We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South

Save Saved
You added Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   George Gershwinlaan 101, 1082 Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #17 of 345 hotels in Amsterdam
Richmond, Virginia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Perfect”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2014

Hotel was amazing. The staff was helpful with anything we needed. Very clean and situated across the street from the metro. It was easy to get anywhere using the metro, though the hotel was a bit far. It's in the business district, so it's much quieter than being in the canal ring. It was perfect for a good night's sleep and seeing the city during the day

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPSouth, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South, responded to this review, February 24, 2014
Dear valued guest,

First of all I would like to thank you for taking the time to write a review about our hotel. It is a pleasure for us to learn that you enjoyed the location of the hotel as well as the cleanliness.

Great that you discovered the city centre by using tram number 5. You can catch this tram at Station Amsterdam Zuid, 5 minutes walking from the hotel, from where it leads you through the historic city centre, over the canals while passing by many famous sights and has Amsterdam Central Station as a final stop. At trainstation Zuid you can also take the train to the airport which only takes about 7 minutes.

We hope to welcome you again in the near future.

With kind regards,

Nicole Turnhout - Ammerlaan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

447 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    294
    135
    13
    3
    2
See reviews for
36
135
20
166
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2014

Location is very good not to far from city centre only 20 min drive, stayed there for two night, and was impressed from first second. Staff is very nice and friendly nothing is to much from them.
Rooms big and clean, all hotel was spotless.
I am planning to go back again and will stay there that's for sure.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPSouth, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South, responded to this review, February 20, 2014
Dear valued guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to inform us about your findings following your recent stay with us. It is a pleasure for us to learn that you enjoyed staying in one of our comfortably equipped rooms and that the location of the hotel connected well to the purpose of your stay.

Did you notice the musical theme that is represented throughout the building? The New York origin of George Gershwin has led to the names of our meeting rooms and the famous Manhattan 101 cocktail inspired us to name our restaurant one o one and Manhattan Lounge- Bar.

On behalf of the entire team I would like to express our gratitude regarding your compliment on their behalf. It is our passion to deliver the best possible service and compliments of guests are our motivation to continue to improve continuously. Your review is definitely an inspiration and very rewarding.

Hopefully we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to Crowne Plaza Amsterdam- South in the near future.

Kind regards,

Nicole Turnhout - Ammerlaan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014

Stayed here for 2 nights with my partner. The hotel is incredibly clean. Staff on reception were very helpful whenever we had any questions. Beds were huge! Hotel is a 2-3 minute walk to Zuid metro station. Very pleasant stay.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPSouth, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South, responded to this review, February 20, 2014
Dear valued guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review about our hotel.

Your compliments on behalf of service will be passed on to the team. Kind words as such are a great motivation for them to continuously strive to deliver excellent hospitality.

We are very pleased to learn that our spacious rooms combined with the location, made your stay with us a success. We strive to deliver the highest possible service throughout the hotel and are very grateful that you noticed this, which is a great motivation for us.

We look forward to welcome you back soon and to assist you in making your trip another successful and memorable experience.

Kind regards,

Nicole Turnhout - Ammerlaan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2014

I recently spent 9 days at The Crowne Plaza South in Amsterdam, and from the moment I arrived to the moment that I left everything was absolutely First Class. The staff, the facilities, the room, the service- everything! It's hard to single out one specific member of staff without excluding all the others, but Michael in The Manhattan Bar constantly went that extra mile to make sure that I had everything that I needed.
Many thanks to all- I shall return!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPSouth, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South, responded to this review, February 12, 2014
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for writing a great and complimentary review of which the title is a true advertisement for our hotel. We are so pleased that you consider us First Class!

It was a great pleasure to have you as our guest for your lengthy stay in Amsterdam and to help you in making your journey a success. We aim to combine the best facilities with great service in order to allow our guests to re-energise and be more productive. A good night’s sleep and energising food and beverage selection plays an important role in that philosophy.

