We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Room, Great Service, Mind the parking” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South to your Saves list
Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   George Gershwinlaan 101, 1082 Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #21 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Great Room, Great Service, Mind the parking”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2014

Excellent hotel stay - I was here on business in early March 2014.

The hotel's location is excellent, although not downtown by any means. However with public transit it's not far to go.There are also sufficient shops in the area, and i.e. groceries (Albert Heijn) isn't terribly far away either.

The biggest downside by far, however, is the parking arrangement. Apparently the hotel doesn't have an agreement in place with QParks who owns the parking garage. Fees are EUR 48.00 per night - more than I paid in New York...

You can (as I did) park along the street for free, but have to start paying EUR 4.00 per hour after 9am.

Also finding the hotel strictly by GPS isn't the easiest either (although looking up when driving nearby certainly helps). The street is a side street, and I didn't want to believe my navigational aide when it said to turn right into what looked like an empty industrial lot (this is the first side road which also leads to the hotel, but the second one is the one to take).

Getting over the parking - the hotel itself is very nice, the staff was very friendly. The bed was comfortable, the bath clean and mold free. The shower also had a moveable shower head, so I was already happy there.

The noise level was low to non-existent. The price was a bit steep, but not unexpected for a Crowne Plaza.

The only reason I wouldn't recommend this hotel or come back myself is the parking. There are so many alternatives in Amsterdam that I would rather spend a bit more on the room and not have to deal with a massive parking bill...

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPSouth, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South, responded to this review, March 20, 2014
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for taking the time to evaluate your stay with us.

We highly appreciate the feedback concerning our staff in the hotel. Compliments like these are a great motivation for all of us to continue to strive to deliver excellent service. On top of that it is great to know that you experienced the sincere passion of our staff members to assist our guests into making their journey into a success.

In case your travels bring you back to Amsterdam please know that close to the hotel can be parked for €8.40 per day on the parking lot close to the hotel. Weekends are free. Our reception staff will be more than happy to give you directions.
I hope to welcome you back to our hotel.

With kind regards,

Nicole Turnhout - Ammerlaan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

506 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    334
    151
    16
    3
    2
See reviews for
39
154
24
193
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2014

I really enjoyed my stay at this hotel. The staff was incredibly helpful and friendly. I stayed there for 3 weeks for work and felt like they went above and beyond. I had to go to another city over night for 2 days and since they weren't fully booked they let me keep my things in the room at no charge. Their breakfast buffet was good and the restaurant/bar had good food. The location is very close to the train/tram and it was easy to get downtown. I highly recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPSouth, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South, responded to this review, March 10, 2014
Dear Valued guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your extremely complimentary words following your stay in Crowne Plaza Amsterdam- South.

Your compliments on behalf of the food quality and service will be passed on to the team. Kind words as such are a great motivation for them to continuously strive to deliver excellent hospitality.

We hope to welcome you again in the near future.

With kind regards,

Nicole Turnhout – Ammerlaan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2014

I stayed 3 nights for business at the hotel. The staff was very helpful and room was great. Hotel is not at the center of Amsterdam. But you can take a tram from near the station which is around 6-7 minutes away from the hotel.
There are shops near the station where you can shop. The internet was fine in the meeting rooms. At my room it was very slow some times. The fitness center was OK, you have to sign a letter saying you take full responsibility if any thing happens :-)

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPSouth, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South, responded to this review, March 10, 2014
Dear valued guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review about our hotel.

The Crowne Plaza Amsterdam-South is indeed situated in a new urban centre devoted to international commerce and knowledge development. The area is becoming the centre for working and living and therefore also the restaurant-, shopping- and facilities offer will be extended in the coming years to make the area livelier. When your travels bring you back to our hotel I hope you will discover the advantages of travelling by public transportation which is located on only 5 minutes walking from our hotel. Taking tram number 5 is the ideal way to get familiar with Amsterdam as it passes by many highlights of the city like the Museumsquare, Leidsesquare and Damsquare with end stop at Amsterdam Central Station.

We hope to welcome you again in the future when business brings you back to Amsterdam.

With kind regards,

Nicole Turnhout - Ammerlaan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampere, Finland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2014

A great hotel and fantastically easy commute from the airport. Half way from the city center with the IC train. Really good for the price I paid.

