We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“V.good” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South

Save Saved
You added Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   George Gershwinlaan 101, Amsterdam 1082, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #22 of 343 hotels in Amsterdam
Dusseldorf, Germany
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“V.good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

far from everywhere no- where
they have family room & at very affordable price
must willing to walk long walk to train station
staffs are friendly & helpful
wide range of breakfast
this hotel has a very little souvenir shop & the lady owner is very nice & kind
close by airport

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPSouth, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Dear valued guest,

Thank you very much for your review! It is a pleasure that you had a good stay, although it might be the case that your kind words were intended for a different hotel as we do not dispose of a privately owned souvenir shop.

The Crowne Plaza Amsterdam- South is indeed located uniquely as Amsterdam Schiphol International Airport, the RAI Convention Center and the city centre are only a few minutes away by public transport leavinfg from station Amsterdam- Zuid on 5 minutes walking distance from the hotel.

The hotel features 207 modern rooms, including 16 club rooms and 16 suites. Enjoy your weekend at the Crowne Plaza Amsterdam-Southhotel and start your day with a rich and fresh breakfast at the one o one restaurant. Take the tram into the city centre and rent a bike to discover the main sites of the city like a real Amsterdamer.

After an exciting day, meet up in the Manhattan Lounge-Bar and enjoy your evening with individually prepared cocktails or a tasty wine on one of the Crowne Plaza Amsterdam-South hotels two terraces.

Benefit from the hotel’s state-of-the art gym, book a club room and get access to the exclusive Club Lounge with daily newspapers and snacks. Gain a good night’s sleep with the IHG Sleep Advantage programme.

We look forward to welcome you in Crowne Plaza Amsterdam- South.

Kind regards,

Nicole Turnhout – Ammerlaan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

401 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    258
    126
    12
    3
    2
See reviews for
32
116
18
157
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dubai
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

I was taken aback when the taxi approached the hotel, which is in the financial centre as I thought it was a bit deserted and away from the town centre

However I was pleasantly surprised when I entered the hotel. Right from the smiling staff who helped with the baggage to the reception staff who greeted guests with a smile and prompt service, everything about the hotel was fantastic

The rooms were spacious by European standards, the bathrooms were clean and the beds were comfortable

The only thing which is a bit disappointing was the fact that internet is not complimentary. Charges are 10Euro for 24 hours, which is a bit of a let down given that this is a business hotel

The breakfast is excellent and the omelettes which are prepared by the cheerful chef is very tasty. Special mention to the cinnamon rolls, muffins, and cakes which are divine. Even my fussy 3 year old relished them

Special thanks to the serving staff Cas (I don't recollect his last name) who went out of his help.

The hotel is a 5 minute walk from the South Station, which is another advantage

Looking forward to visiting again

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPSouth, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for sharing your review with us and the travel community! We are happy that, despite a not so positive first impression due to our location, you had a good stay in one of our comfortable and carefully designed rooms.

In addition it is a pleasure to know that our staff members did everything to make your stay pleasant and left a positive impression on you. Thank you especially for your compliment to one of our serving staff members in particular. Your kind words have been shared with him and serve as a great motivation.

Unfortunately we noticed as well that you were disappointed about the internet charges. Please be informed that one of the benefits of joining our loyalty program. By joining the IHG Rewards Club, you can make the most of your travels and enjoy benefits such as free Internet worldwide. We are sorry that you were not made aware of this during your stay and hope that you will join soon so you can benefit immediately from the many advantages.

We look forward to welcome you back in the near future.

Kind regards,

Nicole Turnhout – Ammerlaan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

Very nice staff with extraordinary services.Always smiling and happy to help you.Clean,spacious,comfortable and a very excellent breakfast.Free wi-fi was addon and staff behind the desk was quite active.Will recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPSouth, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for evaluating your recent stay at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam- South by leaving a review on Tripadvisor. We are extremely pleased and honoured that you qualify our hotel to be one of the best.

It is especially great to read your kind words about the hospitable service with a smile by our staff members. It is their passion to assist all of our valued guest in making their stay successful and memorable. Your words will serve as a great motivation for them to continue to pursue this aim.

We are pleased as well to know that you discovered one of the many benefits of being a member of the IHG Rewards Club. As a member you enjoy exclusive member benefits at every level allowing you to make the most of your travels.

