We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South to your Saves list
Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   George Gershwinlaan 101, 1082 Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #21 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Saint Augustine, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Very nice”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

Very nice hotel with helpful and friendly staff. Stayed here on vacation to visit Amsterdam. Very close to the tram to get into the city center. Rooms were comfortable, clean and modern. Had a great stay here and was very pleased.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPSouth, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for choosing the Crowne Plaza Amsterdam – South for your recent vacation in Amsterdam. We hope you had a great stay in our beautiful city!

We are pleased that your stay with us added to making your stay memorable and pleasant. It is always great to receive positive feedback of our guests so your review has been shared with the entire team.

Once again thank you for expressing your satisfaction and we hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Kind regards,

Nicole Turnhout – Ammerlaan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

507 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    335
    151
    16
    3
    2
See reviews for
39
155
24
193
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
East Lansing, Michigan
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

This is one of the best hotels I've stayed in during visits to Europe. The place is clean and comfortable, and the staff goes above and beyond to help people get where they're going. I especially appreciated wi-fi availability, which was free to me because of Priority Club membership. The hotel is convenient to rail transit, which is easy to follow in Amsterdam. I'm sorry we could stay only one night.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPSouth, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam – South!

We are extremely pleased and proud that that you consider us to be one of the best hotels where you have ever stayed in Europe and that you would have liked to stay longer with us.

Your kind words about are staff are a great compliment for them considering that they are passionate about delivering great service so our guests can re-energise and be more productive during their trip.

We look forward to accommodate you again in the near future when business or leisure bring you back to Amsterdam!

Kind regards,

Nicole Turnhout – Ammerlaan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

I first stayed here in January 2013 during which I found everything to be excellent and appealing. Therefore I was interested to revisit and stay for a longer period of 6 days in August. The EXCELLENCE still prevails and my stay was as near perfect as I could imagine. The Staff and Managers in this hotel are really top notch, professional and helpful without being sycophantic. The hotel itself is a lovely property which is well maintained.
Many thanks to all.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPSouth, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Dear valued guest,


First of all it is great that your first stay in January made you decide to stay with us again last August. We highly value your loyalty!

Thank you for your kind and complimentary words about your recent stay. It is a great reward for the entire team to read your words about our staff and management. It is our passion to assist each guest to make his or her stay a success. We aim to do this by combining the best possible facilities with great service.

We are grateful to receive your confirmation that we are doing this well and hope to remain your hotel of choice for all your future stays in Amsterdam.

Kind regards,

Nicole Turnhout – Ammerlaan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greensboro, North Carolina
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Stayed at the Crowne Plaza in June with a large party leaving for a cruise 2 days after we arrived. The hotel was wonderful with a top notch staff. We ate in the restaurant and had drinks in the bar each day, and can't say enough good things about the waiters and bar staff. The hotel was extremely quiet and comfortable. The sleep kits provided were a great touch of luxury along with superb bedding. I highly recommend this Crowne Plaza!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPSouth, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for reviewing the Crowne Plaza Amsterdam – South!

It is a true pleasure for us to know that you had a wonderful experience in our hotel and that the staff members in the various outlets left a great impression as well. Compliments like these are of great motivation for them.

In addition we are pleased that the Crowne Plaza Sleep Advantage program helped you to sleep well. Our soundproof guest room doors together with luxurious bedding, aromatherapy and quiet zones are the perfect ingredients for a rejuvenating night’s sleep.

Thank you again for recommending us and we look forward to welcome you back with us again!

Kind regards,

Nicole Turnhout – Ammerlaan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

I don't usually comment on business hotels, too boring, but this one is different.
Good points. Desk with lights so you can actually read. Electric points at desk level. Kettle for coffee.Ironing board. Proper hangers, not the ones that suggest you are a thief. Window opens, albeit not far, fresh air is nicer. Air conditioning works. Shelves in the bathroom enough for all washbags so you don't have to line them up on the floor. Shower does not soak the whole bathroom.

Good bar with good food. Pleasant staff. It is easy really, but so few manage it.

bad points; none

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPSouth, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for taking the time to evaluate your stay with us! We sincerely appreciate your feedback, especially since it is not your habit to review your business stays.

It has been a pleasure for us to learn that during your visit, the hotel met your expectations and that you were able to have a successful business trip while enjoying some of the hotel’s facilities.

Great as well that you liked the approach of our staff members. As they aim to make you feel comfortable during your stay, your words are a fantastic compliment on their behalf.

We hope to welcome you back soon when business or leisure bring you back to Amsterdam!

Kind regards,

Nicole Turnhout – Ammerlaan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

Just returned from The Crowne Plaza. We really couldn't fault it, the rooms, service and general ambience were fantastic. We stayed in a large party and all agreed that its one of the best nights sleep we've had. The hotel is really peaceful, the beds were out of this world and little added extras like sleep kits, aromatherapy smellies and never ending jugs of mint and lemon water really made the stay special...Not to mention first class all you can eat brekfast which was all fresh and so much variety we couldn't eat anything else until dinner! Don't let the location put you off booking- its one train stop from the airport and a short tram ride the other way in to central Amsterdam. Both tram and train stop close to the hotel and having stayed in the centre before this place is a haven of tranquility after a busy day.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPSouth, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Dear valued guest,

It was a true pleasure to read the review that you wrote following your recent stay in Crowne Plaza Amsterdam-South!

It was especially great to learn that you discovered the advantages of the Crowne Plaza Sleep Advantage programme. We know how important sleep is. Sleep is the fuel that powers your day. Who knows what you'll achieve after a great night's sleep? Well, now you can find out. At Crowne Plaza, we've thought of elements to help you relax and ensure you enjoy a great night’s sleep such as luxurious bedding, aromatherapy, Quiet Zones: all to ensure that you can relax and drift off easier. We are glad as well that you appreciated our rejuvenating touch in the lobby: the mint, lemon and lime infused water.

Our location, despite slightly remote from downtown Amsterdam, is unique as Amsterdam Schiphol International Airport and the RAI Convention Center are only a few minutes away by public transport. On walking distance of the hotel you will find station Amsterdam- Zuid with fast metro and tram connections into town. It is fantastic that you discovered the advantages of staying in the peaceful and quiet surroundings of our location.

We look forward to welcome you back soon and thank you again for your review!

Kind regards,

Nicole Turnhout – Ammerlaan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013 via mobile

Everything you could expect of a top hotel great room, great breakfast. Not the best location as a tourist although regular tram into Amsterdam takes around 25 mins so not too bad. I Highly recommend this hotel if you don't mind the 'commute' into the city

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPSouth, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for evaluating your stay at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam- South and for rewarding us with a high rating!

We totally understand that our location, in comparison to downtown Amsterdam, is not the most dynamic place to stay but are happy that you discovered the benefit of the excellent public transportation connections that are available on just 5 minutes walking distance from the hotel. In addition, our hotel is a heaven of peace where you can settle down after a day in busy Amsterdam with all its exciting things to do.

Thank you for recommending us and we hope to have you as our guest again in the near future.

Kind regards,

Nicole Turnhout-Ammerlaan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South

Address: George Gershwinlaan 101, 1082 Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#7 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#12 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#15 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South 4*
Number of rooms: 207
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, IHG, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.