We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great hotel and great location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South to your Saves list
Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   George Gershwinlaan 101, 1082 Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #19 of 353 Hotels in Amsterdam
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
5 hotel reviews
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“great hotel and great location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2013

When in Amsterdam I enjoyed staying at at the crowne plazza south. They have rooms that are both stylish and comfortable. Its location make great access to public transportation and fto ree street parking @ night (7PM - 9AM). I highly reccomend

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPSouth, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South, responded to this review, January 3, 2014
Dear valued guest,

Thank you very much for sharing your extremely rewarding review. It was a great pleasure to read that you were so impressed by the hotel facilities. We are honoured and proud that you would highly recommend our hotel. Compliments as such are a great motivation for the entire team.

As you mention the Crowne Plaza Amsterdam- South is located in a new urban centre devoted to international commerce and knowledge development: Amsterdam Zuidas. The location is unique and nearby Amsterdam Schiphol International Airport, the RAI Convention Center and the city centre are only a few minutes away by public transport.

It is great to learn that you were able to enjoy the free parking around the hotel on the streets during from 7 pm to 9 am. This parking possibility is also free of charge from Friday 7 pm to Monday 9 am.

We hope to welcome you back soon when you visit Amsterdam again and thank you once more for your praising words.

Kind regards,

Nicole Turnhout-Ammerlaan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

622 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    415
    181
    20
    3
    3
See reviews for
53
196
28
227
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Vaasa, Finland
Top Contributor
209 reviews 209 reviews
69 hotel reviews
126 helpful votes 126 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2013

This was my second stay in the Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South and also even better than the previous one. I was attending a conference that was actually held at the hotel so it was more than convenient and was given a corner room with a big bed this time ( last time I had two small ones) so I was more than happy. Everything is modern and clean, there is a small gym and working wifi and if you want to see something beyond office buildings it is very conveniently located right at the Amsterdam Zuid station from where you can easily take the train or a tram to the city centre. Breakfast was nice with plenty of choices. One big bonus of this hotel is that it is quiet, something you shouldn't expect if you are staying at a hotel in Amsterdam centraal. Definitely staying here next year as well if I have a chance!

Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPSouth, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South, responded to this review, January 3, 2014
Dear valued guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write about your experience. It is great to hear that you had such a great stay with us for the second time already and that you recommend our hotel to the traveller’s community.

It was a pleasure to read your feedback about our comfortable modern corner rooms which features indeed a King Size bed. At Crowne Plaza we know how important sleep is. Sleep is the fuel that powers your day. The Crowne Plaza Sleep Advantage program includes luxurious bedding, quiet zones and aroma therapy. In addition our soundproof doors keep away any distraction from outside so nothing stands in the way of a great night’s sleep. In the morning our breakfast buffet offers a large range of choices to start your day with a nutritious and re-energizing breakfast.

It is great as well that you enjoyed our complimentary gym and WIFI connection which is available in the entire hotel.

On top it is great that you were able to benefit from our easy access to the public transport only a short walk away from the hotel. The Crowne Plaza Amsterdam-South is situated in a new urban centre devoted to international commerce and knowledge development. The area is becoming the centre for working and living and therefore also the restaurant-, shopping- and facilities offer will be extended in the coming years to make the area livelier.

Thank you very much again for your positive review and we hope we have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards,

Nicole Turnhout-Ammerlaan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pretoria, South Africa
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
29 hotel reviews
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

Staff is very friendly and without be overbearing. I had a conference at the RAI and if the weather is good it is about a 25 min walk, or take the train from Amsterdam Zuid to Rai - 1 Stop. Taxi from the airport will cost between €20 and €30. The food in the restaurant is very tasty and good size portions - the breakfast buffet is one of the better ones that I have seen in Europe. Wireless is stable but signal not always that strong.

