We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good business hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South to your Saves list
Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   George Gershwinlaan 101, 1082 Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #21 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
New Delhi/London
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Good business hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

I had stayed in this hotel for 3 nights and 4 days for business. What we really appreciated was the early check in on the day of our arrival. The rooms are of good size and so are the meeting rooms. The bar and the restaurant serve a nice selection of food and drinks and it isn't very pricey. However, it is far from the city center though walking distance from a metro station. Somehow breakfast wasn't part of the room and was average. Would recommend this hotel if you plan on going for business.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPSouth, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South, responded to this review, September 25, 2012
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for informing us about your experience with the Crowne Plaza Amsterdam- South. We are so pleased that many of our guests take the time to give us feedback about their stay.

It has been our pleasure to provide you with an early check-in; we always try to offer this service if occupancy allows. Great as well that you enjoyed the size of our rooms and the price and quality of our food and beverage offer.

It was however unfortunate that our breakfast was not entirely up to your preference. Should you be willing to share any specific feedback with us, please do not hesitate to send them per e-mail to info.amspc@ihg.com for the attention of the F&B Manager. We are more than happy and willing to consider your suggestions.

We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again if your business trip brings you back to Amsterdam.

With kind regards,

Ingrid van Veen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

506 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    334
    151
    16
    3
    2
See reviews for
39
154
24
193
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012 via mobile

This is a brand-new hotel. the rooms are comfy large and well designed. the staff is nice and friendly and the location is very convinient if you work at the WTC in A'dam. Within 15 minutes metro ride from the city center, you can even enjoy the nightlife of the capital holland. If you are not a business trip, do not stay here

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPSouth, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South, responded to this review, September 25, 2012
Dear valued guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience with the Crowne Plaza Amsterdam- South on Tripadvisor. All feedback we receive is highly appreciated as we always strive to improve our service and product.

We are happy that you were positive about our rooms and staff members. Due to our location in the heart of the Zuidas area, mostly business guests know how to find us. However the area has quite some nice lunch, dining and shopping options to offer and is rapidly being developed to become an international top location for living, working and recreation. Our Front Desk team will be more than happy to inform you about things to do and see in the surrounding area of the hotel and of course in downtown Amsterdam.

With kind regards,

Ingrid van Veen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Top Contributor
168 reviews 168 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

I just returned from and 8 day stay in Amsterdam on business at the RAI. I stayed at the brand new Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South and couldn't have been happier or more comfortable.

It is centrally located, from a business perspective, in South Amsterdam which is a fast growing area for business and technology. Access to the Amsterdam Zuid (south) station is a short walk away which services the Subway and the Train. On the other size of Zuid is the Tram and buses. Each or any of these can quickly, cheaply and easily have you in any part of Amsterdam in 10 - 25 minutes depending upon where you want to go.

The hotel is top notch. The rooms were large, the lounge was comfortable and full amenities, and the staff were always accommodating and helpful.

If there was one thing that could be improved upon it would be the wireless network connectivity. It did range in strength radically based on location. That said, it worked and throughput was very workable.

Obviously staying in downtown has distinct advantages, but comfort and large rooms will not be one unless you want to pay through the nose. If you don't mind or are adventurous when it comes to transportation, then I would highly recommend this hotel location.

Room Tip: Construction of a new building is taking place on the East side of the building. It starts at 8am a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPSouth, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South, responded to this review, September 14, 2012
Dear valued guest,

Thank you so much for informing us through Tripadvisor about your stay with us at the Crowne Plaza Amsterdam- South. It was an absolute pleasure to read your very positive and complimentary words about our location, facilities and staff. Reviews like these give us extra motivation to continue to work on improving our product and service.

We also sincerely appreciate the fact that you pointed out an improvement point. As we live in an era in which social media and internet play a vital role in both the business- as private life of most individuals, offering fast and properly functioning internet should absolutely be one of the points of focus in any hotel.

The hotel is set in a major new development area in Amsterdam: the Zuidas. This area is rapidly becoming a new urban centre devoted to international commerce and knowledge development. Also apartment buildings are being developed of which one close by the hotel. The construction of the foundation, which was at times audible in the hotel, has now been finished. Any nuisance to our guests should therefore have come to an end.

Once again we thank you for your review and we hope to have you back as our guest upon your next visit to Amsterdam.

With kind regards,

Ingrid van Veen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

Stayed at this hotel for 4 nights during this trip. It was a toss-up between this Hotel Okura in Amsterdam and Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South but decided to go for Crowne Plaza instead.

Got checked in to a corner room. It was a very quiet room and i believe the windows are double glazed. They have beautifully appointed rooms and room interior is modern. Nice spacious bathroom. Bed is perfect and I definitely got a good night's sleep.

In terms of transportation, very convenient - short walk away from Amsterdam Zuid station, tram lines going to the city center and just about anywhere in Amsterdam. If you are driving, parking along the street is free from 7 pm to 9 am on weekdays and all day on weekends.

Staff was friendly and helpful with good dinner recommendations.

