We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“They should make more of these...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South to your Saves list
Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   George Gershwinlaan 101, 1082 Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #16 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“They should make more of these...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

First of all, even though it's location is not a central one, the transport links are great, having Station Zuid (serves tram, tube, bus) 5 min away, so a 10-15 min tram ride took me to the heart of the city. Hotel is new(1-2yrs), modern and chic, Staff went the extra mile, no matter what i asked them, all with a big smile on their face. From the simple coffee in the morning to paying with a different currency and 2 credit cards at check-out.....i tried their patience and politeness in all the ways, and they did not dissapoint, especially the front office people. Food wise, i only had breakfast, where they have a good selection of hot and cold food, plus a chef station(great guy...great omlettes)...so it was def worth it. Come to think about it, i honestly cannot find anything bad or average to say about this hotel. Looking forward to my next trip there and those heavenly beds.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPSouth, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South, responded to this review, October 11, 2012
Dear valued guest,

Thank you very much for informing us about your stay at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam- South. Reviews of our guests are a great motivation for the entire team to continue to aim higher and work better together.

It was truly rewarding to learn what positive image the staff members left behind. It is our goal and passion to assist our guests in making their trip memorable and successful.

Great as well that you enjoyed the breakfast. A healthy breakfast is the perfect start of an active day. For the perfect end to your day, our Sleep Advantage programme with Quiet Zones (our fifth floor), plump soft pillows, luxurious duvets, deeply indulgent mattress toppers, sleeping tips and aroma therapy, may be a good help.

Thank you again for your review and we hope to be your hotel of choice when you return to Amsterdam.

With kind regards,

Ingrid van Veen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

462 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    307
    136
    14
    3
    2
See reviews for
36
142
21
171
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ireland
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

New and modern hotel in an upcoming business district of Amsterdam. I very much enjoyed my stay here. Staff very friendly and helpful. The only downside was the food as it wasn't very good but the hotel is located near a train station and there's plenty of restaurants around it.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPSouth, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South, responded to this review, October 11, 2012
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on Tripadvisor and informing us about your stay with us in the Crowne Plaza Amsterdam- South.

We were happy to find out that you enjoyed your stay with us and that our staff members were able to assist you at your satisfaction.

However it was concerning for us to learn that you were not impressed by the food we served you. As we take our guests impression very serious, we would appreciate to receive your specific feedback. Kindly inform our Food & Beverage Manager through info.amspc@ihg.com about your observations.

Thank you again for your review and we hope to welcome you back as our guest in the future.

With kind regards,

Ingrid van Veen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012 via mobile

One of the best hotels I have stayed in. The staff where superb, very helpful and I would Definitely recommend it to anyone. Great location for all tourists and definitely worth the money, would book again.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
CPSouth, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South, responded to this review, October 10, 2012
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for your brief yet very positive review on Tripadvisor.

Your complimentary words about our staff are highly appreciated and we are very happy that you consider us one of the best hotels you have ever stayed in. Being recommended is the best advertisement a hotel can get and it only stimulates us to continue to focus on maintaining and improving our product and service.

We sincerely hope to have you as our guest again upon your next visit to Amsterdam and thank you again for your review.

With kind regards,

Ingrid van Veen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

My husband and I spent two weeks in Europe, and this hotel was my favorite from our entire trip. The rooms are laid out well, the bed was incredibly comfortable, and they provided great customer service. It would have been nice to be closer to Amsterdam in some ways, but on the other hand this hotel would have been a lot more expensive. It is located right by a train station, and it took maybe 10 minutes to get into the city. It provided a nice quiet oasis for us. Plus, all day train tickets are very affordable (I think only 6 Euro) so we often came back to our room to rest.

I especially appreciated the infused water in the lobby. I'd fill up my water bottle with the mint water and it was a nice treat all day.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPSouth, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South, responded to this review, October 10, 2012
Dear valued guest,

It was a pleasure to read your Tripadvisor review in which you mention our hotel to be the favourite one you stayed in during your trip to Europe. It is a compliment to know that our customer service contributed to that.

Great as well to read that you positively experienced our quiet location outside the busy city centre, also thanks to the very efficient public transport options that are situated close by the hotel.

We hope to welcome you back again at the Crowne Plaza Amsterdam- South when you visit Amsterdam again and thank you again for your kind words.

