We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little bit of luxury” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South

Save Saved
You added Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   George Gershwinlaan 101, 1082 Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #22 of 343 hotels in Amsterdam
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“A little bit of luxury”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

Just returned from The Crowne Plaza. We really couldn't fault it, the rooms, service and general ambience were fantastic. We stayed in a large party and all agreed that its one of the best nights sleep we've had. The hotel is really peaceful, the beds were out of this world and little added extras like sleep kits, aromatherapy smellies and never ending jugs of mint and lemon water really made the stay special...Not to mention first class all you can eat brekfast which was all fresh and so much variety we couldn't eat anything else until dinner! Don't let the location put you off booking- its one train stop from the airport and a short tram ride the other way in to central Amsterdam. Both tram and train stop close to the hotel and having stayed in the centre before this place is a haven of tranquility after a busy day.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPSouth, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Dear valued guest,

It was a true pleasure to read the review that you wrote following your recent stay in Crowne Plaza Amsterdam-South!

It was especially great to learn that you discovered the advantages of the Crowne Plaza Sleep Advantage programme. We know how important sleep is. Sleep is the fuel that powers your day. Who knows what you'll achieve after a great night's sleep? Well, now you can find out. At Crowne Plaza, we've thought of elements to help you relax and ensure you enjoy a great night’s sleep such as luxurious bedding, aromatherapy, Quiet Zones: all to ensure that you can relax and drift off easier. We are glad as well that you appreciated our rejuvenating touch in the lobby: the mint, lemon and lime infused water.

Our location, despite slightly remote from downtown Amsterdam, is unique as Amsterdam Schiphol International Airport and the RAI Convention Center are only a few minutes away by public transport. On walking distance of the hotel you will find station Amsterdam- Zuid with fast metro and tram connections into town. It is fantastic that you discovered the advantages of staying in the peaceful and quiet surroundings of our location.

We look forward to welcome you back soon and thank you again for your review!

Kind regards,

Nicole Turnhout – Ammerlaan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

409 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    265
    126
    13
    3
    2
See reviews for
33
119
18
160
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013 via mobile

Everything you could expect of a top hotel great room, great breakfast. Not the best location as a tourist although regular tram into Amsterdam takes around 25 mins so not too bad. I Highly recommend this hotel if you don't mind the 'commute' into the city

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPSouth, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for evaluating your stay at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam- South and for rewarding us with a high rating!

We totally understand that our location, in comparison to downtown Amsterdam, is not the most dynamic place to stay but are happy that you discovered the benefit of the excellent public transportation connections that are available on just 5 minutes walking distance from the hotel. In addition, our hotel is a heaven of peace where you can settle down after a day in busy Amsterdam with all its exciting things to do.

Thank you for recommending us and we hope to have you as our guest again in the near future.

Kind regards,

Nicole Turnhout-Ammerlaan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp, Belgium
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

Even in the low holiday season, the rooms were highly priced, probably because the hotel is ideally located in the new banking district of Amsterdam. Train station nearby and nice hotel garage. Friendly staff all over the hotel. Would be nice if one could open the window somewhat more.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPSouth, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review following your stay at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam- South!

We are sorry that you considered the price tag for our hotel to be high for the season you were visiting us. Please be aware that our location outside the city centre in general has the effect that our prices are lower than those of downtown hotels. Of course it can be the case that city wide events drive up the prices in our area as well. For your next visit please consult our website or contact the reservations department to find the best available rate.

With regards to your remark about the windows we would like to inform you that safety regulations do not allow us to have the windows of our guest rooms completely open. We understand that a bit more fresh air would be preferable but unfortunately we are not able to accommodate this.

We sincerely hope that, despite these aspects, you had a good stay with us and will be our guest again in the near future.

Kind regards,

Nicole Turnhout – Ammerlaan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

Me and wife stayed here between 23rd August 2013 - 25th August 2013, check was fine.

