We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing weekend” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South

Save Saved
You added Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   George Gershwinlaan 101, 1082 Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #20 of 345 hotels in Amsterdam
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Relaxing weekend”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012 via mobile

I stayed at this hotel in the first week of december and i really had an exclusive stay with my family. The staff is so friendly at the reception. The blond lady helped me around to get into town and in the restaurant a small spanish looking guy helped me to choose for a meal. The food was just okay not to much but thats ok. And also the people of the breakfast are verry gently
I would come back with my wive and kids

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPSouth, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
Dear valued guest,

Thank you very much for choice to stay at the Crowne Plaza Amsterdam- South together with your family.

It is a pleasure to read that our staff members were helpful and gave you advice on things to do and see in town and on what to select of our menu. We are happy that they contributed positively positive to your stay.

Hopefully you and your family enjoyed a great stay in Amsterdam and you will decide to visit us again. We would be more than happy to welcome you back.

With kind regards,

Ingrid van Veen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

434 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    287
    129
    13
    3
    2
See reviews for
36
129
19
164
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

I travel to Amsterdam several times each year and I'm delighted that they have received the high ratings that they deserve. The hotel is ideal if you are visiting the WTC but also on the major lines for other journeys. The staff are highly professional and friendly and when I reach reception on a cold, dark Sunday night, it's like entering a safe haven of perfection.

Thank you.

Room Tip: I don't think that I've ever had a "bad" room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPSouth, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
Dear valued guest,

Thank you very much for sharing your review with us and the travel community.

It is a great reward when guests rate their stay with a high score and other guests, like you, affirm that the ratings were well deserved.

Due to our location the hotel receives a lot of business guests but also guests travelling for leisure purposes appreciate us due to our quiet location with good connections into the city center.

You’re observation about the ability of our reception staff to create a comfortable, safe and welcoming experience when entering the hotel is a great acknowledgement that the team of Crowne Plaza Amsterdam- South has a true passion for hospitality and is always aiming to assist guests in making their journey to a success.

Thank you for sharing this great compliment with us and we hope to welcome you back soon in order to make another memorable stay possible for you.

With kind regards,

Ingrid van Veen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cumbria
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012 via mobile

Fantastic hotel with exceptional facilities and service. We were there for a leisure visit but it was very convenient for the trade centre.
15 min direct tram route to the centre only a few minutes from the hotel and costs only 7 euros for a day pass.
Bar prices were relatively reasonable especially for a hotel.
Unique touches such as the character of the suitcases behind reception to the complimentary water and blankets in the lobby area.
Rooms very clean with a wide choice of toiletries available.
Would stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPSouth, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
Dear valued guest,

Thank you very much for sharing your comment on Tripadvisor.

It is a pleasure to read that you consider the Crowne Plaza Amsterdam- South to be a fantastic hotel and that you were pleased with the facilities and service.

As you mentioned the hotel has a location in the business heart of the city but outside the cultural centre of Amsterdam. But the various public transportation options at the nearby situated Station Zuid enable a fast and easy trip into the centre and therefore make the hotel a perfect choice for leisure guests as well.

Thank you for complimenting the design of the reception desk and the refreshing drinks in the lobby. As a new hotel in the highly competitive Amsterdam hotel market, it is a positive challenge to differentiate ourselves from other hotels. It is great that you recognised these features and appointed them to be unique touches.

It is wonderful to hear that you would stay with us again and we will be looking forward to welcome you back in the near future.

Kind regards,

Ingrid van Veen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

First time to this hotel last weekend before Christmas. Obviously very quiet regarding other guests, but my 2 days stay was very good without not so much people. The hotel is located just around 300m fra Station Zuid, which takes 7 min from Schiphol. There is train to/from Schiphol all the time and the fare was 3 euro one way. Be aware of that station Zuid is not on the way to the Central station in amsterdam. You need to look for trains going to Enschede etc and it is easy to check it on the platform or just look at the displays on the track at the platform. When arriving at the station Zuid, you need to take the exit toward Mahlerplein. Walk straight on to the first road about 150 meters from the station. You see a big office building called Symphony offices. Keep walking and you will see Crowna Plaza on the next road on your left and the entrance is around the corner.

As a platinum member I was upgraded to a club room on the 2.floor and it was very nice indeed. Large bathrom, very good bed and some water waiting for me. I was greeted by Charlotte in the reception which gave me a quick tour to the gym also. I didn't have time to use it but it was larger that other hotels gyms I have seen. It had a treadmill , bikes, freeweights, yoga mats etc.

So what did I not like with the hotel ? More and more hotels have started a trend that windows is not allowed or possible to open. That's a pity, as I like to have fresh air in my room during my sleep. That's why I am not giving Crowne Plaza a full score on sleep quality as I get very tired after fighting with the airconditioners during my sleepless nights with A/C.

