We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“locations and good service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South to your Saves list
Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   George Gershwinlaan 101, 1082 Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #23 of 343 Hotels in Amsterdam
Singapore, Singapore
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“locations and good service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014

Excellent hotel ! I was a little worried when I realized the hotel is away from city centre. But my worried is wrong, it is just one stop away from airport train stations. With metro and tram and bus line within walking distance.
Perfect location for those who need a stop over for your vacation between flight to other country.
I got a corner room with canal view. The room is beatifully decorated and most importantly it is quiet at night. And I had a good rest after the tiring 13 hours flight.
Food at the Manhattan lounge is superb. Their staffs are very helpful and warm. Feel free to ask them for help.

Thumbs up!

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPSouth, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South, responded to this review, January 15, 2014
Dear valued guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review about our hotel.

Your compliments on behalf of the food quality and service will be passed on to the team. Kind words as such are a great motivation for them to continuously strive to deliver excellent hospitality.

Great that you discovered the city centre by using tram number 5. You can catch this tram at Station Amsterdam Zuid, 5 minutes walking from the hotel, from where it leads you through the historic city centre, over the canals while passing by many famous sights and has Amsterdam Central Station as a final stop. At trainstation Zuid you can also take the train to the airport which only takes about 7 minutes.

We hope to welcome you again in the near future.

With kind regards,

Nicole Turnhout-Ammerlaan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

542 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    358
    161
    18
    3
    2
See reviews for
43
164
24
204
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2013 via mobile

A very clean and comfortable hotel. Very friendly and helpful staff. Just outside the centre of Amsterdam, but only a short tram ride away. Jump on the number five tram towards Central Station and you will be in the centre in about 10 minutes. It is also just six minutes away on the train from the main airport. We bought the iAmsterdam 48-hour card which meant we got free tram travel as well as access into several tourist attractions for free, such as the van Gogh Museum and a free canal cruise. It also offers discounts on many others.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPSouth, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South, responded to this review, January 15, 2014
Dear valued guest,

First of all I would like to thank you for taking the time to write a review about the Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South.

It is with great pleasure that I read your review. I am pleased to read that our staff has made a lasting impression on you. Our team is passionate about assisting our guests, in making their stay with us a success. It is therefore a great reward and motivation that you mentioned our team members for making your stay enjoyable.

We are located close the trainstation Zuid which offers a great connection to both the city centre aswell as the airport.

We hope to welcome you again in the near future.

With Kind regards,

Nicole Turnhout- Ammerlaan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2013

this is a wonderful hotel for many reasons, firstly the staff. Every good business is built on the quality of their staff, and this hotel will do very well. Great job my friends, keep up the good work!
You could not have asked for a better location, in the business district of Amsterdam, next to the South Train station, with fantastic connections, and the WTC. As a business traveller this was PERFECT! the hotel was very well presented, clean, comfortable and relaxing. No shortage of great places to eat, including the hotel. I did enjoy the breakfast. the rooms are very well layed out, comfortable, easy access to all features, great selection of TV channels, for those of us who suffer from jet lag - lol
You will not go wrong at this hotel, try it you will like it

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPSouth, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South, responded to this review, January 13, 2014
Dear valued guest,

Thank you very much for your very positive feedback about your stay with us.

Compliments of guests are the greatest reward for any hotel employee and the fact that you felt like being in the company of friends while staying with us is great. It is our passion to combine the best facilities with great service in order to make successful and memorable stays possible for our guests. Thank you again for confirming that we succeeded in that.

We hope to welcome you again in the near future!

With kind regards,

Nicole Turnhout-Ammerlaan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tempe, Arizona
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2013

I was in Amsterdam for work, and my company put me up at the Crowne Plaza South. The prospect of a 3 month hotel stay was daunting, but it couldn't have turned out better. The reception staff and food service staff were fabulous, and went out of their way to make my stay enjoyable. The daily breakfast was great, and the food at the One O One restaurant and the Manhattan Bar never disappointed. The room was comfortable and kept clean. The hotel's location near tram stops and the train station was a big plus. I used the well-equipped fitness room regularly. But by far the greatest asset of the Crown Plaza South is its people. If I'm lucky enough to return to Amsterdam, I don't think I would stay anywhere else.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPSouth, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South, responded to this review, January 13, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for evaluating our hotel and for sharing your findings with the travel community through Tripadvisor.