Definitely a good choice.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPSouth, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South, responded to this review, September 14, 2012
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for your choice to stay at the Crowne Plaza Amsterdam- South and for sharing your experience on Tripadvisor.

It was a pleasure to read that you enjoyed staying in one of our rooms and that a good night’s sleep was the result. The IHG Sleep Advantage program including special bedding, sleeping tips and aromatherapy might have contributed to that.

Great as well that you discovered the nearby presence of the several convenient public transportation options and parking at a moderate rate.

We sincerely hope to be your hotel of choice in the near future.

With kind regards,

Ingrid van Veen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

The recent Crowne Plaza in Amsterdam South is a great option for those who don't necessarily require to stay in the center of Amsterdam and are usually in town for business. The hotel is very well equipped, the rooms are spacious and very well decorated. The staff is good and attentive and they're always willing to help you out. The restaurant and bar are also of good quality.

Room Tip: Rooms are too expensive for a new hotel... however, if you can, go for one of the deluxe or club roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPSouth, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South, responded to this review, September 14, 2012
Dear valued guest,

We were very happy to read your review on Tripadvisor in which you positively mentioned our location.

The Crowne Plaza Amsterdam- South is situated at the Zuid-As of Amsterdam, a new urban centre devoted to international commerce and knowledge development. The location is unique as Amsterdam Schiphol International Airport, the RAI Convention Centre and the city centre are only a few minutes away by public transport or rental bike. This makes the hotel a suitable choice for both business as leisure guests.

We were pleased as well that our rooms were to your taste and your compliment about the staff members is a motivation for all of us to continue our focus on service delivery.

Being a new hotel in the highly competitive Amsterdam hotel market means that our room rates are influenced by the activity in the market. In high demand periods with large fairs and exhibitions our rates will therefore be higher than in low demand periods.

Thank you again for sharing your feedback and we hope to see you again in our hotel in the near future.

With kind regards,

Ingrid van Veen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

I did a pretty long way across the whole Germany and the Netherlands to watch an event by the sea in Zandvoort. Too much tired I arrived in this obviously brand new property. Transportation from downtown AMS pretty easy, just about 100 metres from the subway. I was amazed by the architecture, quite unique and different from the other countries. Water, nature and respect are at first sight. My room was at the top - 11th - floor with a perfect view of the city. Met couple of friends at the bar and we had some delicious burgers and sandwiches, but I enjoyed my sleep, eventhough affected by the fact that I was really tired after my journey. I didn´t have a breakfast because of time, but anyway: definitely would love to come back soon!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPSouth, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South, responded to this review, September 13, 2012
Dear valued guest,

Thank you very much for your review on Tripadvisor and for letting us know how you perceived the Crowne Plaza Amsterdam- South. Being a brand new member of the Crowne Plaza family in the highly competitive Amsterdam market, we are especially pleased to have met your expectations.

The area in which the hotel is situated, the Zuidas, is a continuously developing business area in which not only offices of large multinationals are situated but nice restaurants and shops as well. Did you know that you can join an architecture walk, during which more can be learned about the spectacular architecture in the surroundings of the hotel?

After an interesting walk, our Manhattan Lounge – Bar is the place to be for a refreshing drink and snack before starting a well- deserved night of sleep. Perhaps you know that Crowne Plaza has worked together with a sleep doctor and founder of the British Sleep Society, Dr. Chris Idzikowski, to improve the sleep experience at Crowne Plaza hotels to ensure guests get a great night’s sleep. This Sleep Advantage program features Quiet Zones (our fifth floor), plump soft pillows, luxurious duvets, deeply indulgent mattress toppers, sleeping tips and aroma therapy.

Thank you again for your review and we definitely hope to welcome you back in the very near future.

With kind regards,

Ingrid van Veen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beijing
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

Great room, wonderful service. The interior is just perfect, so modern. It's a boutique hotel. They offer free lemonade by the reception. The location of the hotel is nearby the Amsterdam zuid(south) station. Extremely convenient to get here from schiphol airport by train. It takes 7 minutes and costs 2,5 euros. It's very silent inside the hotel and unlikely that something or someone will wake you up during the night or in the morning. The wifi isn't free, you can pay daily.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPSouth, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South, responded to this review, October 17, 2012
Dear valued guest,

We thank you very much for writing a Tripadvisor review and for informing us about the experiences you had with Crowne Plaza Amsterdam- South.

It pleases us to read that you experienced our hotel as very silent. All Crowne Plaza hotels offer the Sleep Advantage programme which includes: upgraded bedding for a great night’s sleep, a range of complimentary extras including aromatherapy products to improve your sleep experience, dedicated quiet zones and guaranteed wake-up calls. All of this has been designed to encourage guests to enjoy a rejuvenating night’s sleep.

It’s great as well that you experienced the benefits of our location right in the middle between Schiphol Airport and the city centre of Amsterdam.

Thank you once again for your review and we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again as our guest in the future.

With kind regards,

Ingrid van Veen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South

Address: George Gershwinlaan 101, 1082 Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#7 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#12 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#15 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South 4*
Number of rooms: 207
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, IHG, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.