We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent all round” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South

Save Saved
You added Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   George Gershwinlaan 101, 1082 Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #22 of 343 hotels in Amsterdam
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Excellent all round”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

My platinum card upgraded us to a lovely corner room (still a little small) overlooking the frozen canal. It was a very quiet room day and night and clean and comfortable in all aspects. The hotel in general has a musical atmosphere, with connections to Gershwin and several other composers' names in the area. Breakfast and dinner were tasty but a little expensive. The STAFF in all areas are all delightfully mannered and efficient and extremely helpful with any queries. No complaints at all here and very reasonably priced for Amsterdam, even tho it is the south of the city, it is very well connected to the station and Schipol Airport.

Room Tip: ask for room facing the canal
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPSouth, Management Assistant at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
Dear valued guest,

Thank you very much for your Tripadvisor review. We are extremely pleased that you enjoyed an excellent stay with us.

It has been a pleasure to upgrade you, being a highly valued Priority Club member, to a corner room which enabled you to enjoy a quiet and comfortable stay.

Great as well that you noticed the musical theme that is represented throughout the building. Did you know that the New York origin of George Gershwin has led to the names of our meeting rooms? The famous Manhattan 101 cocktail inspired us to name our restaurant one o one and Manhattan Lounge- Bar.

On behalf of the entire team I would like to express our gratitude regarding your compliment on their behalf. It is our passion to deliver great and seamless service and compliments of guests are our motivation to continue to improve continuously.

Thank you again for taking the time to review your stay at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam- South. We hope to welcome you back in the near future.

With kind regards,

Tara Meulenbeld
Management Assistant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

409 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    265
    126
    13
    3
    2
See reviews for
33
119
18
160
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

I stayed here for a nearby conference. Staff were very helpful, rooms very nice and breakfast good. Nice touches in the room, such as little sprays for the pillow for a good sleep. Good selection for breakfast and good conference dinner.

Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPSouth, Management Assistant at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Dear valued guest,

Thank you very much for reviewing your stay at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam- South and posting your feedback on Tripadvisor.

It was great to learn that your business stay turned out to be a lovely experience. Especially after a long day of working hard it is important to be able to relax in a comfortable room, have a nice meal and conclude the day with a good night of rejuvenating sleep.

We are happy that the hotel’s staff service and facilities contributed to a successful journey for you and hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back as our guest soon.

With kind regards,

Tara Meulenbeld
Management Assistant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013 via mobile

Small touches like the aromatherapy kit on the bed is great. Hotel has a new feel to it at the moment and a good quality finish. Very convenient for the offices nearby. Airport and city are a short trip by train from the station 5 mins away - good location!

Comfy bed, nice spec bathrooms.

Only gripe would be water saving shower head means hardly any water comes out!! Showers are important for me.

Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPSouth, Management Assistant at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Dear valued guest,

We appreciate it that you have taken the time to review your recent stay at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam- South.

As you mentioned our location in the heart of Zuidas- Amsterdam is extremely convenient for guests visiting one of the many nearby located offices. In addition Amsterdam Schiphol International Airport, the RAI Convention Center and the city centre are only a few minutes away by public transport which enables time efficient travelling and combining business with leisure.

It is great that you were able to enjoy parts of the Crowne Plaza Sleep Advantage program. At Crowne Plaza, we've thought of elements to help you relax and ensure you enjoy a great night’s sleep such as luxurious bedding, aromatherapy, Quiet Zones and guaranteed wake up calls.

Unfortunately though we noticed that the water saver in the shower, one of our actions to be green engaged, did not appeal to you. We value your feedback and will definitely take this into consideration when reviewing our procedures.

Thank you again for your review and we hope to welcome you back in the near future.

With kind regards,

Tara Meulenbeld
Management Assistant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Breda, The Netherlands
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

Location-wise it's in the financial district and exhibition hall, 5 min from airport and 10 min to city centre with public transport. The hotel is new, so very modern and clean. Rooms are in balance, good bed, bathroom is clean, but the shower can be better (water pressure is too low) , amenities are from Rituals.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPSouth, Management Assistant at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for your review on Tripadvisor.

