We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South to your Saves list
Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   George Gershwinlaan 101, 1082 Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #22 of 345 Hotels in Amsterdam
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Super hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

We stay in this hotel on a very regular bases, the service from check in to check out is excellent. The rooms are very clean and well equipped with all the daily amenities we need. The service in the bar is exceptional, especially when Michael is working, he always takes very great care of us, and makes us feel very welcome. Pricilla and Liza are also always very nice and fun.
Everyone is very friendly, and makes us feel at home.
Great management team!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPSouth, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Dear valued guest,

First of all thank you very much for being one of our loyal guests. We appreciate it a lot that you took the time to inform us about your experiences with the Crowne Plaza Amsterdam- South.

It is a great compliment to hear that you are so satisfied about the service in the various departments and the room cleanliness and equipment. As a regular guest in our hotel you are the first person to notice any differences in our product and service so therefore your positive feedback is greatly appreciated.

Our team is passionate about assisting our guests in making their stay with us a success. It is therefore a great reward and motivation that you mentioned some of our team members in particular for making your stay memorable and for making you feel at ease.

On behalf of the entire team including the management we thank you for your review and look forward to welcome you back soon.

Kind regards,

Nicole Turnhout – Ammerlaan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

554 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    368
    162
    18
    3
    3
See reviews for
45
167
24
209
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

excellent stay at crowne plaza hotel. Very friendly staff. Check in and check out was a breeze. I booked through priceline (HATE PRICELINE and will never use them again) Priceline line screwed up my reservation (no internet and breakfast) but the hotel staff honored both and no cost. They gave me a converter for my phone charger on loan. again no charge! Very good customer service. Very clean and nice rooms. A lot of leather (which i loved) Adds a bit of an edge to the decor. This is a bit far from the downtown but very well connected. The main train station is v close for the airport (6 mins train ride) and trams etc are very close to get to downtown. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPSouth, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Dear valued guest,

Thank you very much for informing us that you had a great stay at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam – South, especially after the inconvenience that you experienced with your reservation. It is great to learn though that the hospitality and assistance of our staff members made up a lot.

Thank you also for complimenting on the cleanliness and style of our guestrooms. You might have noticed the musical theme that is represented throughout the building. Did you know that the New York origin of George Gershwin has led to the names of our meeting rooms? The famous Manhattan 101 cocktail inspired us to decide on the names of our restaurant one o one and Manhattan Lounge- Bar.

We hope to be your hotel of choice again during your next stay in Amsterdam!

Kind regards,

Nicole Turnhout – Ammerlaan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

Luxurious, spacious rooms offering all amenities, great breakfast and hepful staff make this (bussiness oriented) hotel an excellent choice for Amsterdam - even for a family with a two year old very active girl (...). Actually it wasn't just one of the best hotels I've stayed in, but also one with an excellent value, considering the prices of hotels in Amsterdam (at least in August). And this not considering the choice to park the car right on the opposite of the hotel (indicated to me by the staff) for 1.40/hour or 8.40/day (free on weekends) - which saved us about 150 euros (about a night's stay) during our 4 day visit! No need to comment on the excellent and helpful staff, all requested answered immediately.

As this hotel is bussiness oriented, one should consider that it is about a 5 minutes walk from the tram (which takes you about 10-15 minutes for Leiden Platz) and the area is located beside bussiness offices.The only negative of the hotel is (due to its bussiness nature) that there is no free wi-fi.

Definetely reccomended!

Room Tip: For parking avoid the Parking beside the hotel (48 euros/day) or the street from the entrance of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPSouth, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for reviewing your stay at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam – South!

It was great to read your kind and complimentary words on behalf of our rooms, breakfast and staff. We are excited that you and your family had a fantastic time in Amsterdam and that the price quality ratio and more affordable parking options opposite the hotel added to that.

Great as well that you discovered the advantages of travelling by public transportation from station Amsterdam- Zuid which is located on only 5 minutes walking from our hotel. Taking tram number 5 is the ideal way to get familiar with Amsterdam as it passes by many highlights of the city like the Museumsquare, Leidsesquare, Damsquare with end stop at Amsterdam Central Station.

With regards to your remark about the internet we are happy to inform you that all guests that are member of the IHG Rewards Club receive complimentary internet and many other benefits.

Thank you again for reviewing and recommending us; we look forward to your next stay with us.

Kind regards,

Nicole Turnhout – Ammerlaan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dusseldorf, Germany
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

far from everywhere no- where
they have family room & at very affordable price
must willing to walk long walk to train station
staffs are friendly & helpful
wide range of breakfast
this hotel has a very little souvenir shop & the lady owner is very nice & kind
close by airport

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPSouth, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Dear valued guest,

Thank you very much for your review! It is a pleasure that you had a good stay, although it might be the case that your kind words were intended for a different hotel as we do not dispose of a privately owned souvenir shop.

