We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful hotel with best-in-class service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South to your Saves list
Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   George Gershwinlaan 101, 1082 Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #16 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Brussels, Belgium
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Wonderful hotel with best-in-class service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

I stayed at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South for 2 nights, and these were absolutely great!
According to me, the greatest characteristics of this hotel are:
* Excellent and professional staff, from welcome desk to restaurant and housekeeping
* Very luxurious rooms with all needed amenities. Bathroom seemed to be recently renovated
* Great quality of sleep, with complimentary products for welness
* Great recognition for Priority Club Rewards members

If I could suggest one area for improvement, I would advise reducing the price of the parking. €40/night seems a bit high.

Overall, I will definitely stay at this hotel in the future when I return to Amsterdam, and I would strongly recommend the Crowne Plaza Amsterdam to my friends and colleagues!

Thibault O.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPSouth, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Dear valued guest,

Thank you very much for writing a review regarding your stay with us. It is fantastic to learn that you had a great stay and that you pointed out some areas in which we excel in your opinion.

We also value and understand your remark about the high price of the parking facilities. The municipal parking garage nearby the hotel indeed charges high amounts, which is unfortunately an inevitable downside of travelling to- and in Amsterdam by car. But luckily the prices in the area around the hotel are of a more moderate level and public transportation options in the surrounding of the hotel are arranged very well.

We are extremely pleased that, despite this drawback, your overall experience was worth recommending us and might be a reason to return to us in the future. We sincerely hope to welcome you as our guest in Crowne Plaza Amsterdam- South again.

With kind regards,

Ingrid van Veen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

463 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    308
    136
    14
    3
    2
See reviews for
36
143
21
171
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

On the last leg of our three week Christmas vacation with my son and soon to be daughter in law, we scheduled three nights at this hotel. Being a Platinum member I was given all the nights free.

Upon checking in, I was told that we could not check in at the desk...oh boy here it comes. She asked that I go over the Priority Club rep. The rep checked us in in record time, gave us all of the necessary paperwork and then gave each of us a Delph type Christmas ornament. Classy.

Upon leaving the desk I mentioned that my son had just proposed to his bride to be in Paris and they were really loving the trip.

My son called me about 1/2 hour later and invited us up for Champagne and fruit. We went up and he told me that room service had just delivered the Champagne and fruit platter compliments of the management....FIRST CLASS ALL THE WAY.

Nice bar area as well as nice restaurant and resting area (fire place, comfortable seating, music, etc.)

Located about a 5 minute walk from the train station. Lots of restaurants and sites to see in the area. Felt ver safe with no problems at night time.

Stay again...most definitely

Room Tip: Try and get an upgrade to the King Suites if possible. I was told that these are available at NC d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPSouth, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Dear valued guest,

Thank you very much for expressing your satisfaction with regards to your stay by leaving a review on Tripadvisor.

It was a pleasure to read that you, as a highly valued Priority Club member, received a warm and personal welcome and a special treatment as you were celebrating a special occasion.

We do would like to give all the honours to our sister property in Amsterdam, the Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre, as from your words we can derive that you stayed in that hotel and the review was probably by mistake posted for our hotel.

Nevertheless we are very happy that you enjoyed a great stay and we absolutely hope to have the pleasure to welcome you in Crowne Plaza Amsterdam- South one day.

With kind regards,

Ingrid van Veen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

I spent 3 great nights here - perfect sleep, great quality rooms , super bar meals - good quality and reasonable prices - and great bar staff and the the hotel is still very new so enjoy this now !! My second stay I was here couple weeks after it opened last year and it is still in great shape. Perfect for business in the WTC area or trains to from airport or city. Only negative is the breakfast price - it is good but 22 Euro puts my expecations very high and I have to say for business you can take it but for private no way. - but thats it - I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone. Make the most of this now whilst it is still new !!

Room Tip: I had 9th floor room - perfect sleep.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPSouth, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Dear valued guest,

Thank you very much for sharing your opinion about your stay at the Crowne Plaza Amsterdam- South with the travel community through Tripadvisor.

It has been a pleasure for us to learn that during your return visit, the hotel has met your expectations again and that you were able to have a successful business trip while enjoying some of the hotel’s facilities.

With regards to your feedback about the breakfast price I would like to inform you that we offer the option to enjoy a smaller breakfast in the bar against a more affordable rate on weekdays as of 8.00. Please do not hesitate to ask the Front Desk staff for more information upon your next stay with us.

Thank you for recommending us to other travelers and we sincerely hope to welcome you back in the very near future.

Kind regards,

Ingrid van Veen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nantwich, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

I adore this Hotel! The room was luxurious and impeccable. The staff were very helpful and extremely friendly, always welcomed with a hello by all staff.

Was unsure about the hotel's location but this was soon rectified once we got our bearings. Just one metro stop from the airport (5 minutes). Various options for getting into the city centre, we used the metro (Zuid station to Amsterdam central) and took about 15 minutes - 24 hour tickets were 7 euro, this could also be used on the trams. We used the trams on the 2nd day (line No.5) and it was so picturesque to see the neighbourhoods - the journey took about 25 minutes and you can get on or off as you please (which we did).

