We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South

Save Saved
You added Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   George Gershwinlaan 101, 1082 Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #17 of 345 Hotels in Amsterdam
Chesapeake, Virginia
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
73 hotel reviews
Reviews in 71 cities Reviews in 71 cities
138 helpful votes 138 helpful votes
“Outstanding hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012

Brand new hotel in the south of Amsterdam with an excellent location near the metro, train, tram and buses. Just 6 minutes and one stop from the airport, the hotel is located is in the new financial district where the new World Trade Center is built with a variety of cafes,and restaurants nearby. We arrived in the morning and did not find any problems checking in early. The front desk was lovely decorated with a stack of old suitcases, the staff was wonderful, extremely attentive and provided an outstanding service. The room was very comfy, excellent lightning options, very clean and soft bedding, many pillows and a lot of storage. Breakfast which was included, was very delicious with an egg station, fruits, pastries, many variety of cheese (of course you are in Holland), and some hot dishes. there an excellent gym with new equipments; they will have you sign a waiver though, in case something happened to you. Once it is signed they provided an energy drink and a protein bar, thing I found unique to this hotel. Overall if you are looking for a modern hotel in a quiet area away from the hassle and bustle of downtown area, I highly recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Amsterdam. By the way central station is only 15 min metro ride from the hotel.

Room Tip: Get the highest floor for a nice view of the city.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPSouth, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South, responded to this review, October 10, 2012
Dear valued guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write such a detailed review regarding your stay at the Crowne Plaza Amsterdam - South.

We were pleased to read your compliments about the interior of the hotel and the decoration of the room. Your kind words about the staff have been shared and were appreciated a lot.

Thank you also for positively mentioning our fitness package. As rejuvenation is an important theme within Crowne Plaza hotels, we are always searching for innovative ways to help our guests to regain energy and rejuvenate.

We sincerely hope to be your hotel of choice again if your travel plans bring you back to Amsterdam and thank you once again for your review.

With kind regards,

Ingrid van Veen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

458 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    304
    136
    13
    3
    2
See reviews for
36
141
21
168
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tel Aviv, Israel
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2012

The hotel looks great and has a refreshing design
Although his position may seem far but using highly available through transportation, it certainly makes the hotel attractive to tourists.
Of course the hotel is about 2 stops from the airport.
Level of cleanliness in the hotel are among the best among the other hotels.
Hotel staff very friendly and provides a solution at any time.
No doubt I'll be back again.

Room Tip: very quiet for those pepole who searching for relaxing after a busy day
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPSouth, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South, responded to this review, October 10, 2012
Dear valued guest,

Thank you very much for your review on Tripadvisor and for letting us know how you experienced the Crowne Plaza Amsterdam- South.

It was very pleasant to read your positive note about our rooms. As this is the area within the hotel where guests probably spend most of their time, the lay-out, ambience and equipment are all selected with care.

Thank you as well for your kind remark about our staff. We are highly motivated to assist guests where possible to make their journey a success.

Thank you once more for your review and we certainly hope to see you back again.

Ingrid van Veen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2012

I was working in the World Trade Centre and this hotel is within walking distance. Not only that, it is also only one stop on the very efficient Dutch rail network from Schipol airport. Very modern, smart and away from the hustle and bustle of Amsterdam, yet only a short train ride away. Big rooms, comfortable beds and pillows and a huge bathroom with a double shower. It was warm and sunny when I arrived and having a drink on the terrace overlooking some water (not a canal) was very pleasant. Only gripe was the Executive lounge, which had no atmosphere, limited selection of drinks and a minimal breakfast

Room Tip: Try for asuite
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPSouth, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South, responded to this review, October 10, 2012
Dear valued guest,

Thank you very much for your review on Tripadvisor and for letting us know how you perceived the Crowne Plaza Amsterdam- South.

As you mentioned, our location is especially very convenient for those working in the "Zuidas" area. After a long day of work, the excitement of Amsterdam is just a short tram ride away.

