trips for us. Also on my birthday the staff left me a card with a lovely note and some chocolate which was really kind and thoughtful. Breakfast was really good value, it had something for everyone and was a good start to the day.

We opted to buy a 48hr tram travel card which was really good value and the tram (no 5) is only a five minute walk from the hotel and stops at most of the tourist attractions. Well worth the cost. We also bought a hop on hop off site seeing bus ticket which to be honest was not worth the money as I said above the tram pass does more a less the same route and was quicker. We did buy a canal cruise trip which was 9€ for 1hr and that was relaxing and took you round the city canals.

I would choose to stay at the Crowne Plaza again should we have a return trip and would highly recommend this hotel to others!

Thank you Crowne Plaza for making my weekend such a fabulous occasion!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPSouth, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South, responded to this review, March 31, 2014
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for reviewing our hotel and for sharing your findings with the travel community through Tripadvisor! It was a pleasure to learn that our location in Amsterdam – Zuidas was convenient for you. Our quiet location is unique as Amsterdam Schiphol International Airport, the RAI Convention Center and the city centre are only a few minutes away by public transport.
Your compliments on behalf of the food quality and service will be passed on to the team. Kind words as such are a great motivation for them to continuously strive to deliver excellent hospitality. Your kind words have been passed on to Pim.

We hope to welcome you again in the near future.

With kind regards,

Nicole Turnhout - Ammerlaan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South

Address: George Gershwinlaan 101, 1082 Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#8 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#14 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#20 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, IHG, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Tingo, Venere, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.