We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Surprisingly good - much better than expected.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South

Save Saved
You added Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   George Gershwinlaan 101, 1082 Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #22 of 343 hotels in Amsterdam
Canberra, Australia
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Surprisingly good - much better than expected.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

I've stayed at a few Crownes over the years and none of them are particularly memorable, usually they pass as serviceable, so I was pleasantly surprised to see the suite we booked was actually quite lovely, albeit fairly expensive, given the hotel is on the outskirts of the city (near the station Zuid [Pronounced Zoud].)
The suite was a decent size and the bathroom was quite excellent - big deep bath and an excellent raised rain-like shower with top amenities. The suite also came with a very easy to use coffee machine and wi-fi so there was really nothing more I needed. The included breakfast was in a strange little club room on the second floor which was tiny and a bit honest but you could order eggs along with the continental offerings so it was very much fine. The gym is tiny as you would expect of a hotel like this but you can do some basic workouts.
The staff were great, supplied me with excellent directions on using the tram and when I had a coffee and cake in the little bar at the front before departing the service was very good and very friendly. If you have to stay outside of the city I would recommend this hotel although I am aware the experience might be different in a room rather than a suite.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPSouth, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South, responded to this review, December 9, 2013
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for sharing your experiences here on Tripadvisor. We are delighted to read that we have surpassed your expectations and would recommend us to others, we take that as a great compliment!

We are glad our Suite with Illy espresso machine and Rituals amenities was at the heart of your experience.

The breakfast you enjoyed was served in our Club Lounge, accessible to those who booked a Suite or Club Room in order to provide you with a serene and calm start of the day. Our gym is equipped with the necessary equipment for basic endurance or strength training. Might you have ideas or suggestions to further improve these two parts of our hotel we would love to hear them at any time.

Regardless of booking a Suite or other room, we are looking forward to welcoming you in the future to surprise you again with the quality we have to offer!

Thank you once again for the efforts you have taken to write this review and I will forward your kind compliments to all of our staff.

With hospitable regards,

Nicole Turnhout-Ammelaan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

408 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    264
    126
    13
    3
    2
See reviews for
33
119
18
160
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

Great rooms especially the suites. Location very close to Amsterdam Zuid station so only a few minutes from Schipol. Unfortunately attitude of bar/restaurant staff lets it down, they seem intent on arguing among themselves amazingly in English so I was able to follow it while I was there for about 2 hours.

Room Tip: It would appear that there are no restaurants close by but look carefully there are plenty just not...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPSouth, Food & Beverage Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Dear valued guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to inform us about your findings following your recent stay with us. It is a pleasure for us to learn that you enjoyed staying in one of our comfortably equipped suites and that the location of the hotel connected well to the purpose of your stay.

Regretfully however I took notice of your comments regarding your experience in our bar/ restaurant. I am extremely sorry that the behaviour displayed by the staff members working there during your visit, was unprofessional and in any way disturbing to you. Please be aware that this is not a representation of the hospitable and friendly attitude, our staff is usually acknowledged for.

Please rest assured that your feedback has been discussed with all relevant management- and staff members and that necessary actions have been taken to improve the quality and level of service.It is unfortunate though that your visit to our bar/ restaurant did not leave a positive impression with you.

I would like to apologise sincerely for not being able to meet your expectations. In order for us to improve our service and product I would appreciate to get the opportunity to discuss your experience in a personal conversation.

Please contact me at your earliest convenience by emailing your contact details and a convenient moment for me to speak to you to natalia.alvarez@ihg.com.

With kind regards,

Natalia Alvarez
Food & Beverage Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

Normally you just don't go to a hotel restaurant,but we had a less good experience with a restaurant in Amsterdam and decided to go to the Crowne Plaza in the South of Amsterdam. It is true that the restaurant has the looks of a restaurant within a hotel and we were quick to ask ourselves what could be done to improve the atmosphere of the restaurant, but we just did not know. On the other hand the Crowne Plaza restaurant could easily hold our company of nine people; we were seated royally on a great bench or in very nice chairs.
We were amazed at the kindness and acumen of the people who were serving the meals (something we experienced quite differently in other places in Amsterdam.) The hotel amazed us: 'only four star, but absolutely a four star plus.'
A great place to be, especially when you are more than 8 persons.

Room Tip: Although this hotel is on the 'outside'of Amsterdam, with public transportation you are easi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPSouth, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Dear valued guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience with our hotel and one o one restaurant in particular!

It is a great pleasure to learn that you had a memorable experience in our hotel and we are especially proud that the staff members in the restaurant contributed to that through their friendly attitude and professional service.

With regards to your remark about the atmosphere of our restaurant, we look forward to hear any suggestions you might still come up with, in order to make changes or improvements.

Thank you again for your kind and complimentary review and we look forward to welcome you and your group back again to enable another memorable experience.

