We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Modern, new, fresh rooms, young, polite, happy staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South to your Saves list
Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   George Gershwinlaan 101, 1082 Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #21 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Orlando, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Modern, new, fresh rooms, young, polite, happy staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

The nicest Crowne Plaza we have ever stayed in. Brand new, modern, airy, rooms with very,high ceilings, comfy, new beds, down comforters, Nespresso machine in rooms, many little goodies in room. Hotel next to Tram # 5 that takes you directly into Centrale, which is the central part of Amsterdam.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPSouth, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for writing a great and complimentary review of which the title is a true advertisement for our hotel. We are so pleased that you consider us the nicest Crowne Plaza you experienced so far!

Our carefully designed and equipped rooms combine the aspects that are needed to relax and re-energise. Sound proof doors, luxurious bedding and aromatherapy are just a few of the features of our Crowne Plaza Sleep Advantage programme, which has been designed to make you drift off easier and allow you to have sweet dreams.

Great as well that you discovered the city centre by using tram number 5. You can catch this tram at Station Amsterdam Zuid, 5 minutes walking from the hotel, from where it leads you through the historic city centre, over the canals while passing by many famous sights and has Amsterdam Central Station as a final stop.

We hope to welcome you as our guest soon again when business or leisure bring you back to Amsterdam.

Kind regards,

Nicole Turnhout – Ammerlaan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

507 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    335
    151
    16
    3
    2
See reviews for
39
155
24
193
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Moscow, Russia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

nice & brandnew hotel in the new commercial district Amsterdam South. Good if you have business there or want to wake up close to the airport. It's a 10-15min ride, with the Airport train station in walking distance (4-5min walk from the hotel only) taxi to the city centre took me around 20min. Nice rooms, (I got upgraded to a family suite, nice!)) The bar is OK for a late night drink, and yes, its a proper thing, not just hotel-like wannabe)

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPSouth, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for evaluating your recent stay with us in Crowne Plaza Amsterdam – South! It is a pleasure to know that you had a pleasant and successful business stay with us and that you benefitted from our central location versus the airport and the city centre.

It has been our pleasure to upgrade you as availability allowed so and are glad that your stay in one of our suites was meeting your expectations.

Great as well that you positively mentioned our Manhattan Lounge – Bar. With a wide variety of cocktails and other drinks served in a comfortable environment this is the perfect place for a casual business meeting or drink after a day in town.

Once again thank you for reviewing us on Tripadvisor and we look forward to welcome you back soon.

Kind regards,

Nicole Turnhout – Ammerlaan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ticehurst, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

I have had the pleasure of staying here almost every week for a year now. It is truly excellent in every way. Service is friendly and attentive. The whole place is spotless. The rooms are well equipped and there is wi-fi throughout the hotel. Beds and pillows are comfortable. The bar is a proper bar and not a hotel type thing. It is one you would consider whether a resident or not. Food is excellent. Basically what's not to like? One of the best hotels I know ANYWHERE.

Room Tip: yet to find a bad one!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPSouth, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for being our loyal guest for the past year! We highly value that you took the time to write about your experience and that you consider the Crowne Plaza Amsterdam – South to be excellent and one of the best hotels you know.

As you had the opportunity to experience our product and service on several moments during the past year, your positive words about the rooms, facilities and staff are highly appreciated.

We hope to have to pleasure to accommodate you for a long period ahead and thank you once more sincerely for this great review.

Kind regards,

Nicole Turnhout – Ammerlaan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reno, Nevada
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

I liked the associates at this hotel best. The concierge was beyond knowledgeable about what was in the area. The restaurant was bountiful for our breakfast buffet. Location is such that you are close to almost everything you wish to see...

Room Tip: Any room is wonderful...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPSouth, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for reviewing our hotel and for sharing your findings with the travel community through Tripadvisor!

It was a pleasure to learn that our location in Amsterdam – Zuidas was convenient for you. Our quiet location is unique as Amsterdam Schiphol International Airport, the RAI Convention Center and the city centre are only a few minutes away by public transport. Our rejuvenating and energising breakfast buffet offers all you need to prepare for a long day of exploring all that Amsterdam has to offer.

Most pleased and proud we were with your comment about our team. It is an absolute pleasure to know that our staff members made you feel welcome and comfortable and assisted you in making your trip a success.

We look forward to your next visit to Crowne Plaza Amsterdam – South!

Kind regards,

Nicoel Turnhout – Ammerlaan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Smithfield, Rhode Island
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

While staying there I managed to burn out my neblulizer which I need daily for my breathing. My voltage converter burnt out also. I notified the staff. They told me that they would take care of it. Within an hour they had a new one for me and had installed it in my room and had left me there converter also, which I needed for an oxygen unit that I had. Price for neblulizer was comparable to prices in USA .
Great place , easy access to train to centre of city

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPSouth, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feelings regarding your recent stay with us.

We are sorry to see that your stay was not entirely worry free due to unfortunate circumstances but it is great that our staff members were there for you and assisted with providing you with the necessary equipment.

We hope that you enjoyed your stay nevertheless and look forward to welcome you back in Crowne Plaza Amsterdam – South, should you visit Amsterdam again.

Kind regards,

Nicole Turnhout – Ammerlaan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013 via mobile

I have stayed here more than once and was delighted.

Rooms are spacious, modern and clean.

Food in the restaurant was very good.

Location is ideal if you are on business in the Amsterdam Zuid district and 10 minutes to the airport.

Service is extremely polite and helpful.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPSouth, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for being one of our highly valued loyal guests and for taking the time to review the Crowne Plaza Amsterdam- South.

It is a pleasure to know that our location is connecting well to the purpose of your frequent visits and that you enjoy staying in one of our comfortably designed and equipped rooms.

Your compliments on behalf of the food quality and service will be passed on to the team. Kind words as such are a great motivation for them to continuously strive to deliver excellent hospitality.

Thank you again and we hope to see you back soon!

Kind regards,

Nicole Turnhout – Ammerlaan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Augustine, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

Very nice hotel with helpful and friendly staff. Stayed here on vacation to visit Amsterdam. Very close to the tram to get into the city center. Rooms were comfortable, clean and modern. Had a great stay here and was very pleased.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPSouth, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for choosing the Crowne Plaza Amsterdam – South for your recent vacation in Amsterdam. We hope you had a great stay in our beautiful city!

We are pleased that your stay with us added to making your stay memorable and pleasant. It is always great to receive positive feedback of our guests so your review has been shared with the entire team.

Once again thank you for expressing your satisfaction and we hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Kind regards,

Nicole Turnhout – Ammerlaan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South

Address: George Gershwinlaan 101, 1082 Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#7 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#12 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#15 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South 4*
Number of rooms: 207
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, IHG, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.