Staff was very accommodating and helpful even at late hours on a Friday.

The hotel bar was excellent and Michael made excellent drinks.

Based on the one night I spent at the hotel I would recommend it and will definitely visit them again when I'm in Amsterdam. The small distance from the city center allows for good prices but the metro station is just around the corner.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPSouth, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South, responded to this review, March 4, 2014
Dear valued guest,

Dear valued guest, Thank you for evaluating your recent stay with us in Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South. It is a pleasure to read that our staff has made an outstanding impression on you during your stay. Especially Michael, we will make sure he knows about your kindest remarks.

The Crowne Plaza Amsterdam-South is indeed situated in a new urban centre devoted to international commerce and knowledge development. The area is becoming the centre for working and living and therefore also the restaurant-, shopping- and facilities offer will be extended in the coming years to make the area livelier. When your travels bring you back to our hotel I hope you will discover the advantages of travelling by public transportation which is located on only 5 minutes walking from our hotel. Taking tram number 5 is the ideal way to get familiar with Amsterdam as it passes by many highlights of the city like the Museumsquare, Leidsesquare and Damsquare with end stop at Amsterdam Central Station.

We hope to welcome you again in the future when business brings you back to Amsterdam.

With kind regards,

Nicole Turnout - Ammerlaan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2014

Hotel was amazing. The staff was helpful with anything we needed. Very clean and situated across the street from the metro. It was easy to get anywhere using the metro, though the hotel was a bit far. It's in the business district, so it's much quieter than being in the canal ring. It was perfect for a good night's sleep and seeing the city during the day

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPSouth, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South, responded to this review, February 24, 2014
Dear valued guest,

First of all I would like to thank you for taking the time to write a review about our hotel. It is a pleasure for us to learn that you enjoyed the location of the hotel as well as the cleanliness.

Great that you discovered the city centre by using tram number 5. You can catch this tram at Station Amsterdam Zuid, 5 minutes walking from the hotel, from where it leads you through the historic city centre, over the canals while passing by many famous sights and has Amsterdam Central Station as a final stop. At trainstation Zuid you can also take the train to the airport which only takes about 7 minutes.

We hope to welcome you again in the near future.

With kind regards,

Nicole Turnhout - Ammerlaan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2014

Location is very good not to far from city centre only 20 min drive, stayed there for two night, and was impressed from first second. Staff is very nice and friendly nothing is to much from them.
Rooms big and clean, all hotel was spotless.
I am planning to go back again and will stay there that's for sure.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPSouth, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South, responded to this review, February 20, 2014
Dear valued guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to inform us about your findings following your recent stay with us. It is a pleasure for us to learn that you enjoyed staying in one of our comfortably equipped rooms and that the location of the hotel connected well to the purpose of your stay.

Did you notice the musical theme that is represented throughout the building? The New York origin of George Gershwin has led to the names of our meeting rooms and the famous Manhattan 101 cocktail inspired us to name our restaurant one o one and Manhattan Lounge- Bar.

On behalf of the entire team I would like to express our gratitude regarding your compliment on their behalf. It is our passion to deliver the best possible service and compliments of guests are our motivation to continue to improve continuously. Your review is definitely an inspiration and very rewarding.

Hopefully we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to Crowne Plaza Amsterdam- South in the near future.

Kind regards,

Nicole Turnhout - Ammerlaan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014

Stayed here for 2 nights with my partner. The hotel is incredibly clean. Staff on reception were very helpful whenever we had any questions. Beds were huge! Hotel is a 2-3 minute walk to Zuid metro station. Very pleasant stay.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPSouth, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South, responded to this review, February 20, 2014
Dear valued guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review about our hotel.

Your compliments on behalf of service will be passed on to the team. Kind words as such are a great motivation for them to continuously strive to deliver excellent hospitality.

We are very pleased to learn that our spacious rooms combined with the location, made your stay with us a success. We strive to deliver the highest possible service throughout the hotel and are very grateful that you noticed this, which is a great motivation for us.

We look forward to welcome you back soon and to assist you in making your trip another successful and memorable experience.

Kind regards,

Nicole Turnhout - Ammerlaan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South

Address: George Gershwinlaan 101, 1082 Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#7 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#12 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#15 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South 4*
Number of rooms: 207
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, IHG, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.