We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South

Save Saved
You added Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   George Gershwinlaan 101, 1082 Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #20 of 345 hotels in Amsterdam
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Amazing Staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012 via mobile

Stayed in March for my husbands birthday, I mentioned this at time of booking and when we checked in we where upgraded to a suite! We ate room service at different times of the day and each time it was fantastic! Thank you to all your amazing staff for really spoiling us!

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPSouth, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South, responded to this review, June 20, 2012
Dear valued guest,

Thank you very much for sharing your positive feedback regarding your stay at the Crowne Plaza Amsterdam-South with us.

Your remarks regarding our staff and the room service are highly appreciated by the entire team. It was our pleasure to assist in making your special occasion even more memorable.

We sincerely appreciate the time you have taken to express your satisfaction and we certainly hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back as our guests in the near future.

With kind regards,

Ingrid van Veen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

443 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    294
    131
    13
    3
    2
See reviews for
36
133
20
166
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Derby
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2012

Me and my partner visited Amsterdam for the first time and stayed at the Crown Plaza South. We both had a very pleasent stay and the staff was outstanding. The hotel atmosphere was very peaceful and fresh.

The gentleman on reception was very welcoming and printed off the transportation information to city centre. The room was lovely, the added amenities in the room such as the lavender linen spray, complimentary spring water, slippers and robe was a nice touch. The bed was so comfortable and felt very rested. Breakfast at the One o One Restaurant was very delicious and filling. The Manhattan Lounge was also very nice. Me and my partner really appreciated the late check-out the last day, as I was was not feeling my best and gave me extra time to rest. The house keeper even gave me an extra bottle of water to make me feel better.

Even though the hotel was located out of city centre the transportation was quick, and only within 5min walk from the hotel to the trams. A hotel is only as good as there staff. Well done to the team at Crown Plaza. I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Amsterdam.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPSouth, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South, responded to this review, June 20, 2012
Dear valued guest,

Thank you so much for taking the time to post your review following your visit at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam-South. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel. Please be assured that we have shared you kind comments with the entire team.

First of all we hope that you had a quick recovery from being unwell and that it did not discomfort the last moments of your stay too much.

It was very nice to read your positive feedback about the interior of our hotel. Every peace of furniture has been chosen with care as we find it important to offer you both a good design as well as comfort. You are perhaps aware of the fact that the beds as well as the lavender spray are part of the Crowne Plaza Sleep Advantage which helps you to rejuvenate during your stay.

We very much look forward to having the pleasure to accommodate you during your next stay in Amsterdam. In the meantime, if we can be of any further assistance, please do not hesitate to contact us.

With kind regards,

Ingrid van Veen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haifa, Israel
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2012

The Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South is a great hotel in a not so bad location. Thaw it situated rather far from the center, it shouldn’t worry you, since there is an efficient transportation in to the city center. You can take tram no. 5 or the metro and within 10-20 minutes you will be were its all happening. 7 minutes train from Schiphol, you will get a comfy bad in a beautiful decorated room, you will get the friendliest stuff that will go off his way to help you around and great and not so expensive f & b.
I stayed in this hotel for an all week and loved every minute of it. Thank you all in CP Amsterdam South for a beautiful Dutch holiday!!!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPSouth, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South, responded to this review, May 4, 2012
Dear valued guest,

Thank you very much for sharing your experience with Crowne Plaza Amsterdam- South on Tripadvisor. It is always great to read reviews from our guests.

As you mentioned the city centre is indeed located slightly away from the hotel but perfectly reachable from the nearby located station Amsterdam-Zuid. The proximity of Schiphol Amsterdam Aiport to the hotel enables our guests to start their holiday or business trip soon after arrival in the country and to make use of every minute of their stay until flying out.

Thank you very much for complimenting on our staff, rooms and facilities. As a hotel it is our goal to make your trip a success and learning that your week’s stay in Amsterdam was worth every minute is very rewarding.

Thank you again for your very positive review. We would be delighted to welcome you back to Crowne Plaza Amsterdam- South in the very near future.

With kind regards,

Ingrid van Veen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medicine Hat, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2012

Stayed at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam Southe for 2 nights after Christmas 2011 and the staff was phenomenal extremely friendly and helpful. Rooms were really nice and very clean. It is a bit from Central Amsterdam but the train is only a block away and we were in the city centre within 10 minutes. Thought this was one of the nicest Crowne Plazas I have stayed in.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPSouth, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South, responded to this review, May 4, 2012
Dear valued guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to post your review regarding your stay at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam- South.

It was very rewarding to read that you consider our staff to be phenomenal and that our rooms were at your satisfaction. In addition we are pleased to learn that, despite our location outside the city centre, you were able to benefit from the many transportation options nearby.

Being rated as one of the best Crowne Plaza’s you have stayed in, is a great compliment and we are honoured that your experience with our hotel was such a positive one.

Thank you again for your kind words and we sincerely hope to have the pleasure to receive you as our guest in the very near future.