I have passed on your compliments to Michael, thank you very much. On behalf of the entire team I would like to express our gratitude regarding your compliment on their behalf. It is our passion to deliver the best possible service and compliments of guests are our motivation to continue to improve continuously. Your review is definitely an inspiration and very rewarding.

Hopefully we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to Crowne Plaza Amsterdam- South in the near future.

With kind regards,

Nicole Turnhout - Ammerlaan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore, India
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014

Excellent hotel. Located right in the business center. Short walk to the train station. The decor is great and so is the hotel staff. I have stayed in this hotel couple of times on business trips and found very comfortable. Rooms are particularly very well maintained. The hotel should provide free breakfast for the rate they charge.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPSouth, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South, responded to this review, February 12, 2014
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for reviewing our hotel and for sharing your findings with the travel community through Tripadvisor!

It was a pleasure to learn that our location in Amsterdam – Zuidas was convenient for you. Our quiet location is unique as Amsterdam Schiphol International Airport, the RAI Convention Center and the city centre are only a few minutes away by public transport.

Our carefully designed and equipped rooms combine the aspects that are needed to relax and re-energise. Sound proof doors, luxurious bedding and aromatherapy are just a few of the features of our Crowne Plaza Sleep Advantage programme, which has been designed to make you drift off easier and allow you to have sweet dreams.

With kind regards,

Nicole Turnhout - Ammerlaan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014

I can't fault this hotel for it's excellent service and facilities but I did find it quite expensive on the whole. As the hotel is located amongst several office buildings, there aren't many surrounding restaurant options so I found myself having dinner in the hotel on both nights I stayed there. The food quality was good but very expensive in my opinion. It was €165 for 2 nights stay and this didn't include breakfast which was an extra €23 per person, per day. The good thing about the location is that it is only 1 train stop away from the airport and only a few minutes walk from the station, Amsterdam Zuid. I would probably stay in Amsterdam central on my next business visit as public transport around the city is easy and there will be cheaper food options in the area.

Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPSouth, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South, responded to this review, February 12, 2014
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feelings regarding your recent stay with us.

First of all I would like to thank you for complimenting our staff about their service level. It is their passion to assist all of our valued guests in making their stay successful and memorable. Your words will serve as a great motivation for them to continue to pursue this aim.

We are sorry that you considered the price tag for our hotel to be high. Please be aware that our location close to the conference centre and offices as well as city wide events, can drive up the prices in our area. But there are other days that our location outside the city centre has the effect that our prices are lower than those of downtown hotels. For your next visit please consult our website or contact the reservations department to find the best available rate.

We would like to welcome you again in the near future and let you know about the different restaurants in the area.

With kind regards,

Nicole Turnhout - Ammerlaan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pretoria, South Africa
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2014

We spent 2 nights at this Hotel -31 December 2013 and 1st January 2014 .. We were given a room on the 11 th floor and being New Years Eve , got to watch the fireworks light up the Amsterdam sky - beautiful . The room was a delight with little extras like slippers and a gown on loan . The hotel is very close to the tram line to central Amsterdam which takes you to the Museum area , Albert Cuyp Street Market and other tourist sites . It is also very close to the Amsterdam South station and you can catch a train straight to Schipol from this hotel which is far cheaper . If you do not want to eat breakfast at the hotel there are some lovely places close to the stations where you can grab a snack . The area is extremely safe and since the tram service operates till very late at night , we were able to enjoy Amsterdam at night . Great tip - get the I Amsterdam Card - gives you free transport on the GVB bus , trams and trains , lots of discounts , free entrances and a free canal cruise . The staff at this hotel were extremely helpful .

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPSouth, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South, responded to this review, February 12, 2014
Dear valued guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your extremely complimentary words following your stay in Crowne Plaza Amsterdam- South.

It is a pleasure to know that our location was connecting well to the purpose of your visit and that you enjoyed staying in one of our comfortably designed and equipped rooms.

We hope to welcome you again in the near future.

With kind regards,

Nicole Turnhout - Ammerlaan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South

Address: George Gershwinlaan 101, 1082 Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#7 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#11 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#13 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Tingo, Expedia, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda, Otel and Priceline so you can book your Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.