Upon getting into the room, we noticed the several no smoking signs in the room, the bed sheet has a stain on it, the window would open approx 2 inch (no fresh air) , the air con in the room barely worked meaning it was stuffy, warm & smelt foisty.

Each night me & wife we leave the room to explore the city to return to things moved around in our room, the safe was opened and left open. We even resorted to taking a picture before we left our room to confirm this.

The duty manager even left us a WARNING card on the bed telling me i could be fined 150 Euros for smoking even though myself and my wife NEVER smoked in the room. We were informed by reception the warning card was left as the maid (who did NOT change the stained bed sheet) noticed my cigerettes and lighter were on the table in the room. I couldnt believe it! I did ask if it was against hotel policy for me to put my packet of cigerettes on the table, They said it was precedure to issue a warning. I'm still confused to what the warning was for!?!?!

On our first night we even decided to order room service, we ordered 2 cheese burgers & 1 hot chocolate. 40 Euros for raw meat. Horrible Food.

The on suite mini bar is very highly priced.

The breakfast is very simple and boring.! They offer an american breakfast...that american breakfast consists of breakfast pancakes around 4 inch wide.!

In summary, very far out from centre, no fresh air, no air con, no safety in room even with a safe, poor food, stained bed sheets. All this was reported to the reception staff but nothing was done about it.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPSouth, Rooms Division Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Dear valued guest,

Regretfully we took notice of your comments following your recent stay with us. We apologise for not being able to meet your expectations.

In order for us to investigate your case and improve our service, we kindly ask for an opportunity to discuss your experience in person.

We would kindly appreciate it if you would provide us with both contact details and an appropriate time to contact you by e-mailing tako.kimplate@ihg.com.

With kind regards,

Tako Kim Plate
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

Spent a weekend here in late Aug 2013 and I can honestly say it was one of the best hotel experiences of my life.About two months before I booked this hotel, I was struggling to find accommodation in AMS city centre and the prices being asked were astronomical. So I checked out CP AMS South. Wow! Euros100 per night (excluding breakfast) when the competition in town was charging 2, 3, 4 or even 5 times that amount-no contest!
My only concern before arriving at the hotel was that it it is quite far out of the city centre. However, that turned out to be largely irrelevant. I arrived at Schiphol Airport from EDI at about 1pm on Fri and was in my hotel room within 30 minutes of landing. Took a train from Schiphol to AMS Zuid station (cost Euro3) and walked for less than 5 minutes from the station to the hotel.
Checkin was incredibly quick, efficient and friendly. As IHG loyalty member, I had free high speed internet access during my stay in my room and throughout the hotel.
Room was on the top (11th) floor and was exceptionally well-appointed, with some interesting, thoughtful and innovative touches. Lavender spray on the bed to aid sleep has become an IHG standard and was here as well. The shower was massive, with a huge fixed glass screen and this was very effective at containing the spray. Plenty of lighting and plug points, including both European and British standard plugs.Really comfortable bed and a nice array of bathroom goodies, including robe.
Eating in the hotel was a good standard of quality, reasonably priced and served in a very friendly manner. The Manhattan Bar has a really nice vibe. Breakfast was British/American buffet standard and was perfectly suited to the hotel with attentive staff.
Getting into town on the number 5 GVB tram was easy-walk back past Zuid Station, up a few stairs, then catch the frequent tram. A 24-hour GVB ticket, that covers tram, bus and metro, can be purchased from the hotel and in many other places (incl on the tram itself) for Euro7.50.
This tram stops frequently, including at Concertgebouw/Rijksmuseum/Museumplein, before terminating at Sentraal Spoorwegstasie in the town centre.I reckon Rijksmuseum is 10 mins from hotel, central station maybe 20 mins. So, frankly, being outside the city centre is really no big deal.
Bottom line; this hotel ticks all the right boxes and does what it does exceptionally well. It is rare to find such a useful combination these days. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPSouth, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Dear valued guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write so extensively about our hotel. It is great that you consider the Crowne Plaza Amsterdam- South to be a hidden gem and that you highly recommend us to fellow travellers.

