We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South

Save Saved
You added Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   George Gershwinlaan 101, 1082 Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #20 of 345 hotels in Amsterdam
Zurich, Switzerland
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“One of the best”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

Very nice staff with extraordinary services.Always smiling and happy to help you.Clean,spacious,comfortable and a very excellent breakfast.Free wi-fi was addon and staff behind the desk was quite active.Will recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPSouth, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for evaluating your recent stay at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam- South by leaving a review on Tripadvisor. We are extremely pleased and honoured that you qualify our hotel to be one of the best.

It is especially great to read your kind words about the hospitable service with a smile by our staff members. It is their passion to assist all of our valued guest in making their stay successful and memorable. Your words will serve as a great motivation for them to continue to pursue this aim.

We are pleased as well to know that you discovered one of the many benefits of being a member of the IHG Rewards Club. As a member you enjoy exclusive member benefits at every level allowing you to make the most of your travels.

Once again thank you very much for your review and recommendation. We look forward to have you as our guest again upon your next visit to Amsterdam.

Kind regards,

Nicole Turnhout – Ammerlaan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

432 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    285
    129
    13
    3
    2
See reviews for
36
128
19
164
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Amersfoort, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

Very good service, friendly personnel, perfect rooms, great kitchen, easy to get there, easy to go to city centre. Can recommend everybody to visit this hotel. Have been here several times. Also meeting facilities are perfect.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPSouth, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review following your recent stay with us in Crowne Plaza Amsterdam- South. We are grateful that you value us with such high ratings and are very pleased that you would recommend us to everybody. We look forward to welcome you back as our loyal guest when business or leisure brings you back to Amsterdam- South!

Kind regards,

Nicole Turnhout – Ammerlaan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

me and my daughter and sister was there 4 days 27 of July to the 31 of July. the staff was very helpful . distance to the tram was a short walk. the room was very nice . The breakfast was the best ever.the best omelet.

Room Tip: there are no bad rooms .all are good
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPSouth, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Dear valued guest,

Thank you very much for rewarding us with your kind words and high rating.

It is a pleasure to know that you enjoyed your stay in Crowne Plaza Amsterdam- South and that the location and facilities were corresponding with your expectations.

We are especially happy to know that our extensive breakfast buffet and the freshly prepared omelettes in particular enabled you re-energise after a night’s sleep and to prepare for another day in Amsterdam.

Once again we thank you for your review and we look forward to welcome you back as our guest when your travel plans bring you back to Amsterdam.

Kind regards,

Nicole Turnhout – Ammserlaan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

I am staying in this hotel as I write my review.

The hotel itself is brand new. The rooms are very nice, a good size and well equipped. If I had a criticism it would be that they could have larger beds in their twin rooms, but that is the way most European hotels are set up and they are still comfortable.

The location of the hotel is in the middle of the business/banking zone, right by Amsterdam Zuid train and tram stops. It is very easy to get in to the city from here on tram #5. 10 mins to the south hot spots, 20-25 to the north side of the city such as Amsterdam Central Station.

However, all of this is by-the-by - it is a Crowne Plaza hotel, good standard, ok location, enough said. The main reason I have been prompted to review this hotel is the staff...

I work in the travel & tourism industry and have stayed in many 4 and 5* hotels over the last decade and I have NEVER experienced such a high standard of service from all of the hotel staff. They go more than the extra mile to make sure you are having the best possible stay. Whoever is in charge of the staff recruitment and training for this hotel is a genius! Or are Dutch people just all this friendly, helpful and professional?! From the front desk, to the catering, room service and maintenance staff I have been blown away by the level of service offered throughout my stay. If I could rate service as a 6 out of 5 I would!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPSouth, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Dear valued guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your extremely complimentary words following your stay in Crowne Plaza Amsterdam- South.

It’s an absolute pleasure to know that our staff members impressed you by delivering great service and by going the extra mile to assist you in making your trip a success.

By combining the best possible facilities with great service we aim to enable our guests to re-energise and be more productive during their trip.

Your reconfirmation that we succeeded in this is a fantastic reward and will only stimulate the entire team to continue to strive to deliver excellent service.