Regretfully we took notice of your comment about the Club Lounge. As we are always exploring ways to improve our service, we kindly ask you to share any suggestions or feedback you might have about the Club Lounge. Please contact the hotel by emailing your contact details to info.amspc@ihg.com. We would highly appreciate to get in contact with you.

We hope to welcome you again in our hotel in the near future and thank you again for your review.

Ingrid van Veen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2012

Spent many nights here since start of 2012. Every time the service was great. No bad room yet. It's almost everything you can expect from a business hotel. Its totally non smoking property which can be annoying for smokers as one is required to go completely outside.

Gym is a bit small though. Breakfast is full spread with an omelette counter. No complaints at all.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPSouth, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South, responded to this review, October 10, 2012
Dear valued guest,

Thank you very much for your review on Tripadvisor and for informing us about your stay at the Crowne Plaza Amsterdam- South.

We are very happy to read that you are one of our loyal guests and that you have experienced a consistent good service during each stay.

With regards to your remark about the fact that we are a completely non-smoking hotel, we do understand the inconvenience for smokers. But due to Dutch law regulations, smoking is prohibited in all public buildings, hospitality industry and work spaces.

We hope to welcome you again in our hotel in the near future and thank you again for your review.

Ingrid van Veen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

This was just an exceptional hotel for the price. The hotel rooms were very spacious and comfortable. I stayed there for 3 nights and loved it. The hotel is about a 15 minute metro ride from the center of the city and the Zuid station is right next to the hotel. I recommend this netherland site in English for your metro schedule times(http://9292.nl/en/) which was very helpful. There is really nothing much around the hotel to eat except some stuff at the Zuid station(wagamama, burger king). I paid about $110/night at this hotel which I thought was a great deal. Even though this hotel was a little faraway from the action I preferred coming back to a nicer, quieter, more comfortable room. Overall, great value and service! Would highly recommend this place!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPSouth, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South, responded to this review, October 10, 2012
Dear valued guest,

Thank you very much for your review on Tripadvisor and for letting us know how you perceived the Crowne Plaza Amsterdam- South.

We are very pleased to read that you found the service that we provided great and that you would recommend us. Great as well that our location outside the busy centre of Amsterdam worked well for you and that you enjoyed the quietness.

We hope to welcome you again in our hotel in the near future and thank you again for your review.

Ingrid van Veen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tienen, Brabant, Belgium
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

Beautiful rooms, well kept and modern. The staff were very professional and pleasant, going out of their way to accommodate requests. I'll definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPSouth, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South, responded to this review, October 10, 2012
Dear valued guest,

Thank you very much for your review on Tripadvisor and for letting us know how you perceived staying in Crowne Plaza Amsterdam- South.

Thank you as well for your wonderful comment about our team. We shared your comment with our staff and it highly motivated them to continue to focus on delivering the best possible service to our guests.

We would be very happy to welcome you again in our hotel in the near future and thank you again for your review.

Ingrid van Veen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2012

Excellent hotel, 5/5 . Wonderfull staff, amazing rooms, very modern and clean. Large bathrooms, very good housekeeping services. Digital safebox, iron & iron board are available in the rooms.
Metro, tram & train station at 2 minutes walking with easy accessibility

I recommend the hotel and i would return back for sure

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPSouth, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South, responded to this review, October 9, 2012
Dear valued guest,

Thank you very much for your review on Tripadvisor and for letting us know how you experienced the Crowne Plaza Amsterdam- South.

We are exited that you enjoyed our facilities and honoured that you would recommend our hotel! We have proudly shared your comment within our team as comments like these stimulate us to continue to strive to make successful stays for our guests possible.

We hope to welcome you again in our hotel in the near future and thank you again for your review.

Ingrid van Veen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South

Address: George Gershwinlaan 101, 1082 Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#7 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#12 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#13 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Tingo, Expedia, getaroom.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Otel so you can book your Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.