We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South to your Saves list
Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   George Gershwinlaan 101, 1082 Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #21 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Bucharest
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“One of the best”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

It is one of the best hotels I've ever stayed in.
Though the position isn't in or near the city center it has very good connections via tram ( Amsterdam South Station is nearby)
We have received a wonderful suite after a minor missunderstanding at check in ( thanks to Denise Noij Manager on Duty she was very helpfull).Good breakfast and very friendly and helpfull staff.
The only thing I didn't like was the dinner but it's a matter of taste.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPSouth, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
Dear valued guest,

First of all we would like to thank you for expressing your very kind and positive feedback about your stay with us.

It is great to read that our Front Office team and Denise in particular have made the best out of what seamed to be a small mistake to you. We apologise sincerely for any inconvenience that you might have experienced and can ensure you that any misunderstanding is a possibility for us to learn and improve our product and service level.

We are really grateful that you noticed our actions towards your experience; this is always a great motivation for our staff. Moreover we are sorry to read you did not enjoy your dinner and we hope that our new menu will connect better to your personal taste.

Thanks again for your positive feedback and we sincerely hope to welcome you back in our hotel.

With kind regards,

Ingrid van Veen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

506 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    334
    151
    16
    3
    2
See reviews for
39
154
24
193
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tel Aviv, Israel
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013 via mobile

If you're willing to forgo being at the center of Amsterdam this hotel is a great choice. Situated near Vrije University, within twenty-minute tram ride to center, this modern hotel offers great service. The rooms are very modern and comfortable. The breakfast buffet offers a wide choice, all good. The staff are friendly, paying much attention to small details.

Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPSouth, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Dear valued guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to express your very positive feedback.

It is great to learn that you enjoyed staying in one of our modern, spacious and quiet rooms. After a good night’s sleep a nutritious breakfast is the perfect way to re-energise and prepare for a productive day. Our breakfast buffet provides various warm and cold items to suit the needs of all of our guests. It was a true pleasure to learn that the breakfast buffet also left a positive impression with you.

As we strive to deliver the highest possible service throughout the hotel we are very grateful that you noticed that staff is paying attention to details. Guest feedback as such is the greatest motivation for us to continuously work on improving our service.

On top of that it is great that our location close to the “Vrije Universiteit” and outside the city centre worked well for you.Tram 5 in Amsterdam is a busy route which runs between Central Station and Amstelveen. It is the perfect way to start your discovery of the city centre from station Amsterdam Zuid, located just a stroll away from the hotel.

Thank you very much again for your great comments and we hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back.

With kind regards,

Ingrid van Veen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

Gorgeous hotel interior, clean and modern, Beds and pillows so comfy! The bar and food lovely and staff couldnt do enough for us. It was perfect to get into to centre with the tram 2 minute walk away. Will deffinately like to stay again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPSouth, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Dear valued guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to express your extremely positive feedback.

It is great to learn that you enjoyed our modern spacious and quiet rooms. At Crowne Plaza we know how important sleep is. Sleep is the fuel that powers your day. The Crowne Plaza Sleep Advantage program includes luxurious bedding, quiet zones and aroma therapy. In addition our soundproof doors keep away any distraction from outside so nothing stands in the way of a great night’s sleep.

I am happy to hear that you could easily use all the transportation facilities located around the hotel. It is a fact that the hotel is ideally located with the city centre of Amsterdam only a short train- or tram ride away. On top of that it is great to know that the staff and the facilities of our Manhattan Bar added to making your stay memorable in a positive way as well.

Thank you very much again for your great comments and we hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the future.

With kind regards,

Ingrid van Veen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

I have been staying in this hotel for 5 times now and it never lets me down. The location for me is very convenient as the reason for travel is slightly outside Amsterdam and knowing the dutch traffic I definitely do not want to stay in the centre. The hotel is quite new and you can see and feel it; rooms are in very good condition with good quality furniture. One thing delights me every time I go there. It is the restaurant menu. It's not the usual hotel restaurant menu where you have couple of odd choices, but I would say there is something of us all.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPSouth, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Dear valued guest,

Thank you very much for sharing your rewarding review following your 5th stay with us. Please be aware that we highly value your loyalty.

It was a great pleasure to read that you were so impressed by the hotel, its location and our restaurant menu with a large variety of dishes. Compliments as such are a great motivation for the entire team.

We are happy that you discovered the many advantages of our location. The Crowne Plaza Amsterdam-South is situated in Amsterdam-Zuidas. This area is the new urban centre devoted to international commerce and knowledge development. The location is unique as Amsterdam Schiphol International Airport, the RAI Convention Center and the city centre are only a few minutes away by public transport.

On top it is great to know that the different facilities in the room were able to make your stay with us comfortable. It is our aim to combine the best possible facilities with great service to make each guests stay a success.

We look forward to welcome you back soon and to assist you in making your trip another successful and memorable experience.

With kind regards,

Ingrid van Veen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

We stayed 4 nights and can't find anything to fault. Most important, on arrival they gave us a 7 day free wifi pass. Without that they could have lost a couple of stars. Staff were friendly and helpful. Room was clean with double bed (they upgraded us from two single beds). Sheets were fresh. Nice bath, good size bathroom. Room had a room safe and multi channel TV including BBC and ITV. Everything worked. You can easily reach Amsterdam Central by taking the metro 54 and 51 (change platforms at Sjerpol), or you can take the No 5 tram. The hotel reception sells 24 hour passes for EUR 7.50 (same price as everywhere). The hotel is at Amsterdam Zuid which is one train stop from the airport, then 5 mins safe walk. There is no need to stay in the centre of Amsterdam as transport is so easy and safe.