With kind regards,

Ingrid van Veen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Europe
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

This hotel is conveniently located if you need to go to Amsterdam by car (right off the highway).
Connection by public transport (tram, Metro) to the city center is quick and easy, you have to walk for 5-10 minutes to the nearest stop.
The hotel is located in a very trendy business area, the buildings there are quite interesting to look at, not your average office buildings.
The hotel itself was surprisingly design and trendy with an interesting architecture, I had expected it to be more of an average business hotel. The rooms are pleasantly decorated in modern design but still have a cosy feel, definitely very nice room to stay in. The (standard) rooms are rather spacious and absolutely calm. Personally I liked the little extras you get for free, I loved the pillow spray and fragrant roller pen for better sleep, nice idea! Staff was friendly. The only minus points are the overpriced breakfast (20€) and overnight parking fee (around 40€, probably this is normal in Amsterdam?), the room price we paid for a double room was very reasonable (120€).

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPSouth, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South, responded to this review, October 10, 2012
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for your review on Tripadvisor about our hotel – we are happy that you found the time to share your experiences with us.

It was a pleasure to read that you enjoyed the location of the hotel and the area around it. Did you know that it is possible to experience the “Zuidas” and its daring architecture during an architecture walk?

Great as well that you enjoyed our rooms and facilities. As a hotel should ideally be your home away from home it is important for us to know that you felt comfortable staying in one of our rooms.

Thank you as well for your feedback about the parking and the breakfast. Due to the high traffic pressure in Amsterdam, the prices of the public parking spaces are kept very high. Please be aware that there are options around the hotel where parking is possible against a lower rate.

Regarding the breakfast I can inform you that we offer the possibility to enjoy a smaller and therefore less expensive breakfast in the bar of the hotel as of 8 am. You might consider this upon your next stay with us.

We do hope to welcome you again in our hotel in the near future and thank you again for your review.

With kind regards,

Ingrid van Veen
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

Me and my husband have just come back from a long weekend trip to Amsterdam and we couldn't have made a better choice with regards to accomodation!

Though we were a bit concerned when we booked, thinking we would be a bit too far from the city, we realised the hotel is only 10-15 minutes away from the city centre (tram), in a very quiet and clean area which was a relief to come back to in the evening, as the city is too crowded (and dirty, especially in the centre). Very helpful and professional staff, very well equipped room, we would definitely stay there again when we go back to Amsterdam!

We very highly recommend it!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPSouth, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South, responded to this review, September 26, 2012
Dear valued guest,

We were so pleased and proud to see your review on Tripadvisor, mentioning the Crowne Plaza Amsterdam- South the best place to stay in Amsterdam.

It was a pleasure as well to read that your previous concerns about the location of the hotel disappeared once experiencing the ease of reaching the city centre using one of the many public transportation options at the Amsterdam- Zuid station.

Thank you once more for recommending us and our team would be more than happy to welcome you back as our guest when your travelling plans bring you back to Amsterdam.

With kind regards,

Ingrid van Veen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

Just back from 4 night here, 3 mins walk from Amsterdam Zuid station (also known as WTC), there you can get to Schiphol in 8 mins or down town in 15 mins, you have a choice of train.bus, metro or Tram. Hotel itself is almost brand new, rooms are clean and very large for Amsterdam . welcome by check in staff was prompt and friendly , room facilities included an espresso, flat screen TV with more than enough English channels , super comfy bed and blackout curtains that do just that. Would recommend this hotel anyone, have stayed in center before and without ear plugs you struggle to sleep, in this hotel you get no such problems

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPSouth, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South, responded to this review, September 26, 2012
Dear valued guest,

Thank you so much for writing on Tripadvisor about your stay at the Crowne Plaza Amsterdam- South. We were happy to read in your review that the hotel, its facilities and the staff members were up to your satisfaction.

Great as well that you would recommend our location for a good night’s sleep. Not only is the hotel situated in a peaceful and quiet area but on top of that Crowne Plaza also features the Sleep Advantage Program including Quiet Zones (our fifth floor), plump soft pillows, luxurious duvets, deeply indulgent mattress toppers, sleeping tips and aroma therapy. Hopefully you were able to benefit from this program as well.

Thank you again for your review and we hope to welcome you back as our guest in the near future.

With kind regards,

Ingrid van Veen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South

Address: George Gershwinlaan 101, 1082 Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#7 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#11 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#11 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South 4*
Number of rooms: 207
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Venere, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.