We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply The Best!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South

Save Saved
You added Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   George Gershwinlaan 101, 1082 Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #22 of 343 hotels in Amsterdam
Ticehurst, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Simply The Best!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

I have had the pleasure of staying here almost every week for a year now. It is truly excellent in every way. Service is friendly and attentive. The whole place is spotless. The rooms are well equipped and there is wi-fi throughout the hotel. Beds and pillows are comfortable. The bar is a proper bar and not a hotel type thing. It is one you would consider whether a resident or not. Food is excellent. Basically what's not to like? One of the best hotels I know ANYWHERE.

Room Tip: yet to find a bad one!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPSouth, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for being our loyal guest for the past year! We highly value that you took the time to write about your experience and that you consider the Crowne Plaza Amsterdam – South to be excellent and one of the best hotels you know.

As you had the opportunity to experience our product and service on several moments during the past year, your positive words about the rooms, facilities and staff are highly appreciated.

We hope to have to pleasure to accommodate you for a long period ahead and thank you once more sincerely for this great review.

Kind regards,

Nicole Turnhout – Ammerlaan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

408 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    264
    126
    13
    3
    2
See reviews for
33
119
18
160
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Reno, Nevada
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

I liked the associates at this hotel best. The concierge was beyond knowledgeable about what was in the area. The restaurant was bountiful for our breakfast buffet. Location is such that you are close to almost everything you wish to see...

Room Tip: Any room is wonderful...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPSouth, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for reviewing our hotel and for sharing your findings with the travel community through Tripadvisor!

It was a pleasure to learn that our location in Amsterdam – Zuidas was convenient for you. Our quiet location is unique as Amsterdam Schiphol International Airport, the RAI Convention Center and the city centre are only a few minutes away by public transport. Our rejuvenating and energising breakfast buffet offers all you need to prepare for a long day of exploring all that Amsterdam has to offer.

Most pleased and proud we were with your comment about our team. It is an absolute pleasure to know that our staff members made you feel welcome and comfortable and assisted you in making your trip a success.

We look forward to your next visit to Crowne Plaza Amsterdam – South!

Kind regards,

Nicoel Turnhout – Ammerlaan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Smithfield, Rhode Island
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

While staying there I managed to burn out my neblulizer which I need daily for my breathing. My voltage converter burnt out also. I notified the staff. They told me that they would take care of it. Within an hour they had a new one for me and had installed it in my room and had left me there converter also, which I needed for an oxygen unit that I had. Price for neblulizer was comparable to prices in USA .
Great place , easy access to train to centre of city

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPSouth, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feelings regarding your recent stay with us.

We are sorry to see that your stay was not entirely worry free due to unfortunate circumstances but it is great that our staff members were there for you and assisted with providing you with the necessary equipment.

We hope that you enjoyed your stay nevertheless and look forward to welcome you back in Crowne Plaza Amsterdam – South, should you visit Amsterdam again.

Kind regards,

Nicole Turnhout – Ammerlaan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013 via mobile

I have stayed here more than once and was delighted.

Rooms are spacious, modern and clean.

Food in the restaurant was very good.

Location is ideal if you are on business in the Amsterdam Zuid district and 10 minutes to the airport.

Service is extremely polite and helpful.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPSouth, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for being one of our highly valued loyal guests and for taking the time to review the Crowne Plaza Amsterdam- South.

It is a pleasure to know that our location is connecting well to the purpose of your frequent visits and that you enjoy staying in one of our comfortably designed and equipped rooms.

Your compliments on behalf of the food quality and service will be passed on to the team. Kind words as such are a great motivation for them to continuously strive to deliver excellent hospitality.

Thank you again and we hope to see you back soon!

Kind regards,

Nicole Turnhout – Ammerlaan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Augustine, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

Very nice hotel with helpful and friendly staff. Stayed here on vacation to visit Amsterdam. Very close to the tram to get into the city center. Rooms were comfortable, clean and modern. Had a great stay here and was very pleased.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPSouth, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for choosing the Crowne Plaza Amsterdam – South for your recent vacation in Amsterdam. We hope you had a great stay in our beautiful city!

We are pleased that your stay with us added to making your stay memorable and pleasant. It is always great to receive positive feedback of our guests so your review has been shared with the entire team.

Once again thank you for expressing your satisfaction and we hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Kind regards,

Nicole Turnhout – Ammerlaan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Lansing, Michigan
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

This is one of the best hotels I've stayed in during visits to Europe. The place is clean and comfortable, and the staff goes above and beyond to help people get where they're going. I especially appreciated wi-fi availability, which was free to me because of Priority Club membership. The hotel is convenient to rail transit, which is easy to follow in Amsterdam. I'm sorry we could stay only one night.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPSouth, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam – South!

We are extremely pleased and proud that that you consider us to be one of the best hotels where you have ever stayed in Europe and that you would have liked to stay longer with us.

Your kind words about are staff are a great compliment for them considering that they are passionate about delivering great service so our guests can re-energise and be more productive during their trip.

We look forward to accommodate you again in the near future when business or leisure bring you back to Amsterdam!

Kind regards,

Nicole Turnhout – Ammerlaan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

I first stayed here in January 2013 during which I found everything to be excellent and appealing. Therefore I was interested to revisit and stay for a longer period of 6 days in August. The EXCELLENCE still prevails and my stay was as near perfect as I could imagine. The Staff and Managers in this hotel are really top notch, professional and helpful without being sycophantic. The hotel itself is a lovely property which is well maintained.
Many thanks to all.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPSouth, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Dear valued guest,


First of all it is great that your first stay in January made you decide to stay with us again last August. We highly value your loyalty!

Thank you for your kind and complimentary words about your recent stay. It is a great reward for the entire team to read your words about our staff and management. It is our passion to assist each guest to make his or her stay a success. We aim to do this by combining the best possible facilities with great service.

We are grateful to receive your confirmation that we are doing this well and hope to remain your hotel of choice for all your future stays in Amsterdam.

Kind regards,

Nicole Turnhout – Ammerlaan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South

Address: George Gershwinlaan 101, 1082 Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#8 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#14 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#20 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, IHG, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Tingo, Venere, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.