The breakfast at the hotel was superb, catered for all tastes (fried food, omelettes, boiled eggs, fried eggs, sausages, bacon, mushrooms, beans etc) and continental food such as various breads, cheeses, meats, fruit, yoghurts etc - the restaurant is immaculate and spacious and very comfortable to sit in. The staff were great, often asking if we wanted more coffee (lattes, cappuccinos etc).

The bar was also comfortable and served evening meals (if required) - we ate in one night and we all enjoyed the food (selection of starters - sushi) and a main meal of spicy prawns with noodles - they had a wide range of food on offer.

The hotel is in the business centre of Amsterdam (3 minute walk to the train/tram station) - large wide avenues, plenty of multi-storey business premises but also restaurants and shops dotted around the area (wagamamas, starbucks etc).

We will definitely be using this hotel again. I love Amsterdam and its people and this hotel added comfort and restful sleep to our visit

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPSouth, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
Dear valued guest,

Thank you very much for closing our 2012 Tripadvisor year so positively by sharing your review. It was a great pleasure to read that you were so positive about the hotel, its facilities and our staff members.

Great as well that you discovered the advantages of our location and the public transportation options into the city centre. As you mentioned the tram 5 is a great way of discovering the several neighbourhoods of Amsterdam as it leads you right through the historic centre of Amsterdam. Due to the fact that we are situated in the southern business district you will find many places to have lunch or coffee and several shops in the area.

Before a long day of exploring Amsterdam, a nourishing and rejuvenating breakfast is a great choice to start your day with new energy. We are happy that our restaurant and breakfast buffet were up to your preference.

We are happy that you would like to return to Amsterdam and in particular that you would choose to stay with us again. We hope to see you back soon.

Kind regards,

Ingrid van Veen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012 via mobile

I stayed at this hotel in the first week of december and i really had an exclusive stay with my family. The staff is so friendly at the reception. The blond lady helped me around to get into town and in the restaurant a small spanish looking guy helped me to choose for a meal. The food was just okay not to much but thats ok. And also the people of the breakfast are verry gently
I would come back with my wive and kids

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPSouth, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
Dear valued guest,

Thank you very much for choice to stay at the Crowne Plaza Amsterdam- South together with your family.

It is a pleasure to read that our staff members were helpful and gave you advice on things to do and see in town and on what to select of our menu. We are happy that they contributed positively positive to your stay.

Hopefully you and your family enjoyed a great stay in Amsterdam and you will decide to visit us again. We would be more than happy to welcome you back.

With kind regards,

Ingrid van Veen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

I travel to Amsterdam several times each year and I'm delighted that they have received the high ratings that they deserve. The hotel is ideal if you are visiting the WTC but also on the major lines for other journeys. The staff are highly professional and friendly and when I reach reception on a cold, dark Sunday night, it's like entering a safe haven of perfection.

Thank you.

Room Tip: I don't think that I've ever had a "bad" room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPSouth, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
Dear valued guest,

Thank you very much for sharing your review with us and the travel community.

It is a great reward when guests rate their stay with a high score and other guests, like you, affirm that the ratings were well deserved.

Due to our location the hotel receives a lot of business guests but also guests travelling for leisure purposes appreciate us due to our quiet location with good connections into the city center.

You’re observation about the ability of our reception staff to create a comfortable, safe and welcoming experience when entering the hotel is a great acknowledgement that the team of Crowne Plaza Amsterdam- South has a true passion for hospitality and is always aiming to assist guests in making their journey to a success.

Thank you for sharing this great compliment with us and we hope to welcome you back soon in order to make another memorable stay possible for you.

With kind regards,

Ingrid van Veen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cumbria
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012 via mobile

Fantastic hotel with exceptional facilities and service. We were there for a leisure visit but it was very convenient for the trade centre.
15 min direct tram route to the centre only a few minutes from the hotel and costs only 7 euros for a day pass.
Bar prices were relatively reasonable especially for a hotel.
Unique touches such as the character of the suitcases behind reception to the complimentary water and blankets in the lobby area.
Rooms very clean with a wide choice of toiletries available.
Would stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPSouth, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
Dear valued guest,

Thank you very much for sharing your comment on Tripadvisor.

It is a pleasure to read that you consider the Crowne Plaza Amsterdam- South to be a fantastic hotel and that you were pleased with the facilities and service.

As you mentioned the hotel has a location in the business heart of the city but outside the cultural centre of Amsterdam. But the various public transportation options at the nearby situated Station Zuid enable a fast and easy trip into the centre and therefore make the hotel a perfect choice for leisure guests as well.

Thank you for complimenting the design of the reception desk and the refreshing drinks in the lobby. As a new hotel in the highly competitive Amsterdam hotel market, it is a positive challenge to differentiate ourselves from other hotels. It is great that you recognised these features and appointed them to be unique touches.

It is wonderful to hear that you would stay with us again and we will be looking forward to welcome you back in the near future.

Kind regards,

Ingrid van Veen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South

Address: George Gershwinlaan 101, 1082 Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#7 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#11 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#11 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South 4*
Number of rooms: 207
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, Venere, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.