It is a pleasure to learn that you discovered the advantages of the location of our hotel. The Crowne Plaza Amsterdam-South is situated in Amsterdam-Zuidas. This area is the new urban centre devoted to international commerce and knowledge development. The location is unique as Amsterdam Schiphol International Airport, the RAI Convention Center and the city centre are only a few minutes away by public transport.

We appreciate your remark about the shower and will definitely investigate the water pressure. If you would have the opportunity to send the reservations details of your last stay to info.amspc@ihg.com we can check which room you stayed in.

Thank you again for your review and we hope to see you back at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam- South.

With kind regards,

Tara Meulenbeld
Management Assistant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorset
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Perfect for a business trip; practical, quiet rooms with good facilities. Definitely lacking in atmosphere though. Bar meals adequate but nothing to write home about. Room was a little tired with a few cobwebs that were missed, shower could have been more powerful also. Would stay again for business but not for pleasure.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPSouth, Management Assistant at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for reviewing your stay at the Crowne Plaza Amsterdam- South on Tripadvisor.

It is great that you consider us the perfect hotel for a business trip however your review points out that we can still improve our product and service in several areas.

Room cleanliness is of vital importance and contributes to making or breaking a hotel experience. We apologize sincerely for the deficient cleanliness of your room. Please rest assured that follow up with the Housekeeping department has been done in order to prevent this from happening again.

With regards to your comments about the lacking atmosphere and the quality of the bar meals we are happy to receive your additional feedback so we can act on it. The opinions and ideas of our guest are extremely important for us as these enable us to tailor our hotel product even more to the preferences of our guests. We would be happy to hear from you at your earliest convenience at info.amspc@ihg.com. This will also enable us to investigate in which room you stayed so the shower can be checked.

Thank you again for sharing some valuable feedback with us and we hope to welcome you back as our guest in the future.

With kind regards,

Tara Meulenbeld
Management Assistant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

The hotel is very corporate looking as it is surrounded by office and business locale .
But the rooms and decor is nice not too much. Breakfast has variety of choices. There is welcome drink kept at reception for thirsty guest. Rooms are spacious and clean. 10/10

Room Tip: No tips as there no complaints from this property .
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPSouth, Management Assistant at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
Dear valued guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to rate your stay by writing a review on Tripadvisor.

We are extremely pleased that you consider the Crowne Plaza Amsterdam- South to be an amazing hotel and that you had a comfortable stay in one of our modern rooms.

Great as well that you mentioned the welcome drink, which is one of the hotel’s rejuvenating touches. Our fresh and healthy breakfast is another way to re-energise after a good night’s sleep.

Thank you again for your review and we hope to welcome you back soon.

With kind regards,

Tara Meulenbeld
Management Assistant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

On the Amsterdam South business center (Amsterdam World Trade Center), one train stop from the airport (5€ trip, stop Amsterdam Zuid), a good business hotel. Not the best location if you come to visit Amsterdam as it is off centered.
Good and friendly service.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPSouth, Management Assistant at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
Dear valued guest,

Thank you very much for informing us about how you perceived your stay at the Crowne Plaza Amsterdam- South.

It was a pleasure to learn that you consider the hotel to be good for business guests and that the service left a positive impression with you.

However I noticed that our location outside the centre of Amsterdam was not entirely up to your preference. Despite the fact that we are located outside the historic centre of Amsterdam, the nearby located railway station Amsterdam- Zuid offers several public transportation options to reach downtown Amsterdam within half an hour.

Should there be any additional feedback that you would like to share with us please do not hesitate to inform us about it at your convenience by sending an e-mail to info.amspc@ihg.com. We value your opinion highly and are more than willing to evaluate our product and service and develop areas in which we have room to improve.

Thank you once again for sharing your feedback and we hope to welcome you back as our guest in the near future.

With kind regards,

Tara Meulenbeld
Management Assistant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South

Address: George Gershwinlaan 101, 1082 Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#8 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#14 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#19 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, IHG, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Tingo, Venere, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.