We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic hotel.. Don't let location put you off.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South to your Saves list
Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   George Gershwinlaan 101, 1082 Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #17 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Swansea
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Fantastic hotel.. Don't let location put you off.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012

We were really concerned about our stay here as read that it was too far out from the city centre .. How very wrong. First train stop from airport and fantastic tram and metro links meant that it was really easy and convenient. maybe even easier than walking to a city centre hotel!! We even worked out that there was a night bus that will drop you a few blocks away although we never needed it as we were quite happy to come home by midnight most nights as this city tires you out... So much to see and do!! Hotel is fantastic should be 5 star. Had some fantastic sleeps in a huge and comfortable bed. We had a fantastic deal and were more than pleased and would use this hotel again without a shadow of doubt.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPSouth, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South, responded to this review, August 21, 2012
Dear valued guest,

Thank you very much for posting a review on Tripadvisor. We are very happy to read that you overcame your initial reservation about our location and decided to stay in the Crowne Plaza Amsterdam-South. Amsterdam has indeed an extensive public transportation and is very compact compared to other European Cities.

It is great to hear you enjoyed your stay with us, it especially pleases us that we were able to provide an oasis of rest and comfort after your explorations of the city. Our Sleep Advantage Program exactly aims to achieve that goal. After all, providing comfortable sleep is our core business.

Again, thank you very much for your review and I hope to welcome back in the future.


With kind regards,

Ingrid van Veen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

470 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    313
    138
    14
    3
    2
See reviews for
37
145
21
176
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
80 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2012

Excellent hotel, excellent location, good breakfast.

The beds are superb, you are 2 minutes walking away from a train station, which allows you to take a high speed train to a variety of locations, or the metro to go to Amsterdam.

6 minutes by train from the airport.

A definite repeat.

On a side note, had a deposit taken off my card, and told it's a simple authorization - it was an actual charge. Almost a week since I asked for a refund, still haven't seen anything (and I'm a Priority Club member, so this is somewhat annoying). Still, will stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPSouth, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South, responded to this review, August 10, 2012
Dear valued guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to leave your review on Tripadvisor and for expressing your positive opinion about your experience with Crowne Plaza Amsterdam- South. We would be very happy to welcome you again in the very near future.

Regretfully we took notice of your comment about the credit card authorization. We apologise sincerely for the inconvenience this has caused.

In order for us to investigate your case and improve our service, we kindly ask for an opportunity to assist you in solving this matter.

Please contact the hotel at your earliest convenience by emailing your contact details to info.amspc@ihg.com or call the hotel front desk between office hours on +31(20)5043666 and ask for the finance department.

We would highly appreciate it to get in contact with you and assist you in this matter.

With kind regards,

Ingrid van Veen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw, Poland
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

What a hotel! Will give you a short description:

1. Location: easy access to/from Amsterdam South Station (trains and metro are available).Water, mint and lemon wait for all the thursty guests in the lobby.
2. Staff: smiling, helpful and absolutely professional.
3. Rooms: clean with fresh frangrance. Addings: a spray with relaxing scent that you can spread on your pillow just before you go to bed to sleep.
4. Bathroom: big, clean.

You can't hear anything from the outside so you relax and sleep time is effective.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPSouth, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South, responded to this review, August 15, 2012
Dear valued guest,

Thank you very much for your kind words. We really appreciate feedback from our guest and we feel flattered when someone takes the time to write down the experience of their stay in our hotel.

It especially delights me to see you appreciate the service experience and that you qualify our staff as helpful, professional and smiling. As Crowne Plaza Amsterdam-South we always aim to provide personalised and professional service to our guests. I will certainly refer your compliments to our staff.


We hope to welcome you again in our hotel in the near future and thank you again for your review.

With kind regards,

Ingrid van Veen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesapeake, Virginia
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
74 hotel reviews
Reviews in 71 cities Reviews in 71 cities
138 helpful votes 138 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012

Brand new hotel in the south of Amsterdam with an excellent location near the metro, train, tram and buses. Just 6 minutes and one stop from the airport, the hotel is located is in the new financial district where the new World Trade Center is built with a variety of cafes,and restaurants nearby. We arrived in the morning and did not find any problems checking in early. The front desk was lovely decorated with a stack of old suitcases, the staff was wonderful, extremely attentive and provided an outstanding service. The room was very comfy, excellent lightning options, very clean and soft bedding, many pillows and a lot of storage. Breakfast which was included, was very delicious with an egg station, fruits, pastries, many variety of cheese (of course you are in Holland), and some hot dishes. there an excellent gym with new equipments; they will have you sign a waiver though, in case something happened to you. Once it is signed they provided an energy drink and a protein bar, thing I found unique to this hotel. Overall if you are looking for a modern hotel in a quiet area away from the hassle and bustle of downtown area, I highly recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Amsterdam. By the way central station is only 15 min metro ride from the hotel.

