We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Hotel in South Amsterdam” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South

Save Saved
You added Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   George Gershwinlaan 101, 1082 Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #22 of 343 hotels in Amsterdam
Barrington, RI
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Excellent Hotel in South Amsterdam”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

Just finished a 7 day stay at this fine hotel, conveniently located near the RAI convention center, where I was attending a large conference. It is a pleasant 20 minute walk to the RAI, either along the street or through the park that borders the RAI. The staff at the hotel are young, very friendly and professional. My room was nice, quiet and large by European standards. The breakfast buffet is overpriced, as are all breakfast buffets, with hot & cold dishes and someone who will make you an omelet. I had all my meals in the bar, although there is a nice restaurant as well. The meals I had in the bar were good, with the pepper steak special being the best (probably one of the better pieces of meat I've had in Europe). The two young men staffing the bar were very friendly and took their cocktails seriously. Overall, you can tell that the staff is trying to make your stay a top notch experience and they succeeded in my case. This area is a business/financial district with little of the character of old Amsterdam. However, the metro/tram/bus station is 2 blocks away and the very nice mass transit system will get you where you want to go in short time. There are a few good restaurants in the area,but I think most people would find themselves going elsewhere for an evening out.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPSouth, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Dear valued guest,

Thank you very much for staying at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam- South and for taking the time to share your feedback with us on Tripadvisor. It’s great to read that our staff service has contributed to making your stay memorable.

It was a pleasure to learn that the location of the hotel worked well for the purpose of your elaborate trip and you enjoyed the walk to the Rai Convention Centre, which is indeed only a short walk from the hotel. On top of that it is great that you were so positive about our spacious rooms, which are equipped with soundproof doors that keep away any distraction from outside so nothing stands in the way of a great night’s sleep.

We sincerely appreciate your feedback about the breakfast. We understand that the price of the buffet is high for guests who eat a small breakfast. To also meet their needs we offer the option to compose your own small breakfast with products like yoghurt and croissants combined with juice or coffee in our bar against a more affordable price.

Thank you for complimenting our Manhattan Bar staff in particular for the assistance in making your experience memorable. Positive guest feedback is a great motivation for all of us to continue to strive to deliver excellent service. It is great to know that you experienced the sincere passion of our staff members to assist our guests into making their journey into a success. In addition it is great to hear that our pepper steak made such an impression on you, especially as you have a taste for steaks.

We look forward to welcome you back again soon.

With kind regards,

Ingrid van Veen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

409 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    265
    126
    13
    3
    2
See reviews for
33
119
18
160
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

I stayed at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South for the first time for my business trip and i must admit that I loved every single moment whether it's the room, room service, bed, restaurant or bar. Everything was excellent! Staff is very friendly. Food is delicious! Beds are super comfortable - i slept like a baby. Bar crew is super cool to hang out with in the evenings as an alternative to a city center - they really make you feel at home, especially the bar attendant Michael. He is super nice guy, creates cozy environment in the bar and makes you feel like you know each other forever. If you want to have a good time away from the hectic center - Crowne Plaza is the solution!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPSouth, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for evaluating your stay at the Crowne Plaza Amsterdam- South by leaving a review on Tripadvisor.

It was a pleasure to have you as our guest for the first time for your business trip. It is great that our location, together with our spacious rooms with the comfortable bedding, 24-hour room service, our Manhattan bar and One-O-One restaurant were at your satisfaction.

Thank you for complimenting Michael in particular for his contribution to making your welcome experience memorable. Compliments of guests are the greatest reward for any hotel employee and the fact that you felt like being in the company of friends while staying with us is great. It is our passion to combine the best facilities with great service in order to make successful and memorable stays possible for our guests. Thank you again for confirming that we succeeded in that.

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back as our guest in the near future.

With kind regards,

Ingrid van Veen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

In town for a conference I had the opportunity to stay at this hotel. While the location is not in the centre of town, the hotel was clean, modern and well looked after. The check-in process was quick and effortless, after a very long flight all I wanted was a shower. Ben the tall, blonde front desk clerk was extremely helpful, he advised me how to get to the station, suggested places near where I was going, told me where to find an ATM, Ben answered all my questions, was friendly and very welcoming. Some points for travellers, this hotel is extremely close to transport, there are many shops and food establishments very close by. My room was clean, modern and the wifi was pretty good but it was extra. The gym was clean and had all the modern equipment, the only negative was you have to let the front desk know you want to use the gym, access is not automatic. Highly recommend this hotel and will definitely stay again!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPSouth, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for evaluating your stay at the Crowne Plaza Amsterdam- South through your review on Tripadvisor.

It was a pleasure to have you as our guest for one night for your business stay. It is great that our location and various services and facilities that are important for you being a business traveller, were at your satisfaction. On top it is great that you were able to benefit from our easy access to the public transport only a short walk away from the hotel, as well as the shops and restaurants that are in close proximity of the hotel.

Thank you for complimenting our Front Desk staff in particular for the assistance in making your welcome experience memorable. Positive guest feedback is a great motivation for all of us to continue to strive to deliver excellent service. On top of that it is great to know that you experienced the sincere passion of our staff members to assist our guests into making their journey into a success.

We are grateful for your remark about the information of signing up for the gym at the reception. We will take this feedback into account and discuss this internally. We highly value the feedback of our guests as this enables us to continuously work on improving our service and make every guest’s stay a success.

Thank you again for reviewing our hotel and we look forward to welcome you back soon.

