We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“High Quality Stylish Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South to your Saves list
Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   George Gershwinlaan 101, 1082 Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #18 of 356 Hotels in Amsterdam
Tokyo, Japan
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“High Quality Stylish Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2014

Very nice staff with good services!!
Always smiling and happy to help you.
Gorgeous hotel interior clean and modern, Beds and pillows so comfy!
and a very excellent breakfast:-D
Thank you Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South :-)

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPSouth, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South, responded to this review, March 31, 2014
Dear valued guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay.

It was a pleasure to learn that our rooms and staff made a very good impression on you. Our quiet location is unique as Amsterdam Schiphol International Airport, the RAI Convention Center and the city centre are only a few minutes away by public transport. Our carefully designed and equipped rooms combine the aspects that are needed to relax and re-energise. Sound proof doors, luxurious bedding and aromatherapy are just a few of the features of our Crowne Plaza Sleep Advantage programme, which has been designed to make you drift off easier and allow you to have sweet dreams.

Your compliments about the staff have been shared with the entire team. I would like to thank you very much again for you very kind review.

With kind regards,

Nicole Turnhout - Ammerlaan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

688 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    460
    202
    20
    3
    3
See reviews for
61
226
28
241
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2014

We stayed at the Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South for 3 night birthday and sightseeing trip. The location was perfect for us, 5 minutes from the airport on the train costing 3€. The hotel itself was lovely – we were upgraded on arrival and the room was big and spotlessly clean with complimentary water, good quality toiletries and a fresh coffee machine.

From checking in to checking out all the staff were extremely friendly and helpful. Pim on reception showed us all the best places to visit and even offered to book trips for us. Also on my birthday the staff left me a card with a lovely note and some chocolate which was really kind and thoughtful. Breakfast was really good value, it had something for everyone and was a good start to the day.

We opted to buy a 48hr tram travel card which was really good value and the tram (no 5) is only a five minute walk from the hotel and stops at most of the tourist attractions. Well worth the cost. We also bought a hop on hop off site seeing bus ticket which to be honest was not worth the money as I said above the tram pass does more a less the same route and was quicker. We did buy a canal cruise trip which was 9€ for 1hr and that was relaxing and took you round the city canals.

I would choose to stay at the Crowne Plaza again should we have a return trip and would highly recommend this hotel to others!

Thank you Crowne Plaza for making my weekend such a fabulous occasion!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPSouth, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South, responded to this review, March 31, 2014
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for reviewing our hotel and for sharing your findings with the travel community through Tripadvisor! It was a pleasure to learn that our location in Amsterdam – Zuidas was convenient for you. Our quiet location is unique as Amsterdam Schiphol International Airport, the RAI Convention Center and the city centre are only a few minutes away by public transport.
Your compliments on behalf of the food quality and service will be passed on to the team. Kind words as such are a great motivation for them to continuously strive to deliver excellent hospitality. Your kind words have been passed on to Pim.

We hope to welcome you again in the near future.

With kind regards,

Nicole Turnhout - Ammerlaan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gent, Belgium
Level Contributor
41 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2014

This hotel is a new modern hotel, a little walk to a train and metro station. Travel time to centre of Amsterdam is fast and easy. (15 mins.) The rooms are nice and service is good! Breakfast was of a good quality. Tip: if you during a weekend you can park your car for free on the streets around the hotel.

Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPSouth, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South, responded to this review, March 20, 2014
Dear valued guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to post your feedback regarding your recent stay at the Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South.

We appreciate it that you took the time to write about your experience in our hotel. It was very motivating to read that you enjoyed your stay with us.

It was a pleasure to learn that the location of the hotel worked well as the proximity of station Amsterdam- Zuid ensures you a short train-, tram- or metro connection to both the city centre as well as Schiphol Airport.

Thank you for complementing our breakfast buffet. Positive guest feedback is a great motivation for all of us to continue to strive to deliver excellent service.

Thank you again for your review and we hope to welcome you back soon.

Kind regards,

Nicole Turnhout - Ammerlaan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2014

Excellent hotel stay - I was here on business in early March 2014.

The hotel's location is excellent, although not downtown by any means. However with public transit it's not far to go.There are also sufficient shops in the area, and i.e. groceries (Albert Heijn) isn't terribly far away either.

The biggest downside by far, however, is the parking arrangement. Apparently the hotel doesn't have an agreement in place with QParks who owns the parking garage. Fees are EUR 48.00 per night - more than I paid in New York...

You can (as I did) park along the street for free, but have to start paying EUR 4.00 per hour after 9am.

Also finding the hotel strictly by GPS isn't the easiest either (although looking up when driving nearby certainly helps). The street is a side street, and I didn't want to believe my navigational aide when it said to turn right into what looked like an empty industrial lot (this is the first side road which also leads to the hotel, but the second one is the one to take).

