We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Wonderful Choice For Our 8 Day Stay in Amsterdam!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South

Save Saved
You added Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   George Gershwinlaan 101, 1082 Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #20 of 345 hotels in Amsterdam
Liberia, Costa Rica
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“A Wonderful Choice For Our 8 Day Stay in Amsterdam!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012

We arrived early A.M. from America and the staff was expecting our early arrival and we were able to get into our room right away. This hotel was the perfect hotel for us. We wanted to enjoy Amsterdam, but not be in the middle of the city. Taxi's were easily accessible as was the tram which was a short walk. The hotel is new and beautiful. The rooms were very modern and a nice size for two people with a weeks worth of luggage. What really made this a perfect vacation was the staff, all of which were friendly, helpful, and went out of their way to make us feel at home. We loved the brick patio which was on a small canal, with sunbrella's and modern furniture. The perfect place for a cup of coffee, or a cocktail. The restaurant was also very good.

Our room was extremely comfortable and it was very quiet at night allowing for a great night's sleep. Complimentary coffee and tea was in the room as was a mini bar if you wanted to purchase a soda or liquor. Flat screen TV with a lot of channels, and a very nice modern bathroom with beautiful glass tile and stone. Themed with soft grey walls and a high red headboard with black and white prints on the wall, the decor was sophisticated and pleasing.

Forget business! We chose this hotel for our vacation and were very happy with our choice. I can't thank the staff enough for a memorable week in the Netherlands!

Room Tip: This hotel has views of the office buildings on one side, and the small canal and residential on the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPSouth, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South, responded to this review, October 9, 2012
Dear valued guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write such a detailed review regarding your stay at the Crowne Plaza Amsterdam - South.

We are very happy that there was an option to offer you an early check-in. It is always our pleasure to offer this service upon availability, especially to guests like you that travelled long. Great as well that you enjoyed a great vacation in Amsterdam and that our hotel and its facilities could contribute to that. Moreover we are pleased that our staff were able to make you feel at home and to make your trip a success.

Thank you once again for your review and we hope to be your hotel of choice in the near future when your travel plans bring you back to Amsterdam.

With kind regards,

Ingrid van Veen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

433 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    286
    129
    13
    3
    2
See reviews for
36
128
19
164
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2012

Stayed at the Plaza for a weekend. Was under the impression it was near the Amsterdam Central station. very clean,smart, business hotel with amazing staff, namely Ms Ilona Suurs who assisted me in a slight health emergency. Easily acccesible to all transport and will highly recommend it especially as it is the financial district. Service and food was excellent.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPSouth, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South, responded to this review, August 24, 2012
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for writing a review regarding your recent stay at the Crowne Plaza Amsterdam- South.

Despite our location outside the centre of Amsterdam, the nearby presence of Station Amsterdam Zuid enables our guests to combine work in the Zuidas area with leisure activities in the downtown Amsterdam area, which can be reached within 20 minutes. It is fantastic that you were able to benefit from our location and will recommend the hotel.

Moreover it was great to read that one of our employees was able to assist you when needed which made you qualify her and the other staffmembers as amazing.

We hope to welcome you again in our hotel in the near future and thank you again for your review.

With kind regards,

Ingrid van Veen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2012

I booked this hotel through lastminute.com as a "Top Secret Hotel". I asked for a hotel 15minutes walk maximum from Centraal Station. This is what they gave me...

It is located in a business district of Amsterdam, about 20minutes by tram or metro from the Centraal Station to Zuid Station (closest station to the hotel). It is also one train stop from Shiphol Airport (main Airport). Its about 5-10min walk from the Zuid Station to the hotel itself.

On the outside the hotel doesn't look like much, but then again neither do many European hotels. The interior of the hotel is quite stunning! The rooms are very modern and definitely of the highest standard. The hotel doesn't have a pool but it has a small gym (which I didn't see).

The staff MAKE this hotel. They went above and beyond what most 5 star hotel staff would do (and this is 4 stars). They were very nice, very patient and helpful. Where the hotel lacks, is its area. Staying at this hotel on a weekend is like a ghost town. The entire area is closed Saturday and Sunday so you will be forced to either stay in the hotel or venture into Down town Amsterdam (again only 15-20mins away by tram/metro). During the week it is slightly more bearable, but again there is nothing in the area other then large business' and cafes.

NOTE that Trams and Metro stop operating at 1am, so if you plan on having a night out in Amsterdam, you will need to pay for a Taxi home (unless someone can prove otherwise?)

I stayed there for 2 nights at the end of an Amsterdam "bender". I was a little frustrated when I turned up at 11am and was told my room wasn't ready, even though the hotel was empty. I had to wait until 3pm. I couldn't get angry because the reception was just too nice and polite.

WiFi isn't free (initially) and that really annoys me. I think it should be a standard feature in any modern hotel, like free bath towels, or new bed sheets, TV, etc. I don't see the need to charge people to use the WiFi, I really don't...

Overall, I enjoyed relaxing in my room watching UK/Euro TV, but was annoyed at the effort of having to travel into central Amsterdam to eat most of the time.

Regardless of the flawless service I would only really recommend this hotel for a business visit (do you have some kind of business to conduct in the area?) or if you have some kind of deal/offer to stay. Simply because it is in the middle of no where.

Sign up with their hotel membership and you get free late checkout, free WiFi and free daily newspaper.

I would give this hotel 5/5 if it was in a better location. Obviously that can't be changed now - BUT there is another Crowne Plaza in the city centre and I wonder if it would be just as good? who knows.

+
Service/Staff are perfect. no question there.
Room was immaculate.

+
Pricey Food/Drinks
Location can be poor, depending on your attitude.
No free WiFi

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPSouth, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South, responded to this review, July 30, 2012
Dear valued guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write such a detailed review regarding your stay at the Crowne Plaza Amsterdam - South.

