We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Zuid be silly not to stay there!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South

Save Saved
You added Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   George Gershwinlaan 101, 1082 Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #22 of 343 hotels in Amsterdam
Watford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Zuid be silly not to stay there!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2012

This hotel is located in the "financial district" of Amsterdam. If you are sightseeing and visiting the city for a few days and looking to be in amongst the hustle and bustle of the city centre... it is probably not the hotel for you. However, having said that... it is quick and easy to get into central Amsterdam using theTram (literally a 5 min walk from the hotel). Zuid train station is also located 2 min walk from the hotel!

We went over the weekend- it was quiet, we got a ridiculously good rate and the fact that it wasn't near the hustle and bustle worked for us!

The hotel itself was impeccable. Clean, modern, all the mod cons and of a very high standard.
Staff were welcoming, friendly and professional (you can tell they deal with "suits" all week).

All in all a great hotel... highly recommended we will definitely book again if going back to Amsterdam!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPSouth, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South, responded to this review, July 26, 2012
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for posting your review regarding your recent stay at the Crowne Plaza Amsterdam- South on Tripadvisor. We are extremely pleased to read that your experience with our hotel was positive.

Your comments regarding our friendly and professional staff and the reasonable price are highly appreciated. It was especially great to read that our quiet location in the business district worked so well for you.

As you mentioned our quiet location outside the city centre has definitely its advantages for leisure guests, being only a short distance away from the train station Amsterdam- Zuid with transportation options to reach Schiphol Airport within 10 minutes and the city centre of Amsterdam within 20 minutes.

Thank you again for your kind words and we sincerely hope to have the pleasure of being your hotel of choice during your next visit to Amsterdam.

With kind regards,

Ingrid van Veen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

408 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    264
    126
    13
    3
    2
See reviews for
33
119
18
160
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Weybridge, Surrey
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
71 hotel reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
164 helpful votes 164 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2012

The Crowne Plaza Amsterdam has opened relatively recently and has a bright, modern feel to it from the moment you enter the lobby to the public areas and in the rooms as well.

It is located close to Amsterdam Zuid station which is one train stop from Schipol Airport. The train ticket from the airport is 2.5 euros. It is also close to the ring road so easy to access by car. There is an underground car park, which also makes it easy for those driving.

Whilst it has a bar and restaurant there are also a number of restaurants close by to the station, so there is a good range of places to eat at reasonable prices.

Amsterdam Zuid does not fit the image that most tourists have of Amsterdam. It is a modern, business district. That said the price of the hotel is considerably cheaper than those in Central Amsterdam and it is a short metro ride away from the centre, so for those looking for a lower cost way of staying in Amsterdam then this is a good option.

The bedroom I stayed in on the fifth floor was a good size, had good lighting and had a bathroom with a combined bath/shower where the bath was actually big enough to bathe in (unlike many hotel where the bath is notional).

There were a number of nice touches in the bedroom. On entering the bathrobe and slippers were presented on the bed in a welcoming way. There is an emphasis on having a good night's sleep, so not only do they not allow room cleaning to take place during hours when you could be sleeping (up to 10am for those wanting a lie-in), they also guarantee that if your wake-up call is not made within five minutes of the time you requested then they will pay for your night's stay. The wake up call is also not done by a machine but by a real person. They also provide two types of aromatherapy to help you have a good night's sleep - one for the pillow and one for the wrists. This is a nice touch given the importance of a good night's sleep particularly for business people.

The bed was comfortable and the room temperature was excellent.

Breakfast is served in a bright and airy restaurant. This is a very much a continental breakfast in that there is not cooked breakfast available, but there is a good range of yoghurt, cereal, pastries and cheese.

For a business trip or a lower cost city break then this is a good value for money hotel.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South, responded to this review, July 12, 2012
Dear valued guest,

Thank you very much for writing such a positive and extensive review regarding your stay in the Crowne Plaza Amsterdam- South, covering all facets of the hotel and promoting its environment. We are confident that potential guests will benefit from the information that you have shared with them through Tripadvisor.

