We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent beds...good location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South

Save Saved
You added Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   George Gershwinlaan 101, Amsterdam 1082, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #22 of 343 hotels in Amsterdam
Green Bay, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“excellent beds...good location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

one person-business-2 days.
It is hard to find as new (as of Feb 2013) so not on all gps maps...and not directly on the street-it is in between a canal and another building.

Check in staff speaks great English. i think most are here for business.
Hotel is about 10k south of AMS city centre. Very close to main train station on South side of city, with excellent connections to everywhere.

It is very new and modernist style. The rooms are not big, but very nice. The style seems asian, very much like the hotels i stay at in Shanghai and Hong kong.

The bathrooms are grey and glass. not big, but nice. no bathtub or bidet. shower has overhead water + outlet on flexible metal hose.

bedding is very comfortable and inviting. much better than average. tv coverage is good with channels from many countries and languages. No dedicated movie channels. lot of lighting and big windows.

Room Tip: a canal view is the better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPSouth, Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Dear valued guest,

Thank you very much for sharing your opinion about your stay with the travel community through Tripadvisor.

I am sorry to hear you had difficulty finding the hotel. It is indeed challenging to find our location on navigation equipment produced before 2011. Our Reception staff is happy to provide directions, or an alternative navigation location.

It has been a pleasure for us to learn that you enjoyed the quality of our bedding, as a Crowne Plaza we strive through our Sleep Advantage program to excel in our sleep experience.

Thank you for taking the time to write an extensive review, we sincerely hope to welcome you back in the very near future.


Kind regards,

Tako Plate
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

398 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    256
    125
    12
    3
    2
See reviews for
32
116
18
154
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Aberdeen, Scotland, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

Stayed here with family for three nights during February 2013. Visiting Amsterdam for a weekend break mainly to see the sights and when we were travelling to the hotel from the airport I was a little concerned that it was going to be a bit out of the way. It is out of the city but the location is not an issue. It is a five minute walk to both the tram and metro which will take you in to Amsterdam city centre in a little under fifteen minutes. Very good public transport network in Amsterdam. Back to the hotel itself. Basically, excellent sums it up! Very nice rooms, well appointed, spacious, modern and clean. Amenities very good, mini bar, safe and other room facilities. The staff here are excellent, very courteous, accommodating and knowledgable. Also, they are not interested in selling you things, they are obviously interested in giving you the bet information possible. This is something which I find very positive. Overall, I can't recommend this place enough, excellent staff and great stay - keep it up!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPSouth, Management Assistant at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Dear valued guest,

Thank you very much for sharing your positive and rewarding feedback, following your stay at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam- South, with the travel community.

It is great that you confirm that our location in the business district of Amsterdam and slightly removed from the historic city centre, is absolutely no reason to not consider us for a leisure stay. The proximity of station Amsterdam- Zuid ensures you a short train-, tram- or metro connection to both the city centre as well as Schiphol Airport.

It is an absolute pleasure that the facilities of the hotel combined with the staff service made your journey a success and worth recommending the hotel to other travellers.

Thank you again for your review and we hope to see you back soon.

Kind regards,

Tara Meulenbeld
Management Assistant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JHB
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

We really enjoyed our stay at this hotel. The room was extremely spacious and comfortable. Everything was spotless. The bathroom was spacious and the bath was nice and big so you could really relax. The experience was fantastic. We wouls love to return to this hotel. The hotel is slightly far out from all the main attractions but it is worth it. The room service was lovely.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPSouth, Management Assistant at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
Dear valued guest,

Thank you very much for rating your stay at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam- South. It has been a pleasure to read your kind and rewarding words about our hotel and service.

The greatest compliment for a hotel is to hear that guests had a great and relaxing stay and would love to return. It has been our pleasure to contribute to that.

It is great that you do not consider the hotel’s location as a drawback for a leisure stay. As you probably experienced the railway station Amsterdam- Zuid is situated only minutes walking away from the hotel. Here you will find tram-, metro- and train connections into the city centre and to Schiphol- Airport.

Hopefully we will have the opportunity to welcome you back again soon when your travel plans bring you back to Amsterdam.

With kind regards,

Tara Meulenbeld
Management Assistant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

I had the pleasure of meeting the General Manager when leaving the hotel, and can only say that she is doing a great job. This is a wonderful hotel, with professional and courteous staff - lovely spacious rooms, which are well appointed, fully equipped and serviced.

Plenty space in the room to work and relax. Loads of TV channels, and a decent Internet experience.

The location of the hotel is perfect - very close the the train station, but far enough that you don't hear the trains. Not too far from RAI exhibition centre either.

There is a restaurant on site - but we ate in the bar, which also had a varied and tasty menu.