For sightseeing, the Amstel Park is not to far away by foot and at the bottom of the park is the only windmill in Amsterdam, the Rickermolen.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPSouth, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South, responded to this review, January 2, 2014
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review following your recent stay with us in Crowne Plaza Amsterdam- South.

Your compliments on behalf of the service, food quality of our One-O-One restaurant and breakfast buffet will be passed on to the team. Kind words as such are a great motivation for them to continuously strive to deliver excellent hospitality

It was a pleasure to learn that the location of the hotel worked well for the purpose of your elaborate trip and you enjoyed the walk to the Rai Convention Centre, which is indeed only a short walk or just one Subway stop away from the hotel.

The taxi drive from the Airport to Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South cost indeed around € 30,-. In case you are striving for a less expensive alternative, the Amsterdam South Train Station is just one stop away and only cost € 2.50,- per person.

It is very unfortunate though that we have not been able to impress you with our Wireless Internet connection in our hotel. When the strength of the connection is not sufficient our Duty Manager is more willing to assist you to strengthen the connection in your room.

Once again thank you for reviewing us on Tripadvisor and we hope we have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the near future.

With kind regards,

Nicole Turnhout-Ammerlaan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
31 hotel reviews
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013 via mobile

A clean, modem hotel, walking distance from Amsterdam Zuid (South) train station. From Schipol airport, it's a couple Euro from the airport station to the Amsterdam Zuid and trains are clean safe and regular.
The hotel has good wireless for 10 Euro per day or free if you sign up to their frequent guest program. Buffet is pretty standard for European hotels which is to say really good. There is a nice bar and the staff are very friendly and helpful. The rooms are quiet and with the blinds drawn, no light gets in.
The area is strictly business and if you want to see Amsterdam Central you can jump on the number 5 tram the other side if the station. The area is fairly limited for restaurant choices particularly during the weekend. I have stayed here several times and would again.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPSouth, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South, responded to this review, January 2, 2014
Dear valued guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to post your feedback regarding your recent stay at the Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South.

We appreciate it that you took the time to write about your experience in our hotel. It was very motivating to read that you enjoyed our modern designed rooms. We are happy indeed to offer our valued IHG Rewards Club Members complimentary use of internet in the room.

It was a pleasure to learn that the location of the hotel worked well as the proximity of station Amsterdam- Zuid ensures you a short train-, tram- or metro connection to both the city centre as well as Schiphol Airport.

Thank you for complimenting our breakfast buffet, our Manhattan Bar and our staff. Positive guest feedback is a great motivation for all of us to continue to strive to deliver excellent service.

At Crowne Plaza we know how important sleep is. After a rejuvenating night’s sleep you will achieve more during the day. At Crowne Plaza, we've therefore thought of elements to help you relax and ensure you will enjoy a great night’s sleep. Luxurious bedding, aromatherapy kit and quiet zones will help you to relax and drift off easier.

The Crowne Plaza Amsterdam-South is indeed situated in a new urban centre devoted to international commerce and knowledge development. The area is becoming the centre for working and living and therefore also the restaurant-, shopping- and facilities offer will be extended in the coming years to make the area livelier.

Thank you again for your review and we hope to welcome you back soon.

Kind regards,

Nicole Turnhout-Ammerlaan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Top Contributor
192 reviews 192 reviews
82 hotel reviews
126 helpful votes 126 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

We stayed one night in this hotel since my husband visited Amsterdam for business. Very good business hotel, brand-new, sleek design

Rooms were not big but spacious enough. Bathroom was spacious but with an odd shower in the bathtub.
Good white bedlinen and duvet, nice bed.

Views are not great since they are located next to the Amsterdam work trade center so you pretty much look into one of the offices. But there are some restaurants around and the place is somewhat lively during and after work hours. During the weekend everything is closed though. Train and tram station are a 2 min walk and the tram takes you straight into Amsterdam.