As you mentioned the hotel is set in a major new development area in Amsterdam: the Zuidas Amsterdam and is therefore mostly used by business guests visiting one of the many nearby offices. The location is unique as Amsterdam Schiphol International Airport, the RAI Convention Center and the city centre are only a few minutes away by public transport. Especially during the week it is a very lively area with quite some nice places to have lunch, dinner or a drink after work. The nearby located “Gelderlandplein” offers a wide selection of shops. These features make the Crowne Plaza Amsterdam- South one of the best situated hotels in Amsterdam for all guests, whether for business or pleasure. Perhaps you will be able to experience some of these features during an upcoming stay in Amsterdam. Our Front Desk staff is always more than willing to share their knowledge about things to do and see in the area.

Thank you for complimenting the interior of the hotel and the friendliness of our staff. We are sorry that there was no option to offer you an early check-in. Please be aware that our Front Desk staff will always do their utmost to enable early check-in but that high occupancy or unavailability of the booked room type at the moment of check-in do not enable that.

However it is great that you joined IHG Priority Club Rewards, the world’s largest hotel loyalty programme and were already able to experience some of the many benefits of the programme.

We hope to see you again in our hotel in the near future and thank you again for your review.

With kind regards,

Ingrid van Veen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2012

Stayed at this new hotel in June 2012 for a girls weekend away. Hotel is very new and fresh feeling, with all the reception area very clean and modern. The rooms are fabulous... spacious and stylish with fantastic rainforest showers!
The service was second to none, with a very warm, helpful welcome from reception staff. They also went above and beyond with helping us when a taxi driver tried to rip us off, and sorted the whole situation out. There are slippers and bathrobes in all rooms, and the mini bar is very reasonable also.
The only downside was the location, slightly too far from the centre for a city break. However we got the hotel for an unbelievable price on lastminute.com (£390 for 5 people for 2nights!!) and so didnt mind spending an extra bit of cash on taxis etc. I would definately recommend this hotel, especially if you get a good deal!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPSouth, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South, responded to this review, July 26, 2012
Dear valued guest,

Thank you very much for having chosen the Crowne Plaza Amsterdam- South for your recent stay in Amsterdam and for sharing your experience through a Tripadvisor review.

It is a great pleasure to read that the style and decoration of our product and facilities appealed to you. Moreover we are happy that you experienced a seamless and hospitable service delivered by our staff.

It is a pity that our slightly remote location did not work so well for you despite the presence of the nearby located Amsterdam- Zuid station with its public transport options to downtown Amsterdam.

Thank you as well for recommending us and we hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you soon again in our hotel.

With kind regards,

Ingrid van Veen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
64 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
122 helpful votes 122 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2012

New Crowne Plaza hotel in Amsterdam´s business district. It´s easy to reach downtown Amsterdam by public transport. The lobby, bar and restaurant are very stylish and all the staff I met during my stay were very friendly and greeted me everywhere.
The room was cosy, clean and comfortable. There was no noise from outside or from the corridor outside. I slept very well and would highly recommend this hotel for both business and leisure travellers.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPSouth, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South, responded to this review, July 26, 2012
Dear valued guest,

Thank you so much for writing a review on Tripadvisor regarding your stay in the Crowne Plaza Amsterdam- South.

It was very rewarding to read that you liked the style of the hotel and that you had a good night’s sleep in one of our comfortable rooms. All Crowne Plaza hotels offer the Sleep Advantage programme which includes: upgraded bedding for a great night’s sleep, a range of complimentary extras including aromatherapy products to improve your sleep experience, dedicated quiet zones and guaranteed wake-up calls.

But more important than offering a new and well equipped product we are happy that our staff made a good impression by assisting and acknowledging you in a memorable way.

Thank you as well for recommending us to other travellers. We certainly hope to be your hotel of choice during your next visit to Amsterdam.

With kind regards,

Ingrid van Veen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2012

This is a great addition to the Crowne Plaza family and I will give this Hotel my greatest recomendations. Stayed here for one night before a weekend in Amsterdam, due to all hotels in the city were full. Got upgraded to a jr suite as a Priority Club Platinum member, free internet and a lovely chocolate bar in my room. Had dinner in the bar and food was excellent...service great and a lovely atmosphere and menu priced very well! Was concerned about the location, but its 10 min from the airport and another 10 into the city centre with metro and train station 2 min walk from the hotel.To be honest it would have been easier staying here all weekend as the hotel we had in the city was a good 15 min walk...and not as great as this one...the only thing i would comment on was breakfast, as i came down 40 min before closing it seemed like they didnt top up any of the food, but all the plusses takes out the tiniest minus. I will defiantly be staying here on my next visit to Amsterdam.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPSouth, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South, responded to this review, July 26, 2012
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experiences following your recent stay at the Crowne Plaza Amsterdam- South with us.

Being a Priority Club member and loyal Crowne Plaza guest, enables you to compare the various Crowne Plaza hotels in a critical manner and recommending us with so many positive words is therefore very gratifying to us. We are very pleased that both our product as service were at your satisfaction.

Thank you also for your comment about the breakfast. It is our commitment to offer all of our guests a fully equipped breakfast buffet at any time during the opening hours of the breakfast. We sincerely apologize for not meeting this standard during your last visit. Thank you again for bringing this to our attention and giving us the opportunity to improve this point.

We very much look forward to welcoming you again in the Crowne Plaza Amsterdam- South upon your next visit to Amsterdam.

With kind regards,

Ingrid van Veen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South

Address: George Gershwinlaan 101, 1082 Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#7 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#13 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#14 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, IHG, Agoda, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Tingo, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel and Priceline so you can book your Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.