We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden gem” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South to your Saves list
Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   George Gershwinlaan 101, 1082 Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #21 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Johannesburg, South Africa
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Hidden gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

Spent a weekend here in late Aug 2013 and I can honestly say it was one of the best hotel experiences of my life.About two months before I booked this hotel, I was struggling to find accommodation in AMS city centre and the prices being asked were astronomical. So I checked out CP AMS South. Wow! Euros100 per night (excluding breakfast) when the competition in town was charging 2, 3, 4 or even 5 times that amount-no contest!
My only concern before arriving at the hotel was that it it is quite far out of the city centre. However, that turned out to be largely irrelevant. I arrived at Schiphol Airport from EDI at about 1pm on Fri and was in my hotel room within 30 minutes of landing. Took a train from Schiphol to AMS Zuid station (cost Euro3) and walked for less than 5 minutes from the station to the hotel.
Checkin was incredibly quick, efficient and friendly. As IHG loyalty member, I had free high speed internet access during my stay in my room and throughout the hotel.
Room was on the top (11th) floor and was exceptionally well-appointed, with some interesting, thoughtful and innovative touches. Lavender spray on the bed to aid sleep has become an IHG standard and was here as well. The shower was massive, with a huge fixed glass screen and this was very effective at containing the spray. Plenty of lighting and plug points, including both European and British standard plugs.Really comfortable bed and a nice array of bathroom goodies, including robe.
Eating in the hotel was a good standard of quality, reasonably priced and served in a very friendly manner. The Manhattan Bar has a really nice vibe. Breakfast was British/American buffet standard and was perfectly suited to the hotel with attentive staff.
Getting into town on the number 5 GVB tram was easy-walk back past Zuid Station, up a few stairs, then catch the frequent tram. A 24-hour GVB ticket, that covers tram, bus and metro, can be purchased from the hotel and in many other places (incl on the tram itself) for Euro7.50.
This tram stops frequently, including at Concertgebouw/Rijksmuseum/Museumplein, before terminating at Sentraal Spoorwegstasie in the town centre.I reckon Rijksmuseum is 10 mins from hotel, central station maybe 20 mins. So, frankly, being outside the city centre is really no big deal.
Bottom line; this hotel ticks all the right boxes and does what it does exceptionally well. It is rare to find such a useful combination these days. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPSouth, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Dear valued guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write so extensively about our hotel. It is great that you consider the Crowne Plaza Amsterdam- South to be a hidden gem and that you highly recommend us to fellow travellers.

We are happy that you perceived the price – quality ratio to be right and that you discovered the advantages of our central location. In addition it was a pleasure that you enjoyed staying in one of our carefully designed guest rooms on our highest floor and that the aromatherapy kit with two specially selected exclusive aromatherapy products from the award winning This Works aromatherapy line helped you to relax and sleep well.

It is a pleasure as well to learn that you positively experienced all of our food and beverage outlets. one o one restaurant enables you to kick of your day with a nutritious and energising breakfast before spending a day in town. Manhattan Lounge Bar is the place to be evaluating your day while enjoying a surprising cocktail accompanied by a tasty snack.

Once again we thank you for your review and for being an ambassador for our hotel. We look forward to welcome you back soon and to make you feel at home again.

Kind regards,

Nicole Turnhout – Ammerlaan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

507 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    335
    151
    16
    3
    2
See reviews for
39
155
24
193
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013 via mobile

We stay in this hotel on a very regular bases, the service from check in to check out is excellent. The rooms are very clean and well equipped with all the daily amenities we need. The service in the bar is exceptional, especially when Michael is working, he always takes very great care of us, and makes us feel very welcome. Pricilla and Liza are also always very nice and fun.
Everyone is very friendly, and makes us feel at home.
Great management team!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPSouth, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Dear valued guest,

First of all thank you very much for being one of our loyal guests. We appreciate it a lot that you took the time to inform us about your experiences with the Crowne Plaza Amsterdam- South.