With kind regards,

Ingrid van Veen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

This is my second stay at this hotel and once again it was a great stay. The hotel and the rooms are very well maintained, everything look new. Mattress and pillows are of great quality & very comfortable

Rooms are beautiful & elegant , TV channels are well diversified . Front desk team are friendly and welcoming, great recognition for the priority club platinum members . Housekeeping service is excellent.

Very well located in a new district, At only one station from the airport by train and at 15 minutes from the city enter by metro or tram. Also reachable by the night bus from the city center.

Very convenient if you are on transit , business or leisure. Strongly recommend

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPSouth, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Dear valued guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write about your experience. It is great to hear that you had such a great stay with us for the second time already and that you recommend our hotel to the traveller’s community.

It was a pleasure to read your feedback about the friendliness of our staff and the welcome experience that they provided for you being a valued Platinum Member of our IHG Rewards Club. It is great as well that you enjoyed staying in one of our comfortable rooms that feature a wide range of television channels and comfortable bedding which is part of the Crowne Plaza Sleep Advantage Program.

On top it is great that you were able to benefit from our easy access to the public transport only a short walk away from the hotel. The Crowne Plaza Amsterdam-South is indeed situated in a new urban centre devoted to international commerce and knowledge development. The area is becoming the centre for working and living and therefore also the restaurant-, shopping- and facilities offer will be extended in the coming years to make the area livelier.

Thank you very much again for your positive review and we hope we have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards,

Ingrid van Veen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen UK
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
107 helpful votes 107 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013 via mobile

Although we meant to book the sister hotel in central Amsterdam, this hotel turned out to be an excellent choice. Travel by train, tram and metro was fast and convenient from Amsterdam Zuid station.
The clubroom we had was quiet and comfy. The clubroom breakfast was sufficient and on return from a day at the museums the clubroom snacks, wine and coffee were a welcome extra. Although I would have preferred the Hiltons scones with jam and cream to the Hors d’Oeuvres provided.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPSouth, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for sharing your findings about your stay in Crowne Plaza Amsterdam-South with us and the travel community on Tripadvisor.

We are delighted that the accidental choice for our hotel, turned out to be a success. It is our aim to combine the best facilities with great service in order to enable our guests to re-energise and have a productive stay. We appreciate your remark about the hors d’oeuvres and will keep your suggestion in mind when reviewing our selection of snacks provided in the Club Lounge.

Once again, we appreciate you taking the time to share your feedback with us. We know you have many choices when it comes to lodging and we hope you will choose the Crowne Plaza Amsterdam- South again for your future travel needs.

With kind regards,

Ingrid van Veen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

The Crown Plaza Amsterdam South is a newly build and therefore also of a good general standard. There is however a lack of atmosphere, the little extra touch which makes the hotel feel extraordinary. The hotel room was ordinary with a view to an office building nearby. I had a room with 2 seperate and small beds, which is of course not the optimal for single use. You felt being the only guest in the hotel, there is no life or pulse, however in the morning I realized that the hotel probably was quite busy, as there was a strange (no marking or guidance) line up for checking out. I did not have time for breakfast but ordered a croissant in the cafe/bar. I was the only guest there and the croissant was just in front of me. However the waiter was busy organising and apparently did not have time to serve the ordered croissant, so after a couple of minutes waiting I had to leave for my appointment.
I stayed in the hotel because I had a meeting in the region and close to the airport, however will decide for another Amsterdam setting with the little extra, if I am not restricted by geography.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with city view, on an upper level
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPSouth, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Dear valued guest,

Thank you very much for selecting the Crowne Plaza Amsterdam-South for your business stay and for providing us with your valuable feedback. We sincerely appreciate all feedback we receive of our guests as it allows us to continuously work on improving our product and service.

It is very unfortunate though that we have not been able to impress you with a vibrant atmosphere, great service and the best possible facilities as this is what we aim to do.

Your feedback regarding the unstructured appearance of the check-out situation and the inadequate service in the bar has been discussed with all appropriate parties and necessary actions to prevent this from happening again in the future have been taken.

We sincerely hope that you will give us the chance to welcome you back as our guest in order to proof to you that we can deliver excellent service and make your stay memorable in a positive way and above all a success.

Once again thank you very much for taking the time to share your opinion with us.

Kind regards,

Ingrid van Veen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
220 reviews 220 reviews
70 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
101 helpful votes 101 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013 via mobile

Only had a one night stay. It's about 4 minutes on the train, one stop, and another 5 minutes walk from Amsterdam Zuid station. The room was good, comfortable, newish. A good selection of stations in he TV, free Wifi. The club room is ok, but needs to be serviced a bit more often by the staff. When booking a club room, breakfast and evening drinks/snacks are included. I was in a rush in the morning and the taxi back to Schipol airport was €40, a bit higher the €3 train fare. It's a bit far out of the City, but if you are doing business locally it's a good place to stay.

Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPSouth, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for evaluating your stay at the Crowne Plaza Amsterdam- South through your review on Tripadvisor.

It was a pleasure to have you as our guest for one night for your business stay. It is great that our location and various services and facilities that are important for you, being a business traveller, were at your satisfaction.

We are grateful for your remark about the service in the Club Lounge and will take this into account. We highly value the feedback of our guests as this enables us to continuously work on improving our product and service.

Thank you again for reviewing our hotel and we look forward to welcome you back soon.

With kind regards,

Ingrid van Veen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South

Address: George Gershwinlaan 101, 1082 Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#8 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#14 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#19 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, IHG, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Tingo, Venere, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.