Thank you again for reviewing us and we hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Kind regards,

Nicole Turnhout- Ammerlaan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

I had a phenomenal welcome to Amsterdam because of the excellent customer service provided by this hotel and Martijn. Very close to all the attractions of what Amsterdam has to offer, and the place is clean and immaculate. Bartender Freek also gave us great info and took care of us. I would highly recommend this place, and will definitely be back.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPSouth, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Dear valued guest,

Thank you very much for reviewing the Crowne Plaza Amsterdam- South following your recent stay with us.

It is an absolute pleasure to know that you have the intention to stay with us again thanks to the great customer service provided by our staff members. It is a great reward for the team and for Martijn and Freek in particular to know that they make a difference by delivering excellent service. Compliments like these motivate us to continue to strive to perform on a high level.

Great as well to know that you enjoyed our quiet location outside the busy city centre of Amsterdam but close enough to the cultural and entertainment offer of our town.

We look forward to welcome you back as our guest and thank you again for your kind words.

Kind regards,

Ingrid van Veen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
233 reviews 233 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

Stayed here for only one night and needed to be close to the financial centre and also to the railway station so this ticked both boxes. From the outside the hotel looks a little basic and somewhat ugly but inside it's a different story. The welcome on arrival was extremely warm and the common areas are very contemporary. My room was large, well equipped, had a huge bed and the bathroom was spotlessly clean and expensively furnished. Basic rate was c.€100 for the night although that didn't include breakfast which I skipped anyway. It also had a spa and a gym but I didn't use either. Can't go far wrong if you need a bed for the night somewhere near Amsterdam South railway station. It's also very quiet in the area.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPSouth, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for reviewing our hotel and for rewarding us with a high rating and complimentary words!

It is a pleasure to know that once entering the hotel you felt welcome and comfortable. As a hotel should ideally feel like a home away from home it is great to learn that you liked the style of the hotel and the bedroom.

At Crowne Plaza we know how important sleep is. After a rejuvenating night’s sleep you will achieve more during the day. At Crowne Plaza, we've therefore thought of elements to help you relax and ensure you will enjoy a great night’s sleep. Luxurious bedding, aromatherapy kit and quiet zones will help you to relax and drift off easier.

Once again thank you for sharing your findings and we hope that you will be back with us soon to also experience our gym and food and beverage facilities.

With kind regards,

Ingrid van Veen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

In today's day and age when plastic smiles masquerade for genuine hospitality, the Staff at this hotel stand out for their genuine love of their job. The cheery greetings are for real and withstand well the pressure of the occasional slip up!
This Crowne plaza appears genuinely well run- everything functions as it should, the staff is truly wonderful and enjoys being in hospitality. Charlotte, Karin, Rob Slater and all the rest of the reception and F&B staff make it a truly warm and friendly place to be in.
Well located- one stop away from the international airport by Metro, well connected to the Museum area and city centre( Centrum) with the reliable No 5 tram service( travel as much as you like on the tram network for Euro 7.5 per 24 hours), yet quiet and airy, Amsterdam South is a perfect location for business or holiday.

Great place to be... Kudos to the Management and Staff


Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPSouth, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Dear valued guest,

Thank you very much for reviewing the Crowne Plaza Amsterdam- South! It was a true pleasure to read your most rewarding words regarding the sincere hospitality that our staff members give forth.

Your review has been shared with great pride within the team and with the specific staff members that you mentioned. Compliments like yours are a great reward for the work that the team does with pleasure and dedication on a daily basis and will only motivate them to continue to strive to do better.

Besides for the great words about our staff, we are of course delighted that you positively mentioned the location of the hotel and the connections with the city centre and that you consider us a great place to spend a business- or leisure stay.

Thank you again on behalf of the entire team for rewarding us with your review. We look forward to welcome you back in the near future and assist you in making your journey a success!

Kind regards,

Ingrid van Veen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South

Address: George Gershwinlaan 101, 1082 Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#7 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#13 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#14 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, IHG, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Tingo, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda, Otel and Priceline so you can book your Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.