With kind regards,

Ingrid van Veen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
France
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2012

I use ICHotels a lot and have to say that the Crowne Plaza brand has become very mixed with widely varying quality depending on where you stay. This Crowne Plaza, however, is probably the best I have stayed at. Very good rooms and very quiet, even though the hotel was quite full because of a business convention. Staff are excellent and the bar and restaurant food was quite good (try the suckling pig if it's on the menu). You may find yourself using one or both of the bar/restaurant as, like others have said, this hotel is out in the financial district and there doesn't appear to be much in the vicinity.
It is a plus that the hotel is near the RAI and the airport but I can see that if you were visiting Amsterdam for sightseeing, you would want to get this hotel at a very good rate in order to allow for the need to travel into the city.
Overall, if you need a hotel that is near the RAI, I think this one will fit the bill. If you are sightseeing, stay closer to the city unless you can get a really good rate at this one.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPSouth, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South, responded to this review, April 20, 2012
Dear valued guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to post your comments following your recent stay at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam- South. We sincerely appreciate the time you have taken to describe your positive experience with our hotel.

It is a great pleasure to read that you are a frequent guest of the InterContinental Hotels Group. Following your remark regarding the varying quality of the Crowne Plaza branded hotels, I would like to inform you that in the coming 3 years a globally oriented plan for Crowne Plaza will be put into action in order to freshen up the overall look and feel of the hotels. Great products and facilities, efficient processes and dedicated staff members delivering seamless service should be the combination to result in great guest experience delivered consistently in all Crowne Plaza hotels. As we are a recently opened hotel we are very proud to discover that we are on the right way to display some of those objectives.

As you mentioned as well our location is most suitable for the business guest visiting an inhouse conference, one of the many surrounding offices or the RAI Convention Centre. However there are many public transport options that bring you from the nearby situated railway station Amsterdam- Zuid to downtown Amsterdam within 20 minutes.

We look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you again at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam- South in the very near future. In the meantime, if we can be of any further assistance, please do not hesitate to contact us.

With kind regards,

Ingrid van Veen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riyadh, Saudi Arabia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2012

I stayed in the Crowne Plaza South in Amsterdam between the 7 - 11 March 2012 for a conference. The hotel is a new one in a quiet location.
The location:
It is far from the city center but almost 10 to 15 minutes from the airport (by Taxi).
The RAI was only 10 to 15 minutes walking from the hotel, but you can reach it by the Metro.
The Metro is 5 to 10 minutes from the hotel, with which you can go to the city center.
Around the location of the hotel, nothing much to do especially at night.
The Hotel:
A new one with reasonable space of the room.
Clean room, with all what you need.
The staff are cooperative and helpful and nice.
The bed in the room is comfortable.
The Restaurants:
Only two available, and I tried one for dinner and it was excellent for food and service.
In Overall, the hotel is excellent and its location is an advantage and disadvantage according to what you are after.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPSouth, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South, responded to this review, April 20, 2012
Dear valued guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to post your comments following your recent stay at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam- South. We appreciate the time you have taken to describe your positive experience with our hotel.

We are delighted to read that you overall considered our hotel to be excellent after positively experiencing our facilities and staff. We are always trying to make our guests feel comfortable and at home and greatly appreciate all feedback.

Being a hotel situated in the heart of the rapidly developing business district of Amsterdam, we are ideally located for guests visiting one of the many nearby offices or the RAI Convention Center. The railway station Amsterdam Zuid enables fast connections to both Schiphol Amsterdam International Airport as well as the cultural heart of Amsterdam with its many recreational possibilities.

Thank you again for posting your comment and we hope to welcome you again at our hotel.

With kind regards,

Ingrid van Veen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2012

New hotel. Very pleasant , room are well appointed , spacey and have in them everything you may need. Location isn't good for sight seeing (15 min taxi to Center Amsterdam ). Very good location for attending an exhibition at RAI conf Center. Not much going around the hotel at night time. 6 min train ride from airport.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPSouth, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South, responded to this review, March 15, 2012
Dear valued guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to post your feedback regarding your recent stay at the Crowne Plaza Amsterdam- South. We appreciate it that you took the time to write about your experience in our hotel.

It was very pleasant to read your positive note about our rooms. As this is the area within the hotel where guests probably spend most of their time, the lay-out, ambience and equipment have been chosen with care.

Our location within the business district is indeed perfect for business guests. Even though we probably are not the first choice for leisure guests, there are several public transport connections that bring you from the railway station Amsterdam- Zuid to downtown Amsterdam within 20 minutes.

Again thank you very much for taking the time to write this review and we do hope that we can look forward to welcoming you back to the Crowne Plaza Amsterdam- South in the near future. In the meantime, if we can be of any further assistance, please do not hesitate to contact us.

With kind regards,

Ingrid van Veen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South

Address: George Gershwinlaan 101, 1082 Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#7 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#13 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#13 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Tingo, Expedia, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel, Agoda, Venere and Priceline so you can book your Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.