We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South

Save Saved
You added Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   George Gershwinlaan 101, 1082 Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #21 of 343 hotels in Amsterdam
Lancaster, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

Wife and I were back in Amsterdam for an afternoon and evening prior to catching a flight back to the US. This hotel was conventient to airport, but was 10K points less "expensive" than the downtown one or another IHG property near the airport. First impression was that it was a bear to find- following my Garmin GPS-, but once we got there it was great!! (I think some recent construction in the area has some roads re-worked since my maps were updated.)

Even though I was staying "free" on Priority Club points, they upgraded us to a premium room instead of the standard one I'd reserved. The concierge was very helpful to us in figuring out the train schedule from the adjacent station to the airport.

Parking a car would have been expensive at the garage in the building next door, so be mindful of that charge if you are driving. The resturant was surprisingly good at dinner, and also had a nice (but expensive-by USA standards) spread out for breakfast in the morning. Hot and cold food was fresh and tasty.

Room Tip: Rooms on the "Plaza level", 2 floor, are considered premium, but were very comfortable for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPSouth, Management Assistant at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South, responded to this review, December 21, 2012
Dear valued guest,

Thank you very much for writing about your stay at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam- South. Fortunately your first impression of the hotel was good despite the fact that you did not find the location easily. As the Zuidas area is developing rapidly there is indeed a lot of construction going on that might cause trouble with navigation systems.

It has been a pleasure to upgrade you, being a highly valued Priority Club member. We are happy that you were able to enjoy a comfortable stay in the room. Great as well to learn that the food and beverage selection of the restaurant was appreciated by you.

Thank you again for sharing your feedback with the travel community and we hope to welcome you back again upon your next visit to Amsterdam.

With kind regards,

Tara Meulenbeld
Management Assistant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

415 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    272
    125
    13
    3
    2
See reviews for
35
121
18
161
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

We stayed at this hotel in mid-November 2012 at the end of our trip to Europe. As, by then, we were quite worn-out, we really appreciated the modern amenities and great service at this hotel. Close to the tram into Central Amsterdam, we found the hotel accessible enough and a great value compared to hotels in the city center. The room was very clean and had everything we could hope for, including a very nice restaurant/bar. The service was top-notch and we appreciated that the items in the room's minibar were actually AFFORDABLE, something we have never experienced at other hotels. The front desk staff were very helpful, particularly in helping to arrange our cab to the airport at 4:30 am. If you are looking for a quaint local establishment, look elsewhere. However, if you want a modern full-featured hotel that is an unbelievable value, this is your hotel.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPSouth, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South, responded to this review, December 14, 2012
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for informing us about your findings following your recent stay with us. It was a pleasure to read that you selected the Crowne Plaza Amsterdam- South to conclude your trip through Europe.

Moreover it was fantastic that you appreciated the hotel’s facilities and that the location with nearby public transportation options worked well for you.

Your comment about the staff service is highly appreciated as well and a compliment for the entire team. At Crowne Plaza Amsterdam- South we always aim to assist our guests in everything they require to make their journey a success so to receive a confirmation that we succeeded at this is great.

Thank you again for your positive words about Crowne Plaza Amsterdam- South; we absolutely hope to be your hotel of choice when you visit Amsterdam again.

Kind regards,

Ingrid van Veen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

Stayed here for a long weekend city break. An excellent choice, free parking over the weekend, close to tram line and just a 20 minute minute trip inot the city centre and a lovely room.
The hotel staff were very helpful, the hotel new, very clean and so quiet at night, slept like a log!
Would certainly use it as a base to visit Amsterdam again. Excelllent value for money at the weekend as mainly a business hotel during the week.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPSouth, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Dear valued guest,

Thank you very much for your positive feedback following your leisure break in Crowne Plaza Amsterdam- South.

It was a pleasure to read that you discovered the advantages of our location outside the busy centre of Amsterdam such as free parking in the weekend in the surrounding neighbourhood and the chance to enjoy a rejuvenating night’s sleep. As you mentioned, the city centre, with its excitement and cultural offer, is only a short tram ride away.

Great as well that our staff members and the hotel in general left such a good impression with you. We certainly hope that we may welcome you again during your next visit to Amsterdam.

