We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value for the price I got but lacks atmosphere” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South

Save Saved
You added Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   George Gershwinlaan 101, Amsterdam 1082, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #22 of 343 hotels in Amsterdam
Singapore
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Good value for the price I got but lacks atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2014 via mobile

Stayed 24th and 25th January and at the price -144€ per night. Wanted to add nights but price went to 188€ which is too high. Excellent breakfast was included in price. The place is clean and we'll maintained but lacks any character. Still it is only 30€ 20 min ride to central.

Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPSouth, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South, responded to this review, January 27, 2014
Dear valud guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review about Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South.

I am sorry to read that in your opinion the hotel lacks any caracter. I would like to get in contact with you to hear your experience. Please contact us at nienke.veldman@ihg.com

Following your remark about the costs of a taxi into the city centre or the airport I would like to point out that the nearby located Amsterdam- Zuid railway station offers excellent connections against a very reasonable price. Schiphol Amsterdam Airport can be reached by train within 10 minutes and the various attractions in downtown Amsterdam within 20 to 30 minutes by tram or metro. If you do not need to travel to Amsterdam by car, our hotel is a great location to start exploring the city.

With kind regards,

Nicole Turnhout - Ammerlaan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

401 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    258
    126
    12
    3
    2
See reviews for
32
116
18
157
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dusseldorf, Germany
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2014

We stayed at the CP Amsterdam South for the weekend on a sightseeing trip through Amsterdam.

The location ist quite good, though you need approx. 15 min. from the hotel to the center of Amsterdam, you really enjoy the quitness of this place ( good hint - you can buy a 24h train ticket for 7€ at the front desk, taxi costs approx. 25€).

The rooms are state-of-the-art, everything you need for vacation or business reasons you will find in your room. The level of cleannes is very high & there was nothing to complain about.

The restaurant was unfortunately closed on weekends (due to the location of the hotel, which is situated in a great business complex) - but well explained by the warm hearted front desk member who invited us to the bar. The dinner at the bar was really great, a very quick service with a very positive attitude. Really good recommendations of cocktails & spirits - and even better recommendations of evening locations in Amsterdam.

The breakfast (Sundays until 11:30!) provides everyone really everything they need! If there is anything missing, the friendly staff did organize it.

We can definitely recommend this hotel to everyone!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPSouth, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South, responded to this review, January 27, 2014
Dear valued guest,

First of all I would like to thank you for taking the time to write a comment about Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South. It is with great pleasure that I read your review.

It is a pleasure to learn that you were so positive about our spacious rooms which are provided with a LCD television with a wide range of television channels, in-room safe and soundproof doors that keep away any distraction from outside so nothing stands in the way of a great night’s sleep.

Your kind words about our staff members and dinner are extremely rewarding as it is our aim to combine the best possible facilities with great service on a day to day basis. It is great to be acknowledged for that by our valued guests.

We hope to welcome you again in the near future.

With kind regards,

Nicole Turnhout - Ammerlaan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014

This hotel is second to none for service, cleanliness & overall proximity to the Business center, RAI convention center etc. Businesswise perfect!
Since I took the opportunity to stay there for the weekend while on business, from a tourist perspective I wouldnt recommend to stay here if you are interested in Amsterdam City Center. I spent a fortune on taxis (Very expensive here, in comparison to Ireland) & you miss a lot of the atmosphere and attractions of the city since you have a long drive (20 minutes) back to the hotel after a night out, so its a trek.
Another note, it is very stricly No Smoking Hotel. This is very clearly stated by the hotel, however for a smoker - please keep this in mind.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPSouth, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South, responded to this review, January 15, 2014
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for evaluating your recent stay with us in Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South. It is a pleasure to read that our staff has made an outstanding impression on you during your stay.

The Crowne Plaza Amsterdam-South is indeed situated in a new urban centre devoted to international commerce and knowledge development. The area is becoming the centre for working and living and therefore also the restaurant-, shopping- and facilities offer will be extended in the coming years to make the area livelier.

When your travels bring you back to our hotel I hope you will discover the advantages of travelling by public transportation which is located on only 5 minutes walking from our hotel. Taking tram number 5 is the ideal way to get familiar with Amsterdam as it passes by many highlights of the city like the Museumsquare, Leidsesquare and Damsquare with end stop at Amsterdam Central Station.

We hope to welcome you again in the future when business brings you back to Amsterdam.