Kind regards,

Nicole Turnhout – Ammerlaan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

brand new hotel and if you are lucky to get upgraded to a suite you can expect space and luxurt.. last time I stayed here the room came with a fully furnished coffee bar with an Illy espresso machine.. massive bathroom and real comfortable bed..
the gym is good, new and good working cardio machines, but not much in the way of weights.. for those that prefer to go for a run in the open air there are some suggested running routes in the gym.

the restaurant was very good, although very quiet..
good bar with some atmosphere (which is not bad for a hotel bar.. ;)

all in all, great business hotel!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPSouth, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for choosing the Crowne Plaza Amsterdam – South for your recent business stay. It is great to learn that you had a good stay with us!

It has been our pleasure to upgrade you to the next available room type and we are happy that you enjoyed staying in one of our suites. Our state of the art suites have a separate lounge and bedroom for you to stretch out and relax. Choose your favourite drinks or snacks from the minibar or make a coffee or tea with the in-room facilities.

But if you prefer to have a cocktail or other favourite drink, our Manhattan Lounge – Bar with cosy and relaxed atmosphere, is the place to be. Combine your drink with a snack or dinner dish while spending an evening in good company.

Great as well that you are so positive about our other facilities. In our efficiently established gym we aim to offer a variety of machines and equipment in order to allow our guests to have a good work-out. We appreciate your feedback about the weights and will definitely consider it.

Thank you once more for evaluating your stay with us. We hope to be your hotel of choice again in the near future.

Kind regards,

Nicole Turnhout – Ammerlaan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

The nicest Crowne Plaza we have ever stayed in. Brand new, modern, airy, rooms with very,high ceilings, comfy, new beds, down comforters, Nespresso machine in rooms, many little goodies in room. Hotel next to Tram # 5 that takes you directly into Centrale, which is the central part of Amsterdam.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPSouth, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for writing a great and complimentary review of which the title is a true advertisement for our hotel. We are so pleased that you consider us the nicest Crowne Plaza you experienced so far!

Our carefully designed and equipped rooms combine the aspects that are needed to relax and re-energise. Sound proof doors, luxurious bedding and aromatherapy are just a few of the features of our Crowne Plaza Sleep Advantage programme, which has been designed to make you drift off easier and allow you to have sweet dreams.

Great as well that you discovered the city centre by using tram number 5. You can catch this tram at Station Amsterdam Zuid, 5 minutes walking from the hotel, from where it leads you through the historic city centre, over the canals while passing by many famous sights and has Amsterdam Central Station as a final stop.

We hope to welcome you as our guest soon again when business or leisure bring you back to Amsterdam.

Kind regards,

Nicole Turnhout – Ammerlaan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

nice & brandnew hotel in the new commercial district Amsterdam South. Good if you have business there or want to wake up close to the airport. It's a 10-15min ride, with the Airport train station in walking distance (4-5min walk from the hotel only) taxi to the city centre took me around 20min. Nice rooms, (I got upgraded to a family suite, nice!)) The bar is OK for a late night drink, and yes, its a proper thing, not just hotel-like wannabe)

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPSouth, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for evaluating your recent stay with us in Crowne Plaza Amsterdam – South! It is a pleasure to know that you had a pleasant and successful business stay with us and that you benefitted from our central location versus the airport and the city centre.

It has been our pleasure to upgrade you as availability allowed so and are glad that your stay in one of our suites was meeting your expectations.

Great as well that you positively mentioned our Manhattan Lounge – Bar. With a wide variety of cocktails and other drinks served in a comfortable environment this is the perfect place for a casual business meeting or drink after a day in town.

Once again thank you for reviewing us on Tripadvisor and we look forward to welcome you back soon.

Kind regards,

Nicole Turnhout – Ammerlaan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ticehurst, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

I have had the pleasure of staying here almost every week for a year now. It is truly excellent in every way. Service is friendly and attentive. The whole place is spotless. The rooms are well equipped and there is wi-fi throughout the hotel. Beds and pillows are comfortable. The bar is a proper bar and not a hotel type thing. It is one you would consider whether a resident or not. Food is excellent. Basically what's not to like? One of the best hotels I know ANYWHERE.

Room Tip: yet to find a bad one!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPSouth, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for being our loyal guest for the past year! We highly value that you took the time to write about your experience and that you consider the Crowne Plaza Amsterdam – South to be excellent and one of the best hotels you know.

As you had the opportunity to experience our product and service on several moments during the past year, your positive words about the rooms, facilities and staff are highly appreciated.

We hope to have to pleasure to accommodate you for a long period ahead and thank you once more sincerely for this great review.

Kind regards,

Nicole Turnhout – Ammerlaan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South

Address: George Gershwinlaan 101, 1082 Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#8 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#14 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#20 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, IHG, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Tingo, Venere, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.