Room Tip: Specify if you need a double bed
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPSouth, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Dear valued guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review about your stay at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam- South. It was extremely rewarding to read your words about the fact that there were no faults to be found. As it is our aim and passion to help our guests to make their journey a success by combining great service with the best facilities, it is fantastic to receive your confirmation that we are succeeding in that. It delights us to receive such kind words.

It is a pleasure to learn that you were so positive about our spacious rooms which are provided with a LCD television with a wide range of television channels, in-room safe and soundproof doors that keep away any distraction from outside so nothing stands in the way of a great night’s sleep. It is great to know that your upgraded room and the comfortable bathrooms, which been designed with care, were a positive addition to your stay.

In addition it is great that you discovered the benefits of our location outside the city centre of Amsterdam. The proximity of tram and metro connections that are running between Station Amsterdam Zuid and the city centre make the Crowne Plaza Amsterdam- South an ideal choice for both business as leisure stays. Tram 5, running from Station Amsterdam Zuid to the Central Station, passes by many tourist attractions and is a great way to discover the historic centre. In case guests prefer to purchase the tickets for the public transportation in Amsterdam in advance, the reception staff is more than willing to inform about the various possibilities.

Once again thank you very much for your kind and complimentary words. We hope to welcome you back as our guest in the near future.

With kind regards,

Ingrid van Veen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barrington, RI
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

Just finished a 7 day stay at this fine hotel, conveniently located near the RAI convention center, where I was attending a large conference. It is a pleasant 20 minute walk to the RAI, either along the street or through the park that borders the RAI. The staff at the hotel are young, very friendly and professional. My room was nice, quiet and large by European standards. The breakfast buffet is overpriced, as are all breakfast buffets, with hot & cold dishes and someone who will make you an omelet. I had all my meals in the bar, although there is a nice restaurant as well. The meals I had in the bar were good, with the pepper steak special being the best (probably one of the better pieces of meat I've had in Europe). The two young men staffing the bar were very friendly and took their cocktails seriously. Overall, you can tell that the staff is trying to make your stay a top notch experience and they succeeded in my case. This area is a business/financial district with little of the character of old Amsterdam. However, the metro/tram/bus station is 2 blocks away and the very nice mass transit system will get you where you want to go in short time. There are a few good restaurants in the area,but I think most people would find themselves going elsewhere for an evening out.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPSouth, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Dear valued guest,

Thank you very much for staying at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam- South and for taking the time to share your feedback with us on Tripadvisor. It’s great to read that our staff service has contributed to making your stay memorable.

It was a pleasure to learn that the location of the hotel worked well for the purpose of your elaborate trip and you enjoyed the walk to the Rai Convention Centre, which is indeed only a short walk from the hotel. On top of that it is great that you were so positive about our spacious rooms, which are equipped with soundproof doors that keep away any distraction from outside so nothing stands in the way of a great night’s sleep.

We sincerely appreciate your feedback about the breakfast. We understand that the price of the buffet is high for guests who eat a small breakfast. To also meet their needs we offer the option to compose your own small breakfast with products like yoghurt and croissants combined with juice or coffee in our bar against a more affordable price.

Thank you for complimenting our Manhattan Bar staff in particular for the assistance in making your experience memorable. Positive guest feedback is a great motivation for all of us to continue to strive to deliver excellent service. It is great to know that you experienced the sincere passion of our staff members to assist our guests into making their journey into a success. In addition it is great to hear that our pepper steak made such an impression on you, especially as you have a taste for steaks.

We look forward to welcome you back again soon.

With kind regards,

Ingrid van Veen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

I stayed at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South for the first time for my business trip and i must admit that I loved every single moment whether it's the room, room service, bed, restaurant or bar. Everything was excellent! Staff is very friendly. Food is delicious! Beds are super comfortable - i slept like a baby. Bar crew is super cool to hang out with in the evenings as an alternative to a city center - they really make you feel at home, especially the bar attendant Michael. He is super nice guy, creates cozy environment in the bar and makes you feel like you know each other forever. If you want to have a good time away from the hectic center - Crowne Plaza is the solution!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPSouth, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for evaluating your stay at the Crowne Plaza Amsterdam- South by leaving a review on Tripadvisor.

It was a pleasure to have you as our guest for the first time for your business trip. It is great that our location, together with our spacious rooms with the comfortable bedding, 24-hour room service, our Manhattan bar and One-O-One restaurant were at your satisfaction.

Thank you for complimenting Michael in particular for his contribution to making your welcome experience memorable. Compliments of guests are the greatest reward for any hotel employee and the fact that you felt like being in the company of friends while staying with us is great. It is our passion to combine the best facilities with great service in order to make successful and memorable stays possible for our guests. Thank you again for confirming that we succeeded in that.

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back as our guest in the near future.

With kind regards,

Ingrid van Veen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South

Address: George Gershwinlaan 101, 1082 Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#7 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#12 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#15 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South 4*
Number of rooms: 207
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, IHG, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.