We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great and relaxed stay!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South

Save Saved
You added Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South to your Saves list
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   George Gershwinlaan 101, 1082 Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #17 of 345 Hotels in Amsterdam
Prague
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great and relaxed stay!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

I did a pretty long way across the whole Germany and the Netherlands to watch an event by the sea in Zandvoort. Too much tired I arrived in this obviously brand new property. Transportation from downtown AMS pretty easy, just about 100 metres from the subway. I was amazed by the architecture, quite unique and different from the other countries. Water, nature and respect are at first sight. My room was at the top - 11th - floor with a perfect view of the city. Met couple of friends at the bar and we had some delicious burgers and sandwiches, but I enjoyed my sleep, eventhough affected by the fact that I was really tired after my journey. I didn´t have a breakfast because of time, but anyway: definitely would love to come back soon!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPSouth, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South, responded to this review, September 13, 2012
Dear valued guest,

Thank you very much for your review on Tripadvisor and for letting us know how you perceived the Crowne Plaza Amsterdam- South. Being a brand new member of the Crowne Plaza family in the highly competitive Amsterdam market, we are especially pleased to have met your expectations.

The area in which the hotel is situated, the Zuidas, is a continuously developing business area in which not only offices of large multinationals are situated but nice restaurants and shops as well. Did you know that you can join an architecture walk, during which more can be learned about the spectacular architecture in the surroundings of the hotel?

After an interesting walk, our Manhattan Lounge – Bar is the place to be for a refreshing drink and snack before starting a well- deserved night of sleep. Perhaps you know that Crowne Plaza has worked together with a sleep doctor and founder of the British Sleep Society, Dr. Chris Idzikowski, to improve the sleep experience at Crowne Plaza hotels to ensure guests get a great night’s sleep. This Sleep Advantage program features Quiet Zones (our fifth floor), plump soft pillows, luxurious duvets, deeply indulgent mattress toppers, sleeping tips and aroma therapy.

Thank you again for your review and we definitely hope to welcome you back in the very near future.

With kind regards,

Ingrid van Veen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

458 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    304
    136
    13
    3
    2
See reviews for
36
141
21
168
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Beijing
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

Great room, wonderful service. The interior is just perfect, so modern. It's a boutique hotel. They offer free lemonade by the reception. The location of the hotel is nearby the Amsterdam zuid(south) station. Extremely convenient to get here from schiphol airport by train. It takes 7 minutes and costs 2,5 euros. It's very silent inside the hotel and unlikely that something or someone will wake you up during the night or in the morning. The wifi isn't free, you can pay daily.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPSouth, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South, responded to this review, October 17, 2012
Dear valued guest,

We thank you very much for writing a Tripadvisor review and for informing us about the experiences you had with Crowne Plaza Amsterdam- South.

It pleases us to read that you experienced our hotel as very silent. All Crowne Plaza hotels offer the Sleep Advantage programme which includes: upgraded bedding for a great night’s sleep, a range of complimentary extras including aromatherapy products to improve your sleep experience, dedicated quiet zones and guaranteed wake-up calls. All of this has been designed to encourage guests to enjoy a rejuvenating night’s sleep.

It’s great as well that you experienced the benefits of our location right in the middle between Schiphol Airport and the city centre of Amsterdam.

Thank you once again for your review and we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again as our guest in the future.

With kind regards,

Ingrid van Veen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eastleigh, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

What a fantastic hotel. After staying at some really terrible hotels in Europe i've decided to stick with the chains and this one certainly didn't disappoint.

The hotel is in an extremely calm and quiet area of Amsterdam and is a 2 minute walk from Amsterdam Zuid railway station. There are direct trains from here to Schiphol Airport and the Metro 51 also goes from here into Centraal Station! You can also catch the tram 5 into the city from just behind the station. It is dead easy to travel from this hotel so don't let the location put you off!

The room was spotless and extremely modern. I loved the decor.

The staff were extremely friendly and welcoming. The staff on reception would always say hello when we arrived back at the hotel in the evening. Even the cleaning staff greeted us as we walked past them on our floor.

I also ordered room service on the first night of the stay. It was after 11pm so I did not have the option of the full menu. The selection on the 24 hour menu was still very good.

I chose the Manhattan Burger and it was very tasty and the fries were lovely. I would definitely stay at a Crowne Plaza hotel again. Top marks!

Room Tip: Rooms on high floors have a great view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPSouth, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South, responded to this review, October 17, 2012
Dear valued guest,

Thank you very much for your review on Tripadvisor and for letting us know how you perceived the Crowne Plaza Amsterdam- South.

It especially pleases us that you chose to stay at the Crowne Plaza chain. As Crowne Plaza Amsterdam-South we always aim to maintain the highest standards and to deliver a professional and personalised service. Therefore it is great to receive feedback of our guests, endorsing that we are successful in that.

Great as well that you had the chance to enjoy our food & beverage offer. The menus are composed with care and any suggestions or feedback we receive is appreciated highly and taken at heart.

We hope to be able to welcome you again in our hotel in the near future and thank you once more for your review.

