We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful experience at the Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South

Save Saved
You added Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   George Gershwinlaan 101, 1082 Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #20 of 345 hotels in Amsterdam
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful experience at the Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

I recently stayed at the Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South on a recent trip to Amsterdam to visit with friends, and the location seemed very convenient based on where my friends lived (Oudekerk a/d Amstel). I was so surprised at how central this location actually is the center of Amsterdam. It was a quick 5 minute walk to the train station where the metro, train and tram depart from. It is literally minutes from the center of town, and during the week, the area around Amsterdam South has plenty of terraces, restaurants and the like to choose from. The hotel has a wonderful restaurant and bar and quaint terrace, so you really do not have to leave.

I stayed here with my mother and 2 year daughter and a friend. It felt very safe to us as an all female travel group, but we were aware that you always have be cautious in a large city.

I will definitely stay here again when I travel to Amsterdam. I think this location offers the best of both worlds-easy to get to the city and easy to get to the airport.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the canal in front of the hotel have a nice view, but so do the rooms facing the large...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPSouth, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for sharing your review following your recent experience with the Crowne Plaza Amsterdam- South.

It is great to know that our location worked well for you considering the fact that the hotel is conveniently situated both in relation to Ouderkerk a/d Amstel as well as the city centre of Amsterdam. More important is that you felt safe in the area especially since you were travelling with your mother and young daughter. We are pleased as well that you enjoyed the hotel’s food and beverage facilities.

It is a true pleasure that we will be your hotel of choice when you visit Amsterdam again. We look forward to assist in making your stay memorable again.

Kind regards,

Ingrid van Veen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

441 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    292
    131
    13
    3
    2
See reviews for
36
132
20
165
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brentwood, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

I've recently re-started visiting the Netherlands on business. Absolutely amazed at the high prices of hotels in the City Centre, so I've tried a few hotels in the Amsterdam Zuid/WTC. Before telling you why I love this one, don't fall for any hype that the Zuid/WTC is inconvenient. It is 7 minutes by (safe) train from Schipol, and it is a 10 minute tram or metro ride from the Central station if you want to indulge your dark side in all Amsterdam has to offer. No need for expensive cabs.
Anyway, back to the CP.
Friendly staff. Spacious, comfortable and QUIET rooms. Very comfortable bed. Great shampoos and conditioners. Proper shower. I spend my time out with clients so didn't use the bar or hotel restaurant, but they always seemed packed (a good thing, I think). The staff in city centre hotels are arrogant and stiff because they know you're just a number and that there'll be more tourists tomorrow; the CP staff treat you like they want to see you again.
I've already mentioned the location. It is within 2 minutes of the station, and within the same distance e.g. for Wagamama's, various good bars, a starbucks if you have to do that sort of thing (I prefer Café Belmondo, 15 seconds further on). And, if your clients are distributed throughout the Netherlands, Amsterdam Zuid is a far more convenient train hub than Central station.
Superb hi speed wifi (join the Crowne Plaza rewards programme beforehand - IHG rewards programme) and it's free!
I'm hooked. I'll be back, to quote somebody far more famous.

Room Tip: Join the IHG rewards programme in advance of your stay (if you're not already a member) and the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPSouth, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
Dear valued guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to express your satisfaction after your stay in Crowne Plaza Amsterdam-South. It was absolutely great for the entire team to read your review and to know that we have impressed you with our product and service. As we highly value our loyal guests it is our pleasure to welcome you on a regular basis as business brings you to Amsterdam.

Thank you for confirming that our location is conveniently located both close to the WTC business area as well as to the RAI convention centre and the city centre of Amsterdam. As the area is being developed to become a centre for business and living, the current offer of restaurants, shops and other facilities will be expanded in the coming years.

It is a pleasure to learn that you enjoyed our convenient and quiet rooms. All rooms are equipped with luxurious bedding and sound proof doors so nothing will stand in the way of a great night’s sleep. Before or after going for a rejuvenating night’s sleep the one o one restaurant and Manhattan Lounge – Bar are the places to stop by if you are looking forward to enjoy a healthy breakfast, nourishing lunch or dinner or of course a tasteful cocktail.

As we indeed are passionate about delivering excellent service and getting to know our guests, we very much and sincerely hope to see you back again soon upon your next visit to Amsterdam!

With kind regards,

Ingrid van Veen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

It is one of the best hotels I've ever stayed in.
Though the position isn't in or near the city center it has very good connections via tram ( Amsterdam South Station is nearby)
We have received a wonderful suite after a minor missunderstanding at check in ( thanks to Denise Noij Manager on Duty she was very helpfull).Good breakfast and very friendly and helpfull staff.
The only thing I didn't like was the dinner but it's a matter of taste.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPSouth, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
Dear valued guest,

First of all we would like to thank you for expressing your very kind and positive feedback about your stay with us.

It is great to read that our Front Office team and Denise in particular have made the best out of what seamed to be a small mistake to you. We apologise sincerely for any inconvenience that you might have experienced and can ensure you that any misunderstanding is a possibility for us to learn and improve our product and service level.

We are really grateful that you noticed our actions towards your experience; this is always a great motivation for our staff. Moreover we are sorry to read you did not enjoy your dinner and we hope that our new menu will connect better to your personal taste.

Thanks again for your positive feedback and we sincerely hope to welcome you back in our hotel.

With kind regards,

Ingrid van Veen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013 via mobile

If you're willing to forgo being at the center of Amsterdam this hotel is a great choice. Situated near Vrije University, within twenty-minute tram ride to center, this modern hotel offers great service. The rooms are very modern and comfortable. The breakfast buffet offers a wide choice, all good. The staff are friendly, paying much attention to small details.

Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPSouth, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Dear valued guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to express your very positive feedback.

It is great to learn that you enjoyed staying in one of our modern, spacious and quiet rooms. After a good night’s sleep a nutritious breakfast is the perfect way to re-energise and prepare for a productive day. Our breakfast buffet provides various warm and cold items to suit the needs of all of our guests. It was a true pleasure to learn that the breakfast buffet also left a positive impression with you.

As we strive to deliver the highest possible service throughout the hotel we are very grateful that you noticed that staff is paying attention to details. Guest feedback as such is the greatest motivation for us to continuously work on improving our service.

On top of that it is great that our location close to the “Vrije Universiteit” and outside the city centre worked well for you.Tram 5 in Amsterdam is a busy route which runs between Central Station and Amstelveen. It is the perfect way to start your discovery of the city centre from station Amsterdam Zuid, located just a stroll away from the hotel.

Thank you very much again for your great comments and we hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back.

With kind regards,

Ingrid van Veen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

Gorgeous hotel interior, clean and modern, Beds and pillows so comfy! The bar and food lovely and staff couldnt do enough for us. It was perfect to get into to centre with the tram 2 minute walk away. Will deffinately like to stay again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPSouth, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Dear valued guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to express your extremely positive feedback.

It is great to learn that you enjoyed our modern spacious and quiet rooms. At Crowne Plaza we know how important sleep is. Sleep is the fuel that powers your day. The Crowne Plaza Sleep Advantage program includes luxurious bedding, quiet zones and aroma therapy. In addition our soundproof doors keep away any distraction from outside so nothing stands in the way of a great night’s sleep.

I am happy to hear that you could easily use all the transportation facilities located around the hotel. It is a fact that the hotel is ideally located with the city centre of Amsterdam only a short train- or tram ride away. On top of that it is great to know that the staff and the facilities of our Manhattan Bar added to making your stay memorable in a positive way as well.

Thank you very much again for your great comments and we hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the future.

With kind regards,

Ingrid van Veen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

I have been staying in this hotel for 5 times now and it never lets me down. The location for me is very convenient as the reason for travel is slightly outside Amsterdam and knowing the dutch traffic I definitely do not want to stay in the centre. The hotel is quite new and you can see and feel it; rooms are in very good condition with good quality furniture. One thing delights me every time I go there. It is the restaurant menu. It's not the usual hotel restaurant menu where you have couple of odd choices, but I would say there is something of us all.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPSouth, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Dear valued guest,

Thank you very much for sharing your rewarding review following your 5th stay with us. Please be aware that we highly value your loyalty.

It was a great pleasure to read that you were so impressed by the hotel, its location and our restaurant menu with a large variety of dishes. Compliments as such are a great motivation for the entire team.

We are happy that you discovered the many advantages of our location. The Crowne Plaza Amsterdam-South is situated in Amsterdam-Zuidas. This area is the new urban centre devoted to international commerce and knowledge development. The location is unique as Amsterdam Schiphol International Airport, the RAI Convention Center and the city centre are only a few minutes away by public transport.

On top it is great to know that the different facilities in the room were able to make your stay with us comfortable. It is our aim to combine the best possible facilities with great service to make each guests stay a success.

We look forward to welcome you back soon and to assist you in making your trip another successful and memorable experience.

With kind regards,

Ingrid van Veen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

We stayed 4 nights and can't find anything to fault. Most important, on arrival they gave us a 7 day free wifi pass. Without that they could have lost a couple of stars. Staff were friendly and helpful. Room was clean with double bed (they upgraded us from two single beds). Sheets were fresh. Nice bath, good size bathroom. Room had a room safe and multi channel TV including BBC and ITV. Everything worked. You can easily reach Amsterdam Central by taking the metro 54 and 51 (change platforms at Sjerpol), or you can take the No 5 tram. The hotel reception sells 24 hour passes for EUR 7.50 (same price as everywhere). The hotel is at Amsterdam Zuid which is one train stop from the airport, then 5 mins safe walk. There is no need to stay in the centre of Amsterdam as transport is so easy and safe.

Room Tip: Specify if you need a double bed
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPSouth, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Dear valued guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review about your stay at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam- South. It was extremely rewarding to read your words about the fact that there were no faults to be found. As it is our aim and passion to help our guests to make their journey a success by combining great service with the best facilities, it is fantastic to receive your confirmation that we are succeeding in that. It delights us to receive such kind words.

It is a pleasure to learn that you were so positive about our spacious rooms which are provided with a LCD television with a wide range of television channels, in-room safe and soundproof doors that keep away any distraction from outside so nothing stands in the way of a great night’s sleep. It is great to know that your upgraded room and the comfortable bathrooms, which been designed with care, were a positive addition to your stay.

In addition it is great that you discovered the benefits of our location outside the city centre of Amsterdam. The proximity of tram and metro connections that are running between Station Amsterdam Zuid and the city centre make the Crowne Plaza Amsterdam- South an ideal choice for both business as leisure stays. Tram 5, running from Station Amsterdam Zuid to the Central Station, passes by many tourist attractions and is a great way to discover the historic centre. In case guests prefer to purchase the tickets for the public transportation in Amsterdam in advance, the reception staff is more than willing to inform about the various possibilities.

Once again thank you very much for your kind and complimentary words. We hope to welcome you back as our guest in the near future.

With kind regards,

Ingrid van Veen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South

Address: George Gershwinlaan 101, 1082 Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#7 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#13 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#13 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#20 Spa Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, IHG, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Tingo, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel, Agoda, Venere and Priceline so you can book your Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.