With kind regards,

Ingrid van Veen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eltville am Rhein, Germany
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

The hotel has all you need that at high quality. Not luxury but very good. Fast reception, very clean and well equipped rooms which even offer windows to open. The gym is a bit small but has all you need. So, when you do business travel and need to stay in that area it is a great choice.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPSouth, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Dear valued guest,

Thank you very much for reviewing your stay at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam- South on Tripadvisor.

It was a pleasure to read that the service and facilities of the hotel were corresponding with your travelling needs. As it is our goal to offer our guests the option to combine a productive trip with moments to re-energise, we have added some items to the hotel gym in order to allow our guests to do an even more complete work-out.

It would be our pleasure to welcome you back as our guest upon your next trip to Amsterdam.

With kind regards,

Ingrid van Veen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

For a business hotel, this one is outstanding. The hotel is new and modern. The rooms are a nice size for a European hotel and very nicely appointed with excellent, large desk, very comfortable, plush bedding and a modern, large bathroom. The door to the room is extra thick, which in part explains why I could hear no noise from the hallway or neighbors. The room lighting is first class, and the design and decor of the room as nice as most any business hotel I have seen in many travels. The staff is determined to please and the restaurant efficient with good food and friendly service. The lobby bar is a very attractive place with excellent selection of whiskeys and a friendly, efficient bar tender. Unfortunately the hotel is a bit far from Amsterdam city center, but if you are doing business in this area of town, this hotel is certain to please you.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPSouth, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Dear valued guest,

Thank you very much for sharing your comments on Tripadvisor. The title of your review was an absolute honour as well as the fact that you qualified Crowne Plaza Amsterdam- South as an outstanding business hotel.

It is a pleasure to read that the room lay- out, design and facilities appealed to you and allowed you to enjoy a comfortable and quiet stay in your room. Great as well that you were able to enjoy a selection of our food and beverage offer.

At Crowne Plaza Amsterdam- South all staff members aim to assist our guests in making their trip a success by combining the best facilities with great service. It is fantastic that you observed this spirit.

Once again thank you for your review and we hope to welcome you back as our guest in the near future.

With kind regards,

Ingrid van Veen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

located in an office area which is not so fun and yet has a nice location with good transportation to all main attractions.
you need to plan your day because it is quite far from the center (about 20 min) and yet the very high standard of service the team leaded by very lovely managers on board made our stay great!

Room Tip: plan your days before you leave the hotel! allways take an umbrella when you stey that far from cit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPSouth, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South, responded to this review, November 11, 2012
Dear valued guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review regarding your stay at the Crowne Plaza Amsterdam - South.

As you mentioned the hotel is set in a major new development area in Amsterdam: the Zuidas Amsterdam and is therefore mostly used by business guests visiting one of the many nearby offices. The location is unique as Amsterdam Schiphol International Airport, the RAI Convention Centre are only minutes away. As development of the area continues I hope the neighbourhood will tailor more to your needs in the future.

To read that despite these drawbacks the high level of service of staff and management made your stay worthwhile is a great compliment. Please be informed these words were received with great pleasure by our management and staff.

We hope to see you again in our hotel in the near future and thank you again for your review.


With kind regards,

Ingrid van Veen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

With a limited choice on the Zuidas of Amsterdam between the "sleeping factories" of Holiday Inn and Novotel, the Crowne Plaza, next to Amsterdam Zuid station is a welcome addition. A good and comfortable business hotel with clean well designed rooms. The only thing that is disappointing is the breakfast offering.

Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPSouth, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South, responded to this review, November 11, 2012
Dear valued guest,

Thank you very much for your review on Tripadvisor and for letting us know how you experienced staying at the Crowne Plaza Amsterdam- South.

I am very happy to read that you consider us a welcome alternative to the other hotels in the vicinity.

Regretfully we took notice of your comment about the breakfast. We apologize sincerely for the inconvenience this has caused. Should you be willing to share any recommendations regarding the breakfast with us, please send them to info.amspc@ihg.com for the attention of the F&B Manager. We are more than happy to consider your suggestions and would appreciate to receive them.

We very much hope to welcome you again in our hotel in the near future and thank you again for your review and feedback.


With kind regards,

Ingrid van Veen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South

Address: George Gershwinlaan 101, 1082 Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#8 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#14 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#15 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, IHG, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Tingo, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda, Otel and Venere so you can book your Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.