We were happy to read that you enjoyed a good night’s sleep at our hotel. Crowne Plaza has worked together with a sleep doctor and founder of the British Sleep Society, Dr. Chris Idzikowski, to improve the sleep experience at Crowne Plaza hotels to ensure guests get a great night’s sleep. This Sleep Advantage program features Quiet Zones (our fifth floor), plump soft pillows, luxurious duvets, deeply indulgent mattress toppers, sleeping tips and aroma therapy. We are happy that you were able to enjoy this and the other features of the room.

Regarding your feedback about the breakfast, we would like to bring to your attention that besides for the items you already mentioned, we do offer cooked items at our American breakfast buffet at one o one restaurant. We are more than happy to show them to you during your next stay.

Thank you again for expressing your satisfaction and we certainly look forward to have the opportunity to welcome you back as our guest in the near future.

With kind regards,

Ingrid van Veen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw, Poland
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2012

It is a truly great hotel (but beware: it's pricy!). The location is great even for tourist (close to the metro and tram 5 and one station away from Schiphol). But I would say the most of the guests are businessmen, because the proximity to Amsterdam Zuid business district and Amsterdam RAI exhibition grounds.

The rooms are big and modern, the hotel and surroundings are clean, the breakfast is very good. And there is an impressive atrium :)

Oh yes - the staff. I wish all hotels would have staff like there.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South, responded to this review, July 12, 2012
Dear valued guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to post your positive review regarding your stay at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam-South. We are delighted to read that you overall considered our hotel to be “Superb”.

Even though it seems as if the Amsterdam- Zuid area is dominated by businessmen, our location outside the busy city centre combined with the many public transportation options nearby, are definitely a reason why the Crowne Plaza Amsterdam- South is attracting guests for a leisure stay in Amsterdam as well.

It is fantastic to read that our staff made such a good impression and we are proud that they add so much value to our product.

Again we greatly appreciate your review and sincerely hope to have the pleasure to have you as our guest in the very near future.

With kind regards,

Ingrid van Veen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2012

This hotel is conveniently located a few minutes walk from Amsterdam Zuid station. The area is fairly nice, but there is not a lot happening. There are a number of small shops/kiosks at the Zuid station where you can grab a bite to eat. It is not far to the RAI conference centre: you could walk (~30 minutes) or shorten the trip by catching the train or metro one station.

The hotel itself is very nicely set up and the service very good. My room was quiet and the curtains could make the room more or less dark, even at day time. Breakfast was extra (17.50€) and was, for the most part, good quality. A couple of negatives at breakfast: i steered away from the scrambled eggs because it was the kind made out of some kind of egg powder mixed with whatever kind of fluid they mix it with and then headed up for it to congeal. In any case, you can taste the difference between "real" scrambled eggs and the fake stuff. But.. not a biggy.

The hotel had a small fitness studio, which was nice. The sparkling water in the fridge of the fitness studio was a nice touch.

Only main downside here: the staff don't seem to understand the phrase "do not disturb". I had it hanging on my door, but nonetheless they knocked, and when I didn't answer, tried to come into the room. After the first day I put the door-lock thingy on so they got the message.

Another amusing thing: when there was a fire drill, the mostly polish cleaning staff - who didn't speak any of the languages the evacuation order was given in (dutch, french, spanish, english, german) - kept on merilly cleaning whilst sirens were blaring! Maybe that is why hotel staff try to enter the room despite the "do not disturb" sign: maybe they don't understand it.

Joining up in their awards program meant that I had free internet and a free newspaper every morning.

Overall: if you're work is paying for it, this hotel is definitely a good place to be. If you are paying your own way, the 217.50€ per night including breakfast (and that was a "reduced rate") is a little steep. You may be able to get better value elsewhere, though your hotel and its district probably won't look like a mini-version of Manhattan. I'd recommend the hotel to a friend though.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South, responded to this review, July 12, 2012
Dear valued guest,

Thank you very much for writing such an elaborate review regarding your stay in the Crowne Plaza Amsterdam- South. As much as we appreciate positive feedback of our guests, we definitely also value you for pointing out areas in which we still have room for improvement.

As you mentioned the hotel is located in the southern business district of Amsterdam and is therefore mostly used by business guests visiting one of the many nearby offices or the RAI Convention Center. During the week it therefore is a very lively area with many nice places to have lunch or a drink after work. The nearby located “Gelderlandplein” offers a wide selection of shops and should you prefer the many entertainment options of downtown Amsterdam, the tram will bring you there within 20 minutes from railway station Amsterdam- Zuid.