If I have to criticise one thing - I would say that the showers were OK - but I would loved to have been able to get a bit more power from them!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPSouth, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
Dear valued guest,

Thank you very much on behalf of me and the entire team for taking the time to write about your experience with Crowne Plaza Amsterdam- South. I am extremely proud that the continuously great efforts of the team in combination with the facilities of the hotel, have led to your much appreciated review.

It was a pleasure to learn that the location of the hotel worked well for the purpose of your trip and that the design and layout of the room enabled you to enjoy a comfortable and relaxing stay.

Thank you as well for informing us about the water pressure in the shower. All guest feedback is taken very seriously as this enables us to constantly work on improving our product and service. In order for us to investigate the shower it would be highly appreciated if you could, at your convenience, send us the number of the room you stayed in by e-mailing info.amspc@ihg.com.

I hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to Crowne Plaza Amsterdam- South in the very near future and thank you once again for your review.

With kind regards,

Ingrid van Veen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

My platinum card upgraded us to a lovely corner room (still a little small) overlooking the frozen canal. It was a very quiet room day and night and clean and comfortable in all aspects. The hotel in general has a musical atmosphere, with connections to Gershwin and several other composers' names in the area. Breakfast and dinner were tasty but a little expensive. The STAFF in all areas are all delightfully mannered and efficient and extremely helpful with any queries. No complaints at all here and very reasonably priced for Amsterdam, even tho it is the south of the city, it is very well connected to the station and Schipol Airport.

Room Tip: ask for room facing the canal
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPSouth, Management Assistant at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
Dear valued guest,

Thank you very much for your Tripadvisor review. We are extremely pleased that you enjoyed an excellent stay with us.

It has been a pleasure to upgrade you, being a highly valued Priority Club member, to a corner room which enabled you to enjoy a quiet and comfortable stay.

Great as well that you noticed the musical theme that is represented throughout the building. Did you know that the New York origin of George Gershwin has led to the names of our meeting rooms? The famous Manhattan 101 cocktail inspired us to name our restaurant one o one and Manhattan Lounge- Bar.

On behalf of the entire team I would like to express our gratitude regarding your compliment on their behalf. It is our passion to deliver great and seamless service and compliments of guests are our motivation to continue to improve continuously.

Thank you again for taking the time to review your stay at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam- South. We hope to welcome you back in the near future.

With kind regards,

Tara Meulenbeld
Management Assistant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

I stayed here for a nearby conference. Staff were very helpful, rooms very nice and breakfast good. Nice touches in the room, such as little sprays for the pillow for a good sleep. Good selection for breakfast and good conference dinner.

Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPSouth, Management Assistant at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Dear valued guest,

Thank you very much for reviewing your stay at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam- South and posting your feedback on Tripadvisor.

It was great to learn that your business stay turned out to be a lovely experience. Especially after a long day of working hard it is important to be able to relax in a comfortable room, have a nice meal and conclude the day with a good night of rejuvenating sleep.

We are happy that the hotel’s staff service and facilities contributed to a successful journey for you and hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back as our guest soon.

With kind regards,

Tara Meulenbeld
Management Assistant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013 via mobile

Small touches like the aromatherapy kit on the bed is great. Hotel has a new feel to it at the moment and a good quality finish. Very convenient for the offices nearby. Airport and city are a short trip by train from the station 5 mins away - good location!

Comfy bed, nice spec bathrooms.

Only gripe would be water saving shower head means hardly any water comes out!! Showers are important for me.

Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPSouth, Management Assistant at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Dear valued guest,

We appreciate it that you have taken the time to review your recent stay at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam- South.

As you mentioned our location in the heart of Zuidas- Amsterdam is extremely convenient for guests visiting one of the many nearby located offices. In addition Amsterdam Schiphol International Airport, the RAI Convention Center and the city centre are only a few minutes away by public transport which enables time efficient travelling and combining business with leisure.

It is great that you were able to enjoy parts of the Crowne Plaza Sleep Advantage program. At Crowne Plaza, we've thought of elements to help you relax and ensure you enjoy a great night’s sleep such as luxurious bedding, aromatherapy, Quiet Zones and guaranteed wake up calls.

Unfortunately though we noticed that the water saver in the shower, one of our actions to be green engaged, did not appeal to you. We value your feedback and will definitely take this into consideration when reviewing our procedures.

Thank you again for your review and we hope to welcome you back in the near future.

With kind regards,

Tara Meulenbeld
Management Assistant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South

Address: George Gershwinlaan 101, Amsterdam 1082, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#7 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#14 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#20 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, IHG, Booking.com, Orbitz, Tingo, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Otel and Agoda so you can book your Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.