It is a great compliment to hear that you are so satisfied about the service in the various departments and the room cleanliness and equipment. As a regular guest in our hotel you are the first person to notice any differences in our product and service so therefore your positive feedback is greatly appreciated.

Our team is passionate about assisting our guests in making their stay with us a success. It is therefore a great reward and motivation that you mentioned some of our team members in particular for making your stay memorable and for making you feel at ease.

On behalf of the entire team including the management we thank you for your review and look forward to welcome you back soon.

Kind regards,

Nicole Turnhout – Ammerlaan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

excellent stay at crowne plaza hotel. Very friendly staff. Check in and check out was a breeze. I booked through priceline (HATE PRICELINE and will never use them again) Priceline line screwed up my reservation (no internet and breakfast) but the hotel staff honored both and no cost. They gave me a converter for my phone charger on loan. again no charge! Very good customer service. Very clean and nice rooms. A lot of leather (which i loved) Adds a bit of an edge to the decor. This is a bit far from the downtown but very well connected. The main train station is v close for the airport (6 mins train ride) and trams etc are very close to get to downtown. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPSouth, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Dear valued guest,

Thank you very much for informing us that you had a great stay at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam – South, especially after the inconvenience that you experienced with your reservation. It is great to learn though that the hospitality and assistance of our staff members made up a lot.

Thank you also for complimenting on the cleanliness and style of our guestrooms. You might have noticed the musical theme that is represented throughout the building. Did you know that the New York origin of George Gershwin has led to the names of our meeting rooms? The famous Manhattan 101 cocktail inspired us to decide on the names of our restaurant one o one and Manhattan Lounge- Bar.

We hope to be your hotel of choice again during your next stay in Amsterdam!

Kind regards,

Nicole Turnhout – Ammerlaan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

Luxurious, spacious rooms offering all amenities, great breakfast and hepful staff make this (bussiness oriented) hotel an excellent choice for Amsterdam - even for a family with a two year old very active girl (...). Actually it wasn't just one of the best hotels I've stayed in, but also one with an excellent value, considering the prices of hotels in Amsterdam (at least in August). And this not considering the choice to park the car right on the opposite of the hotel (indicated to me by the staff) for 1.40/hour or 8.40/day (free on weekends) - which saved us about 150 euros (about a night's stay) during our 4 day visit! No need to comment on the excellent and helpful staff, all requested answered immediately.

As this hotel is bussiness oriented, one should consider that it is about a 5 minutes walk from the tram (which takes you about 10-15 minutes for Leiden Platz) and the area is located beside bussiness offices.The only negative of the hotel is (due to its bussiness nature) that there is no free wi-fi.

Definetely reccomended!

Room Tip: For parking avoid the Parking beside the hotel (48 euros/day) or the street from the entrance of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPSouth, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for reviewing your stay at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam – South!

It was great to read your kind and complimentary words on behalf of our rooms, breakfast and staff. We are excited that you and your family had a fantastic time in Amsterdam and that the price quality ratio and more affordable parking options opposite the hotel added to that.

Great as well that you discovered the advantages of travelling by public transportation from station Amsterdam- Zuid which is located on only 5 minutes walking from our hotel. Taking tram number 5 is the ideal way to get familiar with Amsterdam as it passes by many highlights of the city like the Museumsquare, Leidsesquare, Damsquare with end stop at Amsterdam Central Station.

With regards to your remark about the internet we are happy to inform you that all guests that are member of the IHG Rewards Club receive complimentary internet and many other benefits.

Thank you again for reviewing and recommending us; we look forward to your next stay with us.

Kind regards,

Nicole Turnhout – Ammerlaan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dusseldorf, Germany
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

far from everywhere no- where
they have family room & at very affordable price
must willing to walk long walk to train station
staffs are friendly & helpful
wide range of breakfast
this hotel has a very little souvenir shop & the lady owner is very nice & kind
close by airport

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPSouth, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Dear valued guest,

Thank you very much for your review! It is a pleasure that you had a good stay, although it might be the case that your kind words were intended for a different hotel as we do not dispose of a privately owned souvenir shop.