We are happy that you perceived the price – quality ratio to be right and that you discovered the advantages of our central location. In addition it was a pleasure that you enjoyed staying in one of our carefully designed guest rooms on our highest floor and that the aromatherapy kit with two specially selected exclusive aromatherapy products from the award winning This Works aromatherapy line helped you to relax and sleep well.

It is a pleasure as well to learn that you positively experienced all of our food and beverage outlets. one o one restaurant enables you to kick of your day with a nutritious and energising breakfast before spending a day in town. Manhattan Lounge Bar is the place to be evaluating your day while enjoying a surprising cocktail accompanied by a tasty snack.

Once again we thank you for your review and for being an ambassador for our hotel. We look forward to welcome you back soon and to make you feel at home again.

Kind regards,

Nicole Turnhout – Ammerlaan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013 via mobile

We stay in this hotel on a very regular bases, the service from check in to check out is excellent. The rooms are very clean and well equipped with all the daily amenities we need. The service in the bar is exceptional, especially when Michael is working, he always takes very great care of us, and makes us feel very welcome. Pricilla and Liza are also always very nice and fun.
Everyone is very friendly, and makes us feel at home.
Great management team!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPSouth, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Dear valued guest,

First of all thank you very much for being one of our loyal guests. We appreciate it a lot that you took the time to inform us about your experiences with the Crowne Plaza Amsterdam- South.

It is a great compliment to hear that you are so satisfied about the service in the various departments and the room cleanliness and equipment. As a regular guest in our hotel you are the first person to notice any differences in our product and service so therefore your positive feedback is greatly appreciated.

Our team is passionate about assisting our guests in making their stay with us a success. It is therefore a great reward and motivation that you mentioned some of our team members in particular for making your stay memorable and for making you feel at ease.

On behalf of the entire team including the management we thank you for your review and look forward to welcome you back soon.

Kind regards,

Nicole Turnhout – Ammerlaan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

excellent stay at crowne plaza hotel. Very friendly staff. Check in and check out was a breeze. I booked through priceline (HATE PRICELINE and will never use them again) Priceline line screwed up my reservation (no internet and breakfast) but the hotel staff honored both and no cost. They gave me a converter for my phone charger on loan. again no charge! Very good customer service. Very clean and nice rooms. A lot of leather (which i loved) Adds a bit of an edge to the decor. This is a bit far from the downtown but very well connected. The main train station is v close for the airport (6 mins train ride) and trams etc are very close to get to downtown. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPSouth, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Dear valued guest,

Thank you very much for informing us that you had a great stay at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam – South, especially after the inconvenience that you experienced with your reservation. It is great to learn though that the hospitality and assistance of our staff members made up a lot.

Thank you also for complimenting on the cleanliness and style of our guestrooms. You might have noticed the musical theme that is represented throughout the building. Did you know that the New York origin of George Gershwin has led to the names of our meeting rooms? The famous Manhattan 101 cocktail inspired us to decide on the names of our restaurant one o one and Manhattan Lounge- Bar.

We hope to be your hotel of choice again during your next stay in Amsterdam!

Kind regards,

Nicole Turnhout – Ammerlaan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Best Value, Res...
Show More
Dam Square
Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre
Bar/Lounge, Bes...
Show More
Hotel Golden Tulip Amsterdam West
Restaurant, Ind...
Show More
WestCord Fashion Hotel Amsterdam
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Independent Hot...
Show More
citizenM Amsterdam
citizenM Amsterdam
#33 of 343 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 2,589 reviews
Mid-range, Free...
Show More
Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam - South
Luxury, Romanti...
Show More
Hotel Okura Amsterdam
Hotel Okura Amsterdam
#20 of 343 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 1,042 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South

Address: George Gershwinlaan 101, 1082 Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#8 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#14 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#19 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, IHG, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Tingo, Venere, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.