Once again thank you very much for your review and recommendation. We look forward to have you as our guest again upon your next visit to Amsterdam.

Kind regards,

Nicole Turnhout – Ammerlaan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amersfoort, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

Very good service, friendly personnel, perfect rooms, great kitchen, easy to get there, easy to go to city centre. Can recommend everybody to visit this hotel. Have been here several times. Also meeting facilities are perfect.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPSouth, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review following your recent stay with us in Crowne Plaza Amsterdam- South. We are grateful that you value us with such high ratings and are very pleased that you would recommend us to everybody. We look forward to welcome you back as our loyal guest when business or leisure brings you back to Amsterdam- South!

Kind regards,

Nicole Turnhout – Ammerlaan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

me and my daughter and sister was there 4 days 27 of July to the 31 of July. the staff was very helpful . distance to the tram was a short walk. the room was very nice . The breakfast was the best ever.the best omelet.

Room Tip: there are no bad rooms .all are good
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPSouth, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Dear valued guest,

Thank you very much for rewarding us with your kind words and high rating.

It is a pleasure to know that you enjoyed your stay in Crowne Plaza Amsterdam- South and that the location and facilities were corresponding with your expectations.

We are especially happy to know that our extensive breakfast buffet and the freshly prepared omelettes in particular enabled you re-energise after a night’s sleep and to prepare for another day in Amsterdam.

Once again we thank you for your review and we look forward to welcome you back as our guest when your travel plans bring you back to Amsterdam.

Kind regards,

Nicole Turnhout – Ammserlaan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

I am staying in this hotel as I write my review.

The hotel itself is brand new. The rooms are very nice, a good size and well equipped. If I had a criticism it would be that they could have larger beds in their twin rooms, but that is the way most European hotels are set up and they are still comfortable.

The location of the hotel is in the middle of the business/banking zone, right by Amsterdam Zuid train and tram stops. It is very easy to get in to the city from here on tram #5. 10 mins to the south hot spots, 20-25 to the north side of the city such as Amsterdam Central Station.

However, all of this is by-the-by - it is a Crowne Plaza hotel, good standard, ok location, enough said. The main reason I have been prompted to review this hotel is the staff...

I work in the travel & tourism industry and have stayed in many 4 and 5* hotels over the last decade and I have NEVER experienced such a high standard of service from all of the hotel staff. They go more than the extra mile to make sure you are having the best possible stay. Whoever is in charge of the staff recruitment and training for this hotel is a genius! Or are Dutch people just all this friendly, helpful and professional?! From the front desk, to the catering, room service and maintenance staff I have been blown away by the level of service offered throughout my stay. If I could rate service as a 6 out of 5 I would!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPSouth, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Dear valued guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your extremely complimentary words following your stay in Crowne Plaza Amsterdam- South.

It’s an absolute pleasure to know that our staff members impressed you by delivering great service and by going the extra mile to assist you in making your trip a success.

By combining the best possible facilities with great service we aim to enable our guests to re-energise and be more productive during their trip.

Your reconfirmation that we succeeded in this is a fantastic reward and will only stimulate the entire team to continue to strive to deliver excellent service.

Thank you again for reviewing us and we hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Kind regards,

Nicole Turnhout- Ammerlaan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

I had a phenomenal welcome to Amsterdam because of the excellent customer service provided by this hotel and Martijn. Very close to all the attractions of what Amsterdam has to offer, and the place is clean and immaculate. Bartender Freek also gave us great info and took care of us. I would highly recommend this place, and will definitely be back.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPSouth, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Dear valued guest,

Thank you very much for reviewing the Crowne Plaza Amsterdam- South following your recent stay with us.

It is an absolute pleasure to know that you have the intention to stay with us again thanks to the great customer service provided by our staff members. It is a great reward for the team and for Martijn and Freek in particular to know that they make a difference by delivering excellent service. Compliments like these motivate us to continue to strive to perform on a high level.

Great as well to know that you enjoyed our quiet location outside the busy city centre of Amsterdam but close enough to the cultural and entertainment offer of our town.

We look forward to welcome you back as our guest and thank you again for your kind words.

Kind regards,

Ingrid van Veen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South

Address: George Gershwinlaan 101, Amsterdam 1082, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#7 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#14 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#20 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, IHG, Booking.com, Orbitz, Tingo, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel and Agoda so you can book your Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.