I tried the breakfast next day and there was also a chef present who made omelettes for you if you wanted. I booked the breakfast the day I arrived so I got it for 15 euros. That's OK price I think.

To the Central station it takes about 18-20 minuttes with the metro from the same station as the train goes. I bought a 2 day travel card and it cost 12 euro. If you are a Starbucks lover , there is one on the other exit at the station Zuid.

Thanks to Charlotte, Rachel and Jim for outstanding service !


I will be back !

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPSouth, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
Dear valued guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to value your stay in Crowne Plaza Amsterdam- South by leaving an extensive review on Tripadvisor. Not only are we very pleased to learn from the feedback of our valued guests but it is also great that you shared valuable information for future guests such us your very clear description of how to reach the hotel.

It has been our pleasure to upgrade you, being a platinum member, as a token of our appreciation for your loyalty and to give you a tour through the hotel to make you familiar with the facilities. It is great that our fitness, though not large in surface, was to your liking even though you were not able to make use of it.

Thank you as well for your remark regarding the impossibility to open the window in your room. We completely understand that fresh air during the night is a requirement to re-energise and be productive the next day. Due to safety reasons there are some rooms in the hotel in which the large windows, which are considered to be balcony doors, can not be opened. In all other rooms there is the possibility to get fresh air in the bedroom. Please be so kind to send your contact details to info.amspc@ihg.com so we can update your profile and allocate you another room during your next stay.

Finally we are happy that 3 of our employees made such a good and memorable impression that you complimented them by name. Personal compliments are always a great appreciation and motivation for our employees so we thank you sincerely for sharing this.

Thank you again for your review and we hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to our hotel soon.

With kind regards,

Ingrid van Veen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

The room of the hotel was very nice and the front desk was very helpful with all of my needs. Although it is not near downtown Amsterdam the tram is a quick 5 minute walk and quickly goes wherever you would like. The front desk took care of my tickets and helped me get there. The room was very nice and it was a great night's sleep.

Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPSouth, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for estimating your stay at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam- South and for sharing your feedback with the travel community.

It is fantastic that the Front Desk employees were able to assist you in making your journey to a success by advising you on the many public transport options into the city centre that the nearby located station Amsterdam-Zuid has to offer.

Great as well that you were able to enjoy a rejuvenating night’s sleep. We know how important sleep is. Sleep is the fuel that powers your day. Did you know that Crowne Plaza has worked together with a sleep doctor in order to develop the Sleep Advantage program which contains luxurious bedding, aromatherapy, quiet zones and guaranteed wake-up calls? It is a pleasure to learn that you were able to benefit from the program.

Thank you again for your review and we hope to welcome you back with us in Amsterdam soon.

With kind regards,

Ingrid van Veen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

Always a pleasure staying in a Crowne Plaza. Staff always helpful and friendly speaking perfect English.

The hotel was spotlessly clean.

My room was a corner room, which was also spotlessly clean, comfortable, spacious and modern.

The food, typical hotel prices, was well cooked and very yummy.

The area the hotel was located was a business area and was clean and quiet.

Room Tip: Be careful of the hot water in the bath room, it's ferociously hot!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPSouth, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for leaving us a review on Tripadvisor and for expressing your satisfaction following your recent stay with us.

It was a great compliment that you were so positive about our staff members and especially the Housekeeping team was pleased with your positive remarks about the cleanliness of the room and hotel in general.

We are glad as well that you enjoyed a good meal as this is part of our aim to offer our guests ways to re-energise and to be more productive during their trip.

Thank you as well for your remark about the hot water. We are happy to learn from you in which room you stayed so we can investigate the faucet and hope to receive your additional feedback at your convenience per e-mail at info.amspc@ihg.com.

We sincerely hope to be your hotel of choice in the near future.

With kind regards,

Ingrid van Veen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haverhill, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

Spotlessly clean. Wonderful staff who do everything they can for you. They speak perfect English.

The room, a corner room, was clean, modern and very comfortable. Quiet location.

Food in he manhattan bar, although not cheap, but typical for a hotel, was very good.

Room Tip: Be careful with the hot water in the room - it's ferociously hot!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPSouth, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
Dear valued guest,

Thank you very much for leaving us such complimentary review following your stay at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam- South.

It was great to learn that you were positive about our rooms and location and that you enjoyed a good dinner in our bar. But we were especially happy with your compliments about the cleanliness and staff friendliness.

We are also grateful for your remark about the hot water and are happy to learn from you in which room you stayed so we can investigate the faucet. We would be happy to receive your additional feedback at your convenience per e-mail at info.amspc@ihg.com.

Once again thank you for your review and we hope to welcome you back in the very near future.

With kind regards,

Ingrid van Veen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South

Address: George Gershwinlaan 101, 1082 Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#7 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#13 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#14 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, IHG, Agoda, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Tingo, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel and Priceline so you can book your Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.