The Crowne Plaza Amsterdam- South is indeed located uniquely as Amsterdam Schiphol International Airport, the RAI Convention Center and the city centre are only a few minutes away by public transport leavinfg from station Amsterdam- Zuid on 5 minutes walking distance from the hotel.

The hotel features 207 modern rooms, including 16 club rooms and 16 suites. Enjoy your weekend at the Crowne Plaza Amsterdam-Southhotel and start your day with a rich and fresh breakfast at the one o one restaurant. Take the tram into the city centre and rent a bike to discover the main sites of the city like a real Amsterdamer.

After an exciting day, meet up in the Manhattan Lounge-Bar and enjoy your evening with individually prepared cocktails or a tasty wine on one of the Crowne Plaza Amsterdam-South hotels two terraces.

Benefit from the hotel’s state-of-the art gym, book a club room and get access to the exclusive Club Lounge with daily newspapers and snacks. Gain a good night’s sleep with the IHG Sleep Advantage programme.

We look forward to welcome you in Crowne Plaza Amsterdam- South.

Kind regards,

Nicole Turnhout – Ammerlaan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

I was taken aback when the taxi approached the hotel, which is in the financial centre as I thought it was a bit deserted and away from the town centre

However I was pleasantly surprised when I entered the hotel. Right from the smiling staff who helped with the baggage to the reception staff who greeted guests with a smile and prompt service, everything about the hotel was fantastic

The rooms were spacious by European standards, the bathrooms were clean and the beds were comfortable

The only thing which is a bit disappointing was the fact that internet is not complimentary. Charges are 10Euro for 24 hours, which is a bit of a let down given that this is a business hotel

The breakfast is excellent and the omelettes which are prepared by the cheerful chef is very tasty. Special mention to the cinnamon rolls, muffins, and cakes which are divine. Even my fussy 3 year old relished them

Special thanks to the serving staff Cas (I don't recollect his last name) who went out of his help.

The hotel is a 5 minute walk from the South Station, which is another advantage

Looking forward to visiting again

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPSouth, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for sharing your review with us and the travel community! We are happy that, despite a not so positive first impression due to our location, you had a good stay in one of our comfortable and carefully designed rooms.

In addition it is a pleasure to know that our staff members did everything to make your stay pleasant and left a positive impression on you. Thank you especially for your compliment to one of our serving staff members in particular. Your kind words have been shared with him and serve as a great motivation.

Unfortunately we noticed as well that you were disappointed about the internet charges. Please be informed that one of the benefits of joining our loyalty program. By joining the IHG Rewards Club, you can make the most of your travels and enjoy benefits such as free Internet worldwide. We are sorry that you were not made aware of this during your stay and hope that you will join soon so you can benefit immediately from the many advantages.

We look forward to welcome you back in the near future.

Kind regards,

Nicole Turnhout – Ammerlaan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

Very nice staff with extraordinary services.Always smiling and happy to help you.Clean,spacious,comfortable and a very excellent breakfast.Free wi-fi was addon and staff behind the desk was quite active.Will recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPSouth, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for evaluating your recent stay at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam- South by leaving a review on Tripadvisor. We are extremely pleased and honoured that you qualify our hotel to be one of the best.

It is especially great to read your kind words about the hospitable service with a smile by our staff members. It is their passion to assist all of our valued guest in making their stay successful and memorable. Your words will serve as a great motivation for them to continue to pursue this aim.

We are pleased as well to know that you discovered one of the many benefits of being a member of the IHG Rewards Club. As a member you enjoy exclusive member benefits at every level allowing you to make the most of your travels.

Once again thank you very much for your review and recommendation. We look forward to have you as our guest again upon your next visit to Amsterdam.

Kind regards,

Nicole Turnhout – Ammerlaan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amersfoort, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

Very good service, friendly personnel, perfect rooms, great kitchen, easy to get there, easy to go to city centre. Can recommend everybody to visit this hotel. Have been here several times. Also meeting facilities are perfect.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPSouth, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review following your recent stay with us in Crowne Plaza Amsterdam- South. We are grateful that you value us with such high ratings and are very pleased that you would recommend us to everybody. We look forward to welcome you back as our loyal guest when business or leisure brings you back to Amsterdam- South!

Kind regards,

Nicole Turnhout – Ammerlaan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South

Address: George Gershwinlaan 101, 1082 Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#7 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#13 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#16 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South 4*
Number of rooms: 207
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, IHG, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Despegar.com, Otel, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.