We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous stay in an excellent hotel with very easy access to the city centre” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South

Save Saved
You added Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South to your Saves list
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   George Gershwinlaan 101, 1082 Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #21 of 343 hotels in Amsterdam
Amsterdam
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Fabulous stay in an excellent hotel with very easy access to the city centre”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2012

This hotel is one to remember, with beautiful and spacious rooms, very friendly staff and with extremely easy access to the city centre. Value for money!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPSouth, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South, responded to this review, October 9, 2012
Dear valued guest,

Thank you very much for your review on Tripadvisor and for letting us know how you perceived the Crowne Plaza Amsterdam- South.

We were extremely exited to read that you had a fabulous stay in our hotel and that our staff and facilities contributed to a positive and memorable image of our hotel.

We definitely hope that you will choose to stay with us again when you visit Amsterdam in the future and thank you again for your review.

Ingrid van Veen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

413 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    270
    125
    13
    3
    2
See reviews for
35
121
18
160
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hilo, Hawaii
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012

I've visited Amsterdam before and always stayed in the city center, but no more! This was quiet, with all mod-cons and wonderful, courteous staff. The fact that it is just a couple of blocks from the Amsterdam South station -- convenient to buses, trains, trams, and metro -- makes it easy to get to anyplace in the greater Amsterdam area quickly. It's just one train stop from Schiphol airport.

I bought a four-day pass on the public transit system and was able to make easy rest stops at the hotel in the middle of the day. As a bonus, the hotel is just two tram stops from the Amsterdam Bos, the huge park that lies between Schiphol and the town.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPSouth, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South, responded to this review, October 9, 2012
Dear valued guest,

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave a review on Tripadvisor following your stay in the Crowne Plaza Amsterdam- South.

We are very happy that our location worked well for you and that you discovered the many advantages of staying at the “Zuidas”. Did you know the Amsterdamse Bos is six times as large as Central Park in New York and that on a yearly basis 6 million people come to the park to relax, exercise or visit an event?

But also the famous Vondelpark can easily be reached by tram or one of our rental bikes; this is another place in Amsterdam that is definitely worth a visit.

Thank you again for your review and we hope to see you back soon as our guest.

Ingrid van Veen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
123 reviews 123 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

My wife was staying here for a couple of weeks and I joined her for the weekend. A standard room, but really nice. Although the area is a business area, it was nice and tranquil over the weekend: and it does not take long to get into town, so you have the best of both worlds. Staff very friendly.

The hotel has bikes for hire and while they are more expensive than renting them in town, it's a lot less hassle and you will save a few euros not having to use the metro/tram. If they have run out, a 20 minute walk to Europaplein and there are some bike shops on Scheldestraat that hire.

Why not 5 stars? Breakfast is NOT value for money in fact very expensive and very poor. I did find the room quite hot and the aircon not overly effective - but that is european hotels for you!

A short (7 minute) train ride to Schiphol airport - much quicker than waiting for a transfer to the airport hotels.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPSouth, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South, responded to this review, October 9, 2012
Dear valued guest,

Thank you very much for your review on Tripadvisor and for letting us know how you experienced staying at the Crowne Plaza Amsterdam- South.

Despite our location outside the centre of Amsterdam, the nearby presence of Station Amsterdam Zuid enables our guests to combine work in the Zuidas area with leisure activities in the downtown Amsterdam area, which can be reached within 20 minutes. It is fantastic to read that you were able to benefit from our location.

Regretfully we took notice of your comment about the breakfast and the air-conditioning. We apologise sincerely for the inconvenience this has caused. Should you be willing to share any recommendations regarding the breakfast with us, please send them to info.amspc@ihg.com for the attention of the F&B Manager. We are more than happy to consider your suggestions and would appreciate to receive them.

We very much hope to welcome you again in our hotel in the near future and thank you again for your review and feedback.

With kind regards,

Ingrid van Veen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

The rooms are very comfortable, I just loved the bed, it was so comfortable. The dressing gown on the bed and the "It Works" sleep kit with spray for the pillow and rub for your pulses to help you sleep are lovely touches. Will be going out to buy the spray - not sure if they sell it in the hotel, will check the next time I am there!

The weather was lovely and we ate outside on the terrace which is a nice area to dine or have a few drinks in good weather. The breakfast was very good and the service from dining and bar staff was excellent. There is not a huge amount to do around the area however only a 3 min walk from train station and they rent out bikes in the hotel. This is a good location if you are travelling to Amsterdam centre or Amstelveen on business.

I travelled here on business with a colleague, our company paid in advance for both rooms with breakfast, there was a little confusion around this on check-in which was sorted relatively quickly however the same confusion occurred on check-out which I thought was a let down on the customer service side of things. This is the only reason why it gets a 4 rating instead of 5.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPSouth, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South, responded to this review, December 11, 2012
Dear valued guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write such a detailed review regarding your stay at the Crowne Plaza Amsterdam - South.

We enjoyed your review about our hotel. It was especially nice to read that you found our rooms very comfortable and that you loved the bed. The bed is part of the Crowne Plaza Sleep Advantage programme featuring quiet zones, plump soft pillows, luxurious duvets, deeply indulgent mattress toppers, sleeping tips and aroma therapy. Items that are part of the programme are available for purchase online at www.crowneplaza.hotelsathome.com

In addition we appreciate the fact that you pointed out a development area to us as well. This enables us to critically review our procedures in order to continue to strive to deliver seamless service.

We hope to welcome you again in our hotel in the near future and thank you again for your review.

With kind regards,

Ingrid van Veen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liberia, Costa Rica
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012

We arrived early A.M. from America and the staff was expecting our early arrival and we were able to get into our room right away. This hotel was the perfect hotel for us. We wanted to enjoy Amsterdam, but not be in the middle of the city. Taxi's were easily accessible as was the tram which was a short walk. The hotel is new and beautiful. The rooms were very modern and a nice size for two people with a weeks worth of luggage. What really made this a perfect vacation was the staff, all of which were friendly, helpful, and went out of their way to make us feel at home. We loved the brick patio which was on a small canal, with sunbrella's and modern furniture. The perfect place for a cup of coffee, or a cocktail. The restaurant was also very good.

Our room was extremely comfortable and it was very quiet at night allowing for a great night's sleep. Complimentary coffee and tea was in the room as was a mini bar if you wanted to purchase a soda or liquor. Flat screen TV with a lot of channels, and a very nice modern bathroom with beautiful glass tile and stone. Themed with soft grey walls and a high red headboard with black and white prints on the wall, the decor was sophisticated and pleasing.

Forget business! We chose this hotel for our vacation and were very happy with our choice. I can't thank the staff enough for a memorable week in the Netherlands!

Room Tip: This hotel has views of the office buildings on one side, and the small canal and residential on the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPSouth, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South, responded to this review, October 9, 2012
Dear valued guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write such a detailed review regarding your stay at the Crowne Plaza Amsterdam - South.

We are very happy that there was an option to offer you an early check-in. It is always our pleasure to offer this service upon availability, especially to guests like you that travelled long. Great as well that you enjoyed a great vacation in Amsterdam and that our hotel and its facilities could contribute to that. Moreover we are pleased that our staff were able to make you feel at home and to make your trip a success.

Thank you once again for your review and we hope to be your hotel of choice in the near future when your travel plans bring you back to Amsterdam.

With kind regards,

Ingrid van Veen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South

Address: George Gershwinlaan 101, 1082 Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#8 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#14 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#16 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, IHG, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Tingo, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda, Otel and Venere so you can book your Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;