It is an absolute pleasure to read that your stay in our hotel could not have turned out better. And I am very pleased to know that the staff has made a fabulous impression on you.
Our team is passionate about assisting our guests, in making their stay with us a success. It is therefore a great reward and motivation that you mentioned our team members for making your stay enjoyable.

Once again I would like to thank you for taking the time to write a review. We hope to welcome you again in the near future.

With kind regards,

Nicole Turnhout-Ammerlaan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
luxembourg
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2013

Most centrally located Amsterdam hotels come at very steep prices. This hotel is somewhat outside the centre, but offers (high) quality one can afford. Moreover, the tram and bus stop (5 minute walk away) offers high frequency connections to all major sights. I also tried the restaurant and found it good value for money as well. I will be a repeat customer.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPSouth, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South, responded to this review, January 13, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for staying at the Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South and for taking the time to write a review.

Great that you discovered the advantages of travelling by public transportation which is located on only 5 minutes walking from our hotel. Taking tram number 5 is the ideal way to get familiar with Amsterdam as it passes by many highlights of the city like the Museumsquare, Leidsesquare and Damsquare with end stop at Amsterdam Central Station.

We are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed our restaurant. Your compliments have been passed on to the staff of our restaurant and kitchen.

We hope to welcome you again in the near future.

With kind regards,

Nicole Turnhout-Ammerlaan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2013

Crowne Plaza South is a wonderful hotel located on the A10 highway in the Amsterdam business area. The hotel offers beautifully designed and specious rooms, a fitness center and a great on-site bar. The rooms are clean, absolutely comfortable and equipped with flat screen satellite TV with a specious seating area, large and comfortable bathrooms and free toiletries. The staffs are super friendly and amazingly reliable. If language is you problem, don’t worry the hosts speak a multiple of languages such as Dutch, French, Spanish, English and German. The restaurant here serves an assortment of international cuisine and be sure of getting breakfast in the room every morning. I love this hotel and will give it a four star rating for its services.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPSouth, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South, responded to this review, January 3, 2014
Dear Valued guest,

Thank you for taking the time to evaluate your stay with us. It is a great pleasure to read that you were impressed by our facilities.

We pride ourselves on our staff and the different languages they speak.
In our efficiently established gym we aim to offer a variety of machines and equipment in order to allow our guests to have a good work-out.

Feedback like yours is a great motivator. We hope to welcome you again in the near future.

Kind regards,

Nicole Turnhout-Ammerlaan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tipperary
Top Contributor
168 reviews 168 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
140 helpful votes 140 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2013

I must say its a pleasant surprise to find such nice and helpful staff (well done). I am just back from 3 days here on business. Excellent rooms, room service, lovely and helpful staff. Lovely breakfast, free wi-fi and a lovely pleasant bar with helpful staff. Well done!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPSouth, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South, responded to this review, January 3, 2014
Dear valued guest,

Thank you very much for rewarding us with your kind words and high rating. It is a pleasure to know that you enjoyed your stay in Crowne Plaza Amsterdam- South and that our facilities were corresponding with your expectations.

It was extremely rewarding to read your kind words about our staff, our 24-hours Room Service, our Manhattan bar and the service provided. As it is our aim and passion to help our guests to make their journey a success by combining great service with the best facilities. It is fantastic to receive your confirmation that we are succeeding in that.

We are especially happy to know that the complimentary Wi-Fi and our extensive breakfast buffet enabled you to re-energise after a night’s sleep and to prepare for another day in Amsterdam.

Once again we thank you for your review and we look forward to welcome you back as our guest when your travel plans bring you back to Amsterdam.

Kind regards,

Nicole Turnhout-Ammerlaan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South

Address: George Gershwinlaan 101, 1082 Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#7 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#12 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#17 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South 4*
Number of rooms: 207
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, IHG, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.