Room Tip: Get the highest floor for a nice view of the city.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPSouth, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South, responded to this review, October 10, 2012
Dear valued guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write such a detailed review regarding your stay at the Crowne Plaza Amsterdam - South.

We were pleased to read your compliments about the interior of the hotel and the decoration of the room. Your kind words about the staff have been shared and were appreciated a lot.

Thank you also for positively mentioning our fitness package. As rejuvenation is an important theme within Crowne Plaza hotels, we are always searching for innovative ways to help our guests to regain energy and rejuvenate.

We sincerely hope to be your hotel of choice again if your travel plans bring you back to Amsterdam and thank you once again for your review.

With kind regards,

Ingrid van Veen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2012

The hotel looks great and has a refreshing design
Although his position may seem far but using highly available through transportation, it certainly makes the hotel attractive to tourists.
Of course the hotel is about 2 stops from the airport.
Level of cleanliness in the hotel are among the best among the other hotels.
Hotel staff very friendly and provides a solution at any time.
No doubt I'll be back again.

Room Tip: very quiet for those pepole who searching for relaxing after a busy day
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPSouth, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South, responded to this review, October 10, 2012
Dear valued guest,

Thank you very much for your review on Tripadvisor and for letting us know how you experienced the Crowne Plaza Amsterdam- South.

It was very pleasant to read your positive note about our rooms. As this is the area within the hotel where guests probably spend most of their time, the lay-out, ambience and equipment are all selected with care.

Thank you as well for your kind remark about our staff. We are highly motivated to assist guests where possible to make their journey a success.

Thank you once more for your review and we certainly hope to see you back again.

Ingrid van Veen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2012

I was working in the World Trade Centre and this hotel is within walking distance. Not only that, it is also only one stop on the very efficient Dutch rail network from Schipol airport. Very modern, smart and away from the hustle and bustle of Amsterdam, yet only a short train ride away. Big rooms, comfortable beds and pillows and a huge bathroom with a double shower. It was warm and sunny when I arrived and having a drink on the terrace overlooking some water (not a canal) was very pleasant. Only gripe was the Executive lounge, which had no atmosphere, limited selection of drinks and a minimal breakfast

Room Tip: Try for asuite
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPSouth, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South, responded to this review, October 10, 2012
Dear valued guest,

Thank you very much for your review on Tripadvisor and for letting us know how you perceived the Crowne Plaza Amsterdam- South.

As you mentioned, our location is especially very convenient for those working in the "Zuidas" area. After a long day of work, the excitement of Amsterdam is just a short tram ride away.

Regretfully we took notice of your comment about the Club Lounge. As we are always exploring ways to improve our service, we kindly ask you to share any suggestions or feedback you might have about the Club Lounge. Please contact the hotel by emailing your contact details to info.amspc@ihg.com. We would highly appreciate to get in contact with you.

We hope to welcome you again in our hotel in the near future and thank you again for your review.

Ingrid van Veen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2012

Spent many nights here since start of 2012. Every time the service was great. No bad room yet. It's almost everything you can expect from a business hotel. Its totally non smoking property which can be annoying for smokers as one is required to go completely outside.

Gym is a bit small though. Breakfast is full spread with an omelette counter. No complaints at all.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPSouth, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South, responded to this review, October 10, 2012
Dear valued guest,

Thank you very much for your review on Tripadvisor and for informing us about your stay at the Crowne Plaza Amsterdam- South.

We are very happy to read that you are one of our loyal guests and that you have experienced a consistent good service during each stay.

With regards to your remark about the fact that we are a completely non-smoking hotel, we do understand the inconvenience for smokers. But due to Dutch law regulations, smoking is prohibited in all public buildings, hospitality industry and work spaces.

We hope to welcome you again in our hotel in the near future and thank you again for your review.

Ingrid van Veen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South

Address: George Gershwinlaan 101, 1082 Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#7 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#12 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#13 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South 4*
Number of rooms: 207
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, Expedia, Venere, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.