The Crowne Plaza Amsterdam- South is indeed located uniquely as Amsterdam Schiphol International Airport, the RAI Convention Center and the city centre are only a few minutes away by public transport leavinfg from station Amsterdam- Zuid on 5 minutes walking distance from the hotel.

The hotel features 207 modern rooms, including 16 club rooms and 16 suites. Enjoy your weekend at the Crowne Plaza Amsterdam-Southhotel and start your day with a rich and fresh breakfast at the one o one restaurant. Take the tram into the city centre and rent a bike to discover the main sites of the city like a real Amsterdamer.

After an exciting day, meet up in the Manhattan Lounge-Bar and enjoy your evening with individually prepared cocktails or a tasty wine on one of the Crowne Plaza Amsterdam-South hotels two terraces.

Benefit from the hotel’s state-of-the art gym, book a club room and get access to the exclusive Club Lounge with daily newspapers and snacks. Gain a good night’s sleep with the IHG Sleep Advantage programme.

We look forward to welcome you in Crowne Plaza Amsterdam- South.

Kind regards,

Nicole Turnhout – Ammerlaan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

I was taken aback when the taxi approached the hotel, which is in the financial centre as I thought it was a bit deserted and away from the town centre

However I was pleasantly surprised when I entered the hotel. Right from the smiling staff who helped with the baggage to the reception staff who greeted guests with a smile and prompt service, everything about the hotel was fantastic

The rooms were spacious by European standards, the bathrooms were clean and the beds were comfortable

The only thing which is a bit disappointing was the fact that internet is not complimentary. Charges are 10Euro for 24 hours, which is a bit of a let down given that this is a business hotel

The breakfast is excellent and the omelettes which are prepared by the cheerful chef is very tasty. Special mention to the cinnamon rolls, muffins, and cakes which are divine. Even my fussy 3 year old relished them

Special thanks to the serving staff Cas (I don't recollect his last name) who went out of his help.

The hotel is a 5 minute walk from the South Station, which is another advantage

Looking forward to visiting again

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPSouth, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for sharing your review with us and the travel community! We are happy that, despite a not so positive first impression due to our location, you had a good stay in one of our comfortable and carefully designed rooms.

In addition it is a pleasure to know that our staff members did everything to make your stay pleasant and left a positive impression on you. Thank you especially for your compliment to one of our serving staff members in particular. Your kind words have been shared with him and serve as a great motivation.

Unfortunately we noticed as well that you were disappointed about the internet charges. Please be informed that one of the benefits of joining our loyalty program. By joining the IHG Rewards Club, you can make the most of your travels and enjoy benefits such as free Internet worldwide. We are sorry that you were not made aware of this during your stay and hope that you will join soon so you can benefit immediately from the many advantages.

We look forward to welcome you back in the near future.

Kind regards,

Nicole Turnhout – Ammerlaan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

Very nice staff with extraordinary services.Always smiling and happy to help you.Clean,spacious,comfortable and a very excellent breakfast.Free wi-fi was addon and staff behind the desk was quite active.Will recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPSouth, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for evaluating your recent stay at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam- South by leaving a review on Tripadvisor. We are extremely pleased and honoured that you qualify our hotel to be one of the best.

It is especially great to read your kind words about the hospitable service with a smile by our staff members. It is their passion to assist all of our valued guest in making their stay successful and memorable. Your words will serve as a great motivation for them to continue to pursue this aim.

We are pleased as well to know that you discovered one of the many benefits of being a member of the IHG Rewards Club. As a member you enjoy exclusive member benefits at every level allowing you to make the most of your travels.

Once again thank you very much for your review and recommendation. We look forward to have you as our guest again upon your next visit to Amsterdam.

Kind regards,

Nicole Turnhout – Ammerlaan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South

Address: George Gershwinlaan 101, 1082 Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#7 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#12 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#15 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South 4*
Number of rooms: 207
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, IHG, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.