We are happy that you are positive about the hotel and service but did notice your remark regarding the eggs at breakfast. You correctly mentioned that we do not use fresh eggs for the scrambled eggs on our buffet. We do use a high quality liquid egg product, which is made from fresh eggs and is treated with a pasteurisation process to eliminate the salmonella virus and to ensure the wellbeing of our guests. We do offer a large variety of eggs that are freshly prepared upon your preference at our egg-station.

Your remark regarding the ignoring of the “do not disturb sign” has been discussed with all relevant staff members to ensure that our guests can enjoy the rest they need. May I point out that we have a quiet zone available for our guests that require a room in a silent area; this can be requested upon check-in.

Also the observations regarding the reaction of the Housekeeping staff on the fire alarm are taken very seriously as we aim for our staff to project a professional image and to be aware of the procedures in case of emergency.

Thank you for becoming a Priority Club Rewards member. As a member you are eligible for many exclusive offers so please consult the website www.priorityclub.com for more detailed information.

We appreciate you for sharing your feedback on Tripadvisor and hope to see you back soon in the Crowne Plaza Amsterdam- South.

With kind regards,

Ingrid van Veen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2012

We recently stayed at this hotel for a few nights and thought that the service was incredible. The hotel is in a great location. It was only a 15 minute metro ride to the downtown area, and was also close to the airport. The rooms were great and the staff were amazing. I would definitely would recommend this hotel to those looking for a memorable stay.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South, responded to this review, July 11, 2012
Dear valued guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to post your review regarding your stay at the Crowne Plaza Amsterdam- South. We are extremely pleased to read that your experience with our hotel was such a positive one.

Your comments regarding our great rooms and amazing staff are highly appreciated. It was especially great to read that you would recommend our hotel for a memorable stay. We are extremely grateful to receive that kind of affirmation of our guests.

As you mentioned our location is indeed very conveniently located in order to reach both Schiphol Airport and the city centre of Amsterdam within a short amount of time.

Thank you again for your kind words and we sincerely hope to have the pleasure of being your hotel of choice during your next visit to Amsterdam.

With kind regards,

Ingrid van Veen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
116 helpful votes 116 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2012

Just cant say enough about this jewel one and a half block from Station Amsterdam Zuid. Onveniently located within train station, metro station and tram lines. Only one train stop to/from Schipol airport. Beautiful rooms, comfortable beds Manhattan bar rocks and staff cant do enough for you. A truly excellent hotel!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South, responded to this review, July 11, 2012
Dear valued guest,

Thank you very much for posting such a positive and rewarding review regarding your stay in the Crowne Plaza Amsterdam- South.

As any hotel we always strive to exceed our guest’s expectations by delivering the best possible service and keeping our product in optimal shape. Being valued with an “excellent” rating only confirms this aim and motivates us to aim even higher to excel our guest’s satisfaction.

We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again in the very near future when your travelling brings you back to Amsterdam.

With kind regards,

Ingrid van Veen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Al Muharraq, Bahrain
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2012 via mobile

Stayed at the hotel for 4 days, it's clean with rooms almost brand new. Location is good, close to the metro and a shopping mall. Breakfast buffet is good. Would recommend others.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South, responded to this review, July 5, 2012
Dear valued guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to post your review regarding your recent stay at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam- South. We are pleased to read that your experience with our hotel was a positive one.

Your comment regarding the cleanliness of our rooms is very much appreciated and we are happy that you were able to enjoy our extensive breakfast buffet as a good start of your day.

With our location in the centre of the Amsterdam- Zuid business area and just minutes away from both Schiphol International Airport as the RAI Convention Centre, the Crowne Plaza Amsterdam- South is ideally situated to suit your business needs.

Thank you again for your post on Tripadvisor and we hope to have the opportunity of being your hotel of choice during your next visit to Amsterdam.

With kind regards,

Ingrid van Veen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South

Address: George Gershwinlaan 101, 1082 Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#8 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#14 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#20 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, IHG, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Tingo, Venere, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.