Ingrid van Veen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

This hotel is a little way from the centre, but there is a tram just a 2 minute walk from the hotel, which stops right in the centre!! This also means being able to see alot more of Amsterdam that you wouldn't usually see staying right in the centre. The hotel staff were wonderful, very polite and even let us check in early as our room was ready, a very much appreciated bonus! The hotel is located by station Zuid (south station) which is quicker to get to from the Schipol airport than it takes to get to centraal station from the airport, very handy for catching flights!! The room was lovely and spacious, very clean and the bed was one of the most comfortable i think i have ever stayed in!! Would definately recommend this hotel to any kind of guest, the staff were more than accommodating and would quite happily explain directions to different places we wanted to visit!! I would thoroughly suggest you book without hesitation, the area is lovely and peaceful so you get a good nights sleep!! Will definately return!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPSouth, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South, responded to this review, December 11, 2012
Dear valued guest,

Thank you very much for informing us about your stay at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam- South through Tripadvisor. It was a great pleasure and honor for us to read that you would recommend us and are planning to stay with us again.

It was wonderful as well to read your comments about our staff. All staff members strive to assist our guests to make their stay a success and therefore it has been a pleasure to grant you an early check-in.

Great as well that you had a good night’s sleep in one of our carefully designed rooms. Perhaps you are aware that Crowne Plaza has worked together with a sleep doctor in order to design the Sleep Advantage program. This program features Quiet Zones (our fifth floor), plump soft pillows, luxurious duvets, deeply indulgent mattress toppers, sleeping tips and aroma therapy. On http://www.crowneplaza.hotelsathome.com/ you can read everything about it and even order items to use at home.

Thank you again for your positive review and we hope to see you back soon.

Ingrid van Veen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

This hotel is near the main line into Amsterdam, But in such a peaceful and quiet location. The rooms were beautifully appointed, and the bathrooms a dream. Just 5 minutes walk from the station and tram, with a remarkably quick service into the city centre by tram, and also a speedy service to Schipol Airport. Don't waste your money on a taxi from the Airport - just purchase a ticket to Amsterdam Zuid as Taxi's are quite expensive. We found the staff to be extremely helpful, and pleasant and all spoke English to us. This place is a haven after a busy day in the City Centre. We just loved it. " Grandparents staying with granddaughters aged 13 + 16.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPSouth, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South, responded to this review, October 17, 2012
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for sharing the good experiences you had while staying in our hotel. We were delighted to read that you and your granddaughters loved the time you spent with us.

As you mentioned our location is indeed very conveniently situated in order to reach both Schiphol Airport as the city centre of Amsterdam within a short amount of time. The quietness and presence of several parks close by the hotel make it the perfect place to relax after a day of excitement and to make plans for a new day of exploring the city.

Thank you again for your kind words and we hope to see you back in Crowne Plaza Amsterdam- South if you will visit Amsterdam again.

Ingrid van Veen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012

We were really concerned about our stay here as read that it was too far out from the city centre .. How very wrong. First train stop from airport and fantastic tram and metro links meant that it was really easy and convenient. maybe even easier than walking to a city centre hotel!! We even worked out that there was a night bus that will drop you a few blocks away although we never needed it as we were quite happy to come home by midnight most nights as this city tires you out... So much to see and do!! Hotel is fantastic should be 5 star. Had some fantastic sleeps in a huge and comfortable bed. We had a fantastic deal and were more than pleased and would use this hotel again without a shadow of doubt.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPSouth, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South, responded to this review, August 21, 2012
Dear valued guest,

Thank you very much for posting a review on Tripadvisor. We are very happy to read that you overcame your initial reservation about our location and decided to stay in the Crowne Plaza Amsterdam-South. Amsterdam has indeed an extensive public transportation and is very compact compared to other European Cities.

It is great to hear you enjoyed your stay with us, it especially pleases us that we were able to provide an oasis of rest and comfort after your explorations of the city. Our Sleep Advantage Program exactly aims to achieve that goal. After all, providing comfortable sleep is our core business.

Again, thank you very much for your review and I hope to welcome back in the future.


With kind regards,

Ingrid van Veen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
80 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2012

Excellent hotel, excellent location, good breakfast.

The beds are superb, you are 2 minutes walking away from a train station, which allows you to take a high speed train to a variety of locations, or the metro to go to Amsterdam.

6 minutes by train from the airport.

A definite repeat.

On a side note, had a deposit taken off my card, and told it's a simple authorization - it was an actual charge. Almost a week since I asked for a refund, still haven't seen anything (and I'm a Priority Club member, so this is somewhat annoying). Still, will stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPSouth, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South, responded to this review, August 10, 2012
Dear valued guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to leave your review on Tripadvisor and for expressing your positive opinion about your experience with Crowne Plaza Amsterdam- South. We would be very happy to welcome you again in the very near future.

Regretfully we took notice of your comment about the credit card authorization. We apologise sincerely for the inconvenience this has caused.

In order for us to investigate your case and improve our service, we kindly ask for an opportunity to assist you in solving this matter.

Please contact the hotel at your earliest convenience by emailing your contact details to info.amspc@ihg.com or call the hotel front desk between office hours on +31(20)5043666 and ask for the finance department.

We would highly appreciate it to get in contact with you and assist you in this matter.

With kind regards,

Ingrid van Veen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South

Address: George Gershwinlaan 101, 1082 Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#7 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#12 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#13 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Tingo, Expedia, getaroom.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Otel and Venere so you can book your Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;