With kind regards,

Nicole Turnhout-Ammerlaan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pesaro
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

I was here for holidays.
The hotel is in a good position from where you can reach any place in Amsterdam. It is near a stop that serves train, metro, tram and bus, so you are very well connected.
The area is a business area with a lot of offices, it is a nice area.
The hotel is new, the rooms are clean and silent. I appreciated a lot to have an espresso machine directly in the room near the boiler.
Unfortunately, the rates includes only one small bottle of water also if the room is for two, and a hotel like this cannot save money in this small stuff, add another bottle like in all the other Crowne Plaza around the world, pls.
Now, the lounge has a VERY POOR selection of food (olives, dried tomato, "plastic" biscuits, apples, yogurt, candies) and it is absolutely disappointing, totally inadeguate also for a light breakfast. Drink selection is good enough.
The 1st of January housekeepings did not give us the complimentary bottle of water nor fill back the minibar (should not but can happen) so I went to the reception asking for water, the staff answered me that I can drink water from the tap which is good, unacceptable.
Finally, the hotel has fantastic potential, unfortunately there are small things that make it average.
I hope my reviews push the management in the right direction to make it fantastic.
ADVICED.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPSouth, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South, responded to this review, January 9, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

First of all I would like to thank you for taking the time to write a review about our hotel. It is a pleasure for us to learn that you enjoyed the location of the hotel aswell as the illy coffee machine.

Regretfully however I took notice of your comments regarding our Club Lounge. We will definately take your comments into consideration. We have discussed your comment about the bottle of water in our housekeeping and front office department, in order for us to prevent this form happening again in the future.

Once again I would like to thank you for your comments. Only by receiving comments like yours we are able to improve our service.

With kind regards,

Nicole Turnhout-Ammerlaan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panama City, Panama
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014 via mobile

Hotel is a 50 euro can ride from airport. Breakfast is 23 euro per person and should be included as it isn't anything special. Wireless is 10 euro a day and is supposed to be high speed but service is spotty in room. Really nice staff and clean hotel but it's far from both city center and airport and is way overpriced. Much better options available.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPSouth, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South, responded to this review, January 8, 2014
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for staying at the Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South and for taking the time to give us your feedback.

We would like to offer our sincere apologies for the fact that the internet in your room was not working properly. Please know that when the internet in the room does not work properly, we have a device to help improve the strength of the signal.

For when your travels bring you back to Amsterdam I would like to let you know that the location of the hotel is right next to train station Amsterdam Zuid. A train ride to the airport is 6 minutes. Towards the city centre takes about 15 minutes with public transportation.

We are delighted to hear your compliments about the staff and the cleanliness of the hotel. And we will convey your comments to the staff so they are aware of this aswell.

Once again please accept my apologies for not being able to meet your expectations.

With kind regards,

Nicole Turnhout-Ammerlaan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014

Excellent hotel ! I was a little worried when I realized the hotel is away from city centre. But my worried is wrong, it is just one stop away from airport train stations. With metro and tram and bus line within walking distance.
Perfect location for those who need a stop over for your vacation between flight to other country.
I got a corner room with canal view. The room is beatifully decorated and most importantly it is quiet at night. And I had a good rest after the tiring 13 hours flight.
Food at the Manhattan lounge is superb. Their staffs are very helpful and warm. Feel free to ask them for help.

Thumbs up!

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPSouth, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South, responded to this review, January 15, 2014
Dear valued guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review about our hotel.

Your compliments on behalf of the food quality and service will be passed on to the team. Kind words as such are a great motivation for them to continuously strive to deliver excellent hospitality.

Great that you discovered the city centre by using tram number 5. You can catch this tram at Station Amsterdam Zuid, 5 minutes walking from the hotel, from where it leads you through the historic city centre, over the canals while passing by many famous sights and has Amsterdam Central Station as a final stop. At trainstation Zuid you can also take the train to the airport which only takes about 7 minutes.

We hope to welcome you again in the near future.

With kind regards,

Nicole Turnhout-Ammerlaan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2013 via mobile

A very clean and comfortable hotel. Very friendly and helpful staff. Just outside the centre of Amsterdam, but only a short tram ride away. Jump on the number five tram towards Central Station and you will be in the centre in about 10 minutes. It is also just six minutes away on the train from the main airport. We bought the iAmsterdam 48-hour card which meant we got free tram travel as well as access into several tourist attractions for free, such as the van Gogh Museum and a free canal cruise. It also offers discounts on many others.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPSouth, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South, responded to this review, January 15, 2014
Dear valued guest,

First of all I would like to thank you for taking the time to write a review about the Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South.

It is with great pleasure that I read your review. I am pleased to read that our staff has made a lasting impression on you. Our team is passionate about assisting our guests, in making their stay with us a success. It is therefore a great reward and motivation that you mentioned our team members for making your stay enjoyable.

We are located close the trainstation Zuid which offers a great connection to both the city centre aswell as the airport.

We hope to welcome you again in the near future.

With Kind regards,

Nicole Turnhout- Ammerlaan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South

Address: George Gershwinlaan 101, Amsterdam 1082, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#7 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#14 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#20 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, IHG, Booking.com, Orbitz, Tingo, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Otel and Agoda so you can book your Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.