Getting over the parking - the hotel itself is very nice, the staff was very friendly. The bed was comfortable, the bath clean and mold free. The shower also had a moveable shower head, so I was already happy there.

The noise level was low to non-existent. The price was a bit steep, but not unexpected for a Crowne Plaza.

The only reason I wouldn't recommend this hotel or come back myself is the parking. There are so many alternatives in Amsterdam that I would rather spend a bit more on the room and not have to deal with a massive parking bill...

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPSouth, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South, responded to this review, March 20, 2014
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for taking the time to evaluate your stay with us.

We highly appreciate the feedback concerning our staff in the hotel. Compliments like these are a great motivation for all of us to continue to strive to deliver excellent service. On top of that it is great to know that you experienced the sincere passion of our staff members to assist our guests into making their journey into a success.

In case your travels bring you back to Amsterdam please know that close to the hotel can be parked for €8.40 per day on the parking lot close to the hotel. Weekends are free. Our reception staff will be more than happy to give you directions.
I hope to welcome you back to our hotel.

With kind regards,

Nicole Turnhout - Ammerlaan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2014

I really enjoyed my stay at this hotel. The staff was incredibly helpful and friendly. I stayed there for 3 weeks for work and felt like they went above and beyond. I had to go to another city over night for 2 days and since they weren't fully booked they let me keep my things in the room at no charge. Their breakfast buffet was good and the restaurant/bar had good food. The location is very close to the train/tram and it was easy to get downtown. I highly recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPSouth, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South, responded to this review, March 10, 2014
Dear Valued guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your extremely complimentary words following your stay in Crowne Plaza Amsterdam- South.

Your compliments on behalf of the food quality and service will be passed on to the team. Kind words as such are a great motivation for them to continuously strive to deliver excellent hospitality.

We hope to welcome you again in the near future.

With kind regards,

Nicole Turnhout – Ammerlaan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2014

I stayed 3 nights for business at the hotel. The staff was very helpful and room was great. Hotel is not at the center of Amsterdam. But you can take a tram from near the station which is around 6-7 minutes away from the hotel.
There are shops near the station where you can shop. The internet was fine in the meeting rooms. At my room it was very slow some times. The fitness center was OK, you have to sign a letter saying you take full responsibility if any thing happens :-)

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPSouth, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South, responded to this review, March 10, 2014
Dear valued guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review about our hotel.

The Crowne Plaza Amsterdam-South is indeed situated in a new urban centre devoted to international commerce and knowledge development. The area is becoming the centre for working and living and therefore also the restaurant-, shopping- and facilities offer will be extended in the coming years to make the area livelier. When your travels bring you back to our hotel I hope you will discover the advantages of travelling by public transportation which is located on only 5 minutes walking from our hotel. Taking tram number 5 is the ideal way to get familiar with Amsterdam as it passes by many highlights of the city like the Museumsquare, Leidsesquare and Damsquare with end stop at Amsterdam Central Station.

We hope to welcome you again in the future when business brings you back to Amsterdam.

With kind regards,

Nicole Turnhout - Ammerlaan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampere, Finland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2014

A great hotel and fantastically easy commute from the airport. Half way from the city center with the IC train. Really good for the price I paid.

Staff was very accommodating and helpful even at late hours on a Friday.

The hotel bar was excellent and Michael made excellent drinks.

Based on the one night I spent at the hotel I would recommend it and will definitely visit them again when I'm in Amsterdam. The small distance from the city center allows for good prices but the metro station is just around the corner.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPSouth, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South, responded to this review, March 4, 2014
Dear valued guest,

Dear valued guest, Thank you for evaluating your recent stay with us in Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South. It is a pleasure to read that our staff has made an outstanding impression on you during your stay. Especially Michael, we will make sure he knows about your kindest remarks.

The Crowne Plaza Amsterdam-South is indeed situated in a new urban centre devoted to international commerce and knowledge development. The area is becoming the centre for working and living and therefore also the restaurant-, shopping- and facilities offer will be extended in the coming years to make the area livelier. When your travels bring you back to our hotel I hope you will discover the advantages of travelling by public transportation which is located on only 5 minutes walking from our hotel. Taking tram number 5 is the ideal way to get familiar with Amsterdam as it passes by many highlights of the city like the Museumsquare, Leidsesquare and Damsquare with end stop at Amsterdam Central Station.

We hope to welcome you again in the future when business brings you back to Amsterdam.

With kind regards,

Nicole Turnout - Ammerlaan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
citizenM Amsterdam
#38 of 356 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 3,447 reviews
Centrum
Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centrum
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Toren
The Toren
#1 of 356 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 stars 1,832 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South

Address: George Gershwinlaan 101, 1082 Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#7 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#13 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#15 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South 4*
Number of rooms: 207
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, IHG, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Otel, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.