Good value for money

Room Tip: Ask for a room which does not have an entire office floor looking through your windows
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPSouth, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South, responded to this review, January 2, 2014
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for reviewing your stay at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam – South.

We are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed our spacious rooms and comfortable white linen on our beds.

We are sorry that you considered the shower in the bathtub odd. Please be aware that our hotel is equipped with rooms featuring only a shower or bath tub. For your next visit please inform us about your preference and we will be more than happy to allocate a room according to your wishes.

The Crowne Plaza Amsterdam-South is indeed situated in a new urban centre devoted to international commerce and knowledge development. The area is becoming the centre for working and living and therefore also the restaurant-, shopping- and facilities offer will be extended in the coming years to make the area livelier.

Great as well that you discovered the advantages of travelling by public transportation which is located on only 5 minutes walking from our hotel. Taking tram number 5 is the ideal way to get familiar with Amsterdam as it passes by many highlights of the city like the Museumsquare, Leidsesquare and Damsquare with end stop at Amsterdam Central Station.

Thank you very much again for your great review and we hope we have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards,

Nicole Turnhout-Ammerlaan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
George Town, Grand Cayman
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

Great location for business visitors to the Amsterdam Zuid and RAI area. The management and staff are always attentive and show genuine interest in doing a good job. Stayed here many times and always had a great experience. Food and amenities are excellent, as well as the gym and meeting rooms.

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPSouth, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South, responded to this review, January 2, 2014
ear valued guest,

Thank you for being one of our highly valued loyal guests and for rewarding us with your kind words and high rating.

The Crowne Plaza Amsterdam-South is indeed situated in close proximity of the Rai Congress Centre and in a new urban centre devoted to international commerce and knowledge development. The area is becoming the centre for working and living and therefore the restaurant, shopping and facilities offer will be extended in the coming years to make the area livelier.

It is a true pleasure for us to know that you had a wonderful experience in our hotel and you are satisfied about our gym facilities, our various meeting rooms and that the food in our hotel is rated by you as excellent. In addition it is great to learn that all staff in the hotel left a great impression as well. Compliments like these are of great motivation for them.

Once again we thank you for your review and we look forward to welcome you back as our guest when your travel plans bring you back to Amsterdam.

Kind regards,

Nicole Turnhout-Ammerlaan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

I stayed here for 8 days in a row, so I was relieved to find the hotel very comfortable for such a stay.

The staff are attentive without being overbearing. At the same time, they could do a little more to make you feel welcome.

Our group was in the bar to eat fairly regularly so we saw the service in here quite a lot. I think the bar staff could up their service levels somewhat.

The rooms are excellent. The hotel is quite new and it is very tastefully decorated in a contemporary style without being over the top.

The hotel is well located for access to the RAI conference centre (I recommend going through the park on a bike!) and for taxi or train access to other major business districts. However don't come here for a taste of old Amsterdam - this is very much the southern suburbs.

Overall - recommended.

Room Tip: Building work still ongoing on the Eastern side of the hotel. It did not disturb me though.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPSouth, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South, responded to this review, January 3, 2014
Dear valued guest,

Hereby we like to thank you for the efforts made to share your experience. We are glad to read that your long stay was a pleasant one. The hotel indeed is very new, the hotel opened only two years ago. We are happy to read you like our interior design and the fact that you would recommend us to others, thank you for that!

As your feedback allows us to improve our service I would like to get in contact to discuss the points you mentioned about our staff and the level of service in our Manhattan Bar. I would like to hear which aspects of service did not meet your expectations and what made you feel less welcome than you could have felt. Please contact me at natalia.alvarez@ihg.com at your earliest convenience.

Thank you for taking the time to express yourself in this review, your feedback means a lot to us. I look forward to hearing from you soon.

Kind regards,

Natalia Alvarez Pereiro
Food and Beverage manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South

Address: George Gershwinlaan 101, 1082 Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#7 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#14 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